Mayo v Donegal all ireland quarter final Sunday Aug 4 4.00pm

Started by maigheo, July 27, 2013, 08:55:47 PM

Quote from: J OGorman on July 30, 2013, 11:47:29 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 30, 2013, 10:04:22 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on July 30, 2013, 09:58:23 AM
The question is, will we, on Sunday evening, or after the semi or even final that we are on here lampooning Mayo for imploding again in Croke Pk? Sunday is massive for the Mayo men, a victory over the reigning champions in Croke Pk would be some shot in the arm. Outside of an Ulster team winning (with the exception of Tyrone), I'd love to see Mayo bring home the bacon to the West after all the heartache  :)

Sunday prediction #1: Rory 'the racing car' Gallagher gets sent to the cushion seats midway through the 1st half

We've beaten the All-Ireland champions in each of the last two years, in q-final and semi-final stage. That in itself is no longer a major achievement for this team.

It obviously is a major acheivement as its about as much as ye's do. no implosion then this year..happy days
I love the "ah I'd love to see ye win it" attitude when in reality, the vast majority would gain much more enjoyment from an implosion as you would put it.

Quote from: ballinaman on July 30, 2013, 11:54:11 AM
The question is, will we, on Sunday evening, or after the semi or even final that we are on here lampooning Mayo for imploding again in Croke Pk? Sunday is massive for the Mayo men, a victory over the reigning champions in Croke Pk would be some shot in the arm. Outside of an Ulster team winning (with the exception of Tyrone), I'd love to see Mayo bring home the bacon to the West after all the heartache  :)

Sunday prediction #1: Rory 'the racing car' Gallagher gets sent to the cushion seats midway through the 1st half

We've beaten the All-Ireland champions in each of the last two years, in q-final and semi-final stage. That in itself is no longer a major achievement for this team.

It obviously is a major acheivement as its about as much as ye's do. no implosion then this year..happy days
I love the "ah I'd love to see ye win it" attitude when in reality, the vast majority would gain much more enjoyment from an implosion as you would put it.

Stay off the coffee  ;) history dictates it may happen alright, but most gaels would be happy I'd say for Mayo to lift Sam the year

StephenC

Think what you like. Mayo would be one of the most popular winners ever I reckon.

Chimley

You said it would be a major shot in the arm but it didn't provide that in the last two years as we were beaten in the next outing both times.

Quote from: J OGorman on July 30, 2013, 11:56:52 AM

Stay off the coffee  ;) history dictates it may happen alright, but most gaels would be happy I'd say for Mayo to lift Sam the year
Fair enough, we have to go out and perform. All the well wishes in the world won't win you Sam. Time to put up or shut up this year for us.

Quote from: ballinaman on July 30, 2013, 12:02:09 PM

Fair enough, we have to go out and perform. All the well wishes in the world won't win you Sam. Time to put up or shut up this year for us.

bigtime..gonna be some festival of football this weekend

Quote from: StephenC on July 30, 2013, 11:59:00 AM

Think what you like. Mayo would be one of the most popular winners ever I reckon.

All apart from Rossfan, and maybe at a stretch Sligonian, but he's only happy when Sligo win... ;)

An Gaeilgoir

Quote from: ballinaman on July 30, 2013, 12:02:09 PM

Exactly Ballinaman, the time for talking is over, met one of the first 15 yesterday for a coffee, as he put it, we can only control whet we do and that includes our performance and preparation. I have to say i am quietly confident.

As for the Mayo imploding nonsense.............everytime i hear that rubbish been spouted, it is time to tune out.....................

Ohtoohtobe

That's definitely true. I don't know why and it's nothing personal, but that's the way it is.

Quote from: ONeill on July 29, 2013, 10:45:32 PM
I'm in Mayo for this game. What would the etiquette be for a Tyrone man in Mayo when Mayo are playing an Ulster side?

The etiquette for a Tyrone man in any proper football county would be to leave it as soon as possible.

Tyrones puke football is spreading like the sars virus i.e Donegal, Monaghan etc. We must do all in our power to quarantine it in Ulster.

I would like to see Mayo win an All Ireland. One of the Mayo lads has recently started working for us and you can tell from the way he talks it means everything to him.

Having said that the supporters do seem to get carried away with themselves a bit and seeing the team bottle it again would be funny also as the Mayo post mortems on here are always good craic in the wake of defeat. I guess it's an Irish thing that we hate to see others doing well.

Anyway for the time being I hope they can beat Donegal this weekend.

Crete Boom

Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 30, 2013, 01:20:09 PM

That's definitely true. I don't know why and it's nothing personal, but that's the way it is.

I think it's just human nature to be honest Ohtoohtobe especially with the media saturation in sport at the moment. Also Gaa is a parochial sport for the fans and players so when it comes to other counties (unless a person has a strong connection) generally we just want to be entertained and a spectacular failure ( more so when it is expected) is entertaining in it's own right even if  this is perceived  as not politically correct.

I would safely wager that 99.9% are guilty of waiting for the spectacular fall rather than willing a breakthrough victory without having a real issue with a certain team or county.

Well tbh i find the GAA internet forums far removed from the passions of GAA supporters. There does be a lot of soft talk of wishing teams all the best and the like, it doesn't happen in the real world of supporters. Most supporters have their pet hates , mostly neighbouring counties or one you hold a grudge with.

Quote from: larryin89 on July 30, 2013, 02:30:51 PM
Well tbh i find the GAA internet forums far removed from the passions of GAA supporters. There does be a lot of soft talk of wishing teams all the best and the like, it doesn't happen in the real world of supporters. Most supporters have their pet hates , mostly neighbouring counties or one you hold a grudge with.

Do you get to many matches, Larr?

Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2013, 02:45:51 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 30, 2013, 02:30:51 PM

Do you get to many matches, Larr?
1984 started championship for me at 7 years, missed one game v Dubs in 06 (london on occ/ ny no), that includes travelling from England for a good few years and now Dublin and that is before it was fashionable to travel from Eng for championship. League i have to be honest got to all this year and last but previous to that it was 60% or so but when i lived at home same as fbd etc, growing up never missed, the clann is fanatics and well known for it. 

Is  there a reason you are asking, because there seems to a few of the rossie contingent eager to know a bit about me of late?