2013 All Ireland Final: Mayo v Dublin

Started by All of a Sludden, August 26, 2013, 10:16:35 AM

QuoteThe only team that can beat Mayo is themselves. It's an over used cliche in sport but surely if the only team that can beat Mayo is Mayo, then Mayo still win Sam!
if the only team that can beat may are mayo and mayo cant beat anyone in a final  who wins the final?

bucko

Quote from: rosnarun on August 30, 2013, 04:03:51 PM
QuoteThe only team that can beat Mayo is themselves. It's an over used cliche in sport but surely if the only team that can beat Mayo is Mayo, then Mayo still win Sam!
if the only team that can beat may are mayo and mayo cant beat anyone in a final  who wins the final?
At €80+ a ticket the GAA are the only sure fire winners.....

Was talking to a Kerry lad yesterday. The belief in his home county is that the hardest part of Kerry winning an AI this year is beating Dublin. They see Mayo as being little more of a threat than they were other years. He says we (Mayo) are still not smart enough in the controlling of a game. That our full forward line is not up to it. We have not met any quality side yet in the championship. He also said Mayo will give Kerry to much respect, just like we gave a weak Tyrone in the semi. Only difference is that Kerry have the forwards to punish Mayo in such a situation. He said a running game that Mayo play is only an advantage when you have the ball and Kerry have the footballers to hold and not waste possession. He said Mayo remind him of Limerick in Munster. They got to allot of Munster finals over the last couple of years, with some fine teams. But tradition and confidence meant Kerry always prevailed, even when they played better than us. He finished with the blase 'Yerra, Sure we'd like to see ye do it if we didn't do it';)

You can sense it off this guy that there would be no fear of us anyway... 8)

http://www.irishtv.ie/jack-oconnors-advice-for-james-horan/

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 31, 2013, 11:39:11 AM
Was talking to a Kerry lad yesterday. The belief in his home county is that the hardest part of Kerry winning an AI this year is beating Dublin. They see Mayo as being little more of a threat than they were other years. He says we (Mayo) are still not smart enough in the controlling of a game. That our full forward line is not up to it. We have not met any quality side yet in the championship. He also said Mayo will give Kerry to much respect, just like we gave a weak Tyrone in the semi. Only difference is that Kerry have the forwards to punish Mayo in such a situation. He said a running game that Mayo play is only an advantage when you have the ball and Kerry have the footballers to hold and not waste possession. He said Mayo remind him of Limerick in Munster. They got to allot of Munster finals over the last couple of years, with some fine teams. But tradition and confidence meant Kerry always prevailed, even when they played better than us. He finished with the blase 'Yerra, Sure we'd like to see ye do it if we didn't do it';)

Strange, we always get accused of cute hoorism yet in the run up to games you never fail to hear about these "kerrymen" that emerge out of the shadows and behave in a most unKerry-like way, telling all and sundry how great we are  ::) ...very curious altogether.

The most likely story is that he got tired of listening to you telling him "its different this time" and he decided to hop some ball.

Its like being back in school....remember when you'd see lads walking down the street and if one gang of lads was approaching another they'd all start walking tough and putting on the auld " don't mess with us" look.

That's what you Mayo lads have been like all year. Pushing out the chest, squaring up to every county passing ye by snarling "its different this time, don't mess with us"

Will ye ever just relax and chill out, like.

Is there anything he said that you d disagree with 'bunker?

Seamus

Quote from: Mike Sheehy on August 31, 2013, 02:12:58 PM

Strange, we always get accused of cute hoorism yet in the run up to games you never fail to hear about these "kerrymen" that emerge out of the shadows and behave in a most unKerry-like way, telling all and sundry how great we are  ::) ...very curious altogether.

The most likely story is that he got tired of listening to you telling him "its different this time" and he decided to hop some ball.

Its like being back in school....remember when you'd see lads walking down the street and if one gang of lads was approaching another they'd all start walking tough and putting on the auld " don't mess with us" look.

That's what you Mayo lads have been like all year. Pushing out the chest, squaring up to every county passing ye by snarling "its different this time, don't mess with us"

Will ye ever just relax and chill out, like.

Maybe he is hoping ball but I doubt it.

More like lazy analysis from a part timer, doubtful if he goes to club games.

Lets see what Kerry have to offer tomorrow, very few in the county are looking past the Dubs.
"I wish I could inspire the same confidence in the truth which is so readily accorded to lies".

Quote from: moysider on August 31, 2013, 02:22:15 PM

You know we have been on the crest of a wave. And I was rather annoyed that the Kerry Lad almost dismissed our challenge. As with the way things go we are often a little blinded in where we lie in the scheme of things. Often you can start looking at things with rose tinted glasses when you are winning and surrounded by fellow fans. Tyrone asked questions of us for 25 minutes. During those 25 minutes we looked like Mayo of old. A fragile bunch who could huff and puff but there would be no house blown down. Passes with astray, easy chances and frees were missed. Tyrone are a good side but a limited one. The bookies had their odds about right going into the match. They made us look limited. But we got through. Some say with a little help? Who knows? I would agree with most of his statements if it was 2009. I would be hoping that the 2013 Mayo and Kerry models are a little different. Especially the Mayo model. Now more than ever, I actually want Kerry in the final. Might regret it but feck it!

Mayo will be hoping they aren't underdogs for this final. Under James Horan Mayo have never lost a game when favourites.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 31, 2013, 03:38:19 PM
Mayo will be hoping they aren't underdogs for this final. Under James Horan Mayo have never lost a game when favourites.

Cork 2011 we were 5/1.

and last year we were hardly favourites v Dublin in the AI semi or Kerry in the League semi final?

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 31, 2013, 04:01:47 PM

Cork 2011 we were 5/1.

and last year we were hardly favourites v Dublin in the AI semi or Kerry in the League semi final?

Missing the point. Mayo under Horan have lost games as underdogs like last years All Ireland final when Donegal were favourites.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on August 31, 2013, 04:09:27 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 31, 2013, 04:01:47 PM

Cork 2011 we were 5/1.

Missing the point. Mayo under Horan have lost games as underdogs like last years All Ireland final when Donegal were favourites.

No, I get the point. In the games listed we were underdogs and we won!

Quote from: From the Bunker on August 31, 2013, 03:06:44 PM

You know we have been on the crest of a wave. And I was rather annoyed that the Kerry Lad almost dismissed our challenge. As with the way things go we are often a little blinded in where we lie in the scheme of things. Often you can start looking at things with rose tinted glasses when you are winning and surrounded by fellow fans. Tyrone asked questions of us for 25 minutes. During those 25 minutes we looked like Mayo of old. A fragile bunch who could huff and puff but there would be no house blown down. Passes with astray, easy chances and frees were missed. Tyrone are a good side but a limited one. The bookies had their odds about right going into the match. They made us look limited. But we got through. Some say with a little help? Who knows? I would agree with most of his statements if it was 2009. I would be hoping that the 2013 Mayo and Kerry models are a little different. Especially the Mayo model. Now more than ever, I actually want Kerry in the final. Might regret it but feck it!

But if Kerry are good enough tomorrow to beat the team that were favourites to win the AI before a ball was kicked in anger? Will that not bring a different dynamic altogether? So far Kerry have had Cork and Cavan beat by ht.

If Kerry win tomorrow the whole country will be thinking like your Kerry friend.

Quote from: moysider on August 31, 2013, 06:40:32 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on August 31, 2013, 03:06:44 PM

But if Kerry are good enough tomorrow to beat the team that were favourites to win the AI before a ball was kicked in anger? Will that not bring a different dynamic altogether? So far Kerry have had Cork and Cavan beat by ht.

If Kerry win tomorrow the whole country will be thinking like your Kerry friend.
Cork and Cavan are some way off September pace. I think the Dubs will win by at least 4.
Kerry are in transition. I hope they stay there til the end of the decade.

Quote from: seafoid on August 31, 2013, 08:32:42 PM
Kerry are in transition. I hope they stay there til the end of the decade.Century ;D

I won't be surprised  no matter which way it goes tomorrow.
Play the game and play it fairly
Play the game like Dermot Earley.