America`s Gun Culture

Started by Wildweasel74, December 14, 2012, 06:00:57 PM

DaleCooper

Theres an entire transcript of the guy texting his furry friend after carrying out the deed. He says "I had enough of his hatred. Some hate can't be negotiated out". Ciao Bella was referenced [an obscure Italian anti fascist anthem]. Fairly clear he believed Kirk was Baby Hitler and decided to act.

Kimmel was just regurgitating what he thought was truth because high profile media types were saying it and didn't think to check for himself.

"Disinformation Internet expert" Brandy Zadrozny brazenly stated on MSNBC : To suggest people on the internet are cheering for the murder of Charlie Kirk is "the total opposite of what's actually happening."

At a time when sober reporting is needed more than ever we have hyperventilating ladies instead.

Quote from: RedHand88 on September 18, 2025, 09:07:09 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on September 18, 2025, 08:58:24 AM
Quote from: RedHand88 on September 18, 2025, 08:45:08 AM
Quote from: Main Street on September 16, 2025, 10:24:12 PMI came across a comment on Threads
"I can't believe Charlie Kirk was actually less annoying when he was alive"

Wtf?!
Hard to have any sympathy for anyone who gets in bother with work for the likes of this.
Why? What has that got to do with anyones job?

I know my job would have an online social media policy which basically says don't be an a**hole on the Internet.
Time for a new job then if you'd get in trouble for posting Charlie Kirk was annoying (alive or dead).

93-DY-SAM

Quote from: Rois on September 18, 2025, 06:17:16 AMNot sure if this fits in here, but did anyone see the Channel 4 show last night "Trump vs The Truth"?
2hrs 45 mins where 100 of Trump's comments/statements/rants were proven ti be factually incorrect. Fascinating stuff. He just makes stuff up consistently.

That's what society has become today. People can come out with anything, and there will be a significant proportion of people who will take that as gospel. The more ridiculous the lie, the more people seem to lap it up. If you say something enough times, it becomes "true". It all started with Trump the first time around, and it has significantly ramped up since then. Farage has jumped onto it even more so now in England, and it's starting to creep in here. Social media has also helped to spread the lie further and faster than ever.

I'm no fan of my own county man Joe, but I remember a clip from years ago, so him telling a story about a politician I think it was, who someone wanted to start a rumour about.  I can't find the clip or remember the finer details, but it was something along the lines of, let's say, X fucks pigs. If we say it enough times, people will start to attach that story to said person, regardless of whether it is true or not. Mud sticks. Knowing Joe, it was probably a figment of his imagination (ironic), but the point remains. 

DaleCooper

That was LBJ.

"I wanna hear him deny it!"

A variation of "if you're explaining youre losing"

Louther

I fear where this will end.

It nearly feels that people are striving to be unhappy and have things to complain about. They trawl social media and are told all about the bad things that are out there and that they should be miserable and fearful of what's coming to them.

People have problems that they don't actually have and it's amplified. Talking with people they giving out things that have absolutely no impact on their daily life and if they did, they could serve it and carry on.

Hard to know how and where this been driven but can be sure that it's money and power for some that driving it. People are playthings.

Just enjoy life, get out of the house and talk to people you know, not buried in social media. Never before has it been easier to lie and make stories travel without question or doubt. Extremes on all sides.

Quote from: Louther on September 18, 2025, 10:58:02 AMI fear where this will end.

It nearly feels that people are striving to be unhappy and have things to complain about. They trawl social media and are told all about the bad things that are out there and that they should be miserable and fearful of what's coming to them.

People have problems that they don't actually have and it's amplified. Talking with people they giving out things that have absolutely no impact on their daily life and if they did, they could serve it and carry on.

Hard to know how and where this been driven but can be sure that it's money and power for some that driving it. People are playthings.

Just enjoy life, get out of the house and talk to people you know, not buried in social media. Never before has it been easier to lie and make stories travel without question or doubt. Extremes on all sides.

I'd a crack pot talking about what 'they' are getting, I'd spoken to her early and she'd informed me that she doesn't work and has been a home maker for 30 years! Good f**king grief!

Completely lost on them, oh, she'd one kid
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

The thing is that you realise how many fuckin genuinely stupid there are out there. The lads sowing all the divisions know this and just need to rabble rouse. The comeback might be that I am a stupid one - one of the sheeple!

Some of the stuff that you hear from people these days is insane and the problem is that "they do their research" and think they are experts. Social media amplifies these head the balls too.

There is now buzz words that start online and then they are in the real world. Christian values...ah yeah the President riding a porn star when his wife is at home pregnant...it's what Jesus would have wanted...

There is so much hypocrisy and contradictions on the right that you don't even know where to begin. But then the left can't unite and mobilise and when they try they seem to have all other headers shouting on that side.

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on September 18, 2025, 11:16:48 AMThe thing is that you realise how many fuckin genuinely stupid there are out there. The lads sowing all the divisions know this and just need to rabble rouse. The comeback might be that I am a stupid one - one of the sheeple!

Some of the stuff that you hear from people these days is insane and the problem is that "they do their research" and think they are experts. Social media amplifies these head the balls too.

There is now buzz words that start online and then they are in the real world. Christian values...ah yeah the President riding a porn star when his wife is at home pregnant...it's what Jesus would have wanted...

There is so much hypocrisy and contradictions on the right that you don't even know where to begin. But then the left can't unite and mobilise and when they try they seem to have all other headers shouting on that side.

100%. Or people that only dip in and out and maybe hear something from one source and take it as gospel. Think about how stupid the average person is. Then remember half the population are even stupider lol

Louther

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 18, 2025, 11:15:56 AM
Quote from: Louther on September 18, 2025, 10:58:02 AMI fear where this will end.

I'd a crack pot talking about what 'they' are getting, I'd spoken to her early and she'd informed me that she doesn't work and has been a home maker for 30 years! Good f**king grief!

Countless people like that and they have time on their hands to fill and get caught up in the stories.

My own example would be a nephew, works about 2/3 days a week as painter, his wife works similar in a beauticians. They've 3 kids, they got new social house and currently awaiting a new 4 bed that's been built. Both could have any amount of work but said it's not worth it. Have everything you could want, been to Disney in Paris at Easter and sun holiday just gone.
Yet, talk to him and he full of hate for people he doesn't know and has been to these protests in local towns. Filled full of stories of why he should be fearful and what They are getting that should be his. Absolutely no self awareness and unless he looking a swimming pool, I don't know what else he could be waiting on.

Also had a former work colleague who had his kids assessed several times until they got a diagnosis of autism so that then could claim additional benefits and credits and he was delighted at the time as said it was worth tens of thousand to him. Don't be talking to him now but his social media is full of the usual. I've have no doubt at the time he was coaching the kids to "pass" the assessment.

Louther

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on September 18, 2025, 11:16:48 AMThe thing is that you realise how many fuckin genuinely stupid there are out there. The lads sowing all the divisions know this and just need to rabble rouse. The comeback might be that I am a stupid one - one of the sheeple!

Agree totally on this.

The new found reverence for Religion from many is off the charts. Led by those in position of power who have the morals of alley cats. Last week at that demo in London, all wearing crosses round necks and talking about Christian values.

The power than podcasts have taken on can't be underestimated. The people have become so influential.

Quote from: Louther on September 18, 2025, 11:29:23 AM

Countless people like that and they have time on their hands to fill and get caught up in the stories.

My own example would be a nephew, works about 2/3 days a week as painter, his wife works similar in a beauticians. They've 3 kids, they got new social house and currently awaiting a new 4 bed that's been built. Both could have any amount of work but said it's not worth it. Have everything you could want, been to Disney in Paris at Easter and sun holiday just gone.
Yet, talk to him and he full of hate for people he doesn't know and has been to these protests in local towns. Filled full of stories of why he should be fearful and what They are getting that should be his. Absolutely no self awareness and unless he looking a swimming pool, I don't know what else he could be waiting on.

Also had a former work colleague who had his kids assessed several times until they got a diagnosis of autism so that then could claim additional benefits and credits and he was delighted at the time as said it was worth tens of thousand to him. Don't be talking to him now but his social media is full of the usual. I've have no doubt at the time he was coaching the kids to "pass" the assessment.
Some people know how to game the system. Fair play to the painter and his wife- get to enjoy life and spend time with the kids- if they both worked full time sure they'd be worse off by the time they pay for childcare, plus the benefit of not having your children raised by stranger's.

I may have sidetracked this thread a bit but the gun lovers are all wrapped up in this bizarre logic world.
Sure Kirk said himself a few deaths are worth it. Probably didn't think on him being one.

The killer had a great upbringing with Jesus and guns too.

Louther

Quote from: Armagh18 on September 18, 2025, 12:02:51 PM
Quote from: Louther on September 18, 2025, 11:29:23 AM

Some people know how to game the system. Fair play to the painter and his wife- get to enjoy life and spend time with the kids- if they both worked full time sure they'd be worse off by the time they pay for childcare, plus the benefit of not having your children raised by stranger's.

That's a fairly standard response these days - cherry pick a few bits, agree with them and then add on parts that you've no idea about but confidently state as facts!
Who said they don't use child care? Of course they do! Even when part time working, the kids head off 5 days a week either to Creche, preschool or school.

And the point was how he viewed others, rather than his own situation. "They" taking everything and how he is riled up with no real justification.

But carry on.

93-DY-SAM

Quote from: DaleCooper on September 18, 2025, 10:54:19 AMThat was LBJ.

"I wanna hear him deny it!"

A variation of "if you're explaining youre losing"

Ah yes. Cheers Dale. I couldn't for the life of me think who it was.

93-DY-SAM

The Dunning-Kruger effect.