Mayo v Donegal all ireland quarter final Sunday Aug 4 4.00pm

Started by maigheo, July 27, 2013, 08:55:47 PM

Quote from: larryin89 on July 30, 2013, 02:54:43 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2013, 02:45:51 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on July 30, 2013, 02:30:51 PM
Well tbh i find the GAA internet forums far removed from the passions of GAA supporters. There does be a lot of soft talk of wishing teams all the best and the like, it doesn't happen in the real world of supporters. Most supporters have their pet hates , mostly neighbouring counties or one you hold a grudge with.

Do you get to many matches, Larr?

1984 started championship for me at 7 years, missed one game v Dubs in 06 (london/new york no), that includes travelling from

Then how many matches have had good banter during or congratulations after the match? The fact is the GAA is one of the few sporting organisations in the world that doesn't need to segregate opposition supporters. The discourse has always been, in the main, good-natured.

The vast majority of the small number of yobs are band-wagoners who wouldn't have much interest in a GAA message board. This forum is as good a representation of the general level of respect between long-time GAA people, sometimes someone will stick the knife in but there's usually half a dozen more that do the opposite.

You're not fully understanding what i'm saying maybe. I personally take great pride in the points you allude to about no need for segregation etc and the general good banter is great.

My small point is, take me for example , i personally have no problem in shouting for Galway if they happen to end up last team in the west in the championship 98 and 01 celebrated for them but i could never shout for the Ross, thats honesty and most crowd from round where i'm from are the same, there is no malice in it , grew up with mates who were rossies but thats the way it is. Gloss over it if ya like but its the truth and im far from alone.

Quote from: Crete Boom on July 30, 2013, 02:19:38 PM
Quote from: Ohtoohtobe on July 30, 2013, 01:20:09 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on July 30, 2013, 11:54:11 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on July 30, 2013, 11:47:29 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on July 30, 2013, 10:04:22 AM
Quote from: J OGorman on July 30, 2013, 09:58:23 AM
The question is, will we, on Sunday evening, or after the semi or even final that we are on here lampooning Mayo for imploding again in Croke Pk? Sunday is massive for the Mayo men, a victory over the reigning champions in Croke Pk would be some shot in the arm. Outside of an Ulster team winning (with the exception of Tyrone), I'd love to see Mayo bring home the bacon to the West after all the heartache  :)

Sunday prediction #1: Rory 'the racing car' Gallagher gets sent to the cushion seats midway through the 1st half

We've beaten the All-Ireland champions in each of the last two years, in q-final and semi-final stage. That in itself is no longer a major achievement for this team.

It obviously is a major acheivement as its about as much as ye's do. no implosion then this year..happy days
I love the "ah I'd love to see ye win it" attitude when in reality, the vast majority would gain much more enjoyment from an implosion as you would put it.

That's definitely true. I don't know why and it's nothing personal, but that's the way it is.

I think it's just human nature to be honest Ohtoohtobe especially with the media saturation in sport at the moment. Also Gaa is a parochial sport for the fans and players so when it comes to other counties (unless a person has a strong connection) generally we just want to be entertained and a spectacular failure ( more so when it is expected) is entertaining in it's own right even if  this is perceived  as not politically correct.

I would safely wager that 99.9% are guilty of waiting for the spectacular fall rather than willing a breakthrough victory without having a real issue with a certain team or county.

Don't think it's true at all.  Would people have a laugh at Mayo's expense if they lose a final? Definitely.  Think back to the dubs shirts with the "Almost" imposed over the "Arnotts" logo a few years back--Irish people like to wind each other up.   But most people would acknowledge that this Mayo team deserves an All-Ireland after all of the heartache in, especially, recent years.

If it isn't at Dublin's expense, I'd be happy to see Mayo win it.

Quote from: larryin89 on July 30, 2013, 03:19:28 PM
You're not fully understanding what i'm saying maybe. I personally take great pride in the points you allude to about no need for segregation etc and the general good banter is great.

My small point is, take me for example , i personally have no problem in shouting for Galway if they happen to end up last team in the west in the championship 98 and 01 celebrated for them but i could never shout for the Ross, thats honesty and most crowd from round where i'm from are the same, there is no malice in it , grew up with mates who were rossies but thats the way it is. Gloss over it if ya like but its the truth and im far from alone.

Pity you feel that way. I'm a Rossie but I hope Mayo beat Donegal and go on to win the AI final. As a Rossie.... a Connaught person or a neutral in general "I'm far from alone". Wallow in your bitterness Larry.

Mayo Mick

As I said after the Galway game there was nothing more to discuss until after Reek Sunday and no surprise that's how things turned out. So now in early August our season is about to start - a bit late but the next 7 or 8 weeks will make up for it. Nice tasty start this weekend for the run up to AI final day for us and the perfect type of game for us to dust away any cobwebs. Expect we will win it comfortably enough but Donegal will make us work and we will have to stay focused and playing to the end unlike the challenge games we had in Connacht.

Last year we left an AI behind us –we were at least as good and probably better than Jimmy's men. I would say this year we have improved 20-25% - players understand system, stronger panel and Horan will not make same mistakes again. Not alone have we no weaknesses now but we have 5 or 6 players on the sideline that in other years would walk on to the team. Donegal on the other hand have gone backwards – injuries, fatigue and the mystique gone makes them an ordinary team now – always felt that talent wise they were thin enough outside of 4 or 5 players.

Probably will have a tough tight first half with us leading at interval by a couple of points. Second half we will score 3 for every 2 Donegal get, hit them for a goal in the final quarter as they lose shape and in the end prevail by something like 1-14 to 0-10.

Have to say confidence very high with everyone I meet that this is our year. Get Sunday out of the way and don't see Tyrone or Monaghan unduly troubling us. Then it's Kerry, Dublin or Cork any of whom we should have measure of.  Great times.

If You Don't Bring Home The Bacon, You'll Get Treated Like A Pig!!

squire_in_navy_slacks

Is the blonde female physio who had a starring role in last years semi with the Dubs still involved with the Mayo panel ????

BluestackBoy

Quote from: Mayo Mick on July 30, 2013, 10:19:38 PM
As I said after the Galway game there was nothing more to discuss until after Reek Sunday and no surprise that's how things turned out. So now in early August our season is about to start - a bit late but the next 7 or 8 weeks will make up for it. Nice tasty start this weekend for the run up to AI final day for us and the perfect type of game for us to dust away any cobwebs. Expect we will win it comfortably enough but Donegal will make us work and we will have to stay focused and playing to the end unlike the challenge games we had in Connacht.

Last year we left an AI behind us –we were at least as good and probably better than Jimmy's men. I would say this year we have improved 20-25% - players understand system, stronger panel and Horan will not make same mistakes again. Not alone have we no weaknesses now but we have 5 or 6 players on the sideline that in other years would walk on to the team. Donegal on the other hand have gone backwards – injuries, fatigue and the mystique gone makes them an ordinary team now – always felt that talent wise they were thin enough outside of 4 or 5 players.

Probably will have a tough tight first half with us leading at interval by a couple of points. Second half we will score 3 for every 2 Donegal get, hit them for a goal in the final quarter as they lose shape and in the end prevail by something like 1-14 to 0-10.

Have to say confidence very high with everyone I meet that this is our year. Get Sunday out of the way and don't see Tyrone or Monaghan unduly troubling us. Then it's Kerry, Dublin or Cork any of whom we should have measure of.  Great times.

If a Donegal man put up a post like this tripe, the roof would cave in with accusations of "arrogance". A Mayo man, probably on the old Jamaican Woodbines puts it up and .....silence. Maybe the silence is of the embarrased variety, we can only hope.
N
For what shall it profit a man if he gains the whole world & loses his soul.

StephenC

Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 30, 2013, 10:32:31 PM

If a Donegal man put up a post like this tripe, the roof would cave in with accusations of "arrogance". A Mayo man, probably on the old Jamaican Woodbines puts it up and .....silence. Maybe the silence is of the embarrased variety, we can only hope.
N

Mayo Mick is one of a kind though Blue Stack - optimistic and confident. I like his work  :)

BluestackBoy

Quote from: larryin89 on July 30, 2013, 10:34:41 PM
Muck, will ya lighten up and enjoy the occasion.On a lighter note, i give you the thai tims.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?sns=fb&v=cG2n34DmPv4&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DcG2n34DmPv4%26sns%3Dfb&nomobile=1

Jaysus larry I'm having a ball, it's only a bit of crack & the video is brilliant. Good on ya for putting it up, I hadn't seen it before.

N
Er, Bluestack, we're not sure if he's from Mayo at all...

Quote from: Farrandeelin on July 30, 2013, 11:02:56 PM

N
this could be your year Farandeelin - its the good lads like yourself that I'd be delighted for should yez win this year.
still a long way to go if you get past Donegal.
IT is pants to say that you have the measure of cork, dublin and kerry.
Cork dont even have the measure of themselves but should be the best team in the country and could yet be on any given day. Kerry always dangerous and Dublin are young and fantastically talented but could be outmuscled as well as potentially naive on the line.

BluestackBoy

N
I thought the "Mayo Mick" bit was a giveaway. God but ye are the devious feckers >:( >:( >:(

Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 30, 2013, 11:14:59 PM

N
I thought the "Mayo Mick" bit was a giveaway. God but ye are the devious feckers >:( >:( >:(

Pretty sure he's from Ballagh so unfortunately he's a Rossie :-X

BluestackBoy

Quote from: Syferus on July 30, 2013, 11:30:16 PM
Quote from: BluestackBoy on July 30, 2013, 11:14:59 PM

N

Pretty sure he's from Ballagh so unfortunately he's a Rossie :-X
A stop needs to be put to this sort of thing otherwise where are we?