?

?
62 (87.3%)
?
9 (12.7%)

Total Members Voted: 71

Lads yous will piss the league again by 15 points.
Probably win a cup or two.
Going deep into the champions league is not going to happen.
What more do celtic fans want?

Quote from: SaffronSports on August 08, 2025, 12:37:42 PMHave people been watching with their eyes closed? This has been the Celtic way for years now. Every year they're scrambling about at the end of the transfer window with a couple of deals. Sometimes I wonder if they have potential deals sorted depending on if they make Champions League or the Europa League but either way there's always business left to the wire.

No doubt...It will happen again. What i'm saying is why gamble like this with that amount of money involved, the money was never as big as it is now so the last 2 years is mind blowing money for Celtic so why gamble on it when you don't have too. Something just doesn't feel right but I'm behind you 100%, Celtic will be prowling around on deadline day looking for bargains and cheap deals like the foreigners in the Tesco out of date section last thing at night.

Quote from: RedHand88 on August 08, 2025, 01:21:54 PMLads yous will piss the league again by 15 points.
Probably win a cup or two.
Going deep into the champions league is not going to happen.
What more do celtic fans want?

Hopefully we do piss the league but I think it'll be tighter this year unless Celtic get the finger out. The rest of the teams in the league have strengthened this year so we should see a better league.
Celtic will never win the CL again but with some investment and the right signings there is no reason why we can make the knockout stages or at best quarter finals. (30 seconds from going to extra time with Bayern last season)
Celtic fans just want to be the best they can be, we've £100m in the bank at present...spend some of it on players and invest some of it on the stadium or other infrastructure around the ground instead of paying the tax man £20m for it sitting in the bank

SaffronSports

Quote from: illdecide on August 08, 2025, 02:28:22 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on August 08, 2025, 12:37:42 PMHave people been watching with their eyes closed? This has been the Celtic way for years now. Every year they're scrambling about at the end of the transfer window with a couple of deals. Sometimes I wonder if they have potential deals sorted depending on if they make Champions League or the Europa League but either way there's always business left to the wire.

No doubt...It will happen again. What i'm saying is why gamble like this with that amount of money involved, the money was never as big as it is now so the last 2 years is mind blowing money for Celtic so why gamble on it when you don't have too. Something just doesn't feel right but I'm behind you 100%, Celtic will be prowling around on deadline day looking for bargains and cheap deals like the foreigners in the Tesco out of date section last thing at night.

Could it be as simple as the lads in the top offices are happy to take their share of the spoils in wages or dividends without spending big bucks?

Quote from: illdecide on August 08, 2025, 02:28:22 PM

Foreigners?? I didn't take you for a guy with xenophobic tendencies. When in Edinburgh and shopping in Tescos, invariably I along with other denizens, natives and probably people of a foreign origin can be seen browsing the out of date section.
Never too rich to pass on a good deal.

A nomination for the most non-Rangers late penalty award ever, today's 90th min v Dundee

edit,  somewhat  balanced out by a raucous Ibrox being reduced to a booing mob after their 97th min winning goal was ruled out by VAR.

Celtic get the job done will little fuss yesterday, probably in 2nd gear too but big Idah is walking on thin ice. Man looks like he's new to football and is finding his feet but unfortunately that's not the case. I'd lobe him to succeed at Celtic coming from Ireland and all that but I just can't see a future for him in his current form.
Maeda has looked a shadow of himself too so far, I know it's early days so hopefully he can turn that around but our front 3 is so poor atm it's scary. Jamesie is by far out best forward and he's meant to only be an impact sub at 34

Big game tonight for the Hoops...after the humbling Sevco got last night you really can't take any European team lightly now as they have all improved and I suppose over the years Scottish teams have regressed.
Celtic really need a 3-0 scoreline to have me comfortable going over there, a 2-0 may still be enough with a good defensive display over there but it will still have us nervous. Celtic really need this qualification as it's clear the signings for this transfer window depends on what tournament Celtic play in which is a shame as the Celtic Board have failed to prepare and are gambling with qualification.

Brugge are a good team, although maybe not as good as last year  :P 

Too many bad memories in the recent past from UCL qualifying nightmares to take this team lightly tonight. AEK, Cluj, Ferencvaros. By f**k do the board like to wing it every year

Quote from: general_lee on August 20, 2025, 10:04:39 AMBrugge are a good team, although maybe not as good as last year  :P 

Too many bad memories in the recent past from UCL qualifying nightmares to take this team lightly tonight. AEK, Cluj, Ferencvaros. By f**k do the board like to wing it every year

agreed. Im a bit worried about this tie

Celtic will hopefully get a good result tonight and away from home next week. Qualification is vital.

But Celtic panel is weaker than last year - far weaker. Nobody in any doubt about that.

Desmond seems to calling the shots. That's a serious issue.

A second, and maybe more important issue is the recruitment 'team'. Serious issues there between them and board. Clearly something not right.

Clearly there's a policy of bringing in players as 'potential' then loaning them back out to other teams. This is constantly happening but outwith a few good examples, Mc Gregor and Scales (who's not top level), I'd say 95% are never heard of again. So clearly, whoever is bringing in these players haven't done their homework.

A second issue is homegrown players. You'd think Celtic could develop a quality academy player every year.

No1

Lads have already said it but the next 7 days are crucial.  If Celtic qualify for the Champions League then better players will be easier to attract and the miserable hoors in the Board might open the biscuit tin.  If Celtic don't qualify then the Board will be content to stay ahead of Rangers at home, spend no money, lose the manager and it's back to square one!

Really disappointing first half. Zero creativity with the exception of maybe KT. Not much in the way of intensity either. Reo running about like a blue arsed fly and Idah has the pace and elegance of a donkey. Maeda not at it either, we're pathetic in the final third. Hopefully Johnstons injury isn't as bad as it looks. That Kairat team aren't up to much but they are well set up defensively and gave a warning shot early on. Need a good boot up the hole for the second half.

A hard working organised team will frustrate an ordinary team and Celtic are a very very ordinary atm. The Kazakhs are hassling & chasing down everthing, nothing fancy.

Get Idah off and put Maeda through middle.