Antrim need a new manager

Started by DuffleKing, August 27, 2012, 03:33:44 PM

Some pretty sensible comments on here now I have to say. Well done. Correct, Bradleys results speak for themselves but he did take over at a time when he had more talent at his disposal and Antrim did posses the All-Ireland club champions during his tenure. His defient nature probably is what Antrim needed during his reign but there is no doubting his lack of quality elsewhere. His branding of Jim McGuinness and Donegal as puke football when he was trying with the same tactics was laughable. On the flip side, he was smart enough to always have good coaches around him. (Apparently he never took a single training session with Antrim) Clearly he recognised his many inadequacies  which has to be applauded. Inadequacies which would be well known to people in his native county!

Will Antrim now go for an internal man to take Antrim on? Is there an issue like in Armagh where people believe a Cross man is teh best option so as to get the best of Cross behind him? Perhaps a St.Galls man? Or is that a backward step?

bannside

Depends on who the St Galls man is CK.  Frank Dawson vastly under-rated, and well liked in Down. Time served too!

Lets get a few things clear here lads. This is Antrim and lets just say our county finances are not in good shape. And the Dunsilly project is like an albatross hanging over us. Fair enough, it was planned pre-recession when there was a lot more financial support from our supporter base, but those same men now struggling to keep their own businesses and their clubs afloat.

So in the real world the question is really this simple. Who can we afford?

Personally I would absolutely love to be talking to Brian Mc Ivor with his son Paul, and they usually link up with Paddy Tally. To me this is the dream team. If we were moving outside the county, and finances intact, I`d like us to be in a position to also consider another superb operator who has workrd wonders with very team he has been with - Malachy O Rourke. Poss with Paul Mc Flynn who now knows our set up. Or else Finty Devlin or Jonny Mc Bride.

There are lots of others from the outside, but either of these two would get another 30-40% improvement from the good crop of players we have at present.

If we are staying in the county, then the best we have, by a mile is Kevin Madden. Would also deliver tangible improvement. Organised, efficient, proven, and wont take any shite from anyone. A deep thinker about the game in the Mc Guiness mould. Would not suffer fools and will want the best for his management team and his players.

Staying in the county, JC Devlin proving to be a man who can consistently deliver improvement in his teams. Would be great if he was in there somewhere.

But with our finances the way they are, I fully expect us to go down the economy route. A Belfast man with a couple of local assistants. Thats the way I see it.

Same with the minors and under-twenty ones. Hands up anyone for the under 16`s?

Who may I ask is Malachy O'Rourke?
Also, is Paddy Tally not a money man ie: will look for handsome rewards. He'd have that reputation, not saying it's right

Fermanagh man who played with the loup and managed them - had the loup going very well.

Bannside I would worry that you're correct about the local route and worry about who we'll get. I'd like to see madden too if it's an Antrim man.

Baker was the right man for the job at the time. We had better players than before but needed the belief. He was perfect for it.

Mciver / tally etc would be great but couldn't see it.

He managed Fermanagh for 2 years or more. Think 09-2010. He got Rory Gallagher back playing with Fermanagh after he was in exile for a few years, He also managed Cavan Gaels befoe he took over Fermanagh, Suppose to be a very good coach and manager.

bannside

If we had wanted Mc Ivor/Tally combo I think we would have needed to be on the ball earlier. I spoke to Brian a while back, and being the man he is he refused to be drawn on the subject while the position was currently filled. He did leave an opening though to discuss if and when appropriate. I think we have missed the boat on this one, and wont be in the least suprised if he takes Derry and if so watch the improvement.

Malachy O Rourke didnt just manage the Loup. He won an Ulster title with them. I had the onerous task of following Malachy at the Loup and it was no easy job, believe me. He then took a totally disorganised Fermanagh team to a draw in the Ulster final against Armagh. They were 6 behind at one stage, and missed a great chance at the death to win it. His teams are superbly organised, and go to the death.

I challenged Baker at the time, along with Conor and Whitey, and maybe it was best bringing in an outsider. But I had crossed swords with Baker often in Derry football and had a good record in those games, so I wasnt in awe of him as others were. But nevertheless he did put in some discipline and belief and deserves some credit for that - as well as taking a few big scalps along the way. Will be well enough remembered.  Still maintain though we had the players coming through, and St Galls would have won division four in his first year.

I forgot about o'rourke and Fermanagh.

Bannside before baker I have seen Antrim play with belief in about two games in the championship- I've been going to their games since the late 80s. The two games were down and Derry first day. Not even the Cavan game we won as we got lucky with high balls into o'hare. Irrespective of the clientel available we never had that in the jersey. You take an example of the Cavan semi final that year - that game was never going to be lost. How often could you have said that.

Incidentally I don't think we believed we could beat Galway this year. I thought Galway were so poor we eventually sussed that out and went for them but we were a lot more than one point better. That game, for all it's positives, said to me that baker had lost the qualities had brought to us and maybe it was time for a change.

bannside

Agree totally ITG. Baker has a great way of installing confidence and belief in his teams/players and I take your point about actually going to Clones for that Ulster semi final against Cavan in 09 and genuinly EXPECTING to win. A great day alright.

Some great days out and results Antrim supporters were unaccustomed too - so fair play for all that.

But I have said consistently, for five or six years now, that this was a great group of players. So instead of being well enough satisfied about so called progress during Bakers tenure, I want to say that I am disappointed we have not achieved more with this group, and hopefully we can  now get the management team in to take things to the higher level we are capable of.

I think we played poorly enough in the Ulster final in 09. Lots of basic mistakes, bad shooting at times, and a bit too much wastage. Could see the nervousness, and we only really started to get going when it was almost over.

By and large most of those players are still around. The correct management team is essential.

I would pretty much agree with you bannside. I think he's taken us up a level and given us belief. For the last year at least I feel we have stagnated though and I think he's taken us as far as he can take us. Without wanting to take the shine of it I thought the Galway game was a false dawn. No offence to Galway but that day they were dreadful.

A lot of the players are at a good age now. Teams like Wexford seem to do well year on year and there's nothing, in my view, any better about them than us. We're a good way away from Tyrone and Donegal but the rest of ulster not setting the world alight any more and no reason we shouldn't be challenging them.

Would agree with the above sentiment that Antrim could challenge in Ulster if they took the next step. I'm not from Antrim but through work and family I have been to quite a few games over the last few years and can see that the talent is there. I just wonder when I hear of players going on holidays!

Lenny Harbinson (St.Galls I think?) has declared his interest I have just learned. Is he highly rated?

Lenny Harbinson is teaming up with former Armagh coach John McCloskey and pitching hard on for the Antrim job. My info is that they'll get it

glens abu

Quote from: ck on August 31, 2012, 08:41:33 AM
Lenny Harbinson is teaming up with former Armagh coach John McCloskey and pitching hard on for the Antrim job. My info is that they'll get it

Yeah he seems to be big fav,dont think any of the others mentioned as front runners showing any great interest in taking it.

glens abu

Quote from: ck on August 31, 2012, 08:41:33 AM

Yeah wouldn't mind seeing Lenny have a go at it but would like to see him have young GAA coach along with him,would have my doubts about McCloskey as he is really only an Athletics coach and as for his time at Armagh I would put that success down to Grimley rather than him.

Yeah agree. McCloskey was just a bit of a water carrier with Armagh and wouldn't have the football knowledge but I have reliable information that he is part of Harbinsons back room team. I know Harbinson is in the papers stating that he's interested but I have it that he has already spoken to county board chair

glens abu

Quote from: ck on August 31, 2012, 01:09:27 PM
Yeah agree. McCloskey was just a bit of a water carrier with Armagh and wouldn't have the football knowledge but I have reliable information that he is part of Harbinsons back room team. I know Harbinson is in the papers stating that he's interested but I have it that he has already spoken to county board chair

Would worry about that as I would like to see good young coach if Lenny takes it,has he managed anywhere outside of St.Galls and to be honest took over a few good team also my have some baggage from his Galls days.Would be good to hear from some of the Galls men what they think about him getting the job.