The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

dec

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 05, 2026, 01:37:59 PMObama made a pig joke about a female political opponent

No he didn't

He used the American idiom "putting lipstick on a pig" to describe one of McCain's policies, meaning that making cosmetic changes to a policy doesn't really change the underlying policy.

LC

Quote from: J70 on March 05, 2026, 12:28:36 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on March 05, 2026, 12:22:33 PMOld boss same as the new boss.

The world is a fucked up place at present. Meanwhile, Espstein is no longer the lead news story. It isn't even making the news at all.

It is over here. Bondi is going to be subpoenaed to testify under oath in front of the House. Plus, the DOJ admitted yesterday that they are currently redacting another 50K files.

It is not going away.

I see Kristi Noem was testifying this week in front of one those committees this week.......pure car crash.

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 05, 2026, 01:37:59 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 05, 2026, 12:46:23 PM
Quote from: 93-DY-SAM on March 05, 2026, 12:22:33 PMOld boss same as the new boss.

The world is a fucked up place at present. Meanwhile, Espstein is no longer the lead news story. It isn't even making the news at all.

It is over here. Bondi is going to be subpoenaed to testify under oath in front of the House. Plus, the DOJ admitted yesterday that they are currently redacting another 50K files.

It is not going away.
Isn't she the woman who swore they were all released? Should be locked up.

The daily shite coming from the current administration would be headline news for months in normal circumstances. A normal leader saying quiet piggy to a reporter would be a huge scandal and almost certainly be the end of their leadership, but for this shower it barely even registers.

Don't think so. Obama made a pig joke about a female political opponent during the 08 campaign and won by a landslide.
Total false equivalence.

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 05, 2026, 11:10:55 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 05, 2026, 10:56:07 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on March 05, 2026, 10:54:21 AMThere are an awful amount of Ayatollah sympathisers in the West and it's scary.
Yet to see any.

Difference in not wanting foreign war mongers to assassinate the leader of a country and thinking that the Ayatollah was a great fella. I will bet you any money you like right now that whatever comes next will be worse.

Are ye aye. Maybe give the old algorithm a shake.

maybe go outside and touch some grass and quite living your life on social media

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 05, 2026, 10:54:21 AMThere are an awful amount of Ayatollah sympathisers in the West and it's scary.

Cant say I had much time for the guy, but at least he wasn't a paedophoile.

It is not going away.

The daily shite coming from the current administration would be headline news for months in normal circumstances. A normal leader saying quiet piggy to a reporter would be a huge scandal and almost certainly be the end of their leadership, but for this shower it barely even registers.

Don't think so. Obama made a pig joke about a female political opponent during the 08 campaign and won by a landslide.

You made this false assertion a while back, but I'll correct you again.

Obama did NOT make a pig joke about Sarah Palin. He was talking about policy. And the phrase he used was something like "put lipstick on a pig, it's still a pig".

Of course the right jumped on it and tried made a disingenuous scene because Palin has spoken about liptstick being the difference between a grizzly bear and a hockey mom (or something like that) in her convention speech.

Unfortunately for all of them, John McCain himself had used the "lipstick on a pig" phrase months earlier when talking about a Hillary Clinton policy.

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on March 05, 2026, 02:39:17 PM
Yet to see any.

Difference in not wanting foreign war mongers to assassinate the leader of a country and thinking that the Ayatollah was a great fella. I will bet you any money you like right now that whatever comes next will be worse.

maybe go outside and touch some grass and quite living your life on social media

Don't do it. Don't have twitter, Instagram, tiktok, facebook. All nonsense.

DaleCooper

Go out touch grass, notice grass is long and needs cut. Remember this is the era of Total Politics.

Quote from: DaleCooper on March 05, 2026, 03:14:41 PMGo out touch grass, notice grass is long and needs cut. Remember this is the era of Total Politics.
Garden too wet for that craic.

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 05, 2026, 03:09:58 PM
Yet to see any.

why are you blethering on about an algorithm then?

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on March 05, 2026, 03:40:55 PM
Yet to see any.

Because he said he has not seen what I've seen shared? I don't know where this is going or what your point is. Glack.

Quote from: J70 on March 05, 2026, 03:01:05 PM

It is not going away.

You made this false assertion a while back, but I'll correct you again.

Obama did NOT make a pig joke about Sarah Palin. He was talking about policy. And the phrase he used was something like "put lipstick on a pig, it's still a pig".

Of course the right jumped on it and tried made a disingenuous scene because Palin has spoken about liptstick being the difference between a grizzly bear and a hockey mom (or something like that) in her convention speech.

Unfortunately for all of them, John McCain himself had used the "lipstick on a pig" phrase months earlier when talking about a Hillary Clinton policy.

There's a strange need for him to defend Trump at every turn, in like Flynn

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 05, 2026, 03:44:22 PMDon't do it. Don't have twitter, Instagram, tiktok, facebook. All nonsense.

Aye - you don't - sure you just happened to see these two posts despite not being on Twitter

https://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11632.msg2393005#msg2393005

https://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11632.msg2393190#msg2393190

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on March 05, 2026, 04:00:36 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on March 05, 2026, 03:44:22 PMDon't do it. Don't have twitter, Instagram, tiktok, facebook. All nonsense.

Aye - you don't - sure you just happened to see these two posts despite not being on Twitter

https://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11632.msg2393005#msg2393005

https://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=11632.msg2393190#msg2393190

I did. Does WhatsApp count as social media? What are we even talking about here?

Quote from: RedHand88 on March 05, 2026, 03:44:22 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on March 05, 2026, 03:40:55 PM
Yet to see any.

Because he said he has not seen what I've seen shared? I don't know where this is going or what your point is. Glack.
Where have you seen it then?

Or are you talking shite?