Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

It's in the position it's been in since the early 60's.. are you blaming all the county boards since the 50's on the poor standards?

We had Casement and were still poor, we had St Mary's winning Hogan cup, still poor..

Club facilities mean nothing, we've probably the worst facilities and have won the lot, so stop with that, be great to have better facilities but it's not a reason.

As I said, there is a lack of commitment from players to get up to a standard, what players are doing from other counties from 14 upwards is down to them. Best coaches in the world can only work with what they have available.. what's the plan then?

The game at Woodlands probably played there as no other club had pitches available, unless you can tell me different.

Playing it out of Belfast would have brought complaints..

There are avenues available to you to pursue this, and I mean that in the best way, frustration is real.

success at county level is not there, that's why kids throw their lot into the club! Better chance of success, mindset at county level is missing. Btw, they get the same as players in most counties too, so it's not a lack of amenities/gyms/nutrition/games

I've no answer nor am I committed to create a better experience, so knocking one's that do put their hand up isn't for me
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 17, 2025, 07:02:21 PMIt's in the position it's been in since the early 60's.. are you blaming all the county boards since the 50's on the poor standards?

We had Casement and were still poor, we had St Mary's winning Hogan cup, still poor..

Club facilities mean nothing, we've probably the worst facilities and have won the lot, so stop with that, be great to have better facilities but it's not a reason.

As I said, there is a lack of commitment from players to get up to a standard, what players are doing from other counties from 14 upwards is down to them. Best coaches in the world can only work with what they have available.. what's the plan then?

The game at Woodlands probably played there as no other club had pitches available, unless you can tell me different.

There are avenues available to you to pursue this, and I mean that in the best way, frustration is real.

success at county level is not there, that's why kids throw their lot into the club! Better chance of success, mindset at county level is missing. Btw, they get the same as players in most counties too, so it's not a lack of amenities/gyms/nutrition/games

I've no answer nor am I committed to create a better experience, so knocking one's that do put their hand up isn't for me

Totally agree. But that Galls team was a freak group,,,,breeding and talent all coming together at the 1 time. Hammered out the gate in an U16 final to winning it by a point the year after.....kicking on then to about 6 u21 titles in a row, Seniors and 7s. Players who were well brought through by great men but players who themselves were obsessed with and naturally good at football, no one drank really or went to the States or Oz.

There's zero talk about football here, all just blabbering and shite talk about who's gonna win the battle of the blind and then get beat in Ulster. There's f all improvement, is anyone excited about 1 young player coming through? Is there 1 name we're all excited about the past 10 years?

I do absolutely f all about it, so not for me to chirp I suppose. I just know through family and in-laws that other Counties care so much about their place and their team....it's LITERALLY their identity. They won't hear a bad word said about a squeaky gate in their County, never mind their football team

We simply don't have that mindset and are unlikely to unless a freak Antrim County team comes out of nowhere and causes all kids to start supporting and wanting to play when they grow up

Spike

Identity is a good point.  Isn't simply doesnt matter enough bar a few clubs in the country and that's not enough of a playing population to generate good county teams

We need a strong belfast if we are to do anything at county level.  Thats the honest answer and at the moment it is just a series of quick fixes and sticky plasters.

Our best club side of the last 50 years took the quick fix of importing players which covered up all the problems of proper coaching and effort.  Ironically st galls are now perhaps up there with the best coached underage set ups in the city

Facilities in belfast are poor unless the county steps in

The SW clubs dont passionately support the county.  That needs redressed

But until we get young lads in belfast to follow football completely and increase playing numbers we are just going to continue spinning wheels

We need a strong belfast in order to do anything at county level

Quote from: Gold on November 17, 2025, 11:57:16 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 17, 2025, 07:02:21 PMIt's in the position it's been in since the early 60's.. are you blaming all the county boards since the 50's on the poor standards?

Totally agree. But that Galls team was a freak group,,,,breeding and talent all coming together at the 1 time. Hammered out the gate in an U16 final to winning it by a point the year after.....kicking on then to about 6 u21 titles in a row, Seniors and 7s. Players who were well brought through by great men but players who themselves were obsessed with and naturally good at football, no one drank really or went to the States or Oz.

There's zero talk about football here, all just blabbering and shite talk about who's gonna win the battle of the blind and then get beat in Ulster. There's f all improvement, is anyone excited about 1 young player coming through? Is there 1 name we're all excited about the past 10 years?

I do absolutely f all about it, so not for me to chirp I suppose. I just know through family and in-laws that other Counties care so much about their place and their team....it's LITERALLY their identity. They won't hear a bad word said about a squeaky gate in their County, never mind their football team

We simply don't have that mindset and are unlikely to unless a freak Antrim County team comes out of nowhere and causes all kids to start supporting and wanting to play when they grow up

Conchuir Johnston is a great talent. I would say he's the most exciting prospect we have and still very young.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: Spike on November 18, 2025, 07:28:20 AMIdentity is a good point.  Isn't simply doesnt matter enough bar a few clubs in the country and that's not enough of a playing population to generate good county teams

We need a string belfast if we are to do anything at county level.  Thats the honest answer and at the moment it is just a series of quick fixes and sticky plasters.

Our best club side of the last 50 years took the quick fix of importing players which covered up all the roblems of proper coaching and effort.  Ironically st galls are now perhaps up there with the best coached underage set ups in the city

But until we get young lads in belfast to follow football completely and increase playing numbers we are just going to continue spinning wheels

Why are they shite too then?

Even when Belfast dominated, had the best players its still was poor at county level..

As parents of kids around the 15/16 age mark who play football, do they do anything out of their school training club training? During this time of the year, are they out knocking a ball about at the local pitch/park?

As a kid, between the rioting and school, I very rarely had the stick out of my hand, gable walls, waste ground or up at the local center blasting a ball, on my own or with friends. Are kids still out and about doing this?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

YoungSaff

Quote from: thegladiator on November 15, 2025, 11:41:20 AM
Quote from: HTownlad on November 15, 2025, 10:47:07 AMCassidy has improved Creggans football and won a league with them. He done great with Glenravel also

Toal left both Paddies and Lisburn in a better place than he found them

It's pretty obvious what "done well" means
Are these two circuit men? 😂

Cassidys glenravel team that won promotion to D1 and I think they lost to the now county champions in the intermediate final, and in my opinion have probably been the best team to have played in D2 over the last 4/5 years both pre  and post league restructuring. After cassidy left, They haven't really progressed as far up D1 as they would have hoped, but they still have a lot of good young players coming through.

Knux took over a paddies team that hadnt won a game in 2 seasons. Brought us to 3 championship  semi finals, boosted our league position  and did a lot of the groundwork which lead to our league win this year. The change in lisburn over 2 years was unbelievable. From relegation certainties, to finishing in top half comfortably both seasons. Beat st Paul's twice in their promotion year and only for a shambolic referee should  have beaten Moneyglass in the championship despite playing  45 minutes down to 14 with a chunk  of that down to 13 men. Moneyglass  scoring 1-2 in injury time to win by 6 put a bit of gloss on the scoreline.

I would agree that both have "done well"

What I have highlighted in bold , did Moneyglass not beat Glenravel last year in senior championship then won intermediate this year ? Moneyglass weren't a great intermediate side IMO this year but if they beat Glenravel in senior the year previous what does that tell us?

Should have also never won games ! A friend of mine weas refereeing that evening and I thought he was quite easy on yourselves , a lot of handy frees to keep yous in the game , can't argue a red card for striking!!!

Don't disagree Knux is a bad manager think he done a great job with both clubs but don't pull the wool over your eyes

YoungSaff

Quote from: imtommygunn on November 18, 2025, 07:54:06 AM
Quote from: Gold on November 17, 2025, 11:57:16 PM

Conchuir Johnston is a great talent. I would say he's the most exciting prospect we have and still very young.

Think your spot on here , I said this a few weeks ago in other counties it is the be all and end all , wheras antrim it can be second fiddle

Spike

Quote from: Duine Inteacht Eile on November 18, 2025, 08:14:02 AM
Quote from: Spike on November 18, 2025, 07:28:20 AMIdentity is a good point.  Isn't simply doesnt matter enough bar a few clubs in the country and that's not enough of a playing population to generate good county teams

We need a string belfast if we are to do anything at county level.  Thats the honest answer and at the moment it is just a series of quick fixes and sticky plasters.

Our best club side of the last 50 years took the quick fix of importing players which covered up all the roblems of proper coaching and effort.  Ironically st galls are now perhaps up there with the best coached underage set ups in the city

Why are they shite too then?

You should have read the rest of the sentence for your answer.

if your definition of shite is everything below ulster winners then a very disappointed life you will lead.

Duine Inteacht Eile

There is a notion that some of these SW teams have really kicked on but in reality they aren't any better than they were 20 years ago. They aren't producing players of any better quality than they were 20 years ago.

The only difference is that St Galls are no longer battering them out the door year in year out.

The quality at the top end of our county is poor.

Spike

Cant agree with that. We don't have that St Galls side any more but the quality in the top half of the table is better. The SW clubs have risen at a group level while the Belfast clubs don't appear to be doing the same.  The quality overall will improve further once the league are properly structured and the bottom clubs are correctly allocated.

Whatever agreement / disagreement on the above it still doesn't solve how Belfast GAA becomes stronger and participation numbers are increased

NatSoSaff

There are some complete slabbers on here. Those who seem to thrive on only highlighting the clear and obvious negatives that the dogs on the street could tell you about.

The reality is that the top end of Antrim club football is as strong as it has been in an age, not the other way around. Dunloy, Cargin, Creggan, St. Brigids, Portglenone and Aghagallon if they got their act together would be more than competitive in Derry or Tyrone. You dont know football if you argue otherwise.

I am also optimistic on the County front for next season. The more I hear the more I like, and on the face of things the re introduction of mckenna cup football for the new management team and a division 4 & tailtean cup campaign lays out a season, to my mind, where we can really compete on all fronts and begin to make strides again.

I've been critical on these things in the past myself, but I don't get the agenda of some people.

Derry Man

Quote from: NatSoSaff on November 18, 2025, 03:02:16 PMThere are some complete slabbers on here. Those who seem to thrive on only highlighting the clear and obvious negatives that the dogs on the street could tell you about.

The reality is that the top end of Antrim club football is as strong as it has been in an age, not the other way around. Dunloy, Cargin, Creggan, St. Brigids, Portglenone and Aghagallon if they got their act together would be more than competitive in Derry or Tyrone. You dont know football if you argue otherwise.

I am also optimistic on the County front for next season. The more I hear the more I like, and on the face of things the re introduction of mckenna cup football for the new management team and a division 4 & tailtean cup campaign lays out a season, to my mind, where we can really compete on all fronts and begin to make strides again.

I've been critical on these things in the past myself, but I don't get the agenda of some people.
Dunloy or Cargin would be the 6th best team in Derry, I've no idea what would give you the idea they'd be competitive

SaffronSports

If we don't "compete" in Division 4 we may pull the plug on football in the county. The reality is results will tell the tale for our clubs in Ulster and it's more often than not comfortable defeats. I'd love that not to be true but it is.

Duine Inteacht Eile

Quote from: NatSoSaff on November 18, 2025, 03:02:16 PMThere are some complete slabbers on here. Those who seem to thrive on only highlighting the clear and obvious negatives that the dogs on the street could tell you about.

I know you believe this and that's the insane bit.
There are intermediate teams in Tyrone who would beat some of the clubs you've listed. "More than competitive" Christ above.