Favourite Sandwich

Started by JoG2, October 10, 2025, 10:52:06 AM

Mourne Red

Quote from: AustinPowers on October 10, 2025, 01:04:19 PMTurkey and ham  , straight out of the oven, late  on Christmas Eve, shoved in between two slices of  white bread.

There's nothing  like it. And usually more enjoyable  than the dinner itself on Christmas Day.

Close the thread we have our winner. Cuppa tea with it and fire roaring, no beating it

My Dad (god rest him) made the lunches the night before work for us 'workers' and traditionally on a Monday it was whatever the Sunday roast was, beef, chicken or Gammon (f**king hated gammon days)

Things got worse as the week went on, thin slices of ham, corn beef brown sauce with some tomato, Thursday started hitting it bad with a jam sandwich and Friday was what was left over! I remember loads of times he made the sandwich look good but when you opened it up there was only ham around the edges lol! nothing in the middle !
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

thebuzz

I would be happy with every sandwich mix mentioned so far. The only thing that I avoid in a sandwich is cucumber. Yeuk.

I worked as a painter with a guy from home in New York in 89. I was tasked with going to the deli everyday and making the sandwiches.

When I left the brother worked with him. He told him that he missed me more for my sandwiches than my painting...

AustinPowers

QuoteTurkey and ham  , straight out of the oven, late  on Christmas Eve, shoved in between two slices of  white bread.

There's nothing  like it. And usually more enjoyable  than the dinner itself on Christmas Day.

I've about five. Won't bore yous.

This would be one but it needs stuffing and plain bread and it needs ate on Xmas night or the night after, whatever ye call it 😜
Jaysus, can't believe I  left out the stuffing!

Top three in no particular order.

Turkey, ham, stuffing.

Corn beef, brown sauce.

And finally. Sausage roll, ham and pickled beetroot 😍

Thread of Dreams/Nightmares as an exile to be fair. Nothing comes close to an Irish sandwich in Mam's kitchen. Soft white bread: Hellmans on one side, Colemans on the other. Fresh sliced limerick ham, bit of coleslaw.

Current American ingredient favourites

The Saturday Morning Special
Soft White Bap
HP Sauce one side, Colemans on the other
Thick cut American bacon
Slice of Cheddar

Soft White Bap or Bread
Good Quality Peanut Butter
Strawberry Jam

Could easily live on a PB&J daily.

Quote from: Mourne Red on October 10, 2025, 04:16:01 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 10, 2025, 01:04:19 PMTurkey and ham  , straight out of the oven, late  on Christmas Eve, shoved in between two slices of  white bread.

Close the thread we have our winner. Cuppa tea with it and fire roaring, no beating it
Don't tell me you heathens cook the turkey and gammon on Christmas Eve?

Ah jaysus I knew it was going too well. Afore it all kicks off I'll just add

Bacon and egg
Egg and onion esp at wakes and buffets
Chicken cheese and coleslaw on baguette
Tuno mayo goes well with salt and vinegar. Or cheese and onion tbh. Have had neither in ages
Cheese baguette. Melt said cheese in microwave for 20secs then fire in the ham or whatever
Prawn mayo

Italian bmt from subway

I'll stop now

DaleCooper

The BLT is obviously the King. Triple deck version.

Speaking of King's , I made one of Elvis' favourites for a family gathering once.

Peanut butter, Grape jam and streaky bacon in a sub roll.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fool%27s_Gold_Loaf

gawa316

What is it bout the egg and onion. Would never entertain the idea of making myself one, but when the buffet or platter comes out, t'is one of the first I'll go for.

gawa316

Okay 2 more...fresh, warm baguette smothered in golden cow with carvery ham.

For a toastie...bacon, chicken/turkey, fried onions, crispy stuffing, a drizzle of gravy, on Pat's pan

Quote from: gawa316 on October 10, 2025, 06:12:34 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 10, 2025, 04:54:11 PMCould easily live on a PB&J daily.

Get away to feck with ye!

It's not like I fuckin added marshmallows or somethin!

Quote from: gawa316 on October 10, 2025, 04:09:03 PMHard to bate just the old white bread, ham and butter sandwich...they have to be triangles though....many's a sandwich was downed during the half time tea at the church badminton league. They would stick to the roof of your mouth...ah the memories

A beautiful triangle sandwich still very much enjoyed when visiting a bereaved neighbour the night before a funeral. Always a plentiful supply as other kindly neighbours bring over trays of them. You'd be ayten away while reminiscing about the poor man who has just passed, who incidently is also in the room lying motionless in an exposed coffin.

snoopdog

White bread butter cheddar cheese and HP sauce.