The Official Shamrock Rovers in the Europa League Thread

Started by laoislad, August 25, 2011, 10:04:06 PM

Quote from: magpie seanie on September 30, 2011, 09:32:08 AM
Another glorious moral victory to add to the pantheon of moral victories of Irish soccer. Spurs reserves didn't know what hit them for an hour (it was chronic bad luck). A special word too for the suppporters who didn't urge anyone to "fcuk off and die" - legends.

one of the great haters has spoken...imagine a local team from a minor European league putting it up to a team from your beloved English league for an hour away from home, ye must have been dunging it  ::)

Another glorious moral victory to add to the pantheon of moral victories of Irish soccer. Spurs reserves didn't know what hit them for an hour (it was chronic bad luck). A special word too for the suppporters who didn't urge anyone to "fcuk off and die" - legends.

sh1te post seanie, c'mon, them lads played some very good football last night and were hit by three quality pieces of play when the skill was there to beat them, can hold heads high.

Pat Mustard

:D Who pissed on your cornflakes?

They played really well for about 60 minutes and I think they will disappointed with the first 2 goals. Very easy headers and the defenders were there to stop them. Heads went after that. What level would they be at if they played in England? Division 2 or 3?

Quote from: thejuice on September 30, 2011, 10:32:27 AM
They played really well for about 60 minutes and I think they will disappointed with the first 2 goals. Very easy headers and the defenders were there to stop them. Heads went after that. What level would they be at if they played in England? Division 2 or 3?

The goals were the result of overwhelming pressure. God knows how many times Spurs had flung the ball into the box and the more often they did the chances of missing a cross increasingly went towards 1.

tommysmith

I though that they  were penned back most of the game and the goal was one of the very times they had been in the Spurs half.  Not taking anything away from them but Spurs could have had 5 or 6 before they scored and saying they played really well is a bit much.

Anyone else notice Bassongs lack of knowledge of the offside rule on Rovers goal? He was stood a couple of yards in front of the goals with the goalie behind him but when Rovers player gets a touch he pulls his arm up and turns towards linesman, sorry assistant ref,  in the hope of getting an offside decision :D

Mario

I'd back rovers to survive in the championship, if they were playing in Scotland i'd say they could finish mid table in the SPL. At the end of the day this team qualified for the Uefa Cup, you don't do that by only playing at the standard of an English League 1 side.

That's pathetic Seanie.

What's with the attacks on Seánie ? People want him to change his long-held opinions just because Shamrock Rovers happen to be in the news at present? What would that make him? It's amazing the abuse you can get around here simply for taking a contrary view to the popular sentiment.

I'd didn't have a go at him but I do find it strange his apparent strong dislike of Irish soccer when he himself would have a big interest in United, I know its not the same but I feel you have to give Rovers credit for what they have done and how they have done it.

The most odd thing was him having a go at the songs they sing. If you are offended by this song and use it as a stick to beat a club, then I can't see how you can't hold the same view against all soccer clubs including United, Liverpool, Spurs, Chelsea etc etc. They all have their "party songs" that get sung and if you think one club deserve a slagging or criticism for that, then they all do.

Strange there wasn't a sound out of him when they got through the qualifying rounds and beat a decent side to become the first Irish football club to qualify for a group stages of a big European competition.

Then he comes on here making cheap jibes when they are beaten by two clubs who played in the Champions League and have beat teams like Barcelona and AC Milan over the past few seasons.

Not that he cares what I think of him nor I care what he thinks of me but he is a bitter hypocrite if there ever was one IMO.

Nordie Tayto is shite

Quote from: Mario on September 30, 2011, 03:55:41 PM
I'd back rovers to survive in the championship, if they were playing in Scotland i'd say they could finish mid table in the SPL. At the end of the day this team qualified for the Uefa Cup, you don't do that by only playing at the standard of an English League 1 side.

I dunno about the Championship but I'd say they would hold their own in League 1.
I agree though I also think they would survive handy enough in the SPL.
Outside of Rangers and Celtic who are about bottom of Premier League/Championship standard the rest are only League 1/League 2 standard so I'd expect them to at the very least not be relegated from the SPL.
Nordie Tayto is shite