The UK Labour Party

Started by lurganblue, November 04, 2025, 11:59:47 AM

Hand of God

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 10, 2025, 08:45:59 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 10, 2025, 08:21:43 PMLads to quit arguing over semantics- long story short Trump, Musk, Bezos and the rest are a shower of pricks who screwed plenty of people over to get where they are and are benefitting from other peoples labour. They pay f**k all in tax and give even less of a f**k about me or you.

Stop defending them.

No one is defending them.. my brain hurts..

For the craic

Jeff Bezos' tax payments vary, with recent estimates suggesting he paid approximately $2.7 billion in tax for 2024 due to selling a significant amount of Amazon stock. Over a 2014-2018 period, his reported "true tax rate" was about 0.98% on nearly $99 billion in wealth growth, and historical reports note he paid no federal income tax in some specific years like 2007 and 2011.

You've spent the last 4 pages of this thread defending them. If you hasn't launched consistent defences and argued the point then this conversation would not be happening. You defend them then deny defending them. I can't clarify whether you are being obtuse or just contrarian.

Quote from: Hand of God on November 11, 2025, 08:27:24 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 10, 2025, 08:45:59 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on November 10, 2025, 08:21:43 PMLads to quit arguing over semantics- long story short Trump, Musk, Bezos and the rest are a shower of pricks who screwed plenty of people over to get where they are and are benefitting from other peoples labour. They pay f**k all in tax and give even less of a f**k about me or you.

Stop defending them.

No one is defending them.. my brain hurts..

For the craic

Jeff Bezos' tax payments vary, with recent estimates suggesting he paid approximately $2.7 billion in tax for 2024 due to selling a significant amount of Amazon stock. Over a 2014-2018 period, his reported "true tax rate" was about 0.98% on nearly $99 billion in wealth growth, and historical reports note he paid no federal income tax in some specific years like 2007 and 2011.

You've spent the last 4 pages of this thread defending them. If you hasn't launched consistent defences and argued the point then this conversation would not be happening. You defend them then deny defending them. I can't clarify whether you are being obtuse or just contrarian.

I said he didn't come from money. If you think different that's on you. What am I defending?
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Hand of God

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 11, 2025, 08:34:11 AMI said he didn't come from money. If you think different that's on you. What am I defending?

No, you were involved in this thread arguing with another poster who wanted more tax on billionaires and were putting up an impassioned defence of them by listing all the good they bring to society before I even posted here. That's the actual truth. As I said it's hard to work out if you are just being obtuse or contrarian.

On the second point. Bezos clearly had money behind him, his parents were able to invest 250k 30 years ago in his startup (the equivalent of 500k in today's money). His grandfather's owned 25k hectacres of land. That is not ordinary family wealth. Ordinary people do not have that kind of money lying around to invest in their large 40s. Ordinary people do not have a grandparent worth 10s of millions.

You are being dishonest on two fronts.

Quote from: Hand of God on November 11, 2025, 08:50:29 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 11, 2025, 08:34:11 AMI said he didn't come from money. If you think different that's on you. What am I defending?

No, you were involved in this thread arguing with another poster who wanted more tax on billionaires and were putting up an impassioned defence of them by listing all the good they bring to society before I even posted here. That's the actual truth. As I said it's hard to work out if you are just being obtuse or contrarian.

On the second point. Bezos clearly had money behind him, his parents were able to invest 250k 30 years ago in his startup (the equivalent of 500k in today's money). His grandfather's owned 25k hectacres of land. That is not ordinary family wealth. Ordinary people do not have that kind of money lying around to invest in their large 40s. Ordinary people do not have a grandparent worth 10s of millions.

You are being dishonest on two fronts.

I said Tax the billionaires, I stated that they employ 100 and 1000's of people, all fact. What impassioned defence did I say?

Listen, I fear for your mental health on a serious level.. Turn the computer off, it ain't good for you
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Hand of God

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 11, 2025, 08:56:25 AMI said Tax the billionaires, I stated that they employ 100 and 1000's of people, all fact. What impassioned defence did I say?

Listen, I fear for your mental health on a serious level.. Turn the computer off, it ain't good for you

You took issue with Armagh18 who wanted to tax the billionaires and you then led an impassioned plea about all the employment and tax they generate in response to him wanting to tax the billionaires as a reason not to tax them.

I'm having to repeat myself again here so I'm beginning to think you are more obtuse than contrarian. You claim to be for taxing the billionaires here you consistently argue against people advocating for the same and delivering a case against not taxing them.

You have utterly lost the run of yourself as you're arguing against something you claim to be for. Why did you take objection to this post?

Quote from: Armagh18 on November 06, 2025, 12:17:47 PMNeed to look at the billionaires paying fuckall tax rather than the ones scrounging benefits. I can guarantee you theres more being lost by the rich not paying than by the poor screwing the system.

That's what prompted your defence of billionaires not paying tax.

If you are ok with taxing billionaires why are you spending endless amounts of time arguing with people suggesting that's what should be done?

I'm not engaging with you anymore.. You are a melt

Hand of God

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 11, 2025, 09:47:31 AMI'm not engaging with you anymore.. You are a melt

You could have done that 5 pages ago and saved us all that nonsense rather than arguing against something you claim to be for.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on November 11, 2025, 09:47:31 AMI'm not engaging with you anymore.. You are a melt
Quote from: Hand of God on November 11, 2025, 10:03:43 AM

You could have done that 5 pages ago and saved us all that nonsense rather than arguing against something you claim to be for.

Thank god for that :D

Ignore function is a mighty yoke altogether ;)
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

HiMucker

1 in 8 households in the republic have a net worth over 1 million euro. 150000 households have a net worth of over 3 million euro. Should get a right few billionaires out of that with your mans logic.

Quote from: HiMucker on November 11, 2025, 11:31:46 AM1 in 8 households in the republic have a net worth over 1 million euro. 150000 households have a net worth of over 3 million euro. Should get a right few billionaires out of that with your mans logic.
1 million seconds ago was Halloween, 1 billion second ago was 1994. Derry were reigning All Ireland Champions. Theres a fair jump from a million to a billion.

1 Trillion seconds ago (that bastard Musks new pay package) it was about 29000 B.C.

If you earned 1 million per day from the year 0 A.D. you'd still be well off a being a trillionaire. Mad.

Hand of God

Quote from: HiMucker on November 11, 2025, 11:31:46 AM1 in 8 households in the republic have a net worth over 1 million euro. 150000 households have a net worth of over 3 million euro. Should get a right few billionaires out of that with your mans logic.

Another chap in desperate to stick up for billionaires by misrepresenting what I said.

I never said being rich meant you became a billionaire. I never said that being rich is the only thing that makes you become a billionaire. I just stated it was a shared common background for a lot of billionaires.

But because guys like you are consumed by the cult of the billionaire you can't dare countenance criticism that these guys might have got to where they are due to having an advantage in financial resources, connections and support. You can't dare question that they got to where they are by buying politicians and regulatory bodies, by breaking laws, by screwing over partners, investors and employees. That's your logic.

"Cult of the billionaire".

Lol f**k me.

As mentioned before, lads like yourself do harm than good for the left that you're so besotted with.

Hand of God

Quote from: thewobbler on November 11, 2025, 12:16:45 PM"Cult of the billionaire".

Lol f**k me.

As mentioned before, lads like yourself do harm than good for the left that you're so besotted with.

Another one.

You seriously need to ask yourself why you get so angry when billionaires are subject to scrutiny and criticism. Why are you so hostile to it? Simple question but continue shouting.

Quote from: Hand of God on November 11, 2025, 12:35:31 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on November 11, 2025, 12:16:45 PM"Cult of the billionaire".

Lol f**k me.

Another one.

You seriously need to ask yourself why you get so angry when billionaires are subject to scrutiny and criticism. Why are you so hostile to it? Simple question but continue shouting.

I don't get angry about. In fact I enjoy it.

You're just emphasising my point though, for just like the entire loony left, you seem to regard anything other than 100% audible compliance with the left, as being an attack on the left.

Yis are fucken mental.