Thats 3 mad things this week

1) Liverpool and Klinsman
2) Ireland and Sanchez
3) Newcastle and Keegan

I can clearly see the future now:
Day 1,
1pm - great motivational speech in the Newcastle dressing room
3pm - Newcastle run around full steam like headless chickens with absolutely no tactics, and certainly no idea how to defend
5pm - Newcastle loose 4-2

Day 7
the same

Day 14
the same

Day 21
the same
Keegan cant stand the pressure, and runs away.

Good luck to Keegan. An achievement would be to get the Geordies up around 5th-7th regularly.

Don't like Kipling though. Did you know he was anti-Home Rule? Bastard was friends with Carson.

kevin keegan has resigned from newcastle united after blowing his top when it started raining during tonights match against stoke, topless overweight grown men were seen wailing outside st james park, keegan would only say " the met office have fucked it up again,i didnt bring an umbrella on their say so " more to follow

He's not hard-nosed enough for the modern game. Wearing his heart on his sleeve has made him look foolish before so he'd need to be able to take hard decisions or the new owner will have him up the road again.

The Newcastle fans seem to think this is their ticket back to the good old days - they must mean fifty years ago when Jackie Milburn was playing for them! Expect Shearer to end up in the boot room in the next 12 months and Keegan to leave within 2 years leaving Shearer to take the reins.

Hopefully if he brings attacking football back to newcastle it might prompt damien duff to get the finger out and start playing like he used to!

Doubt he'll be fit to teach steve carr how to defend though...

Its good for the whole league for bringing a bit of romanticism back to the game.  It's purely because he's an emotional man that he's got the criticism that he has from the media.  Apart from his disaster at England (when they had considerably worse players than they have now) I think he's done a very good job everywhere he's been, and I include Man City in that.

Come lads and be fair,He done well when he was with Newcastle the last time bringing them from almost been relegated to Div 3 to within a whisker of winning the Premiership..At least give the guy a chance before ye all start writing him off
I for one hope he does well,I have been to several Newcastle matches in St James Park as one of my mates is from there and i would love it if they became a side capable of competing against the big teams..
Im not saying Keegan is the man to do it for them but at least give him a chance 

good man kev.  i wonder how long will he get before he gets the road to.

he will put his heart into the club but newcastle change their managers more often than i change my socks.

Quote from: gerry on January 16, 2008, 10:44:47 PM
good man kev.  i wonder how long will he get before he gets the road to.

he will put his heart into the club but newcastle change their managers more often than i change my socks.

You only change your socks once a year  :o You smelly f****  :)

qub la la la

they'll get a few results against shite teams then when it comes to the crunch keegan will crack AGAIN and walk away. Newcastle arent a big club, they came close to the premiership only once and keegan cracked up at the end of the season. sure they have a big fan base, but i would say thats largely down to it being a one club city. imagine only one club in manchester or liverpool, of course you'd get a full house every week! even if you were playing that crap at st jame's week in week out!

Quote from: qub la la la on January 16, 2008, 11:20:55 PM
they'll get a few results against shite teams then when it comes to the crunch keegan will crack AGAIN and walk away. Newcastle arent a big club, they came close to the premiership only once and keegan cracked up at the end of the season. sure they have a big fan base, but i would say thats largely down to it being a one club city. imagine only one club in manchester or liverpool, of course you'd get a full house every week! even if you were playing that crap at st jame's week in week out!

Yes but Manchester and Liverpool are bigger cities.  There's about 1/4 million people in Newcastle which is less than Belfast, so to draw 50,000 mainly from the city and surrounding areas every second week is some going.

Keegan does have a tendency to walk away because he's the sort of manager who needs to be loved by the fans, if he feels like he's losing that he can't seem to hack it.  I hope he does well though, have always liked him and he'll get Newcastle playing entertaining football since they have a few exciting players there already.

QuoteOK they are well supported but that doesnt come with a recepie for success, i think thay are too full of themselves and are in for another big fall.

I thought this was about the Dublin or Cork footballers until I realised it was in the non Gaa section.

Quote from: Rav67 on January 16, 2008, 11:29:13 PM
Quote from: qub la la la on January 16, 2008, 11:20:55 PM

Yes but Manchester and Liverpool are bigger cities.  There's about 1/4 million people in Newcastle which is less than Belfast, so to draw 50,000 mainly from the city and surrounding areas every second week is some going.

Keegan does have a tendency to walk away because he's the sort of manager who needs to be loved by the fans, if he feels like he's losing that he can't seem to hack it.  I hope he does well though, have always liked him and he'll get Newcastle playing entertaining football since they have a few exciting players there already.

It will all end in tears for the emotional Geordies, the Newcastle fans once again congregated outside St James Park to hail King Kevin, will they ever learn? Shearer will probably come in as a number two, results will go badly, the especially fickle Toon Army will call for Keegans head, he will be undermined by Shearer & will walk away leaving the way clear for big Al........

Great Leap Forward

Newcastle are a club run on sentiment and reckless abandon so this is the perfect appointment. It is so crazy it might actually work. Not in the sense of being successful, but the club and the city will be reborn.

The fans just want to get back to the days when they were everyones second favourite team because they played attcking football. Keegan can probably deliver that but they will never challenge for the title under him. They will struggle to break into the top 6 never mind the top 4.

One good thing from Ireland's perspective in all this is that if there is any manager who will encourage Damien Duff to get back to taking defenders on, it will be Keegan. Hopefully Duff can get back to that, although I have a feeling he's a busted flush at this stage.

Also, Shay Given will have loads of practice :D