Rugby World Cup 2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 04, 2011, 11:39:16 AM

didnt think it was intentional - more of an awkward tackle plus a bit late - like his other hit on an argie - late and maybe deserving of a yelow card.
IMO neither are citing offenses.

Agree with LB, slow motion makes it look worse, think he was just covering and wanted to make sure Ledesma went into touch. A penalty for leading with his knee imho.

In fairness I think the citing is a big harsh. His first tackle made me shudder though you could see the guy's knee crumpling under him and I'd imagine it's a cruciate injury. Was Wallace's injury a cruciate also?!

Capt Pat

Lawes did in two players in a little over two minutes of actual playing time. He has to go home.

Capt Pat

What part of the rugby players code includes doing in other pro players careers like he did with Tiesi?

This all works out very nicely for the Scots who now won't have to face Tiesi or Lawes in the matches against England or Argentina.

To be honest I thought you were over reacting at the time CP but having looked at it again the first tackle was heavy and very late. Lawes could clearly see your man was going to kick and still went through him.  He didn't want Tiesi getting up from that one!

The 2nd one is bad also . . . Jees ye can't do that lads!!

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xl16c6_lawes-desosse-tiesi-et-ledesma_sport

Celt_Man

First one is very late and a very very tackle but the second one is a total disgrace....

How in the name of jaysus is it ok to tackle a boy lying on the ground by sliding in with your knees to his shoulder/neck/head area??
GAA Board Six Nations Fantasy Champion 2010

Capt Pat

The tackle on Tiesi the kicker gets worse the more I look at it. The thing is he is kicking the ball away not taking it into contact. What Lawes did might have been technically legal but I don't think so. It goes against the spirit of the game.

The most notable injury done to a player when I was in school was from a late tackle on a kicker. It is not how the game is played.

Ireland team to play Australia R Kearney; T Bowe, B O'Driscoll, G D'Arcy, K Earls; J Sexton, E Reddan; C Healy, R Best, M Ross, D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell, S Ferris, J Heaslip, S O'Brien.

Replacements J Flannery, T Court, D Ryan, D Leamy; C Murray, R O'Gara, A Trimble.

D'Arcy must have some serious pictures of Kidneyme!!

Imagine Ireland will flood midfield with big ball carriers as the Australian centres are probably the weakest unit in their team, if we minimize turnovers we have a chance, albeit a very small one..

Capt Pat

A potentially great looking team especially the back row if they get their act together.

How good are Australia is the big question? They have beaten the All Blacks twice in the last year however in games that were not 100% competitive. On the flip side they lost against Samoa at home without their best players Beale O Connor Cooper Pocock and Genia. They also lost last autumn by a ridiculous score against England.

They are not as good as some would have you beleive I think. They will be very good in four years but I think we can win on saturday with a bit of luck.

Capt Pat

The Scotch are leading Georgia 9-3 at half time despite the best efforts of Dan Parks. Trying to kick the ball out at half time he kicked the ball into the back of one of his own players and it bounced back into his own hands ::) he then got caught by the Georgians who would have had a scrum on the Scottish line if there was any time left. A very funny sequence. Best bit of the game so far.

rossie mad

If georgia had some decent running backs they would be a good side.scotland playing the game they want.spend as much time as possible in the georgia half without actually posing a serious threat.
Canada produced a bit of a shock earlier by beating tonga.good game to watch.tonga seemed to take the canadians for granted.
Going with all the smaller teams in the handicap betting would have been very profitable so far.

Quote from: Dinny Breen on September 14, 2011, 03:55:22 AM
Ireland team to play Australia R Kearney; T Bowe, B O'Driscoll, G D'Arcy, K Earls; J Sexton, E Reddan; C Healy, R Best, M Ross, D O'Callaghan, P O'Connell, S Ferris, J Heaslip, S O'Brien.

Replacements J Flannery, T Court, D Ryan, D Leamy; C Murray, R O'Gara, A Trimble.

D'Arcy must have some serious pictures of Kidneyme!!

Imagine Ireland will flood midfield with big ball carriers as the Australian centres are probably the weakest unit in their team, if we minimize turnovers we have a chance, albeit a very small one..
a good move during the game would be to take off darcy, switch Sexton out and bring oGara on at fly half.
Better still leave out darcy altogether.
Will be interesting to see if Australia name Oconnor in the starting line up.

Georgia this morning looked fantastic at times. Loved their power pack rucking rugby.
Then they would just stop it as if they had to even it up and throw the ball out to the backs who fecked it up or kicked it away.
Their ful back looked good attacking though.
Georgia havent got the know how yet to win and control games, def have the pack and physicality. their pack can certainly play power rugby.

Quote from: rossie mad on September 14, 2011, 09:59:28 AM
If georgia had some decent running backs they would be a good side.scotland playing the game they want.spend as much time as possible in the georgia half without actually posing a serious threat.
Canada produced a bit of a shock earlier by beating tonga.good game to watch.tonga seemed to take the canadians for granted.
Going with all the smaller teams in the handicap betting would have been very profitable so far.

Haven't Canada beaten Tonga every time they've played them in WC?