Oasis

Started by mrdeeds, August 25, 2024, 11:15:48 PM

Quote from: AustinPowers on September 01, 2024, 10:28:41 AMThe promoters could charge €1,000 per ticket , and a lot of  people would  happily pay it    and not think twice about it

People's fear of missing out these days , will blinker  their  sense of  what is too much , and  their inability to see when  they're being  taken to the cleaners.

The  promoters are lapping it up.

I do like Oasis , but  not enough to pay the  price of a feckin' holiday  to see them
Ireland is some place for event junkies. I wonder is every other country like it. Half the country was mad for Garth Brooks and I can guarantee you the vast majority of punters wouldn't have one song of his on their Spotify playlist. Is it FOMO or driven by looking for clout on social media - look how many people attend concerts at 100 quid a pop and then watch it thought their phone.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 01, 2024, 10:55:14 AM
Quote from: AustinPowers on September 01, 2024, 10:28:41 AMThe promoters could charge €1,000 per ticket , and a lot of  people would  happily pay it    and not think twice about it

People's fear of missing out these days , will blinker  their  sense of  what is too much , and  their inability to see when  they're being  taken to the cleaners.

I do like Oasis , but  not enough to pay the  price of a feckin' holiday  to see them
Ireland is some place for event junkies. I wonder is every other country like it. Half the country was mad for Garth Brooks and I can guarantee you the vast majority of punters wouldn't have one song of his on their Spotify playlist. Is it FOMO or driven by looking for clout on social media - look how many people attend concerts at 100 quid a pop and then watch it thought their phone.

It also illustrates that while some people have hard times, there is a lot of money in the country. It also puts some of the whining about the GAA into the shade.
MAGA Make Armagh Great Again

tintin25

Went to the Coldplay concert on Friday night and there was people next to me who had the phone in the hand the whole night, even when the band asked people to put the phones away for one song they continued to film anyway.  As for FOMO, heard a girl behind me who must have been no more than 18/19 on the phone to her mate talking about the Oasis concert and how they'd need to be looking about tickets also.

tyroneStatto

It's all about the social media likes. It never seemed to be an issue getting tickets years ago. I hate the Instagram and Tik Tok generation!

Quote from: clarshack on September 01, 2024, 01:08:18 PM

It's all about the social media likes. It never seemed to be an issue getting tickets years ago. I hate the Instagram and Tik Tok generation!
I saw a video of some Armagh "influencer" at the AIF videoing herself saying her husband was nervous as there was only 90 seconds left. What f**king genuine Armagh or indeed sports fan was taking their eyes off the end of the match with a point in it?!

tyroneStatto

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on September 01, 2024, 09:27:52 AMLiam and Noel have been trudging around the place singing the same aul shite separately for 15 years to small to medium crowds.

Now suddenly they join forces again and the great unwashed go mental.

Feck me but that makes no sense.

But that said what happended yesterday was legal gouging at its finest.

€400+ for a pitch ticket. I would only pay that to see The Beatles or Elvis on a reunion tour.

Queen too if Freddie Mercury was still around.

Really not sure there's any event, anywhere that would encourage me to part with £400.

Actually I think I'd feel the same about £200. And I'm not a cautious person with money.

Whatever it is that's the opposite of FOMO, I have it. Give me a quiet pub every time instead.

Quote from: thewobbler on September 01, 2024, 01:20:22 PMReally not sure there's any event, anywhere that would encourage me to part with £400.

Actually I think I'd feel the same about £200. And I'm not a cautious person with money.

Whatever it is that's the opposite of FOMO, I have it. Give me a quiet pub every time instead.

Anyone who's ever followed a soccer team abroad, or gone to a tournament, or flown home to see an AIF has paid way more than $400 for an event though.  If music, rather than sport, is your thing, why not?

That said, there's not many musical acts I'd pay that for.  Maybe Fugazi or Dead Kennedys with Biafra back on vocals, but those are pretty unlikely reunions, and the tickets wouldn't reach close to that price anyway.

I did reschedule a flight one year so I could see The Stooges at Kilmainham, so that probably cost close to $200 (between ticket and the cost of rebooking the flight).  Well worth it too. Great gig, never to be repeated, unfortunately.

tyroneStatto

Quote from: armaghniac on September 01, 2024, 11:37:21 AMIt also illustrates that while some people have hard times, there is a lot of money in the country. It also puts some of the whining about the GAA into the shade.

A lot of money or a lot of debt...

"I'll be stuck paying it off on the credit card," she said, adding that she doesn't get "any extras" despite paying a higher price. "It's just greed."

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c2kj3742jxwo.amp

Quote from: clarshack on September 01, 2024, 05:58:34 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on September 01, 2024, 11:37:21 AMIt also illustrates that while some people have hard times, there is a lot of money in the country. It also puts some of the whining about the GAA into the shade.

A lot of money or a lot of debt...

"I'll be stuck paying it off on the credit card," she said, adding that she doesn't get "any extras" despite paying a higher price. "It's just greed."

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c2kj3742jxwo.amp

It's bizarre, woman claiming she's being ripped off but voluntarily spending over £400 quid?

Some people are not wise
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

But won't go without. A lot of the country are living on the never never, absolutely no doubt about it.

WT4E

It be the same people crying about not being able to afford to save for a house and are forking out 400 quid for a ticket.

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Working class hero's our Gallaghers.