Rugby World Cup 2011

Started by Dinny Breen, August 04, 2011, 11:39:16 AM

Lads any of ye that have bought tickets for this, have ye gotten them yet?
Got a letter during the week said I should have received my tickets by now, no sign.

only caught bits of that borefest and every tme scotland had the ball they passed the ball forward at some point. Ref only pulled them up on it a couple of times.
Ireland did it a couple of times too but nowhere near as much.
forward passes and offside are not always blown for in rugby and this frequent transgression of the rules drives me nuts.

What is the actual rule about the forward pass? Does the ball have to move in a forward direction from the point of release for it to be a forward pas? Or can it move forward and not be a forward pass if the recipient is behind the passer at the moment of release?

I heard a new interpretation on Saturday from the Scottish commentator or summariser - can't remember which. He said the ball can "drift" forward and not be a forward pass if the hands move backwards when passing. That doesn't make sense to me.

Quote from: Hardy on August 08, 2011, 11:46:05 AM
What is the actual rule about the forward pass? Does the ball have to move in a forward direction from the point of release for it to be a forward pas? Or can it move forward and not be a forward pass if the recipient is behind the passer at the moment of release?

I heard a new interpretation on Saturday from the Scottish commentator or summariser - can't remember which. He said the ball can "drift" forward and not be a forward pass if the hands move backwards when passing. That doesn't make sense to me.
this rugby commentator jargon is whats confusing people.
a forward pass is a forward pass.
The rule (from memory) was that if it was even 'level' it was a foul.
the ball has to move backwards.
if it 'drifts' forward - its still a foul.

Your wrong Lynchbhoy   ;D

Still to GAA rules.

The ball can drift forward as long as it's not passed forward.

If you think of the law of physics, quite often a player moving forward passes the ball to a player also moving at pace, and it may appear forward but in actual fact the ball has been passed straight and just because it travels forward doesn't mean it is a forward pass, it is how it was passed.

Offalylad

It's just the momentum of the player that makes it drift forward, no harm in that but it really depends on how the ref interprets it.

Diiny, what about a pass that goes backwards, is missed, and bounces forwards. Is that classed as a forward pass, a knock on, or a live ball?

Also, what do you mean it can 'drift forward if it's not passed forward'? Surely a pass that ends up ahead of the passer is a forward pass? What's a drift (Wind or something?)

turk

Also, you know if a player fumbles the ball forward but manages to catch it before it hits the ground. Then it isn't a knock in.

I think players should try pretending to fumble it forward over lads heads and run all the way up the pitch doing this, shouting "whoaoaoa!" and "ooopps". Refs would have to give the try. Coaches should be teaching kids this in schools

Actually you could be on to something there turk. If Earls was running at a defender say, and just threw the ball over his head and ran around and caught it, is that legal? If the lad tackled him, would he be 'tackling without the balll?'

turk

Only if Earls shouted "whoooops" and made a fumbling gesture when doing it. We are on to something here

Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 08, 2011, 01:02:59 PM
Still to GAA rules.
If you think of the law of physics, quite often a player moving forward passes the ball to a player also moving at pace, and it may appear forward but in actual fact the ball has been passed straight and just because it travels forward doesn't mean it is a forward pass, it is how it was passed.
when was that rule changed?
along with the 4 points for a try to 5 ?

I can tell you now that this was drummed into us at u10 and a 'level' pass was a 'forward' pass then !
it wasnt yer mickey mouse leinster coaching either - this was in the 'real' rugby heartland !!

now I think I know what you mean by a pass drifting forward, eg a ball thats obv thrwon backwards but caught by the wind, but the laws of physics and gravity dont allow the ball to be up for durations very often that would allow this kind of thing to happen.
only in 'hurricane' type weather !

Quote from: lynchbhoy on August 08, 2011, 02:59:27 PM
Quote from: Dinny Breen on August 08, 2011, 01:02:59 PM
Still to GAA rules.
when was that rule changed?
along with the 4 points for a try to 5 ?

I can tell you now that this was drummed into us at u10 and a 'level' pass was a 'forward' pass then !
it wasnt yer mickey mouse leinster coaching either - this was in the 'real' rugby heartland !!

now I think I know what you mean by a pass drifting forward, eg a ball thats obv thrwon backwards but caught by the wind, but the laws of physics and gravity dont allow the ball to be up for durations very often that would allow this kind of thing to happen.
only in 'hurricane' type weather !

Wha? They don't teach passing down here at all. Munster training is focussed on various ways of sticking the ball up your jumper, with a few drills in passion and singing Stand Up and Fight.

Quotewhen was that rule changed?

Do they not change the rules every feckin year in that 'sport'?  :P

Dinny will be along shortly to tell you they are not rules, they are laws.