Race for the ARAS 2025

Started by Baling Twine, July 07, 2025, 03:19:19 PM

Quote from: Hand of God on October 23, 2025, 09:16:12 AMHumphreys on the opposite side, is very much at pains trying to tell us that she is a lovely, caring community woman where her voting record is govt and treatment to Lucia O'Farrell paints a completely different picture combined with the negative campaigning and attack politics her campaign has carried out.

She was part of the credit union movement and worked in the community for years. No doubt she could done more on the O'Farrell case, but she did act on it, it is not as if she told the woman to go away. As for her record in government, she was in a government with the highest rate of house building in Europe, with one of highest proportions of welfare spending as a proportion of government expenditure in Europe, and where wages increased 45% while she was there, a 12% real increase. It isn't as if she was working for Trump despite all the bollix claims.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Hand of God

Quote from: armaghniac on October 23, 2025, 02:04:41 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on October 23, 2025, 09:16:12 AMHumphreys on the opposite side, is very much at pains trying to tell us that she is a lovely, caring community woman where her voting record is govt and treatment to Lucia O'Farrell paints a completely different picture combined with the negative campaigning and attack politics her campaign has carried out.

She was part of the credit union movement and worked in the community for years. No doubt she could done more on the O'Farrell case, but she did act on it, it is not as if she told the woman to go away. As for her record in government, she was in a government with the highest rate of house building in Europe, with one of highest proportions of welfare spending as a proportion of government expenditure in Europe, and where wages increased 45% while she was there, a 12% real increase. It isn't as if she was working for Trump despite all the bollix claims.

You seem to differ with Lucia O'Farrell on what Heather Humphreys did for her son. Lucia O'Farrell seems to be under the illusion Heather Humphreys did absolutely nothing to assist her family get justice despite repeated requests. Never met with the family, never backed any motions to order a public enquiry, never attended a vigil for him.

I do find it odd how you attack Connolly with little basis but defend Humphreys.

You are clearly on the right wing of the political spectrum and Catherine Connolly is too much to the left of your position for you to vote for her.

Humphreys term in govt was mired with repeated harsh measures against the most vulnerable in society. That does not add up to the caring, kind, community person she tries to portray herself. Neither does her negative campaigning and attack politics. This is something Catherine Connolly has stayed away from in her campaign.

Quote from: Hand of God on October 23, 2025, 02:13:17 PMYou seem to differ with Lucia O'Farrell on what Heather Humphreys did for her son. Lucia O'Farrell seems to be under the illusion Heather Humphreys did absolutely nothing to assist her family get justice despite repeated requests. Never met with the family, never backed any motions to order a public enquiry, never attended a vigil for him.

I only know what Humphreys said. She did not meet with the family, but spoke with them on the phone, it isn't her business to attend vigils but to act as a TD, which she did. She may not have over exerted herself and she admits that. Which of use could not have done better in some cases in the past?

Quote from: Hand of God on October 23, 2025, 02:13:17 PMYou are clearly on the right wing of the political spectrum and Catherine Connolly is too much to the left of your position for you to vote for her.

I am in the centre politically, Connolly is too much to left of reality.

Quote from: Hand of God on October 23, 2025, 02:13:17 PMHumphreys term in govt was mired with repeated harsh measures against the most vulnerable in society.

This is fantasy. Not everyone got what they wanted, but Ireland is generous to people by any international standard.

Hand of God

Quote from: armaghniac on October 23, 2025, 05:55:07 PM
Quote from: Hand of God on October 23, 2025, 02:13:17 PMYou seem to differ with Lucia O'Farrell on what Heather Humphreys did for her son. Lucia O'Farrell seems to be under the illusion Heather Humphreys did absolutely nothing to assist her family get justice despite repeated requests. Never met with the family, never backed any motions to order a public enquiry, never attended a vigil for him.

I only know what Humphreys said. She did not meet with the family, but spoke with them on the phone, it isn't her business to attend vigils but to act as a TD, which she did. She may not have over exerted herself and she admits that. Which of use could not have done better in some cases in the past?

Quote from: Hand of God on October 23, 2025, 02:13:17 PMYou are clearly on the right wing of the political spectrum and Catherine Connolly is too much to the left of your position for you to vote for her.

I am in the centre politically, Connolly is too much to left of reality.

Quote from: Hand of God on October 23, 2025, 02:13:17 PMHumphreys term in govt was mired with repeated harsh measures against the most vulnerable in society.

This is fantasy. Not everyone got what they wanted, but Ireland is generous to people by any international standard.

You are a hard right of centre. Keir Starmer describes himself as centrist, where you think you are politically and where you actually are is significantly difficult.

On Humphreys, why are you putting forward her case and ignoring that the victims mother utterly rejects her position. Can you acknowledge now that Lucia O'Farrell rejects HH's account of event and has been scathing of the way she handled the family's campaign. This was not a party political incident, it was a very personal issue that Lucia O'Farrell felt badly failed by her constituency minister.

What Humphreys motivation was here is anyone's guess but the optics are terrible.

Quote from: Hand of God on October 23, 2025, 07:13:05 PMYou are a hard right of centre. Keir Starmer describes himself as centrist, where you think you are politically and where you actually are is significantly difficult.

Playing the man instead of opposing the point. Please indicate what I said that make me "far right".

Quote from: Hand of God on October 23, 2025, 07:13:05 PMOn Humphreys, why are you putting forward her case and ignoring that the victims mother utterly rejects her position. Can you acknowledge now that Lucia O'Farrell rejects HH's account of event and has been scathing of the way she handled the family's campaign. This was not a party political incident, it was a very personal issue that Lucia O'Farrell felt badly failed by her constituency minister.

What Humphreys motivation was here is anyone's guess but the optics are terrible.

yes the optics are terrible, perhaps she is just lazy. But not doing things is something we are all guilty of, it is not a great characteristic but the it is still better than proactive attacks on people based on falsehoods, like implying that the voters of Germany are drawing their inspiration from the 1930s. Better a useless President than a dangerous offensive one.

PadraicHenryPearse

source.. about the fifth time I've asked you for a source for your falsehoods and I never get them..

Quote from: Dag Dog on October 23, 2025, 12:14:55 PMIt's the - yes, ok, but she was wearing a short skirt and dancing provocatively defence.
Poor Russia, never fully meaning to commit its latest atrocities and outrages.

She was also out in Syria in 2018 and unaware of who she was meeting
https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-41725710.html

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 23, 2025, 08:33:10 PMsource.. about the fifth time I've asked you for a source for your falsehoods and I never get them..

Sorry, as you speaking to me?

Connolly said "There are parallels between the current increase in military spending in Germany and its rearmament during the 1930s."

I'm pretty sure she did not mean the Weimar Republic, so she is implying that the current democratically elected German government is drawing its inspiration from the 1930s. This is dangerous fantasy.

PadraicHenryPearse

Quote from: armaghniac on October 23, 2025, 09:56:24 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 23, 2025, 08:33:10 PMsource.. about the fifth time I've asked you for a source for your falsehoods and I never get them..

Connolly said "There are parallels between the current increase in military spending in Germany and its rearmament during the 1930s."

I'm pretty sure she did not mean the Weimar Republic, so she is implying that the current democratically elected German government is drawing its inspiration from the 1930s. This is dangerous fantasy.

yes, you the peddler of falsehoods.. so where did she imply the voters of Germany are drawing inspiration from the 30s.

Merz said he would invite a wanted war criminal to Germany, they suppressed marches/protests for Palestine, they arrested you for speaking anything but german/english at protests, they assaulted protesters, they have a growing far right, they were, after the US the main supports of genocide, they prevented sanctions on Israel, so I think there are enough warning sign to call out similarities and I've not mentioned the MIC.

Hand of God

Quote from: armaghniac on October 23, 2025, 08:11:00 PMBetter a useless President than a dangerous offensive one.

Well the leader of the Dail has called TDs from a political party "puppets of Putin" in a shocking and baseless attack. The same leader of the Dail also repeatedly lied about his political opponents not condemning Hamas for the Oct 7th attack when they did from the get go. He also solely blamed the PIRA for The Troubles and doubled down on it. The same leader of the Dail is now trying to railroad through legislation that undermines Irish neutrality against the will of the majority of people.

Catherine Connolly is anti-war, FFG are worrying shifting more to the right and looking to sacrifice young Irish men in proxy wars across the world against the will of the people without any attempts to gain consent.

You are in step with this leader of the Dail. I think this shows you to be a bad judge of what a truly dangerous politician actually looks like. It's no wonder the far right is on the rise when you look at the consistent messes FFG have made on effectively every social issue in the 26.

I don't play the man at all btw. You smear people with positions and views they never make. You do this to discredit them because you actually have nothing on their actual position.

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 23, 2025, 10:12:25 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on October 23, 2025, 09:56:24 PM

yes, you the peddler of falsehoods.. so where did she imply the voters of Germany are drawing inspiration from the 30s.

Merz said he would invite a wanted war criminal to Germany, they suppressed marches/protests for Palestine, they arrested you for speaking anything but german/english at protests, they assaulted protesters, they have a growing far right, they were, after the US the main supports of genocide, they prevented sanctions on Israel, so I think there are enough warning sign to call out similarities and I've not mentioned the MIC.

This is nothing to do with Connolly's falsehood and of course many of protestors assaulted police.
She could have criticised Merz for saying that he would invite a wanted war criminal to Germany, that is fair comment, not fantasy. But she chose fantasy over reality.

PadraicHenryPearse

It's an opinion, you can disagree with her opinion.

I happen to think the examples I listed including arming and supporting a genocide, growing far right and crackdowns on freedoms is similar to the 30s... 

you choose to misrepresent her opinions.. so where did she imply the voters of Germany were drawing inspiration from the 30s and you have misreprented her numerous times.

Hand of God

Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on October 23, 2025, 11:11:28 PMIt's an opinion, you can disagree with her opinion.

I happen to think the examples I listed including arming and supporting a genocide, growing far right and crackdowns on freedoms is similar to the 30s... 

you choose to misrepresent her opinions.. so where did she imply the voters of Germany were drawing inspiration from the 30s and you have misreprented her numerous times.

100%

It's the exact same thing the political establishment do with the left relentlessly.

They can't actually contend their points so are straight into attack mode and misrepresenting positions.

There is nothing far left about any TD in the Dail. Nobody is angling about turning Ireland into a communist state.

It's also interesting that Micheal Martin likes to use the same terms  like "Marxist" when referring to the left as the far right use against the left.

Smear and misrepresentations has sadly became the only thing the right wing establishment have to deflect away from their chronic failures.