Name your three favourite songs by... [Christmas songs]

Started by AustinPowers, November 30, 2023, 06:08:24 PM

If G&R getting a mention, I'm pushing for the Red Hot Chillie peppers.

AustinPowers

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 24, 2025, 02:35:32 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on March 24, 2025, 02:26:43 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on March 24, 2025, 08:16:35 AMJesus lads. G n r were huuuuge back in the day. Absolutely f**king huge. Rather than doing UK top ten hits do worldwide albums or something.

But anyway tis only bitta craic end of day.

(But they were f**king huuuuge) 😋

Bon Jovi >> GnR

Fight me

Austin, stick Jon and the lads on the oul list there 🤓

The list is getting longer by the day  ;D

It's probably not the most exciting of choices but...

November Rain
Welcome to the Jungle
Sweet Child of Mine

2 of their biggest tracks are covers but anyways....

1. Patience
2. Civil War
3. Live and Let Die (one of those occasions where the cover beats the original)

AustinPowers

Capt Pat

Despite my earlier protestations, I too have grown away from Axl's shrieking voice. I did love their Glastonbury best of set last year, though I couldn't do it every day.

November Rain is an all time great rock ballad and has maybe the greatest outro of any song.

Patience has a rare quality; a song that's instantly recognisable by a man strumming a single open chord. A great outro again.

Sympathy for the Devil must go down as one of the all time great covers. The Stones must have been proud to hear it happen.

It's very hard to look past Sweet Child O Mine. It's their Bohemian Rhapsody, underpinned by an extraordinary solo, and people will discover it forever (before growing sick of Axl's voice over time).

One of the above isn't quite true.

Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 24, 2025, 02:55:34 PMIf G&R getting a mention, I'm pushing for the Red Hot Chillie peppers.

Nick Cave said it best.

QuoteI'm forever near a stereo saying, 'What the f**k is this garbage?' And the answer is always the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

AustinPowers

Quote from: gallsman on March 24, 2025, 10:11:11 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on March 24, 2025, 02:55:34 PMIf G&R getting a mention, I'm pushing for the Red Hot Chillie peppers.

Nick Cave said it best.

QuoteI'm forever near a stereo saying, 'What the f**k is this garbage?' And the answer is always the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

I agree with him. Under the bridge in particular was around when I was at school , and  some of my mates  were  big fans. I never "got them"  then nor do I get them now. My brother used to play them alot  at  home and  it did my fecking head in. I found them  very dull and monotonous .

All Saints did a cover of Under the bridge , and it was  crap. But I would still  listen to it than   the RHCP version

Quote from: gallsman on March 24, 2025, 10:11:11 PM

Nick Cave said it best.

And recently walked it back and added some context.

Quote"About twenty-five years ago, I made an offhand and somewhat uncharitable remark about the Red Hot Chili Peppers," he wrote. "There was no malice intended; it was just the sort of obnoxious thing I would say back then to piss people off. I was a troublemaker, a shit-stirrer, feeling most at ease in the role of a societal irritant."

tiempo

Quote from: AustinPowers on March 24, 2025, 10:48:34 PMAll Saints did a cover of Under the bridge , and it was  crap. But I would still  listen to it than  the RHCP version

Samantha Mumba, what say you?

AustinPowers

Quote from: tiempo on March 24, 2025, 11:03:13 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on March 24, 2025, 10:48:34 PMAll Saints did a cover of Under the bridge , and it was  crap. But I would still  listen to it than  the RHCP version

Samantha Mumba, what say you?

Shall we add her to the list?  ;)