twenty one yard free

Quote from: EC Unique on November 26, 2011, 09:36:21 AM
Quote from: twenty one yard free on November 26, 2011, 09:29:28 AM
Quote from: EC Unique on November 25, 2011, 03:07:56 PM
Quote from: orangeman on November 25, 2011, 03:01:52 PM
What date does day one start from ?

first training session of 2012.
don t think wee peter was at the first training session in 05 or at that many all that year

He was at plenty ;)

Fitness levels have moved on since then, see Dublin and Donegal for example. Tyrone got wiped off the pitch last year and a lot of it was due to speed, intensity and fitness. Micky has obviously identified this and has decided the way to prepare is as a unit from day one. I agree with him, bar injury all should be present at first training session. Just my opinion.
don t remember him at that many until championship time  although sure didn t he play that year in CHF
maybe i missed him

If know a fella who has got a Rolls Royce motor car with plenty of miles on it. I think it's a Silver Ghost - supposed to have been one of the best cars ever built. It's a fair age now but the owner takes good care of it now and uses it sparingly, knowing that if he drives it every day it could break down so he only takes it out in the summer . He doesn't believe in driving the dung out of it every day especially on winter roads but prefers to keep it now for nice summer days, especially on Sundays. She's some motor !. On the days he doesn't drive the Roller, he has a Volkswagen Golf - great motor as well but bears little comparison to the Roller. Even though it's getting on in years, the Roller still performs better, handles better and drives better than most newer type modern cars that are like cow's shite, i.e never off the road.

loughshore lad

don t think wee peter was at the first training session in 05 or at that many all that year

He was at plenty ;)

Fitness levels have moved on since then, see Dublin and Donegal for example. Tyrone got wiped off the pitch last year and a lot of it was due to speed, intensity and fitness. Micky has obviously identified this and has decided the way to prepare is as a unit from day one. I agree with him, bar injury all should be present at first training session. Just my opinion.

I thought Mickey said Tyrone were fitter than ever last year  ???

Are they footballers or olympians ???

Yes Dublin were very fit and strong last year but they also had great footballers like the Brogans, McMenamin (who was not a starter), Nolan etc etc and had a good balance.

twenty one yard free

Quote from: orangeman on November 26, 2011, 11:00:21 AM
If know a fella who has got a Rolls Royce motor car with plenty of miles on it. I think it's a Silver Ghost - supposed to have been one of the best cars ever built. It's a fair age now but the owner takes good care of it now and uses it sparingly, knowing that if he drives it every day it could break down sp he only takes it out in the summer . He doesn't believe in driving the dung out of it every day especially on winter roads but prefers to keep it now for nice summer days, especially on Sundays. She's some motor !. On the days he doesn't drive the Roller, he has a Volkswagen Golf - great motor as well but bears little comparison to the Roller. Even though it's getting on in years, the Roller still performs better, handles better and drives better than most newer type modern cars that are like cow's shite, i.e never off the road.
nail on head comes to mind

Lads its over for these guys - let it go.  We have learned all the lessons we need to in Croke Park over the last 3 years. A young good un etc. 

Quote from: loughshore lad on November 26, 2011, 11:13:48 AM

He was at plenty ;)

I thought Mickey said Tyrone were fitter than ever last year  ???

Are they footballers or olympians ???

Yes Dublin were very fit and strong last year but they also had great footballers like the Brogans, McMenamin (who was not a starter), Nolan etc etc and had a good balance.

Never let it be said that Dublin can't produce good skilled players.  I find this thread hilarious viewing. You'd swear Dublin had no-one who could play football.

Dublin out played tyrone. They didnt out-run them. Mickey Harte as much as I love the guy went into the game with a very naive game-plan and paid the price for it. Had he set his team up properly- who knows? He went man to man in Croke Park?????????????????? ??? ??? ???. It wasnt all the players fault or the fact many of them are 30. They would have been tanked with a team of 20 year olds.

The bottom line is a 20 year old has a bad year- its washed over.

A 30 year old has a bad year- when are you retiring?

Thats Ireland for you. A good manager will take every player on his merits. He wont look at his birth cert. And thankfully players like Gormley, O Neill and a few others will hopefully stay on.

You'll win nothing without experience. Granted you need young legs and youth in bulk on any squad. But you'll win nothing without experience either. This country glorfies youth on sports teams when many of them don't have the nous nor talent to back it up.

If know a fella who has got a Rolls Royce motor car with plenty of miles on it. I think it's a Silver Ghost - supposed to have been one of the best cars ever built. It's a fair age now but the owner takes good care of it now and uses it sparingly, knowing that if he drives it every day it could break down so he only takes it out in the summer . He doesn't believe in driving the dung out of it every day especially on winter roads but prefers to keep it now for nice summer days, especially on Sundays. She's some motor !. On the days he doesn't drive the Roller, he has a Volkswagen Golf - great motor as well but bears little comparison to the Roller. Even though it's getting on in years, the Roller still performs better, handles better and drives better than most newer type modern cars that are like cow's shite, i.e never off the road.

Sorry, but that's a bollix analogy. Mickey could keep those lads under wraps over the winter and bring them out to graze in the summer but what message would that send to every potential county player in Tyrone, especially the lads who threw their ring up in January running around Healy. They were a golden outfit but we should not wait for similar players to arrive as you'll waste a generation of good footballers. McGuigan was taken off at HT v Dublin. Mugsy couldn't do the things he used to on a regular basis. Dooher still works as hard but is missing that tackle bursting aspect. Jordan kept motoring but was given a torrid time. And so on.

McGuigan will always possess a quality others don't but there comes a time when the lesser skilled footballer offers more over 50-70 mins. It's time to fuse the next generation into the system and see what happens. It's a big decision but the right one. The lessons of Cork '09, Dublin '10 and Dublin '11 cannot be ignored.

Mickey can't win :D

Keep them and he is too faithful to the old boys and get rid of them and he is too harsh!

Quote from: twenty one yard free on November 26, 2011, 03:35:29 PM
hope u know more about football than engines because my rolls royce never has give me any bother

Some day it will come to a full stop, unlike yourself.

new devil

Quote from: twenty one yard free on November 26, 2011, 12:12:36 PM
If know a fella who has got a Rolls Royce motor car with plenty of miles on it. I think it's a Silver Ghost - supposed to have been one of the best cars ever built. It's a fair age now but the owner takes good care of it now and uses it sparingly, knowing that if he drives it every day it could break down sp he only takes it out in the summer . He doesn't believe in driving the dung out of it every day especially on winter roads but prefers to keep it now for nice summer days, especially on Sundays. She's some motor !. On the days he doesn't drive the Roller, he has a Volkswagen Golf - great motor as well but bears little comparison to the Roller. Even though it's getting on in years, the Roller still performs better, handles better and drives better than most newer type modern cars that are like cow's shite, i.e never off the road.
nail on head comes to mind

+1 Brilliant Orangeman...

Quote from: EC Unique on November 26, 2011, 02:09:58 PM
Mickey can't win :D

Keep them and he is too faithful to the old boys and get rid of them and he is too harsh!

Its the lack of talent coming through in Tyrone thats the problem really. To be fair the players made the decision to retire themselves. Unfortunately the lack of replacements is stark.

Agree 100%.

No reason in the world Harte cant have a quiet word with the two lads and tell them to keep themselves ticking over and to come back at the end of March.

Lamh Dhearg Alba

Quote from: INDIANA on November 26, 2011, 05:18:15 PM

Its the lack of talent coming through in Tyrone thats the problem really. To be fair the players made the decision to retire themselves. Unfortunately the lack of replacements is stark.

Indeed, Tyrone have only won the 2 All-Ireland minor titles in the last 4 years after all. ;D There are some great young players in Tyrone and they just need the chance to prove themselves at senior level. With a number of Tyrone's senior players stepping aside the youngsters are now going to get their chance.

I would be happy enough if McGuigan gave it another go next season. A few posters have suggested he is past it and is no longer worth his place but the facts are that his form in 2011 was probably his best since his injury problems. I said earlier in the thread (when his retirement was first announced) that it was most unfortunate that Tyrone had not started the rebuild earlier and got a few younger lads in before this summer in to benefit from Brian McGuigan's playmaking skills. He might not have the legs but with fresher players around him he could still be a great influence for at least another summer.

I have no doubt that it's a positive for Tyrone football that we are seeing going to see a lot of new faces on the panel but it will help if a few of the old guard stick around  - provided they are still worth their place. I would put McGuigan in that category, along with Gormley and and SON (and Jordan had he wanted to keep going and McGinley had he been able to get over his injuries). A mix of youth and experience is the way to go. We didn't get the mix right at all over the past couple of seasons with too many of the older players retained and not enough of the younger ones given a chance. A better balance is required next year and some of the veterans will be required.