Dublin v Armagh (Group 4) / Sun 1st June, 4pm / Croke Park

Started by balladmaker, May 26, 2025, 01:02:20 PM

Quote from: Orior on June 01, 2025, 10:24:15 PMI went into the game thinking that Dublin would turn us over like they did against Galway. And after 15 minutes that seemed to be on the cards. But Armagh never give up.

McMullan, Rian, Conaty, Jarly Og, Ben all class acts.

TK is a rock at CHB - his reading of the game is getting better and better.

Cannot understand why the ref awarded Dublin a free after a Dub tripped Soupy.
It was Dublin Joe, worth 3 or 4 scores to the Dubs as per lol

onefineday

Didn't think Joe covered himself in glory today, wouldn't go as far as saying he ruined the game, but he didn't help it.

The second half was awful fayre for a spectator - dull, no flow, no excitement or intensity, no goal chances, just 3-up breaches, crappy frees and appalling shooting.
All that said, Armagh impressed, did what was needed and always looked like they could move up a gear if needed.

Re the 3-up breach, could linesmen maybe signal it with a flag, different colours for accidental v deliberate as from a spectator p.o.v in a stadium like croker, we've no idea what's going on - we just see Joe grab the ball and run to the other end of the pitch.

The media seems to think that if you go out and pump wides from silly places, then you are a top team and just unlucky...

Yeah the narrative of "if they scored all those shots they didn't, then they'd have won" is tiresome.

Quote from: onefineday on June 02, 2025, 01:11:33 AMDidn't think Joe covered himself in glory today, wouldn't go as far as saying he ruined the game, but he didn't help it.

The second half was awful fayre for a spectator - dull, no flow, no excitement or intensity, no goal chances, just 3-up breaches, crappy frees and appalling shooting.
All that said, Armagh impressed, did what was needed and always looked like they could move up a gear if needed.

Re the 3-up breach, could linesmen maybe signal it with a flag, different colours for accidental v deliberate as from a spectator p.o.v in a stadium like croker, we've no idea what's going on - we just see Joe grab the ball and run to the other end of the pitch.

point of the game was scored right at the start of the second half. Armagh done enough to keep the dubs at bay in the second half. We have levels to go up I think

Top of the group of death 3 years in a row not bad going. Just wait til we get Oisin O'Neill back fit. Thought so many lads were outstanding yesterday, great win with plenty to improve on and a free hit at Galway.

Dublin's worst performance since 2009 1/4 final.
How did they only lose by 5 pts?
2 if you took their 3v3 breaches out of it.

Rufus T Firefly

Quote from: tonto1888 on June 02, 2025, 09:06:42 AMpoint of the game was scored right at the start of the second half. Armagh done enough to keep the dubs at bay in the second half. We have levels to go up I think

I'm assuming you're talking about Rian's two-pointer into the wind, which was absolutely magnificent.

Given though that it's all about opinions, the point of the game, which was also the point of the Championship for me - and has been criminally overlooked - was Oisin Conaty's effort in the 30th minute. There were echoes of Maradona's goal against England in the Azteca in 1986.

Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 02, 2025, 09:14:23 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 02, 2025, 09:06:42 AMpoint of the game was scored right at the start of the second half. Armagh done enough to keep the dubs at bay in the second half. We have levels to go up I think

I'm assuming you're talking about Rian's two-pointer into the wind, which was absolutely magnificent.

Given though that it's all about opinions, the point of the game, which was also the point of the Championship for me - and has been criminally overlooked - was Oisin Conaty's effort in the 30th minute. There were echoes of Maradona's goal against England in the Azteca in 1986.

I was yeah and I agree on that point by Conaty, that was superb as well, and to be fair one of the dubs scored a screamer too - Costello maybe. McMullans point was great as well. The pass, the flick, the pick up.

Quote from: lurganblue on June 02, 2025, 08:55:37 AMThe media seems to think that if you go out and pump wides from silly places, then you are a top team and just unlucky...

No, it's because the quality is not there!

Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on June 02, 2025, 09:14:23 AM

Fantastic score.  Reminded me a bit of a young Marsden.

AustinPowers

Quote from: blanketattack on June 02, 2025, 09:14:15 AMDublin's worst performance since 2009 1/4 final.
How did they only lose by 5 pts?
2 if you took their 3v3 breaches out of it.

And if Kilkenny  had nailed that two pointer  at the end , it would have  been a draw

Jaysus,  Armagh were lucky as shite   ;D

When are the venues and times for last round in the group likely to be known?

They could play Tyrone or mayo  also

Gael85

Quote from: maddog on June 02, 2025, 10:37:40 AMWhen are the venues and times for last round in the group likely to be known?

Tomorrow.