Rugby world cup

Started by anportmorforjfc, August 26, 2007, 11:42:31 PM

turk

Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 27, 2007, 03:57:35 PM

*Triple Crowns mean jack shit to every other rugby nation...

Hear hear Dinny - the triple crown ceased to be relevant after the introduction of professionalism in union. England and France competed most years for the 6 nations title in the 90s and Scotland also won it one year (if I'm right) - but there was no mention of triple crowns!!

The year (foot and mouth year) Woodward's England came to lansdowne top of the group and needing to beat ireland for the grand slam - Ireland won, a great game, and how we all celebrated - look at england collecting the 6 nations trophy with no grand slam - and how everyone laughed! At least England under Woodward won their 6 nations titles and eventually clinched their grand slam when they crushed us 2 years after.

The first year Ireland came second to france (and claimed the triple crown) was 2004. The following year Wales won the grand slam - this is when I believe O'Sullivan should have been moved on. But to not claim the 6 nations in 2006 or 2007 was a failure and O'Sullivan has waffled away with excuses and hyped up the triple crown (for which they introduced a fecking trophy in 2006!!).

Don't talk to me about triple crowns.

I agree about the triple crown. Who cares? And introducing a stupid plate for it was a ridiculous attempt to portray this Irish team as real winners. In reality they have been competitive over the past 3 or 4 years, but have not won anything of note.

Maybe I have missed something, was the triple crown hyped up?
Some celebration after beating England in Twickenham, that´s about it.
We have had 4 years in a row beating England, even that is no big deal.
France were in our sights for a short period.

The provinces going out without a  whimper in the QF
The 6 nations, running France close, was the last hurray of fading fortunes for Irish Rugby.

And now another close shave with the Grim Reaper for Eddie to deflect attention away.

QuoteMaybe I have missed something, was the triple crown hyped up?

Of course it was. It was everywhere.

Tongans looking good in the handicap betting tonight, any betting advice? They ran SA pretty close

Romeo

Quote from: ExiledGael on September 28, 2007, 07:07:24 PM
Tongans looking good in the handicap betting tonight, any betting advice? They ran SA pretty close

Anyway of watchin this live online? ITV.com won't show outside UK!

Quote from: AZOffaly on September 28, 2007, 12:19:16 PM

The players had a few drinks or what?
Did anybody take notice of the second triple crown victory?

Twice this week the Irish News has claimed that Ireland have never failed to get out of the group, Im not a huge rugby fan but surely this is wrong. Did Argentina not knock them out in the group stages 8 years ago in a midweek do or die game in France? If Im right this is terrible reporting and sometimes you'd have to wonder how these experts get paid for their services. Im not a rugby follower and would expect someone writing on the subject to have a much greater knowledge of the area than me.

turk

Quote from: Main Street on September 29, 2007, 10:39:20 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 28, 2007, 12:19:16 PM

The players had a few drinks or what?
Did anybody take notice of the second triple crown victory?

Hi Main Street,

it was continually talked about by O'Sullivan and is still used as a "success" benchmark. The third one was less celebrated in fairness

turk

Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on September 29, 2007, 10:49:49 AM
Twice this week the Irish News has claimed that Ireland have never failed to get out of the group, Im not a huge rugby fan but surely this is wrong. Did Argentina not knock them out in the group stages 8 years ago in a midweek do or die game in France? If Im right this is terrible reporting and sometimes you'd have to wonder how these experts get paid for their services. Im not a rugby follower and would expect someone writing on the subject to have a much greater knowledge of the area than me.

Hi TD,

I think the 99 format was different in Ireland and Argentina qualified from the groups as best losers or best 3rd place and had to have a playoff to reach the quarter finals proper. one of the lads will know for definite

There is a fair old ding dong battle on now between Fiji and Wales. I'm glad I decided to watch it.
The Fijians use be a team of skinny fast guys.

It should be a cracker of a game tomorrow, it's just a pity about the 4 tries situation.

An Gaeilgoir

Wales on the way home. Great game,well done to Fiji!

Will Greenwood was sooooo cheering for Fiji on ITV. Fair play to him for not trying to pretend that it's a Union of Equals

Me and the dog were on our feet for Fiji as well.
I see Lynagh is calling it one of the great games of all times.

Yes, an exciting game.  Congratulations to Fiji.