?

?
16 (51.6%)
?
15 (48.4%)

Total Members Voted: 31

Cluborcountywhynotboth

So what do we make of the league season now it's over? Kilrea win Division one for their first title in a generation. Coleraine find themselves in a relegation playoff against Glenullin while Lavey win Division two as expected with 100% record and Faughanvale promoted to senior football for first time in 30 years. Lissan face a playoff against a still to be decided foe with Slaughtmanus currently top but Ballerin likely to relegate them to the playoff.

Any indications for championship at all across the 3 levels? And How do you think the newbees will do in senior next year?

Ps well done to the minors, serious character to win that game and James Sargent looks a monster of a player.

Brendan

Steelstown and Castledawson been up in senior and held their own, I'd expect Vale to be around the same level as them if they can keep everyone fit as they usually have a strong league campaign. Lavey very unlucky to find themselves in Intermediate in the first place. Do Glenullin want promoted? I'd assume so

Truthsayer

Rumour doing the rounds that Harte and the Horse have bolted... just to let yis know lads. Hope not    :D
To be announced tomoro but just to gives yous a heads-up. 

GTP

Congratulations to the minor footballers and management on a second successive All Ireland.

Is the Harte rumour from whatsapp or a well placed source?

Thecluesarethere

Quote from: Truthsayer on July 07, 2024, 06:46:03 PMRumour doing the rounds that Harte and the Horse have bolted... just to let yis know lads. Hope not    :D
To be announced tomoro but just to gives yous a heads-up. 

Have heard similar. Pinch of salt and all that, I guess we'll find out tomorrow

Brendan

Half the panel seem to be away on holidays, would a decision be made without consulting them?

p3427977

Quote from: Brendan on July 07, 2024, 07:45:28 PMHalf the panel seem to be away on holidays, would a decision be made without consulting them?
Like getting Mickey Harte?

toby47

Quote from: Cluborcountywhynotboth on July 07, 2024, 05:50:20 PMSo what do we make of the league season now it's over? Kilrea win Division one for their first title in a generation. Coleraine find themselves in a relegation playoff against Glenullin while Lavey win Division two as expected with 100% record and Faughanvale promoted to senior football for first time in 30 years. Lissan face a playoff against a still to be decided foe with Slaughtmanus currently top but Ballerin likely to relegate them to the playoff.

Any indications for championship at all across the 3 levels? And How do you think the newbees will do in senior next year?

Ps well done to the minors, serious character to win that game and James Sargent looks a monster of a player.

Fair play to Kilrea for winning the league, a few men who deserve to have a senior title win after serious years of service, James/Charlie Kielt jump to mind after having a few near misses at the big one over the years. Lavey Clean sweeping Div2 as expected, F'vale have had a brilliant season so far, with their only defeat a 3pt defeat to Lavey.

I think the league has died a death the last few years though, I went to a game last week and I honestly think it was the smallest crowd I've ever seen at a senior league game. I've been talking to players too, and they aren't enjoying it either, and 6 group championship games isn't getting them going either.

Reserve league is really struggling too. In the Senior Reserve League, 91 games scheduled, 37 of them weren't played. Only 60% of games played.

47 reserve games not fielded in the Intermediate league. There was 6 reserve fixtures this weekend, none of them were played.

When are the play off games scheduled for? Surely in the next week or 2? Coleraine will maybe be happy to slip to intermediate after losing 13 from 13? It was always going to be tough when that core group of 2 x championship winners all hit their mid 30's at the same time. Colm McGoldrick has been a massive miss for them this year too.

LoughNeagh

What do teams actually get for winning the league? I'm assuming just the honour and a trophy?

I'd like to see the county promote it more. Maybe get a more from a sponsor to give the winners of each league some sort of prize out of it.

More Friday evening games under lights. More publicity on socials, streaming more games etc.

Club socials are generic as they don't want to give too much away, but the county can big up games.
Keeping records, top scorers etc, get some clips of games, interviews etc.

Just a thought.
View from the lough!

Cluborcountywhynotboth

Quote from: toby47 on July 08, 2024, 09:21:11 AM
Quote from: Cluborcountywhynotboth on July 07, 2024, 05:50:20 PMSo what do we make of the league season now it's over? Kilrea win Division one for their first title in a generation. Coleraine find themselves in a relegation playoff against Glenullin while Lavey win Division two as expected with 100% record and Faughanvale promoted to senior football for first time in 30 years. Lissan face a playoff against a still to be decided foe with Slaughtmanus currently top but Ballerin likely to relegate them to the playoff.

Fair play to Kilrea for winning the league, a few men who deserve to have a senior title win after serious years of service, James/Charlie Kielt jump to mind after having a few near misses at the big one over the years. Lavey Clean sweeping Div2 as expected, F'vale have had a brilliant season so far, with their only defeat a 3pt defeat to Lavey.

I think the league has died a death the last few years though, I went to a game last week and I honestly think it was the smallest crowd I've ever seen at a senior league game. I've been talking to players too, and they aren't enjoying it either, and 6 group championship games isn't getting them going either.

Reserve league is really struggling too. In the Senior Reserve League, 91 games scheduled, 37 of them weren't played. Only 60% of games played.

47 reserve games not fielded in the Intermediate league. There was 6 reserve fixtures this weekend, none of them were played.

When are the play off games scheduled for? Surely in the next week or 2? Coleraine will maybe be happy to slip to intermediate after losing 13 from 13? It was always going to be tough when that core group of 2 x championship winners all hit their mid 30's at the same time. Colm McGoldrick has been a massive miss for them this year too.

Yes something seriously needs to be done with the reserve leagues as has been mentioned on here before. I assume the fines aren't being enforced as some clubs have conceded every game and surely couldn't sustain that financially. If you enter a team you should be fielding, enforcement of the fines and banning from reserve championship if you fail to field in a set number of games would surely act as a deterrent.

toby47

Quote from: LoughNeagh on July 08, 2024, 09:48:45 AMWhat do teams actually get for winning the league? I'm assuming just the honour and a trophy?

I'd like to see the county promote it more. Maybe get a more from a sponsor to give the winners of each league some sort of prize out of it.

More Friday evening games under lights. More publicity on socials, streaming more games etc.

Club socials are generic as they don't want to give too much away, but the county can big up games.
Keeping records, top scorers etc, get some clips of games, interviews etc

Just a thought.

TeamTalkMag in Tyrone are very good at this sort of thing.

https://x.com/teamtalkmagLIVE/status/1809331434387030279
A great video from the weekend. The atmosphere for a league game really stands out.

Quote from: LoughNeagh on July 08, 2024, 09:48:45 AMWhat do teams actually get for winning the league? I'm assuming just the honour and a trophy?

Keeping records, top scorers etc, get some clips of games, interviews etc.

Just a thought.

League is Spring through the summer so lights not required.

I thought there was matches on a Friday evening and on the odd night during the week - whether by design of default, so more people could attend.  Some were just played as single games to boost attendences?

I think the players start training to early and train too much. The league starts very early. When the split season came in at inter-county level, nothing changed, in terms of the structure at club level. It stayed the same, which is wrong.

Clubs are training from December/Jan and no championship until late August and really mid September in earnest.  Madness. 

LoughNeagh

Seen a good few games starting at 8pm this year that the lights had to be turned on or could have been turned on.

Could likely play on without them but definitely adds to the atmosphere
View from the lough!

tyrone08

Failed even better than i expected. Completely stupid decision which impacted derry massively and has ruined hartes legacy with a large portion of tyrone fans.

Be interesting to see if him and the best coach in ireland can get another job. Loyalty clearly wont be on the cv anymore

toby47