Top 3 cities

Started by JoG2, April 24, 2026, 01:54:34 PM

3. Cork - it's by a distance my favourite place to go supping and doesn't involve a feckin airport.

2. Rome - the coolest spot about

1. London, by a fair bit. Has everything. Try and get over a few times / year.. definitely helps having a free room to go to

SouthOfThe Bann

Quote from: JoG2 on April 24, 2026, 01:54:34 PM3. Cork - it's by a distance my favourite place to go supping and doesn't involve a feckin airport.

2. Rome - the coolest spot about

1. London, by a fair bit. Has everything. Try and get over a few times / year.. definitely helps having a free room to go to

In Ireland

1. Galway
2. Derry
3. Kilkenny

1. Budapest
2. Boston
3. Brisbane

World...

London
Vienna
Rome

Ireland...

Galway
Derry
The rest I could take or leave.  I will probably go for Dublin for the big day out at HQ.

clonian

The great city of Bangor Co. Down  ;D  ;D  ;D get ta fcuk

Quote from: RedHand88 on April 24, 2026, 03:05:51 PM1. Budapest
2. Boston
3. Brisbane

There is a whole world beyond B, try c to z.

Zagreb
Zaragoza
Zurich
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Edinburgh
Brisbane
San Diego

Honourable mention to Havana but can imagine it's not at the minute.

FirstToTheBall

Rome defo, heading to naples later this year never been.

London defo a good spot.

Paris and barcelona.

Malaga
London
Amsterdam

Plenty that fit the bill for various reasons

London as you could go 10 times and not do or go somewhere twice

Malaga for the city heat food and handiness

Amsterdam as it's lovely and not a bad place to pivot to other cities if needs be.

Ireland

Galway childhood holidays and lads weekends

Dublin as the craic has always be great

Can't leave out my home city for all the bad craic I've had some cracking years living partying clubbing

All dear holes bar Amsterdam and Malaga
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Genuine question as London appears on the list a lot but what is London a great city for?. Went once for a football game years ago but didn't do any real tourist stuff.

thebuzz

Had a few trips to Munich in my youth. Great times.
Spent a year in London but was working seven days a week so didn't get the good of it at all.
The only plus was that I saved enough for 6 months in New York which was great.

Quote from: armaghniac on April 24, 2026, 04:20:22 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on April 24, 2026, 03:05:51 PM1. Budapest
2. Boston
3. Brisbane

There is a whole world beyond B, try c to z.

Zagreb
Zaragoza
Zurich

Actually went to Zagreb in the same trip as Budapest and it's a kip!

Budapest
Chicago
New York

Honorable mention to Austin for it's weirdness. Seattle would rank better if it didn't look like the wet grey divis flats lots of the time, but a super city as well.

Quote from: illdecide on April 24, 2026, 05:06:23 PMGenuine question as London appears on the list a lot but what is London a great city for?. Went once for a football game years ago but didn't do any real tourist stuff.

So much to see and do and it's really handy to get around. The last couple of times we were over we took in an early kick off game at Selhurst PK, walked Hyde Pk (pint at the Serpentine), Highgate Cemetery, food markets at Ally Pally, swam in the outdoor heated pool, noodles in Chinatown, hit up all the music stores on Denmark St, played indoor golf, went to a music exhibition at the Royal College of music and a gig down on the South Bank...relative over there has a booked called London in 365 days, a book with something off the beaten path to do each day of the year