GAA moneybags and Sean Cavanagh

Started by seafoid, May 13, 2024, 10:12:13 PM

Quote from: lfdown2 on May 14, 2024, 09:48:45 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on May 14, 2024, 09:36:35 AMA point I've made about GAAGO a few times is that, to me, it 100% seems like a staging post on the route to semi-pro GAA. Once it gets really established costs will further recede and profits increase. I've no doubt Sean K looks at GAA financial figures throough his previous GPA head - how long before we hear 'GAAGO made €Xm this year and the players who are the product get nothing'  only a matter of time imo.

How is that different than 'the GAA got €Xm from Sky/RTE/TG4 this year...'

I don't necessarily understand the point here (not specifically yours Benny), is it that all games should be available free to air all the time? Or just all the good games? Who should pay for this? Should funds be diverted from capital projects so that people can sit at home with a bowl of crisp and crack open a beer to watch the games?

And Sean Cavanagh has just been completely embarrassed with his hyperbolic statement being called out, I teel you what, based on his handle on numbers I wouldn't be wanting to drop a set of company accounts in to him.

100%.
He's trying to be controversial and failing miserably.
Not a good pundit, doesn't offer any insight and does regularly have digs at people. A poor man's Joe Brolly.

No need to be tarnishing a mans business ffs!

If he's not great at being a pundit, that's grand, but lots of lads behind the computer putting a mans and his families business down is out of order

Thought I'd kept it at an acceptable level by not detailing what I'd heard - but happy to remove if others feel that's over the line.

Cavanagh is rightly lauded as one of the best we have produced. He delivered year after year.
Quality player.

But f**k me he has been talking pure shite as a pundit for quite some time now.
And now he is sticking his nose into this when he has limited understanding and just makes throwaway comments.

Smacks of attention seeking and of someone wanting to remain relevant and keep the cushty gigs on tv/radio coming.

Great footballer but full of shite as a pundit

Quote from: gallsman on May 14, 2024, 12:42:11 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on May 14, 2024, 12:34:15 PMI think the issue was that the subject matter has the potential to be quite emotive - the conflict between needing to raise revenue and at the same time trying to ensure that the product is available to as large an audience as possible.

I thought Cavanagh's approach played on that emotion - the inference of the cold, cash hungry GAA denying many the right to see our games, in their pursuit of money.

It could not go unchallenged and the response was an extremely powerful put down.

This is absolutely the crux of it and what he was implying.

While making a buck out of it himself, does he not see the hypocrisy in his own position.

Any anyone from Tyrone raising the issue of brown envelopes has an absolute cheek with the number of their clubs even down the divisions engaging in it. As well as the number of Tyrone coaches all over the country happily taking these payments.

Burns was 100% right to slap this down.

Quote from: tbrick18 on May 14, 2024, 01:00:16 PMThought I'd kept it at an acceptable level by not detailing what I'd heard - but happy to remove if others feel that's over the line.

A woman past away, few months back, had fallen when she got home after feeling unwell and past away.

She'd been to a local restaurant, and before you know it, she'd caught food poisoning and dropped dead because of it, all baseless and untrue, did it stop the business from closing down? did it feck.

That story made its way round to me twice within 3 or 4 days..

Loose lips and all that

"Besides not liking Sean what did he say that's incorrect?"

First of all I'm completely biased here and i know it. Cavanagh is quite probably the worst pundit in history. His lack of research is appalling, on a par with Spillane and Brolly, but he's just no loquacious enough to cover it up. He has an odd sense of humour. And his sense of place - I.e. talking about grassroots - always seems based on what he reads on Twitter rather than what's happening in an actual club.

So what did he say that's incorrect? From my perspective he's taking swipes and he doesn't have the foggiest what it is he's swiping at. He's just throwing out irrelevances. Joining in on conversation that he doesn't care much about, and accidentally taking it off on a new angle that nobody needs.

tyrone08

Quote from: NAG1 on May 14, 2024, 01:05:54 PM
Quote from: Rufus T Firefly on May 14, 2024, 12:34:15 PMI think the issue was that the subject matter has the potential to be quite emotive - the conflict between needing to raise revenue and at the same time trying to ensure that the product is available to as large an audience as possible.

I thought Cavanagh's approach played on that emotion - the inference of the cold, cash hungry GAA denying many the right to see our games, in their pursuit of money.

It could not go unchallenged and the response was an extremely powerful put down.

While making a buck out of it himself, does he not see the hypocrisy in his own position.

Any anyone from Tyrone raising the issue of brown envelopes has an absolute cheek with the number of their clubs even down the divisions engaging in it. As well as the number of Tyrone coaches all over the country happily taking these payments.

Burns was 100% right to slap this

Quote from: NAG1 on May 14, 2024, 01:05:54 PM

Burns was 100% right to slap this down.
down.

So no one can raise the issue of envelopes because their own county is at it? Bit of a stupid argument really. I can raise it and because my own county does it doesn't make it right.

I could raise its rich that Burns sets out stopping payments as one of his objectives considering armagh are playing kierarn a fortune for achieving nothing.

Bought time gaa addressed the issue and set a maximum limit. However this is a different discussion.

You mean not providing free entertainment to casual armchair followers of gaelic games ?

Truthsayer

Quote from: Rossfan on May 14, 2024, 02:29:17 PMYou mean not providing free entertainment to casual armchair followers of gaelic games ?
No I mean there's elderly people, gave their life to GAA, not well enough to go to games that can't afford to pay and families can't afford it or to take crowd kids to a local pub.

Quote from: thewobbler on May 14, 2024, 01:18:01 PM"Besides not liking Sean what did he say that's incorrect?"

First of all I'm completely biased here and i know it. Cavanagh is quite probably the worst pundit in history. His lack of research is appalling, on a par with Spillane and Brolly, but he's just no loquacious enough to cover it up. He has an odd sense of humour. And his sense of place - I.e. talking about grassroots - always seems based on what he reads on Twitter rather than what's happening in an actual club.

So what did he say that's incorrect? From my perspective he's taking swipes and he doesn't have the foggiest what it is he's swiping at. He's just throwing out irrelevances. Joining in on conversation that he doesn't care much about, and accidentally taking it off on a new angle that nobody needs.

Worse than Tony Davis?

ClubScene13

Quote from: clarshack on May 14, 2024, 02:52:39 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on May 14, 2024, 01:18:01 PM"Besides not liking Sean what did he say that's incorrect?"

Worse than Tony Davis?

Paul "and your just thinking to yourself" Flynn would like a word.

Quote from: Truthsayer on May 14, 2024, 02:36:28 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 14, 2024, 02:29:17 PMYou mean not providing free entertainment to casual armchair followers of gaelic games ?
No I mean there's elderly people, gave their life to GAA, not well enough to go to games that can't afford to pay and families can't afford it or to take crowd kids to a local pub.

What size do you think that very specific demographic is?