Top 3 cities

Started by JoG2, April 24, 2026, 01:54:34 PM

FirstToTheBall

Budapest seems to be scoring plenty, good trip?

Last few years ive been doing spots in italy, love the place, cinque terre, puglia, capri, heading to rome, ischia and naples this june.

Quote from: illdecide on April 24, 2026, 05:06:23 PMGenuine question as London appears on the list a lot but what is London a great city for?. Went once for a football game years ago but didn't do any real tourist stuff.

Literally everything.

Quote from: RedHand88 on April 24, 2026, 05:16:31 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 24, 2026, 04:20:22 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 24, 2026, 03:05:51 PM1. Budapest
2. Boston
3. Brisbane

There is a whole world beyond B, try c to z.

Zagreb
Zaragoza
Zurich

Actually went to Zagreb in the same trip as Budapest and it's a kip!

Actually, I've never been. I once had planned a trip to Budapest and Zagreb and I had to cancel.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Portlaoise
Portarlington
Stradbally
Joe McDonagh 2026 🏆

Quote from: laoislad on April 24, 2026, 06:32:50 PMPortlaoise
Portarlington
Stradbally

Wrong order LL according to Christy anyhow

Well there's people here upon my word from every corner of the world
Portarlington Portlaoise and Tullamore
From Two Mile House and Poulaphouca
From Blacktrench Cutbush and Boolea
Such a crowd I've never seen before

gawa316

Galway
Prague
Edinburgh

These were all great for the rip but too old for that shite now.

Most overrated...New Orleans

Rome
Madrid
London
Three top cities

Baile Brigín 2

London
Paris
New York

Cities you could do a fortnight in with ease.

Lesser but weekend break crackers.

Malaga
Wroclaw
Prague

Was in Seville a few weeks ago - lovely small city. London definitely in the Top 3. You can see and do so much without even entering a museum or a gallery.

I'm a big fan of Edinburgh. Haven't been to Rome since my honeymoon but plan to tackle it next year and possibly Malaga this summer.

Large:
1. London
2. Paris
3. Rome

Small:
1. Edinburgh
2. Seville
3. Copenhagen

playwiththewind1st

Hard to pick just the 3, TBH.

Big cities:
Amsterdam.
Vienna.
Istanbul.

Smaller scale:
Savannah.
Marrakech.
Santiago de Compostela.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 24, 2026, 04:56:44 PMMalaga
London
Amsterdam

Plenty that fit the bill for various reasons

London as you could go 10 times and not do or go somewhere twice

Malaga for the city heat food and handiness

Amsterdam as it's lovely and not a bad place to pivot to other cities if needs be.

Ireland

Galway childhood holidays and lads weekends

Dublin as the craic has always be great

Can't leave out my home city for all the bad craic I've had some cracking years living partying clubbing

All dear holes bar Amsterdam and Malaga
Have never been to Amsterdam and would like to visit but the missus has been and it pished the whole time she was there (30 yrs ago!) so she's not keen. I don't think she's up for letting me go unattended either  :D

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Tony Baloney on April 24, 2026, 08:58:04 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 24, 2026, 04:56:44 PMMalaga
London
Amsterdam

Plenty that fit the bill for various reasons

London as you could go 10 times and not do or go somewhere twice

Malaga for the city heat food and handiness

Amsterdam as it's lovely and not a bad place to pivot to other cities if needs be.

Ireland

Galway childhood holidays and lads weekends

Dublin as the craic has always be great

Can't leave out my home city for all the bad craic I've had some cracking years living partying clubbing

All dear holes bar Amsterdam and Malaga
Have never been to Amsterdam and would like to visit but the missus has been and it pished the whole time she was there (30 yrs ago!) so she's not keen. I don't think she's up for letting me go unattended either  :D
It isn't what it used to be. The red light is gone, the 'cafes' are less and less with the smoking ban.

Granada and San Sebastian are top notch "small" cities in Spain as well. Could happily spend my life going back to either of them.

Wife is a huge fan of Porto.

playwiththewind1st

Did a Porto-Coimbra-Lisbon trip a good few years ago. All great spots.