?

?
16 (51.6%)
?
15 (48.4%)

Total Members Voted: 31

Brendan

Missed this when I skimmed through the draw last night, no relegation from senior and 4 going up from intermediate, what was all the rows the last few years over then to go back to the status quo after 1 year?

toby47

Is our current championship format, the worst format imaginable? Surely the worst in Ireland?

LoughNeagh

Does anyone like the championship format?

I assuming they are changing it next year with no senior relegation and four going up from intermediate?
View from the lough!

Brendan

Quote from: LoughNeagh on June 26, 2024, 09:03:03 AMDoes anyone like the championship format?

I assuming they are changing it next year with no senior relegation and four going up from intermediate?

That's it, the only positive is for the proper junior teams

LoughNeagh

Quote from: toby47 on June 26, 2024, 08:54:41 AMIs our current championship format, the worst format imaginable? Surely the worst in Ireland?

Absolutely, pure shite. Nothing more than meaningless games.

Years ago, the conversation was about burn out and player welfare, now there are more meaningless games than ever. In all grades.

I'm assuming the only benefit is for the county to try and have more opportunities to see players in action.

The whole focus seems to be county with club an afterthought.

Meaningless league again this year with insignificant risk of relegation, all Coleraine must do is beat third place in D2?

Meaningless championship format

No fuss championship draw. Although the graphics are informative that they put up, there was no live draw, no big fuss.

Clearly the person that does Newbridge's PR has come in to help this year and we do see club results and fixtures sometimes on their socials but club coverage is still underwhelming.
View from the lough!

Ye have a league then another league and then knockout. Bit crazy

Something not right about ballinderry Coleraine and Dawson playing intermediate and then senior league and vice versa with lavey

lenny

Quote from: LoughNeagh on June 26, 2024, 09:11:22 AM
Quote from: toby47 on June 26, 2024, 08:54:41 AMIs our current championship format, the worst format imaginable? Surely the worst in Ireland?

Years ago, the conversation was about burn out and player welfare, now there are more meaningless games than ever. In all grades.

I'm assuming the only benefit is for the county to try and have more opportunities to see players in action.

Meaningless league again this year with insignificant risk of relegation, all Coleraine must do is beat third place in D2?

No fuss championship draw. Although the graphics are informative that they put up, there was no live draw, no big fuss.

Clearly the person that does Newbridge's PR has come in to help this year and we do see club results and fixtures sometimes on their socials but club coverage is still underwhelming.

If there wasn't a league format to the championship then a large number of our county players would only get one game for their clubs all year. If you want a proper league with all county players available then we'd have to wait until August for it to begin and run it off quickly. There is no perfect system. The Tyrone championship is lauded but they didn't start their league until June which was pathetic for the majority of club players. Also they're going to hit a point where there are 2 games a week for players, Fridays and Sundays. That's terrible for player welfare. What other counties have better systems and what are those arrangements?

shawshank

Where is there meaningless games in the senior, bottom two teams in each section, their season is over. Meaningless my arse.

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 26, 2024, 09:22:10 AMYe have a league then another league and then knockout. Bit crazy

Something not right about Ballinderry Coleraine and Dawson playing intermediate and then senior league and vice versa with lavey

Ballinderry and Coleraine playing intermediate as they weren't good enough to play in the senior top 12 this year. Lavey got relegated from the league last year for the same reason ( the Downey hangover over) but pulled themselves together for the championship. What you have this incoming year is alot of clubs looking after themselves and voted for a return to a 16 team senior championship next year, protecting themselves in case they wouldn't get promoted or if they get into future relegation battles that happened last year. Weakening our intermediate and junior championships. First year we have a seriously competitive intermediate championship.

Quote from: shawshank on June 26, 2024, 09:37:11 AM

Where is there meaningless games in the senior, bottom two teams in each section, their season is over. Meaningless my arse.

Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on June 26, 2024, 09:22:10 AMYe have a league then another league and then knockout. Bit crazy

Something not right about Ballinderry Coleraine and Dawson playing intermediate and then senior league and vice versa with lavey

Ballinderry and Coleraine playing intermediate as they weren't good enough to play in the senior top 12 this year. Lavey got relegated from the league last year for the same reason ( the Downey hangover over) but pulled themselves together for the championship. What you have this incoming year is alot of clubs looking after themselves and voted for a return to a 16 team senior championship next year, protecting themselves in case they wouldn't get promoted or if they get into future relegation battles that happened last year. Weakening our intermediate and junior championships. First year we have a seriously competitive intermediate championship.

Which all goes to show you that no matter how massive a shitshow something is, there will always be somebody along to defend it.

shawshank

So what will we have next year. 4 groups of 4 teams with the top two from each group going to the quarter final, of 2 groups of 8 teams, with 4 to the quarter final. Meanwhile our intermediate goes back to being basically shite in the ulster club, with the honourable exception of steelestown. Apples and pears. Go on, you tell us all what you would do as your so brilliant with your non existent ideas..

I'm not sure how you're squaring this one, more club games = county centric and clubs an after thought?

You've junior clubs struggling, they must be getting giddy with excitement at the thought of getting a rattle at the intermediate clubs coming down to play junior. You'd have a v competitive junior with the teams currently in the league, 5 or 6 could win. Now it's a case of weekly cricket scores so the county is better represented at Ulster level

Norm-Peterson

Quote from: Truthsayer on June 24, 2024, 12:18:18 PM8)  Paddy Tally coming for yous...
I can understand if someone watches as a neutral but to actively support a southern team over a northern one seems odd to me. Those southerners don't care about us so why would you support Kerry over Derry? Because of some bitterness over a manager?

Derryman forever

Quote from: Norm-Peterson on June 26, 2024, 11:09:58 PM
Quote from: Truthsayer on June 24, 2024, 12:18:18 PM8)  Paddy Tally coming for yous...
I can understand if someone watches as a neutral but to actively support a southern team over a northern one seems odd to me. Those southerners don't care about us so why would you support Kerry over Derry? Because of some bitterness over a manager?

But these same Tyrone supporters that are bitter over Harte managing Derry are cheer leading the chorus to have O'Rourke manage Tyrone.

Truthsayer

Quote from: Derryman forever on June 26, 2024, 11:27:58 PM
Quote from: Norm-Peterson on June 26, 2024, 11:09:58 PM

But these same Tyrone supporters that are bitter over Harte managing Derry are cheer leading the chorus to have O'Rourke manage Tyrone.
I think you'll find O'Rourke has been in Tyrone over 30 years. State of Harte in that Derry cap is a joke. Not so long ago Derry ones was slagging him off, in fact was a viral video of a Derry man giving out about him.
Not sure bout that north-south partitionist rhetoric you're on bout there..

Lad,you needa get a life,go over and keep polluting the Tyrone thread.