The Late Late show

Started by T O Hare, January 30, 2009, 01:50:33 PM

The Toy Show is not really about the toys anymore, they show far less toys than when I was a kid watching as a kid in the 80s and early 90s.
It's far more about different types of kids, with different needs and interests. 
It puts far less pressure on parents than in previous generation imo!

AustinPowers

What's this "six or seven"  craic all about?

Munchie

My kids explained it to me as a kids joke, stemmed from tic-tok and some basketball player who was 6'7, so they say its a bit embarrassing when adults like Kier Stammer do it. They tell me there is no real meaning to it but it's funny when kids do it. TBH I am too old to get it.  :)

Trad music special tonight, I might watch a full Late late show for once

Sportacus

Quote from: Captain Obvious on January 09, 2026, 10:20:23 PMTrad music special tonight, I might watch a full Late late show for once
There's a woman 'playing' a washboard.  That's just trying too hard.

Quote from: Sportacus on January 09, 2026, 10:26:19 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on January 09, 2026, 10:20:23 PMTrad music special tonight, I might watch a full Late late show for once
There's a woman 'playing' a washboard.  That's just trying too hard.
Nobody on the spoons?

Deserved award for Donal Lunny.

Sportacus

I'm not exactly a fan of Patrick in his LLS role but I thought he was pitch perfect this evening, none of his predecessors could have compered the Trad evening to that standard. I'm a bit concerned about Christy, not there and looking visibly a bit frail.

Quote from: Main Street on January 09, 2026, 11:21:31 PMI'm not exactly a fan of Patrick in his LLS role but I thought he was pitch perfect this evening, none of his predecessors could have compered the Trad evening to that standard. I'm a bit concerned about Christy, not there and looking visibly a bit frail.

Wondered why Christy wasn't there in person but I saw him in Vicar St at the start of the month and he was in great form. Played for about 2 hours, no break, told some loudmouth to fck off, and the voice is just brilliant for a man of 80.

Donal Lunny is a legend of trad and folk, he was involved in nearly every group - Planxty, Bothy Band, Moving Hearts...

On Kielty, I thought he was excellent tonight. His predecessor used to make an ass of himself, grinning like a donkey and slapping his knee when the musicians played. Kielty just let them at it, although I'd have loved to see more of the music, but it wasn't a concert I suppose!

Calling it "Trad", trendies, Peggy Seeger, Ricky Tomlinson, a lad wearing a big scarf indoors, Eleanor McEvoy......

Just feckin No!!
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: Rossfan on January 10, 2026, 12:22:15 AMCalling it "Trad", trendies, Peggy Seeger, Ricky Tomlinson, a lad wearing a big scarf indoors, Eleanor McEvoy......

Just feckin No!!
Just feckin eff off.

Quote from: Main Street on January 10, 2026, 01:20:29 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on January 10, 2026, 12:22:15 AMCalling it "Trad", trendies, Peggy Seeger, Ricky Tomlinson, a lad wearing a big scarf indoors, Eleanor McEvoy......

Just feckin No!!
Just feckin eff off.

In fairness, Ricky Tomlinson on a trad show made no sense and was just weird.

playwiththewind1st

He released a single at Christmas 2006 entitled "Christmas My A*se" which reached No. 25.

If that doesn't qualify him......

Quote from: playwiththewind1st on January 10, 2026, 02:31:15 PMHe released a single at Christmas 2006 entitled "Christmas My A*se" which reached No. 25.

If that doesn't qualify him......

He said Roger my Arse on time on the Royle Family, I wouldve bought that if it had been released as a record