Down Club Hurling & Football

Started by Lecale2, November 10, 2006, 12:06:55 AM

clonian

Fantastic performance and win from the lads. I thought when Donegal pulled back the 5 point lead we were in trouble but fair play the lads stood up and went at it again. That's the best win since Kerry in 2010 for me.

Lazer

Quote from: ardtole on April 26, 2026, 11:44:54 PMI don't think I was ever at a Down match league or championship were we were so outnumbered supporter wise.

A tremendous performance from everyone. Great day.

I think the all ireland semi final 1994 v Cork was the most complete 70 mins ive seen as a Down supporter, today wasn't far behind.

I remember in fairly recent history in Newry where we were outnumbered by the away supporters and I clearly remember saying it was a sad day as despite the bad years the one thing we had never lost was the supporters!

Assuming it was pre laverty taking over as manager
Down for Sam!

Dayman

I think it's a bit harsh to talk about 'stay-away' fans when tickets never went on general sale and people knew capacity was limited so probably assumed no chance of getting tickets.

Let's hope for a big turnout at Clones on Sunday! Armagh will be a different challenge as they had a handy enough game this weekend, but the Tyrone game and second half against Fermanagh shows they can be got at.

Sheedy

Brilliant day in Letterkenny yesterday, reminded me so much of Derry in Celtic park in '94.

Thought the team to a man were outstanding, Murdock and Guinness brilliant again but this one was real team effort from Burns in nets to McGeough in corner forward they all rose to the challenge.

The management deserve special praise cos a lot of people gave them stick after the league final, they had a gameplan and it worked to a tee.
Donegal fans round us on the terrace and in the clubhouse after were full of praise for Down and full of praise for Laverty.

Hopefully the support turns out in force next week because this team deserves the county behind them.

snoopdog

The return trip from Dublin was well worth the 7 plus hour return journey. Travelled in hope. This is where we want to be and who we want to be playing against. Yes there is always a fear of what could happen especially after Donegals last day out in Croke pk but thats what made it all the more special. We dont get enough days like that as Down supporters. I was in the stand and the Down support was reasonable i though. But terrace was all green and gold. What a performance from all the starring 15 and subs. All stood up and put a shift in. Lets go again next sunday.

urbangael

I was in the terrace and id say it was 95% Donegal but in fairness to them they shook hands at the end and wished us well. Decent supporters.  The workrate off the ball really impressed me yesterday. Everyone had a job to do and stuck to it. Marty Clarke along the line in the terrace side was having serious impact on the lads and always giving clear and concise instructions. Now the hard thing is to repeat that performance on Sunday. Hopefully everyone came though it ok and no injuries.

LosDodgers

Absolutely fantastic day, great scenes at the end with players & fans on the pitch.

I genuinely don't think we could have asked for anymore from this team. Murdock & Guinness will always grab the headlines as they should. But Mooney to come back in with that performance, Tooney doing a job on McHugh then getting two goals himself! Doc was brilliant, everyone was really.

We deserved the breaks and we got and the direct running through the middle was a joy to watch.

Tough ask again next week but great pride in this team.

Aristo 60

Well that Ticketmastershit is some shit show. Couldn't get clicking the tickets quick enough before they disappeared.

And coming online at 2pm? That helps only the unemployed and tech savvy retired folk.

statto

Quote from: Aristo 60 on April 28, 2026, 02:38:57 PMWell that Ticketmastershit is some shit show. Couldn't get clicking the tickets quick enough before they disappeared.

And coming online at 2pm? That helps only the unemployed and tech savvy retired folk.

An awful website and customer experience trying to get tickets for anything. 

PAULD123

Quote from: Aristo 60 on April 28, 2026, 02:38:57 PMWell that Ticketmastershit is some shit show. Couldn't get clicking the tickets quick enough before they disappeared.

But did you get sorted? I had to buy tickets for the terrace.

snoopdog

Quote from: PAULD123 on April 28, 2026, 04:31:29 PM

But did you get sorted? I had to buy tickets for the terrace.
Took me a while to get 3 together. Got them but not great seats on mcgrane seated. I wasnt going to the hill with 2 kids in tow. I think theyre still a bit   disturbed by 2023, theyd never seen the buckfast brigade before. This could sell out. Hope Down come out in big numbers.

Aristo 60

Didnt get sorted. Ive young kids that I can't split up or take to the Hill..

Hoping for another release during the week - or so I'm told.

Fair play to Down, take back everything I said about Laverty and no improvement in 4 years. That win on Sunday turns it all on its head. Congrats.
Must beat Armagh now and avoid Tailteann Cup. Beat Armagh and an Ulster title is in sight.

snoopdog

Quote from: Aristo 60 on April 28, 2026, 04:53:33 PMDidnt get sorted. Ive young kids that I can't split up or take to the Hill..

Hoping for another release during the week - or so I'm told.

Is there meant to be another release? The other option would be the terrace behind the goal might be less busy.

Can Conor Laverty and the Down team pull off the same trick two Sundays in a row?

The element of surprise is gone, but just go for it again and see where that gets you.