David Clifford to surpass the Gooch?

Started by CumminsCiderLarry, June 03, 2018, 11:11:35 AM

Quote from: armaghniac on August 01, 2025, 10:02:31 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 28, 2025, 10:01:38 AM
Quote from: DaleCooper on July 28, 2025, 09:56:07 AMThe built in assumption was Donegal being clever defensively.

A wrong assumption so there was no real contest.
Baffling me how McGuinness decided to set up so similarly to Armagh after seeing that it doesn't work, would like to think that if roles were reversed and Donegal had got the trimming in the earlier rounds and Armagh were playing Kerry in the final we'd have set up differently but we'll never know.

Armagh might have been less nervous in the final than Donegal were.

Yeah, less nervous but if your ma had balls...

Don't take offence with that please  ;D it's just a saying
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 01, 2025, 11:24:54 PMYeah, less nervous but if your ma had balls...

Don't take offence with that please  ;D it's just a saying

This phrase is somewhat obselete, as nowadays everyone except J. K Rowling thinks that your ma can have balls.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

Apparently, David Clifford only spent 43 seconds of the 70 minutes of the All Ireland final on the ball.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

They'd better drop the lazy hoor off the panel.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

Quote from: armaghniac on August 05, 2025, 10:23:21 PMApparently, David Clifford only spent 43 seconds of the 70 minutes of the All Ireland final on the ball.
Madness.

Look-Up!

Quote from: armaghniac on August 05, 2025, 10:23:21 PMApparently, David Clifford only spent 43 seconds of the 70 minutes of the All Ireland final on the ball.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_2laB4L0z5I

Staying five mins from the Fossa pitch, so got to see the great man in the flesh tonight. Barely had to get out of first gear and he still kicked 4 or 5 two pointers, including an absolute worldie where they were playing with the advantage and the ref blew to call it back with the ball still in the air. Everyone in the place seemed to think it was wide and it just kept hanging in the air and crept inside the post.

Fossa were given their fill of it in the first half and went in two up, 1-08 top 0-09, but the eight points were all two pointers so it was 9 scores to 5. Then at the start of the second half, the Firies keeper threw a half blocked shot into his own net and that was essentially that. Fossa are a bunch of big bastards and they've a few very solid, powerful lads beyond the Cliffords. Paudie didn't play at all despite being named and didn't play the first group game either apparently. A few lads I was chatting to said he had to get an injection for the Donegal game. Hope he's ok. Although he's an absolute gobshite on the sideline  ;D

Also, interestingly, Fossa have an Antrim man as part of their management team, which I wasn't expecting.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable evening and a box ticked off. For a club just out of Junior, Fossa have a lovely setup. Pitch is in a great spot.

Fossa judging  by them on tv, a few yrs ago had only the Clifford's plus a Kerry U20 at corner forward, thought the rest were poor. Thought a few yrs at Kerry Intermediate which is very strong would bring you on.

Quote from: Armagh18 on August 06, 2025, 09:18:17 AM
Madness.

Only spent 19 seconds of the first 35 min on the ball and scored 5 pts.

thebigfullforward

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 17, 2025, 11:35:05 AMFossa judging g by them on tv a few yrs ago had only the Clifford's plus a Kerry U20 at corner forwards thought the rest poor. Thought a few yrs at Kerry Intermediate which is very strong would bring you on.
David Shaw is it? He seemed like he could take a point and good in general play too although have only watched Fossa twice this year in the 2 group games

Yes Shaw, was on the county minor teams,good enough for county but Kerry such a big forwards pick!

Emmett O'Shea is very useful and they had a lad in midfield who was very powerful, Ted someone. The way he played I thought he'd be an older fella but I was behind the Fossa dugout when he was taken off and 20 was about as old as he could have been.

Dun Eile

Quote from: thebigfullforward on August 18, 2025, 02:57:13 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on August 17, 2025, 11:35:05 AMFossa judging g by them on tv a few yrs ago had only the Clifford's plus a Kerry U20 at corner forwards thought the rest poor. Thought a few yrs at Kerry Intermediate which is very strong would bring you on.
David Shaw is it? He seemed like he could take a point and good in general play too although have only watched Fossa twice this year in the 2 group games

Emmett O'Shea. Shaw is Dr Crokes.

Sorry,O'Shea it is. In saying that, Shaw couldn't be far off the county panel!

Ball Hopper

Seeing as someone mentioned David Shaw, he has a first cousin well known in GAA circles.

Guesses welcome till this time tomorrow night.