2013 All Ireland Final: Mayo v Dublin

Started by All of a Sludden, August 26, 2013, 10:16:35 AM

Quote from: moysider on August 31, 2013, 06:40:32 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 31, 2013, 03:06:44 PM
Quote from: moysider on August 31, 2013, 02:22:15 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 31, 2013, 11:39:11 AM
Was talking to a Kerry lad yesterday. The belief in his home county is that the hardest part of Kerry winning an AI this year is beating Dublin. They see Mayo as being little more of a threat than they were other years. He says we (Mayo) are still not smart enough in the controlling of a game. That our full forward line is not up to it. We have not met any quality side yet in the championship. He also said Mayo will give Kerry to much respect, just like we gave a weak Tyrone in the semi. Only difference is that Kerry have the forwards to punish Mayo in such a situation. He said a running game that Mayo play is only an advantage when you have the ball and Kerry have the footballers to hold and not waste possession. He said Mayo remind him of Limerick in Munster. They got to allot of Munster finals over the last couple of years, with some fine teams. But tradition and confidence meant Kerry always prevailed, even when they played better than us. He finished with the blase 'Yerra, Sure we'd like to see ye do it if we didn't do it';)

Is there anything he said that you d disagree with 'bunker?

You know we have been on the crest of a wave. And I was rather annoyed that the Kerry Lad almost dismissed our challenge. As with the way things go we are often a little blinded in where we lie in the scheme of things. Often you can start looking at things with rose tinted glasses when you are winning and surrounded by fellow fans. Tyrone asked questions of us for 25 minutes. During those 25 minutes we looked like Mayo of old. A fragile bunch who could huff and puff but there would be no house blown down. Passes with astray, easy chances and frees were missed. Tyrone are a good side but a limited one. The bookies had their odds about right going into the match. They made us look limited. But we got through. Some say with a little help? Who knows? I would agree with most of his statements if it was 2009. I would be hoping that the 2013 Mayo and Kerry models are a little different. Especially the Mayo model. Now more than ever, I actually want Kerry in the final. Might regret it but feck it!

But if Kerry are good enough tomorrow to beat the team that were favourites to win the AI before a ball was kicked in anger? Will that not bring a different dynamic altogether? So far Kerry have had Cork and Cavan beat by ht.

If Kerry win tomorrow the whole country will be thinking like your Kerry friend.

You've hit the nail on the head there Moysider!

Quote from: Syferus on August 30, 2013, 01:14:12 AM
Quote from: maigheo on August 30, 2013, 12:35:01 AM
If the ros minors lose on sunday this thread will be swarming with the rossies trying to annoy everybody and will probably hit 100 pages by the end of next week. :) :)

The premise is faulty. We'll wreck you Rhubarbs even more if we make it to the AI final.

A riposte:

I want another slice of rhubarb tart.
I want another lovely slice.
I'm not disparaging the blueberry pie
But rhubarb tart is oh so very nice.
A rhubarb what?
A rhubarb tart!
A whatbarb tart?
A rhubarb tart!
I want another slice of rhubarb tart!

The principles of modern philosophy
Were postulated by Descartes.
Discarding everything he wasn't certain of
He said 'I think therefore I am a rhubarb tart'.
A rhubarb what?
A rhubarb tart!
A Rene who?
Rene Descartes!
Poor nut he thought he was a rhubarb tart!

A rhubarb tart has fascinated all the poets.
Especially the immortal bard.
He made Richard the Third to call out on Bosworth Field:
'My kingdom for a slice of rhubarb tart!'
Immortal what?
Immortal tart!
A rhubarb what?
A rhubarb bard!
As rhymes go that is really pretty bad!

Hi Syf,
Just back from the wesht and like I promised, I called in to Durkin's and left a pint down for you. (The following is true, btw.)
Couldn't help noticing that there are at least 3 Mayo flags to every Rossie one on the streets. Ballagh isn't for turning now or at any time in the next century but anyway...
I goes up to the barman and sez I, "I'd like to leave a pint down for someone. That okay with you?"
"Of course," sez he, "who's it for?"
"Well, that could take a bit of explaining," I tells him, "Y'see, there is this bit of an eejit from Roscommon and I prom..."
With that, he cut me short, spread his hands out on the counter and shook his head from side to side, real slow and measured like.
"Me good man," sez he, "If you were to name every eejit from Roscommon that comes through that door, I'd be off for me tea and be back on duty again before you'd get half way through the list. You'll have to do better than that."
"S'pose ye'r right, " sez I, "Ah, I'm his uncle Lar so if he comes asking, you'll know he's the one."
"Well, fair enough but if you're his uncle, how come you don't know his name?"
"Arra, but didn't I tell ye that he's Roscommon and like the rest of 'em, he doesn't know his arse from his elbow."

"Well," sez he when he stopped laughing, "That makes sense alright. I'll be waiting when he shows up then."
"See ye then," sez I, heading for the door. "Keep the faith."
"Course we will, "back came the reply. "We never lost it."

All of a Sludden

Good luck to both teams, should be a hell of a final. Tickets will be like hens teeth.
I'm gonna show you as gently as I can how much you don't know.

Quote from: macdanger2 on September 01, 2013, 05:10:13 PM
Hard to see past Dublin now

Already installed as favourites by PP. And rightly so.

Look, there ll always be a good Dublin, Kerry, Cork, Tyrone or whoever waiting in a final.

Quote from: laoislad on September 01, 2013, 05:11:24 PM
Anyone got the lend of a Mayo jersey?

There's quite a few of them in Kerry!  ;D

Quote from: moysider on September 01, 2013, 05:23:49 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on September 01, 2013, 05:10:13 PM
Hard to see past Dublin now

Already installed as favourites by PP. And rightly so.

Look, there ll always be a good Dublin, Kerry, Cork, Tyrone or whoever waiting in a final.

Mayo could be down to their 4th choice keeper by half time, Hennelly's foot will be in bits from kicking the ball out

Quote from: muppet on September 01, 2013, 05:05:13 PM
Anyone any tickets?

There ll be plenty of tickets. No neutrals will want to attend another no contest involving a Mayo team in a final  :'(

Dont Matter

'Dublin is not a national problem, it's a national opportunity.'
Peter Quinn

Dont Matter

Does every county get a certain amount of tickets?
'Dublin is not a national problem, it's a national opportunity.'
Peter Quinn

Swore I'd never go back to another final with mayo in it but I fancy. Our minors to let loose

Quote from: rrhf on September 01, 2013, 05:39:09 PM
Swore I'd never go back to another final with mayo in it but I fancy. Our minors to let loose

To let the Mayo forwards loose from the bearhug tackles???