More Thuggery on the GAA field

Started by agorm, January 23, 2012, 06:25:39 PM

NaomhBridAbú

Quote from: JUst retired on January 25, 2012, 09:35:54 PM
Bring the row forward to Saturday, and we can watch the match as well. :D

fair fucks...
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

Quote from: hardstation on January 25, 2012, 10:02:16 PM

Fcuk me.

How come you are so jovial regarding this incident but when the Louth men encroached upon the pitch and assaulted Sludden you said they got whatever punishment they deserved?

NaomhBridAbú

in fairness, scenes like that shouldn't have a place in any sport apart from maybe Rangers v Hearts, but to say that it takes great courage to issue that pile of shite...i don't think they are doing themselves any favours at all
in the land of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. but he still only has one eye

Orangemac

Is this the front page of the paper?FFS there must be little happening round Kerry.

I would like to see Derrytresk kicked out purely as a marker has to be laid down by the GAA but the victim card being played in Kerry is unbelievable. It was a great laugh when Tadgh Kennelly crashed the elbow into Nicholas Murphy after 30 seconds of the AI final in 2009 though.

Weren't they ahead at the time of the row? They'd have done some yapping if the ref had abandoned the game.

bigpaul

Quote from: orangeman on January 25, 2012, 09:53:35 PM
Kerry chairman and secretary are mad to get giving witness evidence to any investigation. Today's Indo :

Meanwhile, current Kerry chairman Patrick O'Sullivan, who attended the game, has expressed the wish that he will be called to give evidence as part of any investigation that the Central Competitions Control Committee will launch.

"I am hoping that I will be called to the inquiry that has now been launched so as I can make my views known along with the county secretary (Peter Twiss)," said O'Sullivan.

"We may be of assistance and could help clear up a few matters."[/

Was at the game myself, I am hoping that I too will be called to give evidence, I would be of assistance and could help clear up a few matters. If the CCCC could just send me a PM with times and dates, I'll be there! If you need anybody else.....!!!!!!

Quote from: Orangemac on January 25, 2012, 10:12:37 PM
....the victim card being played in Kerry is unbelievable. It was a great laugh when Tadgh Kennelly crashed the elbow into Nicholas Murphy after 30 seconds of the AI final in 2009 though.

Ah now come on Orangemac, a Kerry Gaelic Footballer behaving badly? You must be getting mixed up. Everybody knows that Kerry players have Halos around their heads and could never behave in such a horrible manner.

sandwiches_in_the_boot

Quote from: ONeill on January 25, 2012, 10:00:04 PM

The Kerryman just won't let the Hill men alone http://www.kerryman.ie/news/rampaging-thugs-burn-house-to-the-ground-2992034.html

QuoteRampaging thugs burn house to the ground
By DONAL NOLAN dnolan@kerryman.ie

RESIDENTS are living in fear after a house was burnt to the ground by a gang of thugs who went on
the rampage outside Ballyduff village in the early hours of Sunday morning.

Locals, including a number of elderly people who live alone, are terrified following the havoc in the
Kilmore area at the weekend, which culminated with a vacant house, owned by former Ballyduff hurling
manager Jerry Wallis, being burnt to the ground.

The late-night mayhem was the latest episode in a number of similar incidents in the area in the past
two weeks. A vacant holiday home was broken into early in the New Year and upwards of ¼10,000
worth of damage was caused as thugs smashed everything they could lay their hands on.

This weekend's appalling vandalism saw the gang damaging a hot-rod car in one home, uprooting
garden lights in another, throwing a rock through the windows of one house and stealing a fire
extinguisher from another before setting it off all over the outside walls of that home.
None of the
houses was occupied at the time. The Wallis family are this week reeling from the destruction of their
Kilmore home. "We're absolutely devastated and it's a terrible start to the New Year for us. Thankfully
there was no one in the house at the time, but it is shocking to think that something like this could
happen to us," Mr Wallis — who brought Ballyduff to hurling glory with a county title once again last
year — said.

"It's the latest in a number of incidents on our area and to be honest we're living in fear," one local
resident who didn't wish to be named said. "This crowd are out of control and it's bad enough here with
the boy racers driving down by night to the beach. There's a number of old people living here alone and
they are in real fear at the moment. We're thinking of getting an Alsatian now to protect our home it's
so bad."

Gardaí are appealing for any information in relation to the episode and have carried out house- tohouse enquiries in Ballyduff as well as conducting a forensic examination of the road on which the
vandalism occured.
"We have spoken to a number of locals in relation to these incidents and are taking the matter
extremely seriously," a spokesperson for gardaí in Listowel said.

They may man the sidelines with Alsatians so
"A cynic is a man who, when he smells flowers, looks around for a coffin."
H. L. Mencken

Not condoning what happened here and both sides were culpable...but surely that front page is a bit ironic considering you can clearly see a D'tresk man crumpled on the floor. I'm sure he didn't get there through the actions of a supporter/fan?

Quote from: omagh_gael on January 25, 2012, 11:48:04 PM

Not condoning what happened here and both sides were culpable...but surely that front page is a bit ironic considering you can clearly see a D'tresk man crumpled on the floor. I'm sure he didn't get there through the actions of a supporter/fan?
Probably a dive.

Quote from: BennyHarp on January 25, 2012, 06:31:23 PM
Quote from: Armamike on January 25, 2012, 05:19:26 PM
I was at the ulster semi and final. Those 2 games had men sent off for off the ball stuff. In the ulster semi eire ogs top forward hit out after bou1 min. Spot a theme?

So why are you asking if Derrytresk are well versed in the "dark arts"? You were at the games, you tell us. Did you see any evidence of this in the games you were at? I dont understand what your point is, if you saw Derrytresk play at close quarters twice, you should be well able to make a definitive judgement on their style of play stating examples of what the players did wrong, instead of making silly innuendos about dark arts.
Derrytresk deliberately targeted the Éire Óg full forward in their Ulster match. Whatever about the Kerrymen's overreacting it would not be beyond the relms of possibility that they have embraced a certain mentality. I would not not wish to see them thrown out of the competition but instead take on a combined Carrickmore/Dromore mob in a fight after Sense some night.

In fairness from what I can see at the start of this slow-mo version (mute the sound), there wasn't a whole pile done to the number 4.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hUmKAV0y6Yg&feature=player_embedded
Looks like he took a bit of a dive to be honest.
Once he was down he stayed down.
Shag all wrong with him.

Quote from: Take Your Points on January 25, 2012, 06:50:28 PM
The Indo's Infamous Pitch Brawls

A bit tough on Tyrone.

Jaysus, I could name 10 better fights in Cavan club football over the years and im only talking about u12's

Quote from: orangeman on January 25, 2012, 09:45:41 PM
"Cumann Peile Piarsaigh na Dromoda would like to thank all those who have supported us through the recent days

"we also trust that a review of the footage of last weekend's game will speak for itself."

"In light of the game that occurred on Sunday last in Portlaoise, we felt that the issue of violence and public scenes of disturbance at GAA fixtures needed to be highlighted and acted upon in an official capacity."

"This incident has left us, our team, management and club as a whole feeling quite disturbed..."

"Failure to highlight issues such as this to us is no longer an option, Piarsaigh na Dromoda's management and players have put their heart's and soul's into this competition..."

"It has taken much courage on behalf of our club to press ahead with this issue, as we feel it is a serious one...

"We stand very firmly by the fact that this is not an issue of Kerry versus Tyrone or anything of the kind....but incidents such as last Sundays [sic] cannot be tolerated by anyone or any team regardless of what county or province they represent."

"However the players, management and supporters of Cumann Peile Piarsaigh na Dromoda are all united in the knowledge that the CCCC will deal with this and assign appropriate punishment to those who instigated events."

Jaysus when you break it all down, that statement is the most sanctimonious piece of trash imaginable. Methinks they could get sponsored by the makers of this stuff next year: