Our GAA traditions

Started by theticklemister, April 24, 2012, 12:15:52 PM

I think the GAA went to the dogs the day Michéal O'Hehir retired.
(Or maybe things are just pure cat. I can't make up my mind.)
Since schemozzles in the parallelograms were dispensed with and the entire team stopped moving up the field in the closing minutes, the game has lost a lot of its magic for me.
I also miss the hawkers who went around bawling out, "Get the last of the Lukey, Lukey ices" as their sold their Lucan ice cream tubs with the little wooden scoops.
Effing them out of it when they blocked your view of what was happening on the field added to the fun immensely. It was all part and parcel of a great tradition being passed down from one generation to the next.
Better stop now or I'll be stuck in retro mode for the rest of the day.

Players should line out in their positions for the anthem.

Let the crowd sing the anthem, instead of hearing a terrible X-factor version.

Bring back pitch invasions. I remember seeing Loughgiel trying to celebrate on their own on St Patrick's day. It was awful. The lads didn't know what to do. The villagers should've been allowed on to celebrate with their heroes. It was terrible that their greatest day was spoiled by that H&S shower of pricks.

Shoot Jedward, so they never set foot on the Croke Park turf again. It's for the best. Really it is.

Yes Jedward needs terminated.

I reckon if ye hand them a hurl they would try and comb their hair with it.

I'm sure their uncle is Eamonn Grimes, of Limerick hurling stock, so maybe they'd be better with it than you think. I know Eamonn combed a few lads' hair with his hurl in the 70s alright.

If When I become GAA President, two things will return:

- The pitch invasion,
- The old GAA crest on the pitch at All-Ireland Finals

That will be all.

Quote from: Nally Stand on April 26, 2012, 02:04:35 PM
If When I become GAA President, two things will return:

- The pitch invasion,
- The old GAA crest on the pitch at All-Ireland Finals

That will be all.

Why did they ever stop doing that? It looked class and made the occasion seem even a little extra bit special.

I loved that crest on the pitch alright.

Yip bring back the crest day buck!and not the new old but the old one with celtic design!

Keep the ideas coming; in process of emailing Liam O'Neill!

sheamy

How can a crest compete with this?

Why can't the players at half time gather in the centre of the pitch for the smokes while the crowd take over one of the goals for backs and forwards.

This happened all the time at the local senior matches I went to in Longford in the 70s/80s. None of this traipsing off to the dressing rooms to top up the tan or to re-wax the legs as they seem to do nowadays.

Remember the Westmeath hurlers subs having a crafty fag on top of the old dugouts in Tullamore during a ritual pasting from Kilkenny back in the 80s/90s? I remember them swinging their legs back and forward like kids on a swing and puffing away at half time.

On a side note, Tullamore still allows in loads of kids at half time to kick puck and otherwise mess around, and to be honest I think it looks great and I'm sure the kids enjoy it. I've also seen this in Limerick, but not sure about elsewhere at the moment.

Quote from: AZOffaly on April 26, 2012, 02:43:05 PM
Remember the Westmeath hurlers subs having a crafty fag on top of the old dugouts in Tullamore during a ritual pasting from Kilkenny back in the 80s/90s? I remember them swinging their legs back and forward like kids on a swing and puffing away at half time.

On a side note, Tullamore still allows in loads of kids at half time to kick puck and otherwise mess around, and to be honest I think it looks great and I'm sure the kids enjoy it. I've also seen this in Limerick, but not sure about elsewhere at the moment.

Subs at an intermediate final in Derry were not allowed to warm up/kick about on the pitch at half time 2 years ago. I very much doubt they have amended this

Parnell still allows kids and supporters on the pitch after the game, oh how I remember our hurlers beating TAD in the club semi final!!!
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

The auld half time fag was a great tradition!!!  I remember when I made my senior debut.  It was a league decider and I was only 17, I walked into the dressing room and the pungent mixture of Winter Green, Smithwicks and B&H would have knocked you out, ahhhh the good old days!

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 26, 2012, 02:58:44 PM

Parnell still allows kids and supporters on the pitch after the game, oh how I remember our hurlers beating TAD in the club semi final!!!

There were kids out kicking around at half-time in the abandoned game in McHale Park between Mayo and Dublin.
Of course, that could have been because the stewards couldn't see them!