Our GAA traditions

Started by theticklemister, April 24, 2012, 12:15:52 PM

The new GAA President needs to bring back the pitch invasion and get rid of the plastic wall. Some of our USA readers will wonder about the old fag tradition.

Quote from: Captain Obvious on April 26, 2012, 05:37:49 PM
The new GAA President needs to bring back the pitch invasion

Yeh - just what we need.   ::)

Quote from: Hardy on April 26, 2012, 05:58:24 PM

Sure they've already brought back Joe Sheridan, why not reunite the band?

Hardy me oul mucker...............completly taken out of context!!!!!!!

Yeh need to keep fans off the field as it could spread into players mindset ::)

Quote from: theticklemister on April 26, 2012, 06:01:20 PM

Hardy me oul mucker...............completly taken out of context!!!!!!!

Well, you'll have to tell me how you take context into account in allowing pitch invasions. Because you can't know in advance which pitch "invasions" are going to be benign and which are going to involve a mob attacking the referee or players or feckit, anyone they feel like attacking. They're allowed to "invade", sure - what's a bit of thuggery in the context of a traditional ould "invasion".

So tell me how you're going to frame this legislation that allows "nice" invasions while at the same time preventing Louth/Derrytresk/a-hundered-other-thuggish-attacks type of invasions?

Anyway, just read that again - "allowing pitch invasions". Does that sound like something that should be on the agenda of a sports organisation in the 21st century? Can you really imagine such an item coming up on the "clár" at any congress in this age of enlightened thinking on safety in large gatherings of people and huge awareness of what can go wrong when crowds get out of control, even accidentally, never mind being intentionally turned loose? And delegates voting it through in the knowledge of what they're taking responsibility for?

But, Hardy, I believe Meath people were invading the pitch that day too to congratulate their heroes.

Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 26, 2012, 08:30:15 PM
But, Hardy, I believe Meath people were invading the pitch that day too to congratulate their heroes.
Hardy was there in the stand shaking his head in disgust. Seriously the pitch invasion is only stopped in Croke park because of a possibly injury claim. Thanfully outside of Croke park the GAA tradition of fans celebrating with players on the field after the game is still alive.

The new GAA President needs to bring back the pitch invasion and get rid of the plastic wall. Some of our USA readers will wonder about the old fag tradition.

;D ;D ;D"Will you leave me your butt?" Another one that will have them scratching their heads!!

One other great gaa tradition is the regular post that starts "paddy heaney had a great article in the irish news today" and no sign of a link ever

Agent Orange

Quote from: seafoid on April 26, 2012, 09:43:06 PM
One other great gaa tradition is the regular post that starts "paddy heaney had a great article in the irish news today" and no sign of a link ever

Sadly the Irish News is a bit like the GPA, its pay for play these days so no links. Unless someone scans it and posts it up.

Quote from: seafoid on April 26, 2012, 09:43:06 PM

ye want a lend of 70p or 1 euro?

I was having my Weetabix in the morn reading the paper and decided to post to the board about the article. I didnt have a clue about a link, as I posted it early in the morn i'm sure if ye find the crust of the article interesting ye would go and buy the paper.

Quote from: ross4life on April 26, 2012, 09:16:10 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on April 26, 2012, 08:30:15 PM
Hardy was there in the stand shaking his head in disgust. Seriously the pitch invasion is only stopped in Croke park because of a possibly injury claim. Thanfully outside of Croke park the GAA tradition of fans celebrating with players on the field after the game is still alive.

The Longford stewards at the Ros-Cavan game attempted the most half-hearted attempt at stopping a pitch invasion I've seen. ''Please do not enter the pitch.." comes out over the tannoy, more a desperate plea than an order. Then most of the stewards line up square middle of the the sideline where the main access gate was (the barrier itself is just a hollow metal structure that a 400 lbs man could stoop under at any point along it) and  before I'd even made it half way out of the stand side they decided "ah feck this" and just gave up and let people out onto the pitch.

'Twas grand and dandy.

commonman

Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 26, 2012, 09:24:00 AM
I think the GAA went to the dogs the day Michéal O'Hehir retired.
(Or maybe things are just pure cat. I can't make up my mind.)
Since schemozzles in the parallelograms were dispensed with and the entire team stopped moving up the field in the closing minutes, the game has lost a lot of its magic for me.
I also miss the hawkers who went around bawling out, "Get the last of the Lukey, Lukey ices" as their sold their Lucan ice cream tubs with the little wooden scoops.
Effing them out of it when they blocked your view of what was happening on the field added to the fun immensely. It was all part and parcel of a great tradition being passed down from one generation to the next.
Better stop now or I'll be stuck in retro mode for the rest of the day.

yes Lar those were the days indeed, the hawkers with their baskets of ices - 'You scream I Scream we all scream for ice cream' was their regular chant and the lad sitting next to you in the bleachers in hyde park would refuse to let them pass and then a heated discussion - 'i paid good money to come in here etc etc ' -  this was a regular feature of the hyde experience throughout the late seventies and eighties.

Quote from: commonman on April 27, 2012, 02:25:59 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on April 26, 2012, 09:24:00 AM
I think the GAA went to the dogs the day Michéal O'Hehir retired.
(Or maybe things are just pure cat. I can't make up my mind.)
Since schemozzles in the parallelograms were dispensed with and the entire team stopped moving up the field in the closing minutes, the game has lost a lot of its magic for me.
I also miss the hawkers who went around bawling out, "Get the last of the Lukey, Lukey ices" as their sold their Lucan ice cream tubs with the little wooden scoops.
Effing them out of it when they blocked your view of what was happening on the field added to the fun immensely. It was all part and parcel of a great tradition being passed down from one generation to the next.
Better stop now or I'll be stuck in retro mode for the rest of the day.

yes Lar those were the days indeed, the hawkers with their baskets of ices - 'You scream I Scream we all scream for ice cream' was their regular chant and the lad sitting next to you in the bleachers in hyde park would refuse to let them pass and then a heated discussion - 'i paid good money to come in here etc etc ' -  this was a regular feature of the hyde experience throughout the late seventies and eighties.

The Hyde hasn't changed a bit then!