Man Utd Thread:

Started by full back, November 10, 2006, 08:13:49 AM

tiempo

Wim Jansen, Frank Rijkaard, Xabi Alsonso

Billy Morgan, Paddy Cullen, Davy Fitz

Now away and shite

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: tiempo on January 09, 2026, 02:35:49 PMWim Jansen, Frank Rijkaard, Xabi Alsonso

Now away and shite
Wim Jansen was neither an elite player or manager.

Rijkaard wasn't a successful manager. Out of club management 16 years. Last worked in a school.

Alonso might make the cut in time, certainly started his managerial career well. But a truly elite player?

The point remains. The list is very slim.

BB what I'm reading here is that your list of "elite" players is really quite small.

If players like Alonso and Simeone can't be considered elite - despite winning 100+ caps for tier one nations, and winning top tier leagues in multiple countries - then your criteria for elite is exceptionally high. Basically ballon d'or winners.

Any expectation for a regular or even flow from such a narrow pool of talent to a completely different role, will always result in disappointment.

That's just how numbers work. Circumstance and theory have no reason to be applied.

I'll tell ye what this is great reading that's for sure 😅😅

Look-Up!

Pep wasn't a bad player.

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: thewobbler on January 09, 2026, 03:10:29 PMBB what I'm reading here is that your list of "elite" players is really quite small.

If players like Alonso and Simeone can't be considered elite - despite winning 100+ caps for tier one nations, and winning top tier leagues in multiple countries - then your criteria for elite is exceptionally high. Basically ballon d'or winners.

Any expectation for a regular or even flow from such a narrow pool of talent to a completely different role, will always result in disappointment.

That's just how numbers work. Circumstance and theory have no reason to be applied.

Yes, the definition of elite is by definition a small list.

There are a tiny amount of elite players who went on to be elite managers.

From that it isn't unreasonable to suggest that an elite player is not guaranteed to be a successful manager.

Most successful managers are decent but not great attacking or midfielder players often whose playing careers were cut short.

Go back to the FIFA list of the 100 best ever players. Cruyff, Deschamps, Beckenbauer, Dalglish and Enrique are the only successful managers. And only Cruyff can realistically be considered absolutely top drawer in both.

5% of the best ever players succeeded in management. That's not a pool clubs should be dipping into.

Quote from: tiempo on January 09, 2026, 02:35:49 PMWim Jansen, Frank Rijkaard, Xabi Alsonso

Now away and shite

He's old and not the best of health but that Cork man is more likely to be appointed Man United manager than the one you are obsessed with.

Look-Up!

I'd say the percentage of ordinary footballers who succeeded in management is a hell of a lot lower than 5%.

You can massage the numbers any way you want but failure rates are going to be enormous if you set such a high bar for either type. End of the day a manager in a top club needs respect from players end of. One way is to work your way up the rungs and earn your reputation. The other is to be a top player, have that respect, skip the queue and take advantage of the short term wow impact clubs and players often react best to. But over a longer timeline few succeed.

Baile Brigín 2

Or put another way.

List the 100 best hurlers or footballers. I bet more than 5 managed successfully.

Capt Pat

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on January 09, 2026, 03:20:21 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on January 09, 2026, 03:10:29 PMBB what I'm reading here is that your list of "elite" players is really quite small.

From that it isn't unreasonable to suggest that an elite player is not guaranteed to be a successful manager.

Most successful managers are decent but not great attacking or midfielder players often whose playing careers were cut short.

Go back to the FIFA list of the 100 best ever players. Cruyff, Deschamps, Beckenbauer, Dalglish and Enrique are the only successful managers. And only Cruyff can realistically be considered absolutely top drawer in both.

5% of the best ever players succeeded in management. That's not a pool clubs should be dipping into.

A lot of the elite players mentioned also had it easy in that they were given elite clubs and nations to manage. Liverpool, Barcelona, Bayern Munich and France and Germany at international level. They had it easier than others who had to work their way to the top.

tiempo

Wonder how many elite players would have taken Sunderland from 23rd in the Championship to the title, and kept them up the following year

BB2 i salute you for talking elite claptrap

f**k me yis are still going 😅

All we need now is a list of the top 100 players then we can analyse each one

Then we go to managers

AustinPowers

QuoteMan United are a soap opera so Keane would make sense in that sense...

He is not up to taking it on full time, and to be honest he has a great gig with Sky and then he'll be off to the World Cup with ITV. Dealing with higher ups is the most important thing with Jim and the lads, that's why I think it'll be Southgate.

The way the season is going a few steady wins and Champions League is a real possibility. But then a couple of losses and you are mid-table. Sesko might actually have a player in there somewhere it turns out.

I mentioned ages ago about Arsenal picking up lads at good value, but it was rightly pointed they bought plenty of duds but shipped lads out. United never seem to be able to get rid of lads.
Keane won't get it because

1. Fergie still  has influence. He wouldn't allow it
2. The  club is a mess. The men upstairs won't want  a man to call them out on that . Keane would. A yes man wouldn't
3. If Keane did well,  fans excited again etc, they'd find it hard not to  offer him the job  full time.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on January 09, 2026, 02:54:37 PMRijkaard wasn't a successful manager.

The state of this  ;D

Champions league winner. Brought through Messi.