Leinster Senior Football Championship 2025

Started by Shamrock Shore, March 27, 2025, 10:51:39 AM

Quote from: Angus MacGyver on May 06, 2025, 12:51:07 AMThe closer this one gets the more Louth's fear of losing is becoming apparent. Meath much more relaxed. Leaning to the Royals on this basis.

What's that based upon on?

GoldCoastRossie

As someone living in Meath with 2 kids in the Colmcilles academy, it is noticeable the level of interest and the number of Meath jerseys that showed up at hurling training, the Monday night after the win against Dublin.  It doesn't hurt that we are beside Drogheda and a good local rivalry exists.  My 6 year keeps asking is he a Royal now, I have been trying to tell him he is one since birth but its starting to impact on his consciousness.

The lack of flags up etc is a still strange for me coming from Roscommon but its not a huge surprise none of my kids friends parents are from Meath originally and my wife considers herself a Dub even if she lived in Bettystown since she was 11!.

Dunneroyal

Quote from: thejuice on May 06, 2025, 06:38:45 AMNot long now. From what I've heard Jack Flynn still won't be fit for Sunday. It'll be the same team again most likely except Jones in for O'Neill if he's fit to start.
yeah heard same. Flynn maybe on bench
Hon the royal

Dunneroyal

Quote from: GoldCoastRossie on May 06, 2025, 10:51:33 AMAs someone living in Meath with 2 kids in the Colmcilles academy, it is noticeable the level of interest and the number of Meath jerseys that showed up at hurling training, the Monday night after the win against Dublin.  It doesn't hurt that we are beside Drogheda and a good local rivalry exists.  My 6 year keeps asking is he a Royal now, I have been trying to tell him he is one since birth but its starting to impact on his consciousness.

The lack of flags up etc is a still strange for me coming from Roscommon but its not a huge surprise none of my kids friends parents are from Meath originally and my wife considers herself a Dub even if she lived in Bettystown since she was 11!.

It will take a bit to gain traction a win on Sunday and the whole thing takes off. That been said looking at it unbiased Louth would and should be favourites. They have hammered Meath twice in a year , last time without some of their best players who are back now. If I was having a bet with my head only I'd lump on Louth to win. The odds are about evens. However with me heart ruling everything I can only see a royal victory by 6/7. 
Hon the royal

meathie

Tickets flying out the door for Sunday!! Gonna be great atmosphere... only tickets left in a few upper levels now

Has been reported over 50,000 tickets sold for Sunday's final for comparison, the 2010 Leinster Final between Louth and Meath drew a crowd of 48,875.

I am not sure why Louth are being tipped in some quarters. Meath had a better year and that win will have them buzzing. Kildare left the game behind them and missed goals chances and were unwilling to shoot from the fringes, even when it was on.

Meath will let rip and the Louth keeper got fairly rattled for spells and put his team under fair pressure.

If Meath are winning by a fair bit they should throw the ball into the net for the craic!!  :o

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 07, 2025, 04:39:04 PMI am not sure why Louth are being tipped in some quarters. Meath had a better year and that win will have them buzzing. Kildare left the game behind them and missed goals chances and were unwilling to shoot from the fringes, even when it was on.

Meath will let rip and the Louth keeper got fairly rattled for spells and put his team under fair pressure.

If Meath are winning by a fair bit they should throw the ball into the net for the craic!!  :o

Last two meetings Louth won is probably why.

At the end of March. Louth 1-19 Meath 0-17

May last year in the All-Ireland group stage. Louth 3-10 Meath 0-9

Of course Meath now have the huge confidence of taking out Dublin and will strongly fancy themselves on Sunday though those two results should keep them focused.

Dunneroyal

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 07, 2025, 04:39:04 PMI am not sure why Louth are being tipped in some quarters. Meath had a better year and that win will have them buzzing. Kildare left the game behind them and missed goals chances and were unwilling to shoot from the fringes, even when it was on.

Ok throwing the ball in the net is hilarious.  :)   That been said it's the last two meetings in past year. Where to be honest Louth destroyed us. Now both those games were in inniskeen and croke park will be entirely different. If we get banty on form and get low ball to him he could have a field day.  I'm very hopeful but certainly not over confident

Hon the royal

Fogarty

Ger Brennan will be shown to be a better manager than Robbie Brennan.
History will also show that Dublin under Dessie Farrell are in a massive decline.

Is the Dublin decline due to Dessie Farrell or lack of quality players coming in to replace the all conquering ones?
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.

statto

Previous experience of last two finals, Morris being out for Meath and being a right bit better in most recent meeting would be reasons to give them a right chance.  There would also be the fact that when a team wins a big semi final against the odds and knocks out the raging hot favourites that the team has already played their final narrative.  Louth have also some great momentum in the county at the moment with u20 side going well.  Should be a right game. 

Fogarty

Quote from: Rossfan on May 08, 2025, 08:41:00 AMIs the Dublin decline due to Dessie Farrell or lack of quality players coming in to replace the all conquering ones?
He was a poor manager at underage.
I wonder how could anyone perform listening to his moaning droning monotone in the dressing room!

They're not out yet. I don't think they'll win it but they'll ruffle a few feathers I would imagine.

Bugler coming back and Costello playing more will make a big impact for them. John Small has got more game time too now which will be a big help.

I feel I nearly should take back my opening line...but I think Meath last year is irrelevant and even the league is something else at times.
I just think that Louth looked much poorer v Kildare than other recent meetings. They bamboozled us with running at times recently but they'd less cut and the keeper was 100% rattled when we put pressure on.

Then I watched Meath v the Dubs and it was a big difference.

Hard to lay it on Dessie when the likes of Fenton, Fitzsimons and McCarthy go. Like there are lads like in Dublin who have multiple All Irelands, but you never really fancied them to take the game by the scruff of the neck.

It's great to see tickets flying out the door for Sunday and I wouldn't begrudge either team.