NFL Division 1

Started by SouthOfThe Bann, January 14, 2026, 11:31:25 AM

Quote from: Orior on January 31, 2026, 11:12:31 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 31, 2026, 06:42:06 PMSuper game of football.

Finnerty and Murnin put on exhibitions.

Galway had no right to win that game but somehow kind of deserved it.

For Monday, you sir need to write an essay of no less than 500 words explaining the last sentence, aye.

Galway deserved it for their belief. Even though they were generally outplayed across the field, they chased and harried every Armagh attempt for a score, forcing mistakes aplenty, while kicked their own with conviction.

moonster

Donegal and Mayo probably two of the fittest teams in the country at the moment back training so early.

Shapping up to be a Donegal and Mayo league final.

Dubs and the Rossies to go down.

moonster

Will referees by watching Ryan O'Dongoghue closed fist tackles this year? Then goes down like a gust of wind when anybody goes near him.

moonster

Mayo & Donegal Both to Win & 43+ Points in Each Match 17/2

Quote from: thewobbler on January 31, 2026, 11:28:19 PM
Quote from: Orior on January 31, 2026, 11:12:31 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 31, 2026, 06:42:06 PMSuper game of football.

Finnerty and Murnin put on exhibitions.

Galway had no right to win that game but somehow kind of

For Monday, you sir need to write an essay of no less than 500 words explaining the last sentence, aye.

Galway deserved it for their belief. Even though they were generally outplayed across the field, they chased and harried every Armagh attempt for a score, forcing mistakes aplenty, while kicked their own with conviction.
Draw Woukd have been a fair result
The Infringement 3/2 was a shocking decision  by officials which will have consequences and a game changer as such
Will be interesting what is said about it .
Overall decent game

Robbed off X. I imagine Padraig Joyce would swap all those wins for one in the AI final.

Armagh-Galway recent rivalry:

Galway on penalties
Galway by 2
Armagh by 1
Draw
Armagh by 1 (All-Ire final)
Galway by 6
Galway by 1
Galway by 1

statto

Decent game last night, disappointing from Armagh perspective didn't win the game as thought they were better side.

Hughes could have done better with first goal and has had a nightmare for the second, but he did make a couple of good saves in second half. I think his kickouts are better than Raffertys and would persevere with him. 

Midfield was good again, would have maybe liked to have saw Crealey come in last ten minutes when game in melting pot not sure how much training he has in bank.  Ross McQuillan did well with three points from wing back silly decision to engage the Galway player for last free.

Armagh need to go for the jugular a bit more when goal chance presents itself. Jarly Og is particularly bad for the fisted point when there's a goal on. Duffy had a great chance near end to square the ball and that would been game over. Concern that Armagh dropped 6 short last night which makes you vulnerable to the counter attack and resulted in first Galway goal.

Cassidy should have given Molloy a black in first half thats a massive call along with the breach for McElroy. (Hopefully Joe not out too long).

Credit to Galway they stayed in game when where second best and Joyce was ruthless bringing on a couple of big hitters after 25 minutes.

Quote from: statto on February 01, 2026, 09:35:25 AMJarly Og is particularly bad for the fisted point when there's a goal on.

As someone with no skin in the game end no time for gobshites like Brolly or Parkinson who bemoan lads taking the point instead of going for goal from a 3° angle running in along the endline and faced by four defenders, have thought this myself for a couple of years. He plays it very, very safe and often goes for the fisted point from a mile out even when he has so much space he has the chance to carry the ball further himself to try and develop something and still have the safety blanket of the fisted score.

befair

Indiscipline at the finish cost Armagh the game; hopefully this is a lesson learned. Thought Armagh were slightly the better team, but gave away some stupid goals to keep Galway in it.

Quote from: gallsman on February 01, 2026, 10:01:16 AM
Quote from: statto on February 01, 2026, 09:35:25 AMJarly Og is particularly bad for the fisted point when there's a goal on.

As someone with no skin in the game end no time for gobshites like Brolly or Parkinson who bemoan lads taking the point instead of going for goal from a 3° angle running in along the endline and faced by four defenders, have thought this myself for a couple of years. He plays it very, very safe and often goes for the fisted point from a mile out even when he has so much space he has the chance to carry the ball further himself to try and develop something and still have the safety blanket of the fisted score.
I have always believed that the gaa should get rid of the handpassed point.
Make the player actually kick the ball over the bar.
It would make that situation of a player coming in at an angle more interesting. Much more skill involved in manufacturing a score in that scenario than hand passing a point

DaleCooper

That Armaghs lack of ruthlessness and safety first is a core feature. Sort of hoped after AI they would take shackles off a bit.

Hard to concede three goals against a team like Galway and still be in the game.  Armagh have a lot to work on in that regard. No one to blame but themselves in not winning last night,

On the referee I thought he was spectacularly inconsistent I could understand why the black card might have been yellow but how was the yellow a minute later not black?

On the last free I would need to see it again but it looked to me like Cassidy had the hand up indicating an advantage, if he did then the free shouldn't have been moved if he didn't then it was brainless from McQuillan hopefully he will learn.

As for the breach offence that lead to the goal, as stupid as the rule is I think that was by rule the correct decision.  McElroy was not carrying, receiving or intercepting the ball or attempting to do so therefore the 20m free is the punishment.  That said I will make 2 points about that.  Firstly it is far too severe a punishment for the offence and as seen last night has the potential to change games for innocuous offence.  Secondly Armagh  scored a point in the first half during a clear Galway breach why weren't they offered a choice of a 20m free or a 2 point free.  The advantage rule needs looked at in that regard.

So whilst I thought Cassidy wasn't good last night and isn't a great ref I wouldn't blame the defeat on him.

As I understand it Creally and McCambridge are back training and McKay and McMullen will be back for later stages of league/start of championship.  All will be needed I feel as Armagh whilst still in the second or third group of teams have a difficult season ahead of them.

Finally and not to go back to it again but with the exception of the solo and go I do not like the new rules at all.  I think they take away from many of the skills of the game.  I think they devalue great scoring and I think they do not reward better teams who dominate games for long periods (not a reference to last night).  I also think they are very hard to follow if you are at the games.   

DaleCooper

The explanation offered [via Enda McGinley who is patched into refs audio on BBC] was it was more of mistimed tackle rather than cynical.

Think everyone feels it was a cop out solution for sake of the game. Frustrating for Armagh.

Galway were well up for it and good to see nice crunching hits.

moonster

Mayo could win this well. Haven't heard half them Dunlin lads. How many of them would get into that Mayo 15. A good chance boost score difference today.

Cassidy justifiably getting a lot of criticism for his performance last night. It was well short of what a ref should be at that level. That said two Galway goals came from kicks dropping short allowing the quick counter and if I remember correctly the third came from a turnover. So Armagh losing is 100% on themselves. You can't concede easy goals at that level. The second one doesn't happen if Rafferty is in goals he would have come out to catch it in my opinion.