GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: shark on December 12, 2007, 03:08:38 PM

Title: Sigerson 2008
Post by: shark on December 12, 2007, 03:08:38 PM
Draw made today. DCU, Queens and UUJ all on same side of the draw. Havent got full draw at hand but I do know that Queens play winners of NUIG and AIT.
Title: Re: Sigerson 2008
Post by: orangeman on December 12, 2007, 04:46:31 PM
Tough half for Queens and Jordanstown -they'll have to win it the hard way then.
Post by: INDIANA on December 12, 2007, 06:55:07 PM
why bother? just give it to DCU they are going to walk it.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 12, 2007, 11:19:16 PM
Quotewhy bother? just give it to DCU they are going to walk it.

They've a right to be favourites but I'd expect the Poly to get them a hell of a game as they've been just as active on the "transfer market".

Anybody have the full draw?
Post by: laoisgaa on December 13, 2007, 03:06:16 AM
ULSTER BANK SIGERSON CUP 2008
ALL MATCHES AT 2.00pm UNLESS OTHERWISE STATED - [E.T. if necessary]

Round 1 - 07.02.08
(St Mary's, BMC, DIT, DKIT, NUIM, UCC, IT Tralee, WIT, NUIG, IT Sligo, AIT, IT Carlow) 
A   NUI Maynooth v Belfast Metropolitan College (BMC)
B   Carlow IT v Dundalk IT
C   DIT v UCC
D   NUI Galway v Athlone IT

E   Bye
F   Bye
G   Bye
H   Bye
Round 2 – 13.02.08 Open Draw: 
16 teams - (8 Round 1 winners) + (UUJ, QUB, UCD, DCU, CIT, UL, Garda, GMIT) 
I   Winner C v Dublin City University
J   Winner D v Queen's University
K   Cork IT v UCD
L   Sligo IT v UUJ
M   St. Mary's Belfast v UL
N   IT Tralee v Winner A
O   GMIT v Waterford IT
P   Winner B v Garda College
Quarter-Finals - 27.02.08  (8 Round 2 winners) 
Q   Winner M v Winner O
R   Winner K v Winner P
S   Winner J v Winner L
T   Winner N v Winner I
07.03.08/08.03.08 - Semi-Finals and Final
IT Carlow
ULSTER BANK TRENCH CUP 2008
Round 1 - 13.02.08 (Open Draw):
10 teams (UUC, LYIT, UU Magee, NCI, St Pats, Law School, LIT, MICL, IT Tallaght, IT Blanchardstown ) 
A      Limerick IT v St. Pat's Drumcondra
B   University of Ulster Coleraine v University of Ulster Magee
C   Blanchardstown I.T. v Law School
D   Mary Immaculate College Limerick v Letterkenny IT
E   NCI v IT Tallaght
Quarter-Finals - 27.02.08 
(5 winners of Round 1 + Trinity) 
F   Winner B v Winner D
G  Trinity College v Winner C
H  Winner E v Winner A 

Semi-Finals – 07.03.08 (Fri) in Carlow
British Winners  v _________________
_______________  v _________________

Final – 08.03.07 (Sat) in Carlow

ULSTER BANK CORN NA MAC LÉINN 2008
Round 1: 07.02.08 (Open Draw)
11 teams (RCSI, Mater Dei, Marino, Froebel, GMIT Letterfrack, GMIT Castlebar, DLIADT, Carlow College, Tipp Inst-St Pats, Cadets, Garnerville Gaels)
A   Cadets v DLIADT
B   Tipperary Institute/St. Patrick's v Mater Dei
C   Froebel College v Carlow College
D      Bye
E      Bye
F      Bye
G      Bye
H      Bye
Qtr-Finals: 13.02.08 (Open Draw)
3 winners on Round 1 + remaining 5 from above list
I   RCSI v Winner B
J   GMIT Letterfrack v GMIT Castlebar
K   Marino Institute v Garnerville Gaels
L   Winner C v Winner A

Semi-Finals: 27.02.08
Final: 08.03.08 (Sat) in Carlow

ULSTER BANK Further Education Championship 2008

8 teams (NWRC Limavady, Cavan Inst, NWRC Derry, Colaiste Íde, Inchicore,
Carlow IE, CCFE, Portlaoise College )

Qtr-Finals: 13.02.08 (Open Draw)
A   Inchicore College v Carlow I.E.
B   Cork Colleges of Further Education v NWRC Limavady
C   Colaiste Ide v Cavan Institute
D   NWRC Derry v Portlaoise College

Semi-Finals: By 27.02.08 

Final: 08.03.08 (Sat) in Carlow
Post by: Farrandeelin on December 13, 2007, 01:45:27 PM
Who are Garnerville Gaels? ???
Post by: Craigyhill Terror on December 13, 2007, 02:37:27 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on December 13, 2007, 01:45:27 PM
Who are Garnerville Gaels? ???

PSNI Training College
Post by: darbyo on December 13, 2007, 03:35:10 PM
QF prediction,

UL V GMIT
CIT V Garda
Queens V UUJ
DCU V NUI (maybe)

Semi prediction

UL
CIT
Queens
DCU

Post by: Zulu on December 19, 2007, 12:17:50 AM
Anyone know how strong Mary's are this year, I was talking to lad today who reckoned they were dark horses for the Sigerson. They have UL first, but UL are much improved this year, and I actually fancy UL to beat Mary's. I want to put a little wager on this but I'm not sure if I'm underestimating Mary's, I think they beat Queen's in the group stages of this year's league so they can't be bad. Any big players with them this year or superstars yet to make their name?
Post by: pedro on December 19, 2007, 11:38:18 AM
I wouldnt have thought much of the Mary's to be honest. You'd be looking at the obvious ones, DCU, Jordanstown and Queens. i though Queens were very poor in the Ryan Cup final. They didn't have too many county players either, I know that isn't the be all and end all but you do need a fair sprinkling of county lads. I will go with DCU to beat J'Town in the final. Definitely the two most star-studded teams anyway
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on December 19, 2007, 06:27:43 PM
QuoteI will go with DCU to beat J'Town in the final. Definitely the two most star-studded teams anyway

Whoever wins the likely semi final between those 2 will probably take the title. Lack of strength in depth usually beats St Marys especially if they pick up any injuries.
Post by: bennydorano on February 07, 2008, 01:53:28 PM
Betting available with Boylesports

UCD 3/1
QUB 9/2
UUJ 9/2
DCU 7/1
ST Marys 8/1
NUI Galway 10/1
UUC 10/1
DIT 12/1
Sligo IT 14
Tralee IT 20/1
Cork IT 25/1
GMIT 25/1
UL 25/1
Waterford IT 25/1
Carlow IT 33/1

I thought I had been paying attention during the Ryan Cup but why then are UCD favourites?  I'd reckon it should be between UUJ and DCU, thought DCU at 7/1 was an unbelievable price.
Post by: passedit on February 07, 2008, 02:03:14 PM
Maybe someone at Boylesports is dyslexic?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 07, 2008, 02:05:33 PM
Stick money on DCU and Jtown. One of those 2 should win it. Decent return if either wins.
Post by: bennydorano on February 07, 2008, 02:14:48 PM
Quote from: passedit on February 07, 2008, 02:03:14 PM
Maybe someone at Boylesports is dyslexic?
Mightn't be that far of the mark, bookies do make mistakes.  According to the Racing Post - Coral's have Wayne Mardle 5/4 to score more 180's than Peter Manley tonight in the Darts, he's 1/2 everywhere else for the same bet!
Post by: cavan4ever on February 07, 2008, 02:55:12 PM
So DCU at 7/1 is worth a few squid?
Post by: armaghniac on February 07, 2008, 03:51:19 PM
Boylesports seems to be reading this forum.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 07, 2008, 03:53:23 PM
Ah bollux. Still at least we can be sure of getting the 5/1. Still a decent bet I think.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 07, 2008, 04:05:54 PM
In to 3/1 now.
Post by: Lone Shark on February 07, 2008, 04:09:33 PM
That is quite possibly the most incorrect price I've seen in my 8 years in this industry. I'd have put them in around 4/5 myself.
Post by: corn02 on February 07, 2008, 04:13:21 PM
Raging i missed out on that. did not get in quick enough.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 07, 2008, 04:15:24 PM
QuoteRaging i missed out on that. did not get in quick enough.

Aye missed it as well and feel a bit stupid meself. Shoulda jumped at it. Fortune favours the brave!

Post by: Lone Shark on February 07, 2008, 04:16:56 PM
Keep going. Put it this way - if the first price up was 3/1, I'd still be piling in now. I may do again tomorrow if it's still there - the bank and credit cards have all reached their daily withdrawal limit for today .....  ;)

If somebody offered you a €500 euro note for €300, you wouldn't turn it down simply because they were being sold for €200 five minutes ago.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 07, 2008, 04:19:26 PM
Lone

I don't think DCU are a sure thing at all. Wouldn't agree with you that they should be odds on - maybe about 2/1. UUJ have a seriously good side as well and the Sigerson can be unpredictable.
Post by: shark on February 07, 2008, 04:25:35 PM
NUIG 1-15 AIT 0-9

Probably wasnt a 9 point game but NUIG always in control. Armstrong did a lot of early damage until going off injured, David Duffy lorded midfield. AIT didnt have enough really, Phelan and Coughlan from Offaly were very good however.
NUIG will certainly put it up to Queens but will still need to improve I would imagine.
Post by: Lone Shark on February 07, 2008, 04:27:01 PM
Sigerson can be unpredictable, but this is a new era - even in the days of Padraig Joyce lining out for Tralee, we never had (whisper it quietly) professionalism on this scale before. This DCU team on paper would eat any team from three or four years ago alive, and my guess is that they'll be around 1/2 against UUJ, 1/3 or so against Queens or UCD if they meet, 1/6 against Cork IT and possibly Sligo IT, and no odds to beat anyone else. No better than evens in my opinion.

You have to factor in that by the time DCU are scheduled to meet UUJ, Jordanstown will have faced up to both Sligo IT and Queens - and could possibly be eliminated.
Post by: TyronePhilly on February 07, 2008, 05:41:25 PM
I may have missed it somewhere else....any other scores from today?
How about the MET against Maynooth?
Carlow IT vs Dundalk IT?
Dublin IT vs UCC?

Thanks in advance.

TIR EOGHAIN Philadelphia
http://tyrone.philadelphia.gaa.ie

http://tyronephiladelphia.BEBO.com
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 07, 2008, 07:16:57 PM
Maynooth beat Belfast Met 1-14 to 1-8.
Post by: Lone Shark on February 07, 2008, 08:17:42 PM
DIT won by 5 after extra time
Post by: TyronePhilly on February 08, 2008, 05:40:04 AM
Without Niall P McGinn, who were the guns up front for the MET?
Post by: bennydorano on February 08, 2008, 03:32:22 PM
Happy to report I got DCU for 7/1 in my local bookies ;D, who admittedly mightn't be too happy if they investigated further. I'm hoping DCU avoid UUJ until the final then I can cover myself.

Mardle beat Manley in the 180's by the way - buying money.
Post by: Uladh on February 08, 2008, 03:35:29 PM

Looking at the draw i thnk DCU would be on course to meet UUJ in the semis
Post by: Our Nail Loney on February 08, 2008, 03:37:11 PM
Think QUB would be happy enough everyone doing the talking about UUJ and DCU, think I am gonna back them to win it this year, backed them last year as well though was hoping for bigger price than 9/2.
Post by: Zulu on February 08, 2008, 03:38:12 PM
QuoteLooking at the draw i thnk DCU would be on course to meet UUJ in the semis

I think you're right Uladh
Post by: bennydorano on February 08, 2008, 04:12:52 PM
I have a print out of the draw and the semi's aren't included, I assumed they were TBA at a later date.
Post by: bennydorano on February 09, 2008, 09:00:22 PM
Latest from Boyles
DCU     2                   
UCD     4                   
UUJ     11/2                   
Queens     15/2                   
St Marys     12                   
NUI Galway     14                   
Sligo IT     16                   
Dit     20                   
Post by: Our Nail Loney on February 09, 2008, 09:09:44 PM
Have Cork missed a lot of players since last year, why are they 25s? They on the supposedly easier side.

They were very good against Queens in the semi last year and only for Sheehan getting injured had a very good chance. Your young fella O Sullivan from Kerry, has he left or what? In Gaelic Life it says they still have Sheehan like.
Post by: Zulu on February 09, 2008, 09:14:42 PM
Yeah not sure about that either ONL, I saw them during the league and their not bad. They also have Goulding and O'Neill from Cork so they have plenty of quality.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on February 09, 2008, 10:57:44 PM
yeah well I threw on a tenner at 25's just outta curiousity, and twenty on QUB at 15/2 outta loyalty.

So there ya go, I have put my money where my mouth is. Anyone else wanna make their predictions then that we can look back on in a few months??
Post by: Zulu on February 09, 2008, 11:00:48 PM
QF prediction,

These were my predictions last December. I think I'm ok so far.

UL V GMIT
CIT V Garda
Queens V UUJ
DCU V NUI (maybe)

Semi prediction

UL
CIT
Queens
DCU
Post by: Seany on February 11, 2008, 01:14:36 PM
Where is SIgerosn being held this year?
Post by: Zulu on February 11, 2008, 01:22:13 PM
Carlow.
Post by: David McKeown on February 12, 2008, 12:05:23 PM
Any one know where I can find the times and locations for this weeks games?
Post by: Homer on February 12, 2008, 12:06:30 PM
http://sigerson.itcarlow.ie/ (http://sigerson.itcarlow.ie/)
Post by: laoisgaa on February 12, 2008, 01:46:21 PM
TUESDAY 12th FEBRUARY
Ulster Bank Fergal Maher Cup Round 1
(Extra-time if necessary)
St. Mary's Belfast v Dundalk IT 2pm, Belfast
UUC/Magee v NCI 2pm, Coleraine
Marino Institute v Letterkenny IT 2pm, St. Vincent's, Dublin
GMIT Castlebar v Garnerville Gaels 2pm, Ballyvary

WEDNESDAY 13th FEBRUARY
Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup Round 2
DIT v DCU 2pm., Grangegorman
NUI Galway v Queen's University 2pm, Mullahoran, Co. Cavan
Cork IT v UCD 3pm, Cork IT pitch
IT Sligo v UUJ 2pm, IT Sligo pitch
St. Mary's Belfast v UL 2pm, DCU Sportsgrounds

IT Tralee v NUI Maynooth 2pm, Tralee
GMIT v Waterford IT 2pm, Galway
Carlow IT v Garda TC 2pm, Carlow IT

Ulster Bank Trench Cup Round 1
Limerick IT v St. Pat's TC 2pm, Limerick IT
IT Blanchardstown v The Law School 2pm, Blanchardstown
Mary Immaculate College, Limerick v Letterkenny IT, 2pm, Cloone

Ulster Bank Fergal Maher Cup Round 1
Kings Inns v DLIADT 7pm, Dublin Venue (TBC)

THURSDAY 14th FEBRUARY
Ulster Bank Fitzgibbon Cup Round 3
Limerick IT v UL 2pm, Limerick IT
DIT v Cork IT 2pm, Grangegorman
GMIT v UCC 2pm, Galway
St. Pat's/Mater Dei v UCD 2pm, Drumcondra

Ulster Bank Ryan Cup Round 3
Queen's University v Tipp Inst./St. Pat's 2pm Dublin venue (TBC)
DCU v IT Sligo 2pm, DCU Sportsground

IT Tallaght v Athlone IT 2pm, Tallaght

Ulster Bank Corn na Mac Léinn Quarter-Finals
GMIT Letterfrack v GMIT Castlebar 2pm, Ballyvary
Marino Institute v Garnerville Gaels 2pm, Dublin venue (TBC)
Froebel College v Cadets 2pm, Dublin venue (TBC)

MONDAY 18th FEBRUARY
Ulster Bank Trench Cup Round 1
NCI v IT Tallaght 2pm, St. Vincents, Dublin

Post by: David McKeown on February 12, 2008, 02:58:37 PM
Thanks
Post by: Uladh on February 12, 2008, 03:35:20 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on February 12, 2008, 01:46:21 PM
WEDNESDAY 13th FEBRUARY

Some cracking ties there. it's a pity that some of the best football you are likely to see in 2008 is played on wednesday afternoons with next to noone in attendance.

DIT V DCU would be a tight affair had vaughan & cian ward not been injured
Sligo may have lost most of their stars but they won't make it easy for the poly down there
Queens V UCG could be the tie of the round with armstrong and clancy a handful for any defence
CIT with sheehan and o'sullivan could have too much fire power for UCD
UL could well cause the upset of the round with St mary;s being many people's dark horses for the competition
The last game, Carlow Vs the guards , will be interesting. in theory the guards, with o'mahony and cussen should have too much but looking at the carlow lineout in the indo last week they seem to have roped a fair nit of talent in. the prospect of making the weekend as hosts could be a big carrot for them.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 12, 2008, 03:39:21 PM
Quote from: Uladh on February 12, 2008, 03:35:20 PM
Quote from: laoisgaa on February 12, 2008, 01:46:21 PM
WEDNESDAY 13th FEBRUARY

Some cracking ties there. it's a pity that some of the best football you are likely to see in 2008 is played on wednesday afternoons with next to noone in attendance.

DIT V DCU would be a tight affair had vaughan & cian ward not been injured
Sligo may have lost most of their stars but they won't make it easy for the poly down there
Queens V UCG could be the tie of the round with armstrong and clancy a handful for any defence
CIT with sheehan and o'sullivan could have too much fire power for UCD
UL could well cause the upset of the round with St mary;s being many people's dark horses for the competition
The last game, Carlow Vs the guards , will be interesting. in theory the guards, with o'mahony and cussen should have too much but looking at the carlow lineout in the indo last week they seem to have roped a fair nit of talent in. the prospect of making the weekend as hosts could be a big carrot for them.

Why do some ties give home advantage to one or the other, while others are at neutral venues? Are some colleges subject to 'home and away' agreements?

Example, I'm sure UCG would like to have Queen's in Galway, and Saint Mary's would probably love UL to travel to Belfast. Can't be to do with distance as Waterford IT are heading all the way up to Galway, and Maynooth are heading to Tralee.
Post by: Uladh on February 12, 2008, 04:04:08 PM

It is something to do with distance i think az, but not sure of the ins and outs?

maybe colín could help with this one?
Post by: corn02 on February 12, 2008, 04:16:33 PM
I am sure he could, wonder what match he was at today?
Post by: Zulu on February 12, 2008, 04:46:39 PM
QuoteWhy do some ties give home advantage to one or the other, while others are at neutral venues? Are some colleges subject to 'home and away' agreements?

It's related to distance alright, if the distance between the two colleges is more than 300km then the tie can be played at a place half the distance between the two colleges. Though I'm not sure Galway to Befast is more than 300km.
Post by: Deal_Me_In on February 12, 2008, 05:00:14 PM
According to Google Maps its 310 Km from Galway to Belfast
Post by: Zulu on February 12, 2008, 05:07:35 PM
There you have it so.
Post by: laoisgaa on February 13, 2008, 03:12:10 AM
Sorry about the delay in getting back to ye!

Aye if the distance travelled is over 300km neutral venues are used.

Was at the Fergal Maher Cup Hurling game between Letterkenny IT and Marino Institute earlier!! A cracking encounter it has to be said - goals galore, went to extra-time and finished in a 5-14 to 3-17 win for Marino.

Off to St. Mary's and UL in DCU in the Sigerson Cup today - should be an interesting tie. Hard one to call as are a lot of today's fixtures. Mary's are fresh from a 10-14 to 2-10 hurling win over Dundalk IT yesterday. Doubt if they have any duel players?
Post by: bennydorano on February 13, 2008, 10:48:02 AM
Queens would seem to be most vulnerable of the Ulster Uni's goin into today's games, galway seem to be very strong from what I've heard and from reading today's Irish News.  Jordanstown could in bother too.
Post by: Lone Shark on February 13, 2008, 10:54:56 AM
I saw NUIG vs AIT last week and I wasn't impressed with the Galway bies at all. They have some big names, but even so Athlone missed three great goal chances that would have levelled or put them ahead in a fifteen minute spell around half time, and any one of those could have changed the game a lot. David Duffy, much as I hate to praise a Westmeath man, is turning into an elite midfielder while Seanie Armstong probably won't be as weak again, but Matt Clancy is still all about the running and not remotely about being able to turn it into scores, and their half back line is very moderate and can be penetrated. 

If QUB aren't good enough to beat this Galway team while operating at 70% or so, they aren't good enough full stop. 

I'd love to say that it's bad news that Vaughan and Ward are out, but I'll get over it....  :P

As for myself - can anyone confirm that GMIT home games are in that pitch across the road from the college? I presume they are, but just not sure. Seeing as for the second time in two years I've been robbed of a glamour tie in Dangan by that 300km rule.
Post by: laoisgaa on February 13, 2008, 10:56:13 AM
Here are the draws with the semi final pairings included

SIGERSON CUP 2008
Round 1 - 07.02.08
A NUI Maynooth  1-14 Belfast Met College (BMC) 1-8
B Carlow IT 6-12 Dundalk IT 0-12
C DIT 1-17 UCC 1-12
D NUI Galway 1-15 Athlone IT 1-9
Round 2 – 13.02.08 Open Draw:  
I D.I.T. v  D.C.U.
J NUI Galway  v  Q.U.B.
K Cork IT v UCD
L Sligo IT  v  UUJ
M St. Mary's Belfast  v  UL
N IT Tralee v NUI Maynooth
O GMIT v Waterford IT
P Carlow IT v Garda College
Quarter-Finals - 27.02.08  
Q Winner N   v  Winner O
R Winner K   v  Winner P
S Winner J   v  Winner L
T Winner N   v  Winner I
07.03.08- Semi-Finals (IT Carlow)
Q v R
S v T
08.03.08 – Final (IT Carlow)
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 11:20:51 AM
You have two winners N in the 1/4 finals thei LaoisGaa. Who does UL/Mary's play?
Post by: Lone Shark on February 13, 2008, 11:34:53 AM
GMIT/WIT.

DCU/DIT play NUIM/ITT.

ATB,

LS
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 13, 2008, 11:36:40 AM
Quote from: Lone Shark on February 13, 2008, 10:54:56 AMDavid Duffy, much as I hate to praise a Westmeath man, is turning into an elite midfielder

What do u mean by elite LS? He sure can catch a ball but needs to work on taking pints and delivering quality ball. Did well against the Dubs, hopefully he can continue that on Sun...
Post by: Lone Shark on February 13, 2008, 11:42:47 AM
I mean that the last few times I saw him he was both dominant in terms of going after high ball, and grizzled enough to deal with the inevitable skirmish that tends to greet such individuals on landing. Darragh O'Sé is not a great exponent of either of the skills you mentioned, and yet he is one of the most valuable men in the country to have on your side.

From an Offaly perspective, if you offered me a guy like Duffy now, and told me that he would not score a point all year, I would bite your hand off and halve our price to win Leinster there and then. When you don't have a guy like this you become all the more aware how valuable he is.

Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 13, 2008, 11:55:06 AM
True but Duffy is more of the Sean Cavanagh physique than Darragh O'Sé, maybe I'm expecting too much from him. He's certainly come on leaps and bounds since the last time I saw him. If we could pair him with a fit Shaugho and push Flan into FF we might be actually able to do something in Leinster this year...
Post by: snappiered on February 13, 2008, 02:12:02 PM
Any updates from todays games?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 02:13:51 PM
Surely they are on Aertel???

;D ;D ;D
Post by: downtown on February 13, 2008, 02:22:51 PM
can u get 2 aertel on the internet or do u no ne scores AZ
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 02:24:07 PM
I was joking downtown. Aertel struggle to get Championship matches in the summer correct on their pages. Even those broadcast live on RTE.

edit. If you want to check it out, it is at http://www.rte.ie/aertel (http://www.rte.ie/aertel)
Post by: shark on February 13, 2008, 02:54:42 PM
Queens lead NUIG by a point at half time.
Post by: Lone Shark on February 13, 2008, 03:00:37 PM
This competition is driving me up the wall. I went to try and go to GMIT vs WIT today, supposedly down for "Galway" and started in GMIT's pitch, and basically went from there to every pitch in the Galway City area trying to find the game. One fella told me Ballybrit, another said Monvea, which I didn't go to since by now it was just after 2 and Monivea was 20 miles away.

Seriously, these are some of the best games that will be held all year, and the GAA tries to hide the shagging things, lest anyone not on first name terms with a player gets to go. Madness.
Post by: shark on February 13, 2008, 03:23:39 PM
GMIT normally play in St.James's grounds in Mervue, beside the chruch. Its not the best pitch in the world tho so I woulnt be suprised if it was moved for such a big game.
Post by: Lone Shark on February 13, 2008, 03:37:46 PM
It appears DIT have taken out DCU, 1-13 to 0-13. The Gods ain't on my side this year, that's for sure.
Post by: bennydorano on February 13, 2008, 03:39:13 PM
f**kin me too >:(, to quote Nicky English, 'if I'd ducks they'd drown'.
Post by: Nimbus on February 13, 2008, 03:40:44 PM
That blows it wide open, any word on the Ulster representatives?
Post by: downtown on February 13, 2008, 03:41:08 PM
any1 know how queens, st marys and jordanstown got on??
Post by: shark on February 13, 2008, 03:47:14 PM
Queens beat NUIG by 1 point. Have no details on actual score.
Post by: downtown on February 13, 2008, 03:54:48 PM
cheers shark
Post by: inthemaking on February 13, 2008, 04:19:06 PM
UUJ won by 12 points
Post by: Teeling Gael on February 13, 2008, 04:33:48 PM
"Sligo IT's interest in this year's Sigerson Cup came to an abrupt halt this afternoon when they went down to a comprehensive 4 -12 to 10 points defeat against keen rivals UUJ at Ballinode. The Ulster college led by 3-06 to 6 points at the half time break and went on to record an easy win in the end"

Courtesy of Oceanfms website in Sligo.
Post by: Jinxy on February 13, 2008, 04:38:39 PM
So the harlem globetrotters are gone.  :o
Fair play to DIT (who were missing their two highest-profile players unless I'm mistaken). All to play for now.
Post by: ExiledGael on February 13, 2008, 04:45:36 PM
GMIT beat Waterford too according to a text, got no other details at all.
Who are DIT's main players. Vaughan was one of the absentees wasn't he?
Would love to see more coverage of this. Last year's weekend in Belfast had some of the best football I've ever seen.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 13, 2008, 04:49:24 PM
Any word on the UL/Mary's game?
Post by: Donagh on February 13, 2008, 05:06:37 PM
Queens win a game after their professionals have retired  :o. Whatever next, Kevin McGourty to read a book after eight years at university?
Post by: inthemaking on February 13, 2008, 05:24:51 PM
From BBC

Holders Queen's will meet UUJ in the Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup quarter-finals next week after both claimed second-round wins on Wednesday.
Queen's edged out NUI Galway 1-14 to 1-13 in a thriller at Mullahoran while UUJ romped past IT Sligo 4-12 to 0-11.

Ulster's other remaining hopefuls St Mary's bowed out after a 2-10 to 0-6 defeat by the University of Limerick.

DIT, IT Tralee, GMIT and Garda College were among the other winners in Wednesday's games.
Post by: PlayWithTheWind on February 13, 2008, 05:34:10 PM
the Ranch boys will be on the rip as we speak!
Post by: ExiledGael on February 13, 2008, 05:42:21 PM
Queen's v UUJ, repeat of last year's final should be a cracker. Supposed to be next week, probably Casement??
Post by: Cavanfan on February 13, 2008, 06:20:15 PM
Vaughan was playing scoring 7 points 6 frees I think and Ward came on.
Post by: ExiledGael on February 13, 2008, 07:39:31 PM
Improved BBC update

Queen's set up Jordanstown clash

Holders Queen's will meet UUJ in the Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup quarter-finals next week after both claimed second-round wins on Wednesday.
Queen's edged out NUI Galway 1-14 to 1-13 in a thriller at Mullahoran while UUJ romped past IT Sligo 4-12 to 0-11.
Ulster's other remaining hopefuls St Mary's bowed out after a 2-10 to 0-6 defeat by the University of Limerick.
DIT, Cork IT, IT Tralee, GMIT and Garda College were among the other winners in Wednesday's games.
Queen's were pushed all the way by a resilient NUI side with a goal from Shaun O'Neill setting them on their way.
They found it hard to break free from NUI and only prevailed by a point at the finish.
The tie of the day was at Grangegorman where champions of two years ago DCU, were sensationally knocked out of this year's competition following an Aidan Kilcoyne goal in the second half to help DIT to a 1-12 to 0-12 win.
Elsewhere, a strong Laois influence was not enough to see hosts IT Carlow book a spot in the last eight.
A strong Garda College side, powered by Kerry's Aidan O'Mahony and Michael Cussen of Cork, took a 1-11 to 0-12 win.
Meanwhile, good displays from wing-back Ger Caffery (0-2) and former Tottenham Hotspur player Paul O'Donoghue (0-4) helped IT Tralee take a home win over NUI Maynooth by 0-16 to 1-10. They now face DIT in the quarter-finals.

------------------------------------------------------------------------
Sigerson Cup second round
DIT 1-12 0-12 DCU
Queen's 1-14 1-13 NUI Galway
Cork IT 1-13 1-6 UCD
UUJ 4-12 0-11 Sligo IT
UL 2-10 0-6 St Mary's
IT Tralee 0-16 1-10 NUI Maynooth
GMIT 0-18 2-6 Waterford IT
Garda College 1-11 0-12 Carlow IT
Post by: Minder on February 13, 2008, 08:28:22 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 13, 2008, 05:34:51 PM
Perhaps they have been for the last week.

The Beehive getting a whack?

You are assured of a whack in the Beehive
Post by: laoisgaa on February 13, 2008, 10:25:51 PM
Next games aren't until the 27th now Is there a way to access this board via mobile? I'll still up all the quarter-final updates as I hae them to hand next day out.
Post by: Zulu on February 13, 2008, 11:33:08 PM
An impressive win for UL today but Mary's were pretty woeful. DCU's elimination (was it you Indiana that told us the rest of the colleges shouldn't bother turning up this year? ;)) and the elimination of either Queen's or UUJ makes this one of the most open Sigerson's in years. Can't wait for Wednesday week.
Post by: laoisgaa on February 13, 2008, 11:46:18 PM
I was at UL/St. Mary's today and I have to say I was very impressed by UL's midfielder David Moran who was sublime thoughout, took a well struck penalty and was generally involved in almost all of UL's scoring moves.

Would have wondered why CJ McGourty didn't start for Mary's either, he certainly helped them stay in contention when introduced but Mary's left themselves with a bit of a mountain to climb, defence let them down badly.

Very open Sigerson now - would have fancied Carlow IT to come through against the guards, a lot of the IT's left in the competition which is heartening, colleges that haven't any/too many titles to their credit also such as IT Tralee

University of Limerick 2-10
St. Mary's College Belfast 0-6
By Cóilín Duffy

A strong first half performance from UL ensured that they advanced to an Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup Quarter-final meeting with GMIT after a convincing 10 points victory over St. Mary's Belfast yesterday at DCU.
UL led by 1-6 to 0-0 after only six minutes, with former Cork Under 21 Cathrach Keane finding the back of the St. Mary's net inside two minutes, after a pass from Alan O'Sullivan of Kerry

The Limerick side were firmly dominated in the midfield sector and Mary's found it hard to cope with their quick passing moves, as UL took a second goal before the interval from midfielder David Moran to take a 2-6 to 0-2 interval lead.
The introduction of Antrim's CJ McGourty helped St. Mary's dominate in the third quarter as he chipped in with two points but UL held enough in resolve and finished the game with three unanswered points.
University of Limerick: D Dineen; D Bracken, S Twomey, K Harrington; S Lonergan, M Moloney, G Sunderland; D Moran 1-2 (1-0 pen, 0-1f), G Brennan; F Lynch 0-3 (fs), B Moran, C Keane 1-1; E Varley 0-3 (1f), A O'Sullivan, P Byrne 0-1. Subs: D Geaney for Bracken (37); C McGowan for Byrne (55); A Feeley for Varley (58)

St Mary's: B Marron; G Smyth, J McMahon, K O'Boyle; M McIvor, S O'Neill, M Murray; G O'Neill 0-1, J Kelly; N McVeigh, K Niblock, B McGoldrick 0-1; P Carville 0-1, C McCarron, M Pollock. Subs: B Óg Maguire for O'Boyle (9); J Lavery for N McVeigh (16); CJ McGourty 0-2 (1f) for McCarron (25); P Keenan 0-1 for Kelly (ht); J Cunningham for Pollock (48)
Referee: P Power (Dublin)
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 13, 2008, 11:52:34 PM
Big shock that DCU were knocked out. Did they take the 1st round too lightly? Glad I didn't bother with the 7/1 now!

Should be Poly's to lose now but what a quarter final! Half day off work for sure!

Post by: OakLeaf on February 14, 2008, 09:01:26 AM
Is there anyone going to any of the Sigerson games that would be willing to text updates to the Live Scores service on GAA Radio?  The number to send your texts to is 447624804328. The service is free for everyone to view at http://www.gaaradio.com/scores/liveScores.jsp . Thanks.
Post by: Zulu on February 14, 2008, 09:51:58 AM
I'll be at UL/GMIT so I'll do it for that game. Just Bump up this thread closer to the games to remind me!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2008, 09:52:53 AM
Are you in UL Zulu?
Post by: Zulu on February 14, 2008, 10:01:23 AM
I live in Limerick AZ and have some connections to UL. So I go to as many of their football matches as possible.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2008, 10:30:46 AM
Ah right.

I'm working on campus here, although not affiliated with UL. Alumnus and living in Newport.
Post by: Zulu on February 14, 2008, 10:52:14 AM
Did you play a bit of ball there or do you keep an eye on the UL GAA teams now, AZ?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2008, 10:59:48 AM
I keep an eye on the teams. I turned down playing with the Sigerson squad in UL. Biggest mistake I ever made. I thought the load with the Offaly Under 21s and stuff would be too much. I knew Dara O'Cinneide, Mike Hasset and a few of the other lads that did play on the squad.
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on February 14, 2008, 11:10:11 AM
Queens will be happy with their win yesterday over what was a very impressive UCG outfit. Queen's full forward line of McCumiskey, O'Neill and O'Rourke was the difference in the end, with a weak galway full backline buckling regularly. although Charlie Vernon, Joe O'Kane and Luke Howard played the Galway dangermen of Duffy, Clancy and Armstrong out of the contest, Queens were taking on water virtually everywhere else. Breathnach and Ronaldson in particular tortured the malone men all day and Broderick showed glimpses of sheer brilliance. 5 points up with time running out, queens were very lucky to hold on through injury time. good to see the polytechnic coasting through! obviously they did a lot of work with lacey, Moran and dunnion to make certain they knew which side to pass to...
Post by: shark on February 14, 2008, 11:14:36 AM
Quote from: Malone Aristocrat on February 14, 2008, 11:10:11 AM
Queens will be happy with their win yesterday over what was a very impressive UCG outfit. Queen's full forward line of McCumiskey, O'Neill and O'Rourke was the difference in the end, with a weak galway full backline buckling regularly. although Charlie Vernon, Joe O'Kane and Luke Howard played the Galway dangermen of Duffy, Clancy and Armstrong out of the contest, Queens were taking on water virtually everywhere else. Breathnach and Ronaldson in particular tortured the malone men all day and Broderick showed glimpses of sheer brilliance. 5 points up with time running out, queens were very lucky to hold on through injury time. good to see the polytechnic coasting through! obviously they did a lot of work with lacey, Moran and dunnion to make certain they knews which side to pass to...

Broderick is an absolute class player. The fact that he doesnt even bother playing with the Carlow senior team underlines the kind of problems they have. NUIG full back line was always their weakness, and funnily enough they had two inter county corner backs on the bench, Frank Boyle and David Finnegan.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 14, 2008, 11:18:19 AM
Who's the ONeill in the Queens FF line? Not the boy from Dromore is it?

Anyone a subscription to Irish news and post the report of either it or / and the poly match?
Post by: Malone Aristocrat on February 14, 2008, 11:32:07 AM
Yeah, Shaun O'Neill from Dromore. scored 1-02. I'd never heard of the Broderick lad before and he had fermanagh's niall bogue on him yesterday but he was virtually unmarkable at times. Breathnach gave Justin Crozier a torrid time and Ronaldson from Mayo was superb as well. When i think back over the game its difficult to pinpoint exactly how queens won the game but they got there. who are Frank Boyle and David Finnegan, because the UCG full back line was wiped out?
Post by: shark on February 14, 2008, 11:42:04 AM
Quote from: Malone Aristocrat on February 14, 2008, 11:32:07 AM
who are Frank Boyle and David Finnegan, because the UCG full back line was wiped out?

Boyle is from Westmeath, has started championship for past two seasons, he is the guy who slipped to allow Mossy Quinn get Dublins goal in the 2006 1/4 final. Finnegan was playing for Galway against Laois last weekend.
The 2 corner backs that started are from Mayo but i dont think either are county players.
That tight game will stand to Queens and the fact that everyone is talking about UUJ now will do them no harm.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 14, 2008, 11:48:17 AM
He slipped against Kavanagh last year as well  >:( Does he call himself Frank or Francis???
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2008, 11:49:10 AM
He should check his cogs.
Post by: shark on February 14, 2008, 12:05:15 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 14, 2008, 11:48:17 AM
Does he call himself Frank or Francis???

His mammy probably calls him Francis but iv never heard anyone call him that.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on February 14, 2008, 12:23:26 PM
Quote from: shark on February 14, 2008, 12:05:15 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on February 14, 2008, 11:48:17 AM
Does he call himself Frank or Francis???

His mammy probably calls him Francis but iv never heard anyone call him that.
Always down as Francis in the programme, thanks for the heads up...

And it's aul wan, not m***y...  ;)
Post by: Uladh on February 14, 2008, 04:05:22 PM
As usual in this round of Sigerson there have been some great games. didn't get anyhere myself but getting quite a few eye witness reports. UL seem to have really produced a 5 star performance and Moran seems to be a cracking footballer. DIT's win shouldn't be that much of a surprise as they've as much talent as anyone and the doubts about DCU's management are well founded. The poly were extremely comfortable agaist sligo, which could be ominous but their old nemisis Queens dug out a result against a very talented NUIG, so it could be a great tie at the Dub. The Guards have slipped quietly through and could be very dangerous in this copetition but the winners this year could be CIT, who took UCD apart.

what way do the odds look now Lone Shark?

Post by: Zulu on February 14, 2008, 06:30:58 PM
QuoteDIT's win shouldn't be that much of a surprise as they've as much talent as anyone and the doubts about DCU's management are well founded.

What do you mean by this Uladh? I would have thought their backroom team would be of the highest quality. Who is in charge of them by the way?
Post by: Captain Scarlet on February 15, 2008, 10:17:09 AM
Excuse my ignorance but where and when are the finals this year?
Post by: Homer on February 15, 2008, 10:30:36 AM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on February 15, 2008, 10:17:09 AM
Excuse my ignorance but where and when are the finals this year?

08/03/2008   19:00   IT Carlow GAA Pitch
Post by: Uladh on February 15, 2008, 10:31:12 AM
Quote from: Zulu on February 14, 2008, 06:30:58 PM
QuoteDIT's win shouldn't be that much of a surprise as they've as much talent as anyone and the doubts about DCU's management are well founded.

What do you mean by this Uladh? I would have thought their backroom team would be of the highest quality. Who is in charge of them by the way?

well, i've been told the same thing time and again about DCU. It always goes something like - they have the have the best players in the country (in uni terms), they have the finest facilities in the country, they have the best support staff for physical preparation, they have leading experts in the fields of pshcology, nutrition and recovery assisting the team. what they don't have is anyone with any tactical or motivational know how along the line.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on February 15, 2008, 11:18:43 AM
cheers Homer.
yea there must a sever lack of tactical savvy in dcu. its clearly the only place they could fall short.
as for dit with kilcoyne and vaughan on the go they have a crapload of firepower.
from seeing a few lads on the subs as well they are very strong all over.
Post by: Owenmoresider on February 15, 2008, 12:27:39 PM
IT Sligo were a shadow of their former selves, a lot of the big guns moved on, so the beating they got is hardly surprising. Had a great run in the 2002-07 period, for a college of its size.
Post by: Mano on February 15, 2008, 02:23:04 PM
The C Harrison playing corner back for Jordanstown is that Sligo's tenacious Charlie Harrison? How is he playing for Jordanstown?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on February 15, 2008, 08:05:59 PM
Aye thats Charlie Harrison who played for Sligo last year. He came in on a scholarship this year to UUJ with the likes of Andy Moran, Barry Dunnion, Karl Lacey and James McGovern all the same.
Post by: bennydorano on February 23, 2008, 08:27:52 PM
I notice Boylesports, who seemed to be the only bookies offering odds on the Sigerson, have no odds available now ???

Heading to Queens v UUJ on Wed, never been to the Dub before, where exactly is it (more exact than on the Malone rd please)?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on February 24, 2008, 10:14:34 AM
Drive down the Malone Road, take a right at the roundabout at House of Sport then drive a good bit down the road til said shops.

Can't wait myself, gonna be some craic, some match as well if last year is anything to go by.

Back to Shaws after seeing as 3 for  a fiver is back
Post by: ExiledGael on February 24, 2008, 05:20:14 PM
What time's it at? Would imagine there'll be a few hundred at the very least at this.
Post by: descartes on February 25, 2008, 10:33:11 AM
could someone help me out here with times and venues for the quarter finals

i know that QUB Vs Jordanstown so i'm guessing that takes place in belfast somewhere?

And i know that Tralee IT Vs DIT is happening on tralee's campus grounds.

But who are Cork IT playing and where is it taking place? and the same for the Garda College?
Post by: Uladh on February 25, 2008, 10:35:32 AM

It's a secret... the GAA don't want you finding out about these games.
Post by: Kentucky Blue on February 25, 2008, 10:53:47 AM
Hoping to get to the Queen's game on Wednesday. Should be a good game of football. Few good additions from last year, especially on the UUJ side. Think UUJ have the stronger bench which could be a big factor but with Queen's it's a real close-knit bunch and the Dub factor is a big one. Think Queen's will edge midfield but even if UUJ got 40% in this sector it could be enough with Lynch & Moran inside.
At the other end it will be interesting to see who will pick up the lethal McComiskey, possibly Lacey.

Joseph O'Kane and Raymie Mulgrew wshould be some tussle too.

I'll sit on the fence as i really cant call it, DRAW!!!

what does everyone else think?
Post by: Zulu on February 25, 2008, 11:02:15 AM
Quotecould someone help me out here with times and venues for the quarter finals

i know that QUB Vs Jordanstown so i'm guessing that takes place in belfast somewhere?

And i know that Tralee IT Vs DIT is happening on tralee's campus grounds.

But who are Cork IT playing and where is it taking place? and the same for the Garda College?

CIT are playing Garda, UL are playing GMIT in the other quater final. CIT are playing at home I think and UL/GMIT is on in the Gaelic Grounds. All games are throwing in at 2pm.
Post by: bennydorano on February 25, 2008, 11:06:49 AM
Just cant see Queens taking Jordanstown.  I was at their Ryan Cup game and it was very tight until about 15 to go when UUJ threw on Lynch and couple of other subs and coasted to a 5 or 6 point win. Different game on Wed obviously, but with Vernon a big big doubt I cant see Queens winning.
Post by: descartes on February 25, 2008, 12:13:40 PM
QuoteCIT are playing Garda, UL are playing GMIT in the other quater final. CIT are playing at home I think and UL/GMIT is on in the Gaelic Grounds. All games are throwing in at 2pm.

thanks zulu

didn't realise jordanstown were so strong, Are they're becoming the new dcu with the way they're recruited players?? the lads from sligo IT for example. McCommiskey is a class act too, they are probably favourites to win it out i'd say.

Predictions
QUB Vs Jtown    Jtown by 2
Tralee Vs DIT     DIT by 2
CIT vs Garda      CIT by 3
UL vs GMIT        haven't got a clue.

don't know who plays who in the semis but if Cit and Jtown are on opposite sides of the draw i'd fancy them to meet in the final. CIT are very strong too this year.
Post by: laoisgaa on February 25, 2008, 12:21:06 PM
Sigerson Cup Quarter Finals

UL, Limerick 2.00    UL     v GMIT

Ref: Michael McGann, An Clár

(E.T. if necessary)

Cork IT       3.00 Cork IT    v Garda TC

Ref: Richard Moloney, Luimneach

(E.T. if necessary)

The Dub, Belfast 2.00 QUB     v UUJ

Ref: Pat McEnaney, Muineacháin

(E.T. if necessary)

Tralee  2.00 IT Tralee    v DIT

Ref: Michael Meade, Luimneach

Post by: AZOffaly on February 25, 2008, 12:24:41 PM
UL v GMIT is in the University?
Post by: laoisgaa on February 25, 2008, 12:38:05 PM
Yes
Post by: AZOffaly on February 25, 2008, 12:39:30 PM
Deadly. I'll sneak away for an hour :) Late lunch methinks.
Post by: SuperHans on February 25, 2008, 01:48:29 PM
Id be a Queens man but wasat the ryan cup game earlier in the year and UUJ had too much quality for queens. in addition their hunger to beat QUB and win the cup outright shud see the poly win by 4 /5 points i reckon. heres hoping otherwise tho!
Post by: charlie stubbs on February 25, 2008, 03:52:10 PM
heard r nail loney rounding up a squad of boys to get wrote off at thew qub uuj game disgrace
Post by: INDIANA on February 25, 2008, 04:02:39 PM
One would have to favour UUJ at this stage.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 25, 2008, 06:38:44 PM
Ive heard this talk before about UUJ having the better players and how they should win comfortably but they seem to struggle to beat Queens and in general rarely seem to fulfill their potential.
Post by: Zulu on February 25, 2008, 11:18:30 PM
QuoteUL v GMIT is in the University?

No, it's not AZ, it's in the Gaelic Grounds. But sure the trip into the GG's will only add a half hour to your lunch.
Post by: Zulu on February 26, 2008, 10:58:52 AM
Can anyone tell me if all bookies take bets on the Sigerson or how I might find the prices for this weeks games?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 26, 2008, 10:59:34 AM
Quote from: Zulu on February 25, 2008, 11:18:30 PM
QuoteUL v GMIT is in the University?

No, it's not AZ, it's in the Gaelic Grounds. But sure the trip into the GG's will only add a half hour to your lunch.

Ara balls.
Post by: Zulu on February 26, 2008, 11:09:38 AM
QuoteAra balls.

You'll just have to call in sick AZ, by the way do you know you have a fellow Biffo on the team? Stephen Lonergan at wing back, one of the better players too, i think he is one your senior squad at the moment.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 26, 2008, 11:15:29 AM
Yeah, I know young Lonergan is with UL alright. A decent prospect for us.
Post by: laoisgaa on February 26, 2008, 02:09:37 PM
Sorry it is in the Gaelic Grounds, a change I wasn't anticipating.
Post by: doire na raithe on February 26, 2008, 02:42:53 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on February 24, 2008, 10:14:34 AM
Drive down the Malone Road, take a right at the roundabout at House of Sport then drive a good bit down the road til said shops.

Can't wait myself, gonna be some craic, some match as well if last year is anything to go by.

Back to Shaws after seeing as 3 for  a fiver is back

Our nail, you gonna piss yoursel on wed? Bringing a bottle of bo jangles into the dub for the game?
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 26, 2008, 08:25:53 PM
Have the half day booked off work and looking forward to the big clash at the Dub.

The heart says Queens' but the head suggests that the Poly hold the aces. Over the past 3 years the teams have been very very evenly matched. Each of the last 3 years, the game could have gone either way but Queens came out on the right side of a 1 point 3 years in a row. I think Jtown have kicked on a bit since then while Queens wouldn't have the same depth to their squad. Going on the Ryan Cup game, I think its difficult to be confident but I sincerely hope I'm wrong!

Come on Queens'!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: ExiledGael on February 26, 2008, 08:46:01 PM
How many could comfortably watch this game at the Dub?
On paper UUJ seem to have the better players but that's never enough in Sigerson. I expect the main factor to be the hurt of last year's final. Moran will have them really psyched up for revenge and can see UUJ winning, especially if Vernon doesn't make it. Has the potential to be a cracker, and glad to see McEneaney reffing it too so that can't spoil it. Just hope the wind stays down.
Post by: corn02 on February 26, 2008, 08:48:13 PM
If you can't see properly just stand close to Doire Na Raithe, there should be no one standing near him.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 26, 2008, 08:49:14 PM
QuoteHow many could comfortably watch this game at the Dub?

Well there was a 1000 seater stand there last year and maybe another 1000 round the sides. I thought the night before the match that the crowd could be far too big for the Dub to be fit to facilitate but in the end everything was grand.

Given the Wednesday afternoon throw in, can't see more than a 1000 making it so it should be ok, if not exactly perfect.
Post by: Rav67 on February 26, 2008, 11:20:07 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 26, 2008, 08:49:14 PM
QuoteHow many could comfortably watch this game at the Dub?

Well there was a 1000 seater stand there last year and maybe another 1000 round the sides. I thought the night before the match that the crowd could be far too big for the Dub to be fit to facilitate but in the end everything was grand.

Given the Wednesday afternoon throw in, can't see more than a 1000 making it so it should be ok, if not exactly perfect.

Wish i was back in Belfast for that, good game of football with QUB wnning of course then great rip potential with everyone onto Hatfield and the Bot after I would imagine
Post by: Jinxy on February 27, 2008, 10:43:19 AM
So are the Guards definitely thrown out? Have they any leave to appeal?
Post by: Zulu on February 27, 2008, 10:53:21 AM
According to the Examiner they have 3 days from yesterday to appeal, as a result CIT can't play their QF until Tuesday at the earliest. 
Post by: rrhf on February 27, 2008, 11:11:47 AM
Have to balance my desire to see a clubman win a sigerson medal with the desire to see QUB do 2in a row.  Ill go for the Poly on this one.  Anybody keep this board updated during the day?  Wheres that hoor Drici when  you need him? 
Is McCaul full back for the poly or winghalf?
Post by: Zulu on February 27, 2008, 11:16:02 AM
Well I'm off to the UL/GMIT game, hope UL can do it and with players like David Moran (son of Ogie), Fiachra Lynch, Enda Varley etc. I'm sure we will. It's a perfect day for football down here in Limerick so it should be a cracker. Best of luck to the boys and I'll post up details of the match afterwards.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 11:18:02 AM
What time is throw in Zulu?
Post by: Zulu on February 27, 2008, 11:23:41 AM
2pm AZ, do you know if the text number that Oakleaf is running for updated scores works for the 26 counties, I've put it into my phone so I'll update scores from the match if it works.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 11:25:41 AM
2pm. Fcuk, I'll never make it. I'd have to leave here at 1.30, and wouldn't be back till 4.

Post by: wherefromreferee? on February 27, 2008, 01:06:57 PM
Whatever updates you have from Malone Road would be welcome.  Maybe before you all head to the Bot!?
Post by: downtown on February 27, 2008, 02:26:57 PM
any updates from the games yet??
Post by: Glensman on February 27, 2008, 02:53:33 PM
From someone at game:

Half Time:
Jordanstown 1-5 Queens 0-7. Jordanstown all over them but just can't get scores.
Post by: orangeman on February 27, 2008, 02:58:53 PM
Who scored the goal for Jordanstown ?

Any predictions for the 2nd half ?
Post by: High Catch on February 27, 2008, 03:04:56 PM
Queens to scrape through by a point or two and Poly to be left kicking themselves again.
Post by: David McKeown on February 27, 2008, 03:05:15 PM
Wouldnt say jtown are all over them queens are defending very well but are struggling in the half forward line. Queens are missing Vernon but he looked like he might be about to come on which could make a difference. Jtown look like they might edge it though
Post by: take_yer_points on February 27, 2008, 03:16:20 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on February 27, 2008, 03:05:15 PM
Wouldnt say jtown are all over them queens are defending very well but are struggling in the half forward line. Queens are missing Vernon but he looked like he might be about to come on which could make a difference. Jtown look like they might edge it though

Any more scores?
Post by: robertemmet on February 27, 2008, 03:33:01 PM
Queens up a point, with 2-3 mins to go
Post by: Glensman on February 27, 2008, 03:41:50 PM
1-10 poly

0-13 queens

Extra time
Post by: orangeman on February 27, 2008, 03:47:30 PM
Who is referee ?
Post by: wherefromreferee? on February 27, 2008, 03:48:24 PM
Thanks for the updates.  I knew I should have called in sick this morning.
Post by: PlayWithTheWind on February 27, 2008, 03:48:58 PM
The Dub, Belfast 2.00 QUB     v UUJ

Ref: Pat McEnaney, Muineacháin

(E.T. if necessary)

Post by: robertemmet on February 27, 2008, 03:50:20 PM
Aye I heard UUJ got a point with last kick of normal time to draw level.
Post by: take_yer_points on February 27, 2008, 03:57:22 PM
Thanks for the scores - sounds good?
Post by: Downcamog on February 27, 2008, 04:04:44 PM
UUJ up by 2 points at half time in xtra time - Come on the Poly!!!!
Post by: Glensman on February 27, 2008, 04:14:34 PM
1-17 poly

0-15

Game over.
Post by: orangeman on February 27, 2008, 04:27:48 PM
Sounded like a deadly game !
Post by: rrhf on February 27, 2008, 04:37:47 PM
match report needed lads.  Include ratings of all the Tyrone lads.  Get the fingers out.
Post by: Glensman on February 27, 2008, 04:39:11 PM
Paddy Cunningham scored with last kick of normal time to equalise, I beleive.

I would imagine Queens will be drowning sorrows tonight, heavily.
Post by: David McKeown on February 27, 2008, 04:53:30 PM
Very good gamebut I thought Queens should have won it. Not to say but I thought mceanney had a poor game. Thought snowy and aidain gallagher and paul courtney had great second halfs for Queens who should have won it in normal time
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 05:12:24 PM
Zulu,

Cá bhfuil tú?
Post by: rrhf on February 27, 2008, 05:17:14 PM
What sort of game did Mc caul - Poly have and in what position?
Post by: Skehana on February 27, 2008, 05:25:18 PM
Jordanstown had the better of the first half, but wasted a lot of possession and hit a few silly wides. Queens were very economically with their shooting, only had two wides in the first half.Thomas McCann scored the Jtown goal after about 20mins, great finished when one on one with the keeper. Halt Time 1-5 to 0-7 to Jtown.

Second half Queens came more into the game, and started to edge ahead.You could sense J'town getting nervous, kicking alot of ball away, but the three subs made a big difference. Bennie McKenna, Paddy Cunningham and Ciaran Donnelly all made big contibutions. Cunningham scored the equaliser from a free out on the right hand side about 21 yards out with the last kick of normal time.

Extra time, Jordanstown never looked back. In control from beginning to end with the two Donnelly's, Cunningham,Mark Lynch and Mulgrew getting a point each.Queens looked out on their feet in the second half of ET perhaps knowing they should of held on to win in normal time.'Snowy' I thought was excellent for Queens while Karl Lacey for J'town was my MOTM. Class act.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 27, 2008, 05:35:02 PM
Thought Poly were shockin lucky to get away with it today. Queens' should have finished them off in normal time. Very disappointing to be pulled back with the last kick of the game. Jtown started well but Queens plugged away well and started to get on top in the second half. By extra time I think the legs went a little for Queens and the Polys' stronger bench told.

Thought Aidain Gallagher had a tremendous game. Never seen a half forward get through so much work and he won an amount of ball in midfield, even if he broke down a lot of it. Queens' probably had the winning of the game if the could have gotten a better supply of ball in the full forward line. McComiskey, O'Rourke and the lad called Snowy were all dangerous enough, espicially Snowy in the second half. The problem was that their lack of height was a huge problem given the long hanging balls that kept coming into them. Jordanstown should also be very grateful to their goalkeeper who made an outstanding save in the first half from Paul Courtney.

Thought Queens can be proud of their effort overall - if Vernon had been available to start it might have made the difference. Still 4 years in a row would have been a lot to ask.
Post by: ExiledGael on February 27, 2008, 05:41:17 PM
Agree Lacey was a class act, as was the UUJ full-back, though unsure of his name. Though Queen's were playing into their hands, long pumped ball into their relatively small full-forward line. Really struggled to work the ball up the field late on. Though by that stage Moran had Peter Donnelly, Colm Cavanagh, Benny McKenna, Raymie Mulgrew all around midfield and they proved too good in possession in the end. UUJ keeper made 3 great saves, again unsure who he was.
Aodhan Gallagher was the only player in the centre of the pitch to make any clean catches, first time I've been impressed with him, but they couldn't work the ball into the hand sof their forwards like UUJ seemed to do easier.
Very surprised to see Queen's keeper Fergal Murphy coming up to hit their 45s, thought McComiskey would be well fit for them. Murphy scored one out of three 45s. McComiskey scored one brilliant sideline ball in the first half but Donal Morgan of Monaghan was excellent on him throughout. Lynch and Moran were decent up front for UUJ but nothing really special, though Lynch did add a classy point late on that was the insurance point. I was also expecting more from Mulgrew and Peter Donnelly, though Mulgrew had a hand in a good few scores.
Wasn't far from Mickey Moran and he was very pissed off with Colm Cavanagh late on in normal time. He didn't perform to his best, as was the case with most of UUJ's big names, and Queen's very nearly made them pay. But that bit of class and doing the right thing at the right time told in extra-time.
Who was that white haired fella who came on for UUJ?
Post by: Zulu on February 27, 2008, 05:42:38 PM
Disaster for UL. GMIT 0-11 UL 0-5. UL kicked 15 wides some of them absolute sitters, while GMIT had 10 wides but no real glaring misses that I can think of. I have to say it was a very poor match and UL totally under performed. I'll post more after i've had time to reflect!
Post by: AZOffaly on February 27, 2008, 05:46:37 PM
Ballix. How did Lonergan do?
Post by: Skehana on February 27, 2008, 05:46:58 PM
Micky McAllister was the UUJ Keeper, three great saves alright.Ciaran Donnelly was the blondie haired fella.
Post by: Zulu on February 27, 2008, 05:55:55 PM
Stephen played well enough AZ, our backs were alright but from midfield up we really struggled. UL abandoned the running game that served them so well against St. Mary's in favour of a mish mash of kicking and short passing. Often it seemed the inside forward line was expecting the ball to be carried further but was then kicked in while they were still behind their markers. And while the players must shoulder much of the blame for the performance I thought the sideline made some poor personnel decisions. We didn't get any score from play and missed some howlers.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 27, 2008, 06:00:48 PM
Wasn't far from Mickey Moran and he was very pissed off with Colm Cavanagh late on in normal time.

Didn't realise it was McCullagh in particular but I heard Micky Moran cursing a couple of Poly players including threatening to "take him f**king off" at one stage!

Exiled - Were you fit to hear the fella that was pissed off his face and kept shoting "over the bar" and generally made a fool of himself?
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 27, 2008, 06:07:58 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 27, 2008, 05:42:38 PM
Disaster for UL. GMIT 0-11 UL 0-5. UL kicked 15 wides some of them absolute sitters, while GMIT had 10 wides but no real glaring misses that I can think of. I have to say it was a very poor match and UL totally under performed. I'll post more after i've had time to reflect!

GMIT are having a great year in both the hurling and football. Not sure they'll go any further in either though but you never know.
Post by: ExiledGael on February 27, 2008, 06:08:43 PM
Heard a few roars and then all around him laughing. Must have been a few on the beer early, some man was pissing down below everyone on the other pitch in front of everyone for donkeys, musta pissed litres. Probably the same boy.

Plenty of highlights there on UTV with Logie. Some great scores, McAllister's saves are even more impressive the second time, especially the one from O'Neill in the second half. That kept them in the game.
Post by: hitzelsperger on February 27, 2008, 06:33:30 PM
saw the drunken fella in question trying to run down the malone road, he was completely rubbered going from side to side, was sure he was going to run into the traffic at one stage. some sensible man baled him into a car and im sure he'll be happily asleep in renshaws as we speak...

p.s up the poly!
Post by: GaryColemansLeftPeg on February 27, 2008, 06:43:54 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 27, 2008, 06:00:48 PM
Wasn't far from Mickey Moran and he was very pissed off with Colm Cavanagh late on in normal time.

Didn't realise it was McCullagh in particular but I heard Micky Moran cursing a couple of Poly players including threatening to "take him f**king off" at one stage!

Exiled - Were you fit to hear the fella that was pissed off his face and kept shoting "over the bar" and generally made a fool of himself?

The language on and off the field left a lot to be desired.  Whislt there was a lot at stake for both sides, banter was close to the bone at time.

The fella who was pissed was an eejit and was annoying all round him.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on February 27, 2008, 07:37:55 PM
QuoteHeard a few roars and then all around him laughing. Must have been a few on the beer early, some man was pissing down below everyone on the other pitch in front of everyone for donkeys, musta pissed litres. Probably the same boy.

Same boy surely, he wasn't too bad in the first half but once he'd finished off his 2 litres of "water" things took a turn for the worse! Great way of getting space for yourself at the fence, people were fairly edging away from him!

Post by: GaryColemansLeftPeg on February 27, 2008, 07:42:14 PM
The body odours from a few others caused people to edge away too

Students still don't wash, no change from my day.
Post by: bennydorano on February 27, 2008, 08:22:41 PM
Thought Queens did enough to win it in normal time, what was the Queen's N12 doing making a half arsed sliding tackle on his own 21 yard line in injury time ???    UUJ were pretty wasteful compared to Queens, especially in the first half, MF was a shambles, with James Colgan quite possibly the most overated footballer I have ever seen.  UUJ had more in the tank in extra time.

Thought Paul Courtney ran himself into the ground for Queens, Miceal O'Rourke was their best forward slighty disappointed with McComiskey, he could have done a lot more. O'Neill came into it in the second half after quite possibly not touching the ball in the first half at all.  Aodan Gallagher grafted as normal.  Queens N7 was good too.

For UUJ Andy Moran and Mark Lynch made the difference IMO, Moran being particularly impressive although he faded a bit near the end of normal time.  I thought Colm Cavanagh was played out of position at WHF, I would have had him on the square. UUJ seemed to adopt the Queens tactic of 2 nippy corner forwards in the FF line as oppossed to having a big man in there.

Overall I was disappointed with UUJ, I expected them to be a lot better, thought they did choke a bit and would have been out only for the Queens N12 suicide tackle at the end.   The absence of Vernon ultimately cost Queens as I've no doubt they would have won with him on.
Post by: Zulu on February 27, 2008, 08:46:34 PM
Any idea who won the DIT/ITT game?
Post by: imtommygunn on February 27, 2008, 09:01:28 PM
Out of interest - was Tomas McCann marking Justin Crozier?
Post by: ExiledGael on February 27, 2008, 09:09:13 PM
DIT won easily 0-14 to 0-4, don't think Tralee scored from play from what I heard. Vaughan, Kilcoyne and Cian Ward all scoring a couple of points.
Post by: laoisgaa on February 27, 2008, 11:50:44 PM
Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup
UUJ 1-17
Queen's University, Belfast 0-16
(After Extra-time)
By Cóilín Duffy
At The Dub

Second half substitute, Antrim Senior player Paddy Cunningham was the influential figure kicking four points, including a 61st minute point, which forced extra-time, as UUJ took a hard-earned four points win over Queen's University in the Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup Quarter-Finals yesterday.

These close rivals produced a rapid fire encounter that kept the 1000 strong attendance at The Dub, Belfast engrossed throughout, as UUJ knocked the reigning champions out of the competition – with their first victory over QUB since 2003.

The hosts looked like breaking the mould in normal time as a sixth point of the day from Paul McComiskey gave Queen's the lead with nine minutes remaining.

Although Aidan O'Rourke's charges withstood tremendous pressure in the closing ten minutes, they battled bravely, but couldn't prevent a Cunningham equaliser a minute into injury time.
Nothing could separate the sides in the opening stages of this game and the teams were level on four occasions inside the opening 21 minutes.

A 22nd minute Thomas McCann goal helped UUJ break clear and they maintained a strong attacking presence until the interval, with the Antrim player finding the back of the net after a well placed pass from Down's James McGovern.

Having kicked eight first half wides, UUJ just about deserved their slender 1-5 to 0-7 interval lead, but with plenty of possession they could afford some missed opportunities.

Queen's dominated the third quarter as they broke into a two point advantage by the 44th minute, for the first time in the game.

Goalkeeper Fergal Murphy was on target with a well placed 45' while Down's Paul McComiskey and Sean O'Neill of Tyrone also kicked excellent scores.

Cunningham was a strong presence for UUJ and kicked three second half points, including the equaliser in the 61st minute, which forced
extra-time.

UUJ always held the edge in extra-time and held a 1-14 to 0-15 interval lead, with Tyrone trio, Ciaran and Peter Donnelly and Raymond Mulgrew; and Derry's Mark Lynch on target; with Paul McComiskey and Justin Crozier scoring for Queen's.

Cunningham paved the way to victory with his fourth point of the game on the restart and although Sean O'Neill cut the gap, scores from Lynch and Cunningham ensured a UUJ win.

UUJ joint manager Adrian McGuckian although happy with the manner of his sides win, felt it didn't compensate for the loss of last year's
thrilling final to Queen's at the same venue.

"It was good to win but it doesn't make up for the disappointment of losing last year," he said.

McGuckian expects  nothing will be easy in a semi-final against DIT.

"It's a hard route, we have DIT now in the semi-final and it doesn't get any easier. All colleges have good players, these guys are just ordinary players.

"The boys at that age are all playing inter-county and there will be ten inter-county players in every Sigerson Cup team you play against and they will be no different. It's just great to get this game over with.

Scorers for UUJ: M Lynch (2f) 0-5; P Cunningham (4f) 0-4; T McCann 1-0; A Moran 0-3; R Mulgrew 0-2; K Lacey, C Donnelly, P Donnelly 0-1
each. Scorers for QUB: P McComiskey (4f, 1SL) 0-7; S O'Neill 0-3; D O'Neill, J Ireland, P Courtney, M O'Rourke, F Murphy (45), J Crozier 0-1 each.

UUJ: M McAlister (Down); C Harrison (Sligo), D McCaul (Tyrone), D Morgan (Monaghan); P McGuigan (Monaghan), K Lacey (Donegal), D Hughes (Monaghan); P Donnelly (Tyrone), J Colgan (Down); J McGovern (Down), R Mulgrew (Tyrone), T McCann (Antrim); M Lynch (Derry), C Cavanagh (Tyrone), A Moran (Mayo). Subs: C Murney (Down) for McGuigan (36); B McKenna (Monaghan) for Hughes (45); P Cunningham (Antrim) for Colgan (39); C Donnelly (Tyrone) for Harrison (53)

QUB: F Murphy (Fermanagh); N Bogue (Fermanagh), L Howard (Down), H Gallagher (Tyrone); D O'Neill (Tyrone), J O'Kane (Derry), J Crozier (Antrim); J Ireland (Down), P Courtney (Armagh); A Gallagher (Antrim), J Loughrey (Antrim), C McGinn (Down); P McComiskey (Down), S O'Neill (Tyrone), M O'Rourke (Armagh). Subs: M Ward (Tyrone) for Loughrey
(36); S Burke (Antrim) for Ireland (45); J Reilly (Fermanagh) for McGinn (69); B Martin (Down) for D O'Neill (74).

REFEREE: Pat McEnaney (Monaghan)

DIT 0-14
IT Tralee 0-4
UUJ will face DIT in the semi-finals of the Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup after the Dublin outfit romped to a 0-14 to 0-4 against IT Tralee in Tralee yesterday.

The long journey to the Kingdom may have accounted for the visitors sluggish start, but once Tadhg Condon's charges upped their game there was no doubting who the eventual winners would be.

Paddy Curran helped the hosts to an early 0-2 to 0-1 advantage with two early pointed frees while Mayo's Aidan Kilcoyne was on target for the visitors.

The hosts relied heavily on Curran's accuracy from placed balls to keep them in touch, with the former All-Ireland winning Minor scoring three of his sides four points.

DIT ran rampant and with the likes of Kilcoyne, Dublin Senior Mark Vaughan and Meath duo Cian Ward and Brian Ennis upfront, firmly on song – the visitors slotted over five points without reply and were fully deserving of their 0-6 to 0-2 interval advantage.

Despite this, IT Tralee were unlucky not to be closer at the break, when Curran had a goal chance before the interval but was met with some strong resilience by an impressive DIT defence.

However DIT always held that extra edge  and points from Kilcoyne (0-3), Vaughan (0-2) and Cian Ward ensuring the visitors held a 0-12 to 0-3 lead as the game entered the final quarter, with another Curran free, opening IT Tralee's second half account.

The final quarter was simply academic for the hosts, who lorded possession and didn't need to get into top gear, having firmly booked a semi-final spot.

GMIT 0-11
UL 0-5

UL failed to score from play and could manage only a single second half point as GMIT had a deserved win in a sub standard Sigerson Cup quarter final at Limerick Gaelic Grounds.

A total of 25 wides-ten of them by UL-and several yellow cards made it a stop-go affair and GMIT will need improvement next day out.

Playing against the breeze in the first half GMIT still managed to be 0-6 to 0-4 in front at the interval after UL had the opening point from a '45' by David Moran, whose father Ogie won eight All Ireland medals with Kerry.

Once GMIT went in front twelve minutes before the interval they were never headed but it was only when they led by a four point margin that they picked off their best scores, well taken points by substitute Aidan Campbell and the outstanding Paul Conroy.

GMIT had excellent players in Donal Vaughan, Sean Ryder and Niall Darby in defence, James Kilcullen and Kieran Conroy dominated midfield and Paul Conroy was pick up front with two points from play and two from frees.

Moran tried hard for UL and was unlucky to have hit a post in the final seconds but it was an overall poor display by the Limerick side whose only player to hit form was Enda Varley.

Post by: clarshack on February 28, 2008, 09:38:26 AM
how can peter donnelly still be a student? he seems to be another jimmy mcguinness.
Post by: Uladh on February 28, 2008, 10:24:52 AM

Dissapointed to have missed this one as it sounded like a real cracker. when the text came through that the uni were 2 up with only minutes left i thought they'd pulled it off again. my reporter felt that once it got to extra time queens had nothing left and McEnaney gave the poly every chance to get there
Post by: thebandit on February 28, 2008, 11:36:50 AM
Why was Paul McGuigan taken off? Was he injured?
Post by: bennydorano on February 28, 2008, 12:10:00 PM
I noticed the Irish News had Miceal O'Rourke own for only 0-1, I'm pretty sure he got at least 0-3??  Also they had McComiskey down for 0-7??
Post by: amigo on February 28, 2008, 12:11:03 PM
Quote from: Uladh on February 28, 2008, 10:24:52 AM

Dissapointed to have missed this one as it sounded like a real cracker. when the text came through that the uni were 2 up with only minutes left i thought they'd pulled it off again. my reporter felt that once it got to extra time queens had nothing left and McEnaney gave the poly every chance to get there

Do i detect a hint of sour grapes here ULADH!! :-[
Post by: Uladh on February 28, 2008, 12:18:02 PM

Ah well amigo, we'll have to let it go given our boys' record over ye in recent years!
Post by: Norf Tyrone on February 28, 2008, 02:10:58 PM
Anyone know if Brendan Boggs is still on the UUJ panel?
Post by: corn02 on February 28, 2008, 02:19:31 PM
Micheal only got the one score Benny but set up quite a number, it is a pity the ball inot him was a disaster. Where you in a Harps top by any chance Benjamin?

Queens had this game won yesterday, McGovern had the ball in the half back line and he should of been fouled at any cost. Paddy Cunningham was excellent from dead-ball situations when he came on and Donnelly was also very good when introduced. Mulgrew's point in extra time was the score of the game and ended any hopes of a Queen's comeback.

Man of the match for me was Gallagher, although a bit wreckless the man was immense. In the first half the Queen's midfield was getting nothing and it was only Gallagher who was doing anything. The second half prominence of Courtney and Gallaghers continuing grafting meant Queens amde a mockery of the Poly midfield in the second half.

O'Neill was non-existent in the first half but was very good in the seoncd. McAllister in the JTown goals pulled off some first class saves, but he has always been a great shop stopper. Lacey was indeed impressive, but the fall in favoured him (hail mary balls) and although he is not the tallest, he succedded as any ball O'Rourke managed to break nobody was wityhin 10 yards of him leaving him an unenviable task. The one crticism of Gallagher was that his passing into O'Rourke and O'Neill was quite poor.

The sliding tackle was quite crazy and unbelievable. There waas no chance in hell Cunningham was going to miss that the way he was shooting.

Moran was JTown's best forward but DIT will fancy their chances.

I thought McEneaney refeed the game very well during normal time. During extra-time, however, he gave some wild decisions and as an ex-Poly student I can even admit that they all favoured Jordanstown.

Excellent game if a bit sloppy. DIT to win the competition. Vernon being unfit was fatal. Poly won it from the bench.

Post by: bennydorano on February 28, 2008, 03:02:55 PM
No wasn't me, I was on the opposite side of the field from thon fella (whom I do know).
Post by: descartes on February 28, 2008, 03:08:21 PM

QuoteExcellent game if a bit sloppy. DIT to win the competition. Vernon being unfit was fatal. Poly won it from the bench.

how do you make that out corn02???

I'd have Cork IT favourites, with UUJ next. UUJ are littered with county players, been looking through the DIT team and apart from Vaughan Ward and Kilcoyne they look relatively unknown.
Post by: corn02 on February 28, 2008, 03:11:11 PM
They are coming off the back of a great win over DCU and then yesterday's stroll. Jordanstown are littered with stars but up front they have an over dependence on Moran. I just think they are there for the taking and I think DIT could go all the way.
Post by: shark on February 28, 2008, 05:16:24 PM
Quote from: descartes on February 28, 2008, 03:08:21 PM

QuoteExcellent game if a bit sloppy. DIT to win the competition. Vernon being unfit was fatal. Poly won it from the bench.

I'd have Cork IT favourites, with UUJ next. UUJ are littered with county players, been looking through the DIT team and apart from Vaughan Ward and Kilcoyne they look relatively unknown.

DIT have several 'known' players. Apart from those you mentioned, Ross Glavin was midfield for Kildare in the Leinster championship last year, Donnacha Reilly has been on the Dublin panel for the past 3 years and was their U21 captain last year, plus they have several county U21s.
Post by: Jinxy on February 28, 2008, 08:38:05 PM
Quote from: descartes on February 28, 2008, 03:08:21 PM

DCU had plenty of intercounty men and DIT took care of them.
Post by: Captain Scarlet on February 29, 2008, 12:07:59 PM
just on DIT Glavin would be on Kildare team if he really went for it and another lad called Naughton at full back should be on the panel. I'm sure they have plenty of good solid players to back up the sharp shooters.
the garda are appealing all the way too. the comp might have to be put back a week
Post by: Fuzzman on February 29, 2008, 01:44:34 PM
Apologies if this has already been commented on but How has Peter Donnelly being playing for the Poly?
Does he still look very slow and does he play wing half forward or help out at MF?

I can't imagine him taking me on and running from wing forward.
Any ideas why he plays better for the Poly that he does for Tyrone?

Post by: DirtyDozen12 on February 29, 2008, 01:50:08 PM
Quote from: Fuzzman on February 29, 2008, 01:44:34 PM
Apologies if this has already been commented on but How has Peter Donnelly being playing for the Poly?
Does he still look very slow and does he play wing half forward or help out at MF?

I can't imagine him taking me on and running from wing forward.
Any ideas why he plays better for the Poly that he does for Tyrone?

Was at the J'town game against Queens Fuzzman, Donnelly done ok in patches nothing spectacular.  He did kick one absolutely mighty point in injury i think, about 35 yards out near the wing, outside of the right peg straight over the BS.  Donnelly has been knocking around the Poly for some time now...is he is the new Jim  McGuiness??  Anyone know actually how long he has been at college or what exactly is he doing there...course wise like?
Post by: amigo on February 29, 2008, 02:31:24 PM
I think he was at Belfast Tech for a few years doing a HND thus qualifying to play for the POLY. Then he transferred to Jordanstown to study a degree in sport or something into second yr i think. Think this is his fifth and final yr. He had a solid game for the Poly at wing half back on Wednesday!
Post by: Uladh on February 29, 2008, 04:16:39 PM

i was told he was wing half back on aidan gallagher, who most people had as man of the match?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 03, 2008, 11:42:35 AM
Gallagher was class on Wednesday, worked his socks off all match.

What's the criac with Cork IT then since the Guards fiasco?? When are they playing Carlow??
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on March 03, 2008, 11:59:55 AM
any word on odds for the weekend?was looking through a few websites but nothing on them.DIT AND POLY joint favourites?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 03, 2008, 12:21:23 PM
Have been looking for odds myself Tommy all weekend, cant find them anywhere. Havent really seen any updated since the start of the competition.

You heading to Carlow Tommy?
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on March 03, 2008, 01:29:24 PM
aye think i might head down nail,not sure with work though what day ill head down,anyone got any information on what sorta town carlow is like for heading out for a few beers.many good bars or clubs about??
Post by: Whitehair on March 03, 2008, 03:09:59 PM
Sigerson Cup facing delay
03 March 2008

A cloud of uncertainty continues to hang over the Sigerson Cup semi-finals and final going ahead next weekend.

Croke Park's Central Appeals Committee (CAC) met on Sunday to hear the case of Garda College, who were thrown out of the competition last week for fielding Westmeath player Graham Dillon, who was deemed to be ineligible to play in this year's competition.

A verdict on the matter isn't due until sometime on Monday, and if Garda College lose, they are expected to take their case to the Disputes Resolution Authority, which could drag on for several days.

The semi-finals are due to be played on Friday, with the final on Saturday, while the quarter-final between hosts Carlow IT, who were handed Garda College's place following an appeal to Dillon's eligibility, and Cork IT has yet to be played.

If the quarter-final isn't played on Tuesday, it is almost certain that the Sigerson Cup weekend will be postponed to a later date.

www.hoganstand.com

Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 03, 2008, 03:27:32 PM
Thats a kick in the dick for anyone, especially the students who had made plans to go down.

Shit for me as well as I have backed Cork to win the competition and want it f**king done with! Give them a bye to the weekend sure!
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on March 03, 2008, 03:39:23 PM
any word on a housewarming for your new place of residence nail??
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 03, 2008, 03:42:39 PM
I think you warmed it enough last year Tommy! Will have a lot to live up to in that downstairs bedroom!

In work here today, will be down tomorrow for the rip...
Post by: Onlooker on March 03, 2008, 05:25:51 PM
According to Hogan Stand, the Garda College won their appeal and will be playing Cork I.T.
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on March 03, 2008, 05:42:10 PM
that is correct onlooker.the guards were reinstated today and play CIT tomorrow.the sigerson weekend will go ahead as planned!!!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 03, 2008, 06:14:28 PM
Lets hope Sheehan, Goulding and co have all recovered from their matches at the weekend then.

Bit unfair on their county players (counting the guards as well, O Mahony for examplpe) to play for their county on the Sunday, their uni on the tuesday and then possibly two games in two days the friday and saturday when the other sides have had a week and a half rest.
Title: appeal
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 03, 2008, 09:43:37 PM
QuoteAccording to Hogan Stand, the Garda College won their appeal and will be playing Cork I.T.

Convenientally avoiding a trip to the DRA!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 04, 2008, 12:46:45 PM
Is the CIT Gardai match at 2 today?
Post by: laoisgaa on March 04, 2008, 04:34:12 PM
Garda College have advanced to meet GMIT in the semi-finals of the Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup after their 1-10 to 1-7 victory over Cork IT this afternoon.

Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 04, 2008, 04:46:37 PM
Cheating bastards!!
Post by: Uladh on March 04, 2008, 04:49:48 PM

I hear rumours from a very well placed source that the appeal ruling which allowed the guards back in is not very sound and almost definitely will be challenged so looks like there'll be no sigerson this weekend
Post by: inthemaking on March 05, 2008, 09:45:56 PM
i have just heard the sigerson finals have been postponed as an appeal has been lodged by Cork IT
Post by: laoisgaa on March 05, 2008, 09:52:07 PM
Sigerson Cup final to be rescheduled

Press Release: from Comhairle Ardoideachais CLG (Higher Education GAA Council)

Comhairle Ardoideachais (Higher Education GAA Council) have today taken a decision to alter the schedule for this weekend's Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup finals.

As a result of an objection from Cork Institute of Technology to the eligibility of three players of the Garda Training College, we have had to consider the process of dealing with this matter, and the proximity to the planned finals weekend schedule.

Therefore, the final and one of the semi finals of the Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup will now be rescheduled for a later date(s).

However, the Sigerson Cup semi final involving Dublin Institute of Technology and University of Ulster Jordanstown will now take place on Saturday evening, 8th March at 7.30pm at Carlow IT.  This game will now be scheduled in the slot which had been intended for the final.

Comhairle Ardoideachais chairman John Devaney stated that "there was little option for CA but to reschedule.  However, it was important for us to maintain the integrity of this year's Sigerson Cup competition, and we feel that the positioning of the UUJ v DIT semi final for Saturday evening and the continuation of all other elements of the weekend plans will do this."

Devaney added that "Comhairle Ardoideachais will now consider the objections which we have received, and will be keen to expedite the matter so that the concluding stages of the Sigerson Cup can happen quite soon.  We have to be prepared for the fact that such things can happen in the GAA and in sport, but all parties can understand the predicament that CA was in."

"The UUJ v DIT game will be a showcase game in itself and should be worthy of any occasion."

"There is a lot of goodwill towards CA and towards Carlow IT as hosts, particularly as so much work had gone into showcasing the events, and people sincerely value our competitions, especially in light of the hugely successful Fitzgibbon in Cork last weekend."

The Ulster Bank Trench Cup, Corn na Mac Léinn and Further Education Championships will continue as planned in Carlow.
Post by: laoisgaa on March 05, 2008, 09:53:32 PM
FIXTURES
Thursday 6th March
Ulster Bank Freshers B Hurling Championship Final
Queen's University v IT Sligo, 2pm at Swanlinbar, Cavan

Friday 7th March
Ulster Bank Trench Cup Semi-finals
TCD v St. Pat's, Drumcondra, 3.30pm at Éire Óg, Carlow
Liverpool John Moores v Mary Immaculate College, Limerick 3.30pm at Tinryland

Saturday 8th March
Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup Semi-Final
UUJ v DIT 7.30pm at IT Carlow

Ulster Bank Trench Cup Final
TCD/St. Pat's v JMU Liverpool/MICL 3.30pm at IT Carlow

Ulster Bank Corn na Mac Léinn Final
Marino College v Mater Dei, 1pm at Éire Óg, Carlow

Ulster Bank Further Education Football Championship Final
NWRC Limavady v Cavan Institute at Éire Óg, Carlow
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 05, 2008, 09:55:29 PM
Suppose its the best they could have done in the circumstances. Gives a game for the live TV slot as well I assume. Sad to see it coming to this though.
Post by: laoisgaa on March 06, 2008, 05:48:32 PM
RESULT
Thursday 6th March
Ulster Bank Freshers B Football Championship Semi-Final
IT Sligo 3-12 Queen's University, Belfast 2-1

FIXTURES
Friday 7th March
TCD v St. Pat's, Drumcondra, 3.30pm at Éire Óg, Carlow
Liverpool John Moores v Mary Immaculate College, Limerick 3.30pm at Tinryland

Saturday 8th March
UUJ v DIT 3.30pm at IT Carlow

TCD/St. Pat's v JMU Liverpool/MICL 7.30pm at IT Carlow

Marino College v Mater Dei, 1pm at Éire Óg, Carlow

NWRC Limavady v Cavan Institute at Éire Óg, Carlow
Title: GMIT unhappy at Sigerson switch
Post by: AbbeySider on March 07, 2008, 09:20:44 AM
From the HoganStand....

GMIT unhappy at Sigerson switch

06 March 2008

GMIT officials have expressed their disappointment at the news that their proposed semi-final clash with Garda College has been postponed.

The identity of GMIT's semi-final opponents is now unclear as Cork IT have lodged an objection to three players who played for Garda College against them in their quarter-final clash.

"We've put our heart and soul into this for several months and we hear tonight (Wednesday) that our game is off," said GMIT trainer Stephen Rochford.

"It's desperately disappointing because we had made every arrangement down to the last detail."

Im curious, does anyone know who the players were that were objected against? 

Title: Re: GMIT unhappy at Sigerson switch
Post by: muppet on March 07, 2008, 09:24:40 AM
QuoteIm curious, does anyone know who the players were that were objected against?

Kieran Donaghy, Dara O'Sé and Darren Fay.
Post by: Uladh on March 07, 2008, 10:33:58 AM

Graham Dillon, Michael Cussen and Aidan O'Mahony

This would fit nicely into the Sigerson 2008 thread
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 07, 2008, 12:04:02 PM
Sigerson Cup in "Illegal players protest" shock. :o
Post by: laoisgaa on March 07, 2008, 12:16:17 PM
FIXTURES
Friday 7th March
Liverpool John Moores v Mary Immaculate College, Limerick 2.30pm at IT Carlow
TCD v St. Pat's, Drumcondra, 4.30pm at IT Carlow

Saturday 8th March
UUJ v DIT 3.30pm at IT Carlow

TCD/St. Pat's v JMU Liverpool/MICL 7.30pm at IT Carlow

Marino College v Mater Dei, 1pm at Graiguecullen, Laois

NWRC Limavady v Cavan Institute 11.30am at IT Carlow
Post by: Uladh on March 07, 2008, 12:19:02 PM

There hasn't been a player ruled ineligible for sigerson since the 70s. not many strands of the gaa can boast that?
Post by: saffron sam2 on March 07, 2008, 12:26:28 PM
What about the year of the Polytechnic's first appearance and all their HND boyos?
Title: Re: TG4
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on March 07, 2008, 03:44:17 PM
Quote from: drici on March 07, 2008, 03:38:49 PM
All Ireland Gold(Galway v Kildare) now at 1915 on Saturday followed by another chance to watch the programme about Sam Maguire.

Yahoo! ;D
Title: Re: TG4
Post by: Minder on March 07, 2008, 03:47:02 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on March 07, 2008, 03:44:17 PM
Quote from: drici on March 07, 2008, 03:38:49 PM
All Ireland Gold(Galway v Kildare) now at 1915 on Saturday followed by another chance to watch the programme about Sam Maguire.

Yahoo! ;D

MSN probably has more features......
Post by: Zulu on March 07, 2008, 05:40:12 PM
QuoteAll Ireland Gold(Galway v Kildare) now at 1915 on Saturday followed by another chance to watch the programme about Sam Maguire.

Is the DIT/UUJ game now called off?
Post by: Zulu on March 07, 2008, 06:23:18 PM
Not on TV so? I was really looking forward to that.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 08, 2008, 11:14:31 AM
Whens the results of CIT's appeal expected?
Post by: laoisgaa on March 08, 2008, 03:43:47 PM
Ulster Bank Corn na Mac Leinn Football Championship Final
Marino College 1-14 Mater Dei 0-16 AET

NWRC Limavady 0-11 Cavan College 0-7
Post by: laoisgaa on March 08, 2008, 03:45:55 PM
14 mins UUJ 1-2 DIT 0-4
Thomas Close with goal for UUJ after 12 mins, Vaughan with three points so far for DIT including one sideline ala Joe Canning last week!
Post by: laoisgaa on March 08, 2008, 03:47:26 PM
16 mins Thos Close 2nd goal 2-2 to 0-5
Post by: Paper Aeroplane on March 08, 2008, 03:50:28 PM
Are you sure its Thomas Close and not Thomas McCann?? Are ya at the game?? Cheers for the updates........ ;)
Post by: laoisgaa on March 08, 2008, 03:51:55 PM
21 mins Paddy Cunningham's first pt of the game ensures UUJ take a 2-3 to 0-6 lead
Post by: laoisgaa on March 08, 2008, 03:58:09 PM
Thomas McCann even - Close on the brain! 27 mins UUJ 2-4 DIT 0-6
Post by: laoisgaa on March 08, 2008, 03:58:58 PM
AT LEAST THREE MINS ADDED TIME - Both defences playing weel especially Charlie Harrison and Donal Morgan on full-back line for UUJ
Post by: laoisgaa on March 08, 2008, 04:03:55 PM
UUJ 2-5 DIT 0-7 (HT)
Post by: orangeman on March 08, 2008, 04:14:28 PM
Well done UUJ !
Post by: orangeman on March 08, 2008, 04:18:39 PM
I know well done anyway !  ;D
Post by: Paper Aeroplane on March 08, 2008, 04:24:48 PM
Did james colgan start?? Based on his semi final perfrmance its a travesty if he did.........
Post by: laoisgaa on March 08, 2008, 04:27:50 PM
No - 39 mins UUJ 2-6 DIT 0-8
Post by: laoisgaa on March 08, 2008, 04:35:14 PM
Darren Hughes off through a second yellow for UUJ 2-7 to 0-8 47mins
Post by: downtown on March 08, 2008, 04:52:53 PM
ne final scores??
Post by: laoisgaa on March 08, 2008, 05:02:12 PM
UUJ 2-12 DIT 0-10
McCann 2-1, Cunningham 0-4; M Lynch 0-3
Post by: hitzelsperger on March 08, 2008, 05:03:56 PM
great win, roll on the final

up the poly!!
Post by: orangeman on March 08, 2008, 05:18:20 PM
Well done UUJ !!!  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: laoisgaa on March 09, 2008, 10:13:08 AM
Ulster Bank Trench Cup Football Final
Mary Immaculate College, Limerick 1-12 St Pat's Drumcondra 0-9
Post by: INDIANA on March 09, 2008, 05:56:05 PM
i see carlow are taking their case to the DRA - will this farce ever end?
Post by: Zulu on March 15, 2008, 12:45:51 PM
Anyone know what's the latest? Are Carlow, Cork and the Garda all still technically in it?
Post by: Surreal Steve on March 15, 2008, 12:47:14 PM
is the final on tonight?
Post by: Zulu on March 15, 2008, 04:54:46 PM
Quoteis the final on tonight?

GMIT semi hasn't been played yet as far as I know
Post by: crossfire on March 15, 2008, 06:04:12 PM
Is Tony Kernan at UUJ ?
Should he not be on the panel / team now that Cross are out.?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 19, 2008, 12:04:44 PM
Right what the f**k is going on with the Sigerson!! Anyone else getting bored?!!
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 19, 2008, 10:29:25 PM
Think the latest is that there is a DRA meeting this week and that they hope to finish the competition within the next fortnight
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2008, 10:45:05 AM
Good lad Paddy-keep us posted!
Post by: Fuzzman on March 20, 2008, 02:45:28 PM
From the BBC website

The GAA's DRA will meet on Friday to rule on the objection which has delayed the completion of this year's Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup.
Carlow IT are claiming that Garda College fielded ineligible players in their second round game.

Garda then went on to beat Cork IT in the quarter-final.

If Carlow's objection is unheld they will play Cork. If not, Garda will meet Galway-Mayo IT in the semi-finals. UUJ have already qualified for the decider.

Higher Education Council chairman John Devaney is optimistic that the final will be played within the next fortnight.

"Because of the provincial under 21 championships, it would only be possible to play one game a week, but hopefully we can complete the Sigerson in two weeks," said Devaney.
Post by: Zulu on March 20, 2008, 03:05:11 PM
This is a scandal, we have 2 teams waiting in a kind of limbo for their unknown opponents and 3 teams preparing for a game they're not sure they'll be playing in. Final year exams are coming down the line for many of these players, the IC scene is back in full swing so many of these lads are being pull from pillar to post at an important time in their lives. As someone who has been involved in the University scene I can vouch for the complete incompetence of the national set up there. There is little accountability and the eligibility rules for players are far from clear and this at a time when most Universities have full time development officers employed there. Infuriating.
Post by: Uladh on March 20, 2008, 03:45:33 PM

What should have been done zulu?
Post by: Zulu on March 20, 2008, 04:33:26 PM
QuoteWhat should have been done zulu?

Well Uladh, the eligibility rules for players should be clear cut and simple, I personally think there should be both an age limit on players and a limit on the number of years you can play Sigerson. And you should have to enter a panel of 40 players (max) by the start of December who can represent your college in the Sigerson detailing how they are eligible. For example on your list player one is John Doe, 2nd year Law, age 19, student number ******* with accompanying proof of his enrolment is said course. The relevant authorities can go through each player and if anything seems out of place, they investigate it before the Sigerson starts. If colleges are found to have deliberately tried to play an ineligible player they are thrown out of the competition for that year.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2008, 04:58:27 PM
Age limits wouldnt be fair on any mature students. How many years would you restrict players to?
Post by: Zulu on March 20, 2008, 05:10:08 PM
That's true ONL but often the problem in the GAA is that we try to be all things to all men. The competition was orginally created for students i.e. 18-22 year olds (approx.) I don't think that preventing career students or IC fly by nights playing is such a bad thing. I'd put the age limit at 26 and restrict the number of years for playing to 6. That covers a 4 under-degree and a 2 year masters/post grad.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 20, 2008, 05:25:46 PM
When I was playing (although I never played college ball), there was awful abuses going on. Athlone RTC were shocking for it. I think Anthony Rainbow and Martin Lynch were playing with them, and I doubt they'd attended many lectures in there. They were registered as 'part time' students I think. Does that still go on?
Post by: Zulu on March 20, 2008, 05:35:28 PM
QuoteWhen I was playing (although I never played college ball), there was awful abuses going on. Athlone RTC were shocking for it. I think Anthony Rainbow and Martin Lynch were playing with them, and I doubt they'd attended many lectures in there. They were registered as 'part time' students I think. Does that still go on?

I think it does in the IT's AZ and a few years some of the DCU lads weren't allowed play including Ross Munnelly, so the short answer is probably yes.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2008, 06:50:29 PM
What's up with McCavanagh then Hardstation?? Spill the beans!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 20, 2008, 08:01:11 PM
Oh.

I remember Ciaran O Reilly was repeating a couple of years ago and he didn't play Sigerson all that year.

Must be the cheating poly scum
Post by: mockba on March 22, 2008, 12:10:02 PM
You are as usual " Our Niall Loney"      sadly mistaken the only cheating scumbags in Ulster are normally Queens. Who throw shit at j'town , St Mary's , DCU and everyone else in a hope that it will stick and camouflage what they have been up to for years. Wasn't Diarmuid Marsen supposedly doing a PhD (ha ha) 
What course is Niall Bogue and Michael O Rourke doing this year?
What were Dan Mc Cartan a full time Dentist in Kilkeel and Gerard O Kane a solicitor doing last year?  They registered on a one evening a week Master's in Advanced computer learning !!!!, which they never attended , never sat exams, never graduated.   Never mind Mc Gourty – seven years at Queens , 3 as a full time sabbatical officer in the students union.
Of course repeat student are allowed to play.  Sure Justin mc Nulty took eight years to get his degree.
For your information young Colm Cavanagh had to repeat his first year.  He had to apply to Croke Park in person and receive permission to play before 31st Oct.  Which he did.

The whole Country knows what queens are up to, especially last year.  So if you want to look for shit in future I suggest you look a bit closer to home.
Post by: Uladh on March 22, 2008, 12:59:09 PM

It's a bit of a tainted Sigerson now anyway. If it's not fought for and won through the traditionally gruelling Sigerson weekend tis not the same.
Post by: orangeman on March 22, 2008, 01:10:10 PM
What were Dan Mc Cartan a full time Dentist in Kilkeel and Gerard O Kane a solicitor doing last year?  They registered on a one evening a week Master's in Advanced computer learning !!!!, which they never attended , never sat exams, never graduated

This must be a first in university tactics ! This was never heardtell of before ? What next ? Jesus (Jim Mc Guiness ) making a comeback in this years final ? Especially at Easter, it's a possibility !
Post by: mockba on March 22, 2008, 01:39:17 PM
Just forthe record "orangeman" The much maligned jim mc guinness spent 5 years at third level, much less than many others.  2 years at Tralee IT doing a certificate in Sport science, which enabled him to gain entry to the three year degree in Sports Studies at UUJ.  He graduated with a 2:1 and I am told is doing well.  You should also know that jim started late at third level due to a very tragic car accident in which he was injured and his brother was killed.  I have no doubt Jim will be a coach for the future.
Post by: J70 on March 22, 2008, 02:08:45 PM
Quote from: mockba on March 22, 2008, 01:39:17 PM
Just forthe record "orangeman" The much maligned jim mc guinness spent 5 years at third level, much less than many others.  2 years at Tralee IT doing a certificate in Sport science, which enabled him to gain entry to the three year degree in Sports Studies at UUJ.  He graduated with a 2:1 and I am told is doing well.  You should also know that jim started late at third level due to a very tragic car accident in which he was injured and his brother was killed.  I have no doubt Jim will be a coach for the future.

You're right, Jim gets a hard time on this board, where everyone ignores the fact that he was in his mid-20s before he headed to college. I don't know if his reasons for delaying were because of the accident though. It took place shortly after the 1998 Ulster Final, while he had been in the Donegal squad since he was a teenager in 1992. I never thought he was quite as good for Donegal for quite a while after that (understandable, if so) - he had been awesome and our best player in that Ulster championship.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 22, 2008, 03:54:08 PM
Well if ya's win the Sigerson this year it will be a very deserved (paid for) victory.

Well done.
Post by: David McKeown on March 22, 2008, 05:04:43 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 22, 2008, 01:10:10 PM
What were Dan Mc Cartan a full time Dentist in Kilkeel and Gerard O Kane a solicitor doing last year?  They registered on a one evening a week Master's in Advanced computer learning !!!!, which they never attended , never sat exams, never graduated

This must be a first in university tactics ! This was never heardtell of before ? What next ? Jesus (Jim Mc Guiness ) making a comeback in this years final ? Especially at Easter, it's a possibility !

Gerard wasn't a solicitor last year and is now doing the qualification to make him one over in England and as far as I know completed his masters last year although i may be wrong on this
Post by: Whitehair on March 22, 2008, 08:14:34 PM
QuoteIs Paul Rouse still with yis

He's a games development officer or something similar, received a few emails saying to contact him about coaching courses that are being run if interested.
Post by: mockba on March 23, 2008, 08:13:56 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 22, 2008, 05:04:43 PM
Quote from: orangeman on March 22, 2008, 01:10:10 PM

Gerard wasn't a solicitor last year and is now doing the qualification to make him one over in England and as far as I know completed his masters last year although i may be wrong on this
That may be so but he did not do a masters last year at queens . He freely admits this himself
Post by: mockba on March 23, 2008, 08:18:41 AM
Quote from: hardstation on March 22, 2008, 01:48:35 PM
Is Paul Rouse still with yis, mockba?
Paul is the GAA development officer for the University of Ulster (Jordanstown, Coleraine and Magee), put in place by the Ulster Council.
Ryan Mellon looks after Queens, St Marys and BIFHE and Gary Mallon looks after all the other FE colleges
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 23, 2008, 11:21:06 AM
Tommy will ya wise up youse are the worst in Ireland and you know it.

How much did youse spend on gettin Lacey, Dunnion, Moran, Harrison, McGovern et all??

Will the Sigerson taste as sweet after expenses?
Post by: HowdyDoody on March 23, 2008, 01:43:50 PM
Carlow IT's last hopes of remaining in the Sigerson Cup were ended when they lost their appeal over a Garda player's eligibility.

The GAA's Disputes Resolution Authority ruled that Carlow IT's appeal over the eligibility of Garda player Graham Dillon had failed.

Carlow's appeal took two weeks to be heard by the DRA, after it was lodged on March 7, the original scheduled date for the Sigerson Cup semi-final between Garda College and GMIT.

At Friday's meeting the DRA ruled against the decision of the GAA's Higher Education Council (Comhairle Ardoideachais), that Dillon was ineligible to play for Garda College, and stated that his ban should be quashed because of a 'procedural irregularity'.

Following the ruling, it is expected that the GAA's HEC will now hold an emergency meeting early next week to determine dates for the remaining games in the 2008 Sigerson Cup.

UUJ have already qualified for the decider having beaten DIT in the other semi-final.

However, Cork IT may yet lodge an objection. Garda College beat them in the quarter-final while fielding Dillon, Cork's Michael Cussen and Aidan O'Mahony of Kerry.

CIT's objection was put on hold pending the result of Carlow IT's submission to the DRA.

Now that the legality of Dillon's participation in the Sigerson Cup has been decided upon, it is expected that CIT may still lodge an appeal against Cussen and O'Mahony's participation, however this has yet to be confirmed.

Post by: mockba on March 23, 2008, 04:07:06 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on March 23, 2008, 11:21:06 AM
Tommy will ya wise up youse are the worst in Ireland and you know it.

How much did youse spend on gettin Lacey, Dunnion, Moran, Harrison, McGovern et all??

Will the Sigerson taste as sweet after expenses?
Jealousy again. Everyone knows that UUJ have a great scholarship scheme.  20 lads  get free accommodation on campus, all paid for by 20 local businesses and not all footballers either , two are reserved for club administrators.  Next year it will expand to include Hurlers, camogs and ladies footballers.  I think UUJ should be congratulated.
But at least they are all full time students.  You seem to have conveniently overlooked Mc Cartan, O Kane et al again.
UUJ have always looked after their players and be innovators not imitators
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 23, 2008, 04:13:14 PM
Tommy learn how to use that f**king quote box will ya? Hurts me eyes reading that purple thing.

And thats saying something since I go to QUB therefore I am smart.
Post by: doire na raithe on March 27, 2008, 11:05:29 AM
Quote from: mockba on March 22, 2008, 12:10:02 PM

What course is Niall Bogue and Michael O Rourke doing this year?
What were Dan Mc Cartan a full time Dentist in Kilkeel and Gerard O Kane a solicitor doing last year?  They registered on a one evening a week Master's in Advanced computer learning !!!!, which they never attended , never sat exams, never graduated.   Never mind Mc Gourty – seven years at Queens , 3 as a full time sabbatical officer in the students union.

Do you have attendance records to hand mockba? How are you privy to this information about the course in advanced computer learning?

Micheal O' Rourke is doing a post-grad in Management.

McGourty was democratically voted onto the executive in Queen's three years running by the Queen's students and was entitled to run for it every year that he did, unless your suggesting something underhand took place during those elections?

Am afraid Mockba I would have to agree with Uladh surely a Sigerson victory this year would feel a little hollow considering you did not have to go through the onslaught of the traditional weekend?

Its not a degree... Its a HND.
Post by: Nimbus on March 27, 2008, 02:00:25 PM
Sore losers in my opinion and I'm looking at it from a neutral point of view.
Post by: doire na raithe on March 27, 2008, 02:04:21 PM
Fortunately, nobody gives a f**k about your opinion.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 27, 2008, 02:05:00 PM
Very eloquently put Doire na raithe, hear hear!!
Post by: Nimbus on March 27, 2008, 02:08:14 PM
Quote from: doire na raithe on March 27, 2008, 02:04:21 PM
Fortunately, nobody gives a f**k about your opinion.

Enjoying your school holidays mate?
Post by: Nimbus on March 27, 2008, 02:11:25 PM
I am not fighting, i just was on the receiving end of a petty immature rant.
Post by: doire na raithe on March 27, 2008, 02:12:51 PM
I am enjoying my holidays actually, thanks for asking.
Post by: Nimbus on March 27, 2008, 02:14:17 PM
Any date for the final yet?
Post by: doire na raithe on March 27, 2008, 02:15:05 PM
It was a fair and adequate reply to a fairly tiresome post not contributing anything to the debate unlike myself and our nail.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 27, 2008, 02:16:15 PM
Final pencilled in for 9th April I believe. Thought you would know this Nimbus since you seem to know everything else?
Post by: Nimbus on March 27, 2008, 02:17:23 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on March 27, 2008, 02:16:15 PM
Final pencilled in for 9th April I believe. Thought you would know this Nimbus since you seem to know everything else?

When did I state I knew everything?
Thanks for the info.
Post by: doire na raithe on March 27, 2008, 02:19:44 PM
i think Mockba is notable by his absence, his silence speaks volumes and other such retorts.
Post by: Nimbus on March 27, 2008, 02:23:13 PM
I presume the final is in Carlow?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 27, 2008, 02:24:45 PM
Mockba in Carlow already or the final in Carlow??

The final's set for Carlow aye.

Mockba probably drawing up a roster for next year's recruits for the Harlem Globetrotters of varsity GAA
Post by: doire na raithe on March 27, 2008, 02:24:51 PM
Probably. It's also a possiblilty he's run ragged trying to get the finances together to pay the mercenaries before the big game. The whole postponement did him a bit of a favour on that front I'd imagine.
Post by: doire na raithe on March 27, 2008, 02:25:46 PM
Do they get extra for final appearances?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 27, 2008, 02:29:29 PM
I would say they would have a scheme similar to the proposed grants, where the further you progress the more blood money you get!

Post by: doire na raithe on March 27, 2008, 02:31:25 PM
Right right... and now what about score bonuses? or maybe even block bonuses?

The more I think about it is there a gap in the market there for agents to represent Jtown players?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 27, 2008, 02:34:39 PM
Wouldn't think it doire, they already have their own super agent in the mould of Pini Zahavi in soccer in the form of TJ Farrell!!

Nothing seems beyond his capabilities!
Post by: Nimbus on March 27, 2008, 02:36:35 PM
Everybody finds this so amusing I see lads. :'(
Post by: doire na raithe on March 27, 2008, 02:37:10 PM
Must go enjoy the rest of my easter holidays here, these 5 bottles of Wkd blue aren't gonna drink themselves.

Will check back later to see what sort of drivel Mockba will be spouting in reply.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 27, 2008, 02:38:30 PM
I think its funny.

Cheer up Nimbus!
Post by: Nimbus on March 27, 2008, 02:41:20 PM
It reeked of 2 guys trying to comfort / impress one another with daft wee statements such as the above.

Are the Poly hot favourites now for the title?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 27, 2008, 02:46:40 PM
J'Town were joint faves with Queens before the quarter final.

So I'd say now they would be odds on now. Especially as they are already in the final.

No odds available though because everything is up in the air.

I'm still hoping for the Gardai to be thrown out!! I had backed CIT before at 25/1!
Post by: mockba on March 27, 2008, 04:32:06 PM
Listen lads, a sigerson medal is a sigerson medal.  I do agree, that not having the Sigerson over the weekend is a big disappointment especially for Carlow.  But if j'town were to win it I would say they would treasure it just the same.

CIT have withdrawn their appeal so they are gone.  The Higher Education Council may have now no option but to investigate the guards or let them play GMIT asap

Final on the 9th April may still be on.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 27, 2008, 05:12:19 PM
Be safer jsut getting the semi final played as soon as possible, save as much credibility as they can instead of draggin it out more investigating and maybe causing more controversy.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 27, 2008, 06:24:21 PM
Fair play Nial for your principled stand on this thread.

UUJ - the closest thing to professionalism in the GAA.
Post by: laoisgaa on March 27, 2008, 09:15:52 PM
Remaining Sigerson Cup Fixtures
(As provisionally fixed tonight by Comhairle Ardoideachais CLG)

TUESDAY APRIL 8th
Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup Semi-final
GMIT v Garda College, 6.15pm at Kiltoom

TUESDAY APRIL 22nd
Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup Final
GMIT/Garda College v UUJ, 7.30pm at IT Carlow
Post by: mockba on March 27, 2008, 10:56:35 PM
Quote from: TacadoirArdMhacha on March 27, 2008, 06:24:21 PM
Fair play Nial for your principled stand on this thread.

UUJ - the closest thing to professionalism in the GAA.
Great to see queens men backing each other up or is it cover up
Principled stand - your joking.  I notice when Mc Cartan , O' Kane  et al was mentioned the tread changed to scholarships, expenses and now professionalism

TacadoirArdMhacha as someone in the queens set up you should know better.  UUJ scholarship scheme is way behind DCU, UCD, WIT, LIT and even Maynooth. Is there is something wrong with scholarships?. If so what about the Gold, Silver and Bronze scholarship at queens.?  I also notice quite a few queens men (and UUJ) among the GPA scholarships announced during the week.  But typical queens - complain - complain and then eventually copy.
Lads be honest if you had a similar scheme in queens you would be singing it's praises from the roof tops.
Post by: doire na raithe on March 28, 2008, 11:06:40 AM
It's not the scholarships which are in question, I'm sure most will agree that helping a young lad financially to get to college on the back of sports achievement is a worthwhile venture... Its the other underhand means of attracting footballers with under the table financing.

Unfoirtunately, lest I get accused of being a hypocrite I'm going to have to stop there because if I were asked to produce evidence to back this up I'm afraid I wouldn't be able to.
Post by: behind the wire on March 28, 2008, 11:55:50 AM
heres the way i see it, having experienced it for a few years.

all fellas go to queens to study and maybe play a bit of football.

some, not all, fellas go to jtown simply to play football and maybe do a wee bit of studying.

although there have been a few lads who have hung on in somewhat dubious circumstances, they have all been queens men. i cant remember anyone coming to queens simply to play football.
Post by: doire na raithe on March 28, 2008, 11:59:25 AM
Fantastic argument high catch! I love the way you ripped him apart with your detailed analysis and witty retorts.
Post by: doire na raithe on March 28, 2008, 12:10:45 PM
But not in equal measures. There is a definately two different ethos' about the two institutions (nearly said universities there). Queen's is a university with a great sporting tradition outside of that but, as it has been alluded to, the Poly is a tech where players have just gone to play football and maybe gain some sort of qualification out of it.
Post by: behind the wire on March 28, 2008, 12:17:15 PM
high catch, can you name me one player who went to queens simply to play football ie was drafted in tommy joe style?
Post by: doire na raithe on March 28, 2008, 12:19:34 PM
excellent
Post by: mockba on March 28, 2008, 02:39:16 PM
I have never read such bullshit in my life.  The fact is,  UUJ is a very successful University with a range of excellent and attractive courses n par with anything at queens.  It doesn't have medicine or dentistry yet.
But it does have Physiotherapy, Sports Studies, Quantity Surveying, Engineering, Law, Businesses Studies and Accountancy.  Of course many choose UUJ because of the academic course but also a well organised GAA club
UUJ also have a better range of post graduate courses.  I think its the only place where you can do the postgrad/master in Accountancy.  The new masters in Coaching wll attract more in next year.
I know that many young people both male and female want to go to UUJ because of sport and that to me is great
Some of you need an education on what is actually happening at Queens   For the last 4 years  every All-Star student has  received a letter,even a phonecall to encourage them to go to queens and also explaining the scholarship system.  fair play to them I say but don't let on it doesn't happen.

The fact that more and more  are looked to go to UUJ, just means they are marketing themselves as the University for sport and it working.

and don't bring up the old grades chestnut, most courses in UU are equally as difficult to get into and the HND is the same as the foundation degree at queens
3A's for physiotherapy and 2A and a B for sport studies.
Post by: doire na raithe on March 28, 2008, 03:53:48 PM
I can't believe you would open up a Grades argument???

Firstly Queen's does not do Physiotherapy or Sport studies.

It is indeed, for the majority of courses which both Queen's and Jokerstown ( ;) ) offer, much more difficult to get into the course in Queens.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 28, 2008, 04:01:31 PM
If everything you say is true about grades etc mockba can you explain to me this??

A friend of mine had applied for courses abroad which he got rejected from. He had not applied for UUJ or didn't make any effort to through clearing as well. But just before the university year began he got contacted by a member of UUJ GAA club adn offered a place in Sports Science/Studies (not aure which but you know what I mean) as long as he would play for the frehers that year, you see it just so happened that the fella had captained his county at minor level the season before. The fella is one of my best friends and I know his grades at A Level and they definitely weren't what was required!

PS The freshers then went on to win te All Ireland that season...
Post by: mockba on March 28, 2008, 04:02:04 PM
Quote from: AFS on March 28, 2008, 02:42:58 PM
Quote from: mockba on March 28, 2008, 02:39:16 PM
I have never read such bullshit in my life.  The fact is,  UUJ is a very successful University with a range of excellent and attractive courses n par with anything at queens.  It doesn't have medicine or dentistry yet.
But it does have Physiotherapy, Sports Studies, Quantity Surveying, Engineering, Law, Businesses Studies and Accountancy.  Of course many choose UUJ because of the academic course but also a well organised GAA club
UUJ also have a better range of post graduate courses.  I think its the only place where you can do the postgrad/master in Accountancy.  The new masters in Coaching wll attract more in next year.
I know that many young people both male and female want to go to UUJ because of sport and that to me is great
Some of you need an education on what is actually happening at Queens   For the last 4 years  every All-Star student has  received a letter,even a phonecall to encourage them to go to queens and also explaining the scholarship system.  fair play to them I say but don't let on it doesn't happen.

The fact that more and more  are looked to go to UUJ, just means they are marketing themselves as the University for sport and it working.

and don't bring up the old grades chestnut, most courses in UU are equally as difficult to get into and the HND is the same as the foundation degree at queens
3A's for physiotherapy and 2A and a B for sport studies.

Some of that may be true, but its not called Jokerstown for nothing  ;)

First time I've seen that one! original I must say.  Better that, than Her Majesty's University.  How can GAA men get so snobbish? and actually believe the tripe the are fed!
Post by: doire na raithe on March 28, 2008, 04:04:00 PM
Go buy yourself a new colouring-in book.
Post by: mockba on March 28, 2008, 04:12:16 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on March 28, 2008, 04:01:31 PM
If everything you say is true about grades etc mockba can you explain to me this??

A friend of mine had applied for courses abroad which he got rejected from. He had not applied for UUJ or didn't make any effort to through clearing as well. But just before the university year began he got contacted by a member of UUJ GAA club adn offered a place in Sports Science/Studies (not aure which but you know what I mean) as long as he would play for the frehers that year, you see it just so happened that the fella had captained his county at minor level the season before. The fella is one of my best friends and I know his grades at A Level and they definitely weren't what was required!

PS The freshers then went on to win te All Ireland that season...

/quote]

Niall it would not matter if you were the best Gaelic player in Ireland , If you had'nt the grades you would not get in.   I know several lads last year with 3A,s who could not get into physio
Post by: mockba on March 28, 2008, 04:14:44 PM
Lads enjoying this craic but off to France for a few days, so keep the faith
Post by: Our Nail Loney on March 28, 2008, 05:29:32 PM
I'll get in touch with my mate and find out his exact grades but I know for a fact they weren't great and he got into UUJ without going through UCAS. His options were all for London which he got turned down for.
Post by: mockba on March 28, 2008, 05:42:43 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on March 28, 2008, 05:29:32 PM
I'll get in touch with my mate and find out his exact grades but I know for a fact they weren't great and he got into UUJ without going through UCAS. His options were all for London which he got turned down for.

Niall just before I go.  It is simply impossible to get into UUJ or queens for that matter without going through UCAS, but get some more details.  My old schoolmate got into queens to do law just because daddy was in the society and was connected but sure who cares, Rugby and Soccer have been doing this for years.  Great to see GAA people in positions of influence
Post by: Rav67 on March 28, 2008, 07:01:08 PM
I have never read such bullshit in my life.  The fact is,  UUJ is a very successful University with a range of excellent and attractive courses n par with anything at queens.

:D :D :D
Post by: take_yer_points on March 28, 2008, 09:00:38 PM
Quote from: Rav67 on March 28, 2008, 07:01:08 PM
I have never read such bullshit in my life.  The fact is,  UUJ is a very successful University with a range of excellent and attractive courses n par with anything at queens.

:D :D :D

Lads, firstly I think this has  turned into something that should be on the General Discussion section as some of you have made it into a stupid discussion about who goes to the better uni in a completely non-gaa sense. (and I think this would actually be a good subject!!). If you want to discuss grades then lets please move away from the Sigerson 2008 thread!

However, having said that and until someone starts a "Which is the better University" thread...

Having completed a degree in both Queens and J'town (personal opinion coming here) I must say that I found J'town a better establishment to complete a degree. I have since chosen J'town as the location to complete my Msc (Construction and project management) which is also offered by Queens. Why? Because I think that Jordanstown support their students more than Queens do and the quality of teaching is much better!

If you want to discuss this (or any other Queens vs Jordanstown education issue)  then feel free to start a new discussion in the General Discussion section. If you wish to keep this about Sigerson 2008, then keep posting below...
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on March 28, 2008, 09:53:08 PM
sadly i can agree with our nail that yes a few of the courses at jtown do sound a bit ridiculous but could some1 please tell me what a Masters in "Advanced Computer Learning" entails.advanced use of bebo and msn?moving away from bebo to facebook?setting up online betting accounts?suppose theres no point asking mr okane or mccartan because they went to the "nightclass" as often as you've went to class this year nail!
im prob wrong here but has no1 mentioned the fact that james mcgovern had to go to jtown from queens because they offere a postgrad in accountancy?after gerard okane finished his year working whilst collecting a sigerson medal why did he not go to further his studies in queens?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on April 01, 2008, 06:44:59 PM
Sigerson Cup facing further delay

The Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup is facing another delay because of a clash with the Under-21 football Championship.

With UUJ already in the final, GMIT and Garda College were scheduled to play their semi-final next Tuesday but it has now been postponed.

Four GMIT players are involved in the Connacht U21 semi-final next Wednesday.

The All-Ireland U21 semi-finals are scheduled for 19 April so it is now extremely unlikely that the Sigerson decider will take place on 22 April.

Finding a date for the final will be further complicated by college exams in Jordanstown which start in mid April.

The completion of the Sigerson Cup has already been held up for several weeks because of a number of appeals regarding the eligibility of Garda players.

Both Garda College and GMIT have never won the Sigerson Cup with the latter aiming for a first final appearance.

UUJ have held the prestigious silverware on four occasions, and were beaten in last year's decider after extra-time by rivals Queens University Belfast.
Post by: laoisgaa on April 16, 2008, 01:02:13 PM
Garda College 2-12
GMIT 1-14
(After-Extra-time)
By Cóilín Duffy

Garda College powered through to their first Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup Final since 1999 thanks to a slender one point extra-time win over GMIT at Athlone last night.

It was a second goal from top-scorer John O'Brien which stole the game at the death for the Templemore students.

Garda College lined out without the influential Michael Cussen of Cork and they were certainly given a testing time in this game, by a GMIT side who were searching for a first ever final spot.

In ideal conditions, a good open game of football was produced which left the 600 in attendance enthralled throughout.

Nothing could separate the sides during a tenacious opening quarter with the sides level on two occasions with John O'Brien on target with both Garda points, while Aidan Campbell and Ciaran Conroy ensured GMIT kept in contention.

It was a Garda College goal from O'Brien after 24 minutes which proved to be the difference at the end of the opening half, with the Templemore students holding onto a 1-4 to 0-4 interval lead.

O'Brien latched on to a pass from full-forward Denis Glennon and the Dublin man's dipping shot went to the net, although a point opportunity looked the more likely result, as the ball skimmed off the fingers of GMIT goalkeeper Rory Cullen and spilled to the back of the net.

GMIT were performing strong at the back towards the end of the first half with team captain Niall Darby, shaking off an early blood injury to boost his side, and the Offaly man scored a fine fisted point in the 27th minute, as a direct response to the Garda College goal.

Garda College began the second half as they finished the first as Guinan sent over another free but GMIT were certainly eager and outscored their opponents by five points to three over the third quarter as they cut the gap to minimum.

Indeed GMIT corner back Donal Vaughan popped up to take a fine score to ensure just a point separated the sides with eight minutes remaining.

Miraculously GMIT continued their comeback and points from Paul Conroy and Griffin, ensured the lead as injury-time approached, but Garda forced injury-time with O'Brien kicking his fifth point.

Garda College made the better of the first half of extra-time and although GMIT looked to have stole victory with a late Paul Conroy goal, O'Brien found the net for Garda College to book a final spot.

Scorers for Garda College: J O'Brien (2f) 2-6; R Guinan (3f) 0-4; S Buckley, D Glennon 0-1 each.

Scorers for GMIT: P Conroy (2f) 1-3; N Darby, A Campbell, S Griffin 0-2 each; C Conroy, E Concannon, D Vaughan, M Martin, M Conroy 0-1 each.

GMIT: R Cullen (Sligo); P McGrath (Donegal), D Vaughan (Mayo), R McTiernan (Galway); C Garvey (Roscommon), T Cunniffe (Mayo), J Hayes (Clare); K Conroy (Galway), P Conroy (Galway); A Campbell (Mayo), P McGinley (Donegal), N Darby (Offaly); E Concannon (Galway), S Griffin (Donegal), M Conroy (Mayo). Subs: M Martin (Galway) for Darby (BS); J Kilcullen (Mayo) for McTiernan; M Martin for Concannon; S Hughes (Galway) for Garvey; W Fallon (Galway) for McGinley; E Concannon for Griffin; P McGinley(Donegal) for Concannon.

GARDA COLLEGE:P O'Connor (Longford); E Callaghan (Kildare), C McGrath (Galway), A Pender (Galway); A Dermody (Kildare), D Mullahy (Galway), G Dillon (Westmeath); A O'Mahony (Kerry), A O'Donovan (Kerry); S Buckley (Limerick), R Guinan (Offaly), M Harrington (Cork); J O'Brien (Dublin), Denis Glennon (Westmeath), J Keane (Mayo). Subs: S McGrath (Dublin) for Keane; N Leydon for Harrington; J Keane for Leydon.

REFEREE: Derek Fahy (Longford)
Post by: laoisgaa on April 16, 2008, 01:08:31 PM
Sorry I pasted the wrong version of my report above. I've edited it now!
Post by: orangeman on April 17, 2008, 09:50:25 AM
UUJ aren't turning up to Carlow next Tuesday - this years Sigerson has turned into a total farce !
Post by: pedro on April 17, 2008, 04:55:39 PM
I think it was Uladh who, in the Armagh/Cork thread, remarked that Cussen wasn't playing in the semi-final. I have heard a rumour (which could be completely unfounded, mind) that Cussen was not injured, suspended or anything else but had gotten into a spot of bother with the, em, Guards?
Post by: orangeman on April 17, 2008, 05:00:25 PM
Quote from: pedro on April 17, 2008, 04:55:39 PM
I think it was Uladh who, in the Armagh/Cork thread, remarked that Cussen wasn't playing in the semi-final. I have heard a rumour (which could be completely unfounded, mind) that Cussen was not injured, suspended or anything else but had gotten into a spot of bother with the, em, Guards?

;) ;) ;) :D :D ;D ;D

Mo way - he was in for a cup of tea with his colleagues - they look after each other !
Post by: orangeman on April 17, 2008, 05:11:09 PM
Quote from: AFS on April 17, 2008, 05:04:34 PM
Quote from: orangeman on April 17, 2008, 09:50:25 AM
UUJ aren't turning up to Carlow next Tuesday - this years Sigerson has turned into a total farce !

Where did you hear this?

It's the full of the Irish News today.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 17, 2008, 06:33:51 PM
So what's the story with the Poly?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on April 17, 2008, 06:58:17 PM
Tommy Joe says they can't afford to take two days off with tests etc!! How much revsion is required for a HND?? Seriously!!
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on April 17, 2008, 07:09:55 PM
they shouldnt be asked to have to travel down to Carlow again, Its ridiculous.

Navan or Breffini should be the venue used.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on April 17, 2008, 07:39:50 PM
I'd feel sorry fo the lads who put the effort in all year down in Carlow if they didn't get to host the final but at this stage its probably better to hold the final somewhere like Newry which would be little more than an hour's journey for both sides.

Ridiculous to be threatening not to play the game. Are you seriously telling me that the Jordanstown team aren't willing to take 1 day out of their schedule for a Sigerson final? Mere posturing by officials on an ego trip I'd say. Sure they musta spent weeks out of their studies looking for that trophy all them years ago!
Post by: ExiledGael on April 17, 2008, 07:44:48 PM
Wonder how they've been training lately, how can they expect Jordanstown to keep ticking along and now try to gear up for this as final exams near. Pathetic treatment of an often brilliant tournament. Another example of where the GAA can make you cringe with shame sometimes.
Post by: orangeman on April 17, 2008, 11:17:48 PM
Quote from: ExiledGael on April 17, 2008, 07:44:48 PM
Wonder how they've been training lately, how can they expect Jordanstown to keep ticking along and now try to gear up for this as final exams near. Pathetic treatment of an often brilliant tournament. Another example of where the GAA can make you cringe with shame sometimes.
[/b]

No doubt about that - these lads have been training all season, playing challenge matches, Mc Kenna cup matches, Sigerson qualifiers etc etc, putting in monumental effort and it degenereates into a farce !!!!!!!!
Post by: amigo on April 22, 2008, 03:31:00 PM
Anyone know if they are showing this game on TG4 tonight. I heard a rumour it might be on !!!
Post by: Skehana on April 22, 2008, 06:57:36 PM
Not on live.Highlights on TG4 next week.

Match threw in at half 6 in Carlow.

Anyone have any updates?
Post by: passedit on April 22, 2008, 08:23:11 PM
Guards 1.14 Poly 1.16 ft per aertel
Post by: Doogie Browser on April 22, 2008, 08:24:35 PM
After extra time too
Post by: stiffler on April 22, 2008, 08:41:55 PM
Good report of the game on the bbc website  ::)

Sigerson Cup final 
Match report follows later.

Post by: Uladh on April 22, 2008, 10:15:28 PM

i really am past caring
Post by: Tommy Tight Lips on April 22, 2008, 10:32:27 PM
well if ur past caring uladh do everyone a favour and write in a different thread.........
Post by: hitzelsperger on April 22, 2008, 11:26:27 PM
Great win for the lads..... UP THE POLY!!

Post by: Norf Tyrone on April 22, 2008, 11:37:01 PM
Does a red card in collage football count for your club?
Post by: orangeman on April 22, 2008, 11:59:51 PM
Great win for UUJ - Congratulations to all concerned.
Post by: laoisgaa on April 23, 2008, 12:22:54 AM
Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup Final

UUJ 1-16
Garda College 1-14
(AET)
By Cóilín Duffy
At IT Carlow

13-man UUJ erased painful memories of last years extra-time final defeat as they capture their fifth Ulster Bank Sigerson Cup crown following a hard earned two point win over Garda College tonight in IT Carlow.

UUJ showed great resolve to take the win despite the dismissal of James McGovern and Ciaran Donnelly in extra-time.

Contesting their first final since 1999, Garda got off to a bright start with a brace of Mark Harrington points ensuring a 0-3 to 0-2 after seven minutes

Harrington and Offaly's Rory Guinan led the Garda College attack in the opening quarter while Westmeath's Graham Dillon and Darren Mullahy of Galway were solid on the half-back line.

A livelier UUJ attack made the best use of possession in the second quarter where Antrim Senior Paddy Cunnigham ignited, and the full-forward kicked five first half points as UUJ took an 0-8 to 0-5 interval lead.

UUJ began the second half in determined fashion, and thanks to a Cunningham goal they lead by 1-9 to 0-6 five minutes after the restart.

However Garda responded immediately with John O'Brien despatching a 14 metre free straight to the UUJ net.

A second Lynch point saw UUJ break three points clear with eight minutes remaining but scores from O'Brien, Harrington and substitute James Martin forced extra-time.

Cunningham and Lynch were again on fire in the opening stages of extra-time but industrious work from Guinan ensured the sides were level at 1-14 apiece at the break.

However UUJ weren't to be denied as scores from Lynch and Cunningham steered them to victory.

UUJ Scorers P Cunningham 1-9 (4f) M Lynch (3f) 0-6; A Moran (1 sl) 0-1.

Garda College Scorers: R Guinan (3f, 1 45) 0-6; J O'Brien (1-2f) 1-4; M Harrington (1f, 1 sl) 0-3; J Martin 0-1.

GARDA COLLEGE: P O'Connor; C McGill, C McGrath, A Pender; G Dillon, D Mullahy, E Callaghan; A O'Mahony, A O'Donovan; S Buckley, R Guinan, D Glennon; J O'Brien, M Harrington, J Keane. Subs: B Brennan for Keane (HT); J Martin for O'Donovan (52)

UUJ: M McAlister; C Harrison, D McCaul, D Morgan; P McGuigan, K Lacey, P Donnelly; B McKenna, C Cavanagh; D Hughes, T McCann, R Mulgrew; M Lynch, P Cunningham, A Moran. Subs: J McGovern for Hughes (HT); B Dunnion for Harrison (45); C Donnelly for Moran (74)

REFEREE: David Coldrick (Meath)

Post by: magpie seanie on April 23, 2008, 02:07:28 PM
Congrats to Charlie Harrison on bouncing back from last Sundays disappointment to win a Sigerson medal with UUJ. Fair play.
Post by: heffo on April 23, 2008, 02:20:47 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 22, 2008, 11:37:01 PM

No. All suspensions are for code and playing level where ban was received.
Post by: passedit on April 23, 2008, 02:29:49 PM
Heffo

Surely if the suspension exceeds a certain timeframe* then it applies to all gaa activities?

*Not sure how long.
Post by: ildanach on April 23, 2008, 02:48:15 PM
Quote from: heffo on April 23, 2008, 02:20:47 PM
Quote from: Norf Tyrone on April 22, 2008, 11:37:01 PM

No. All suspensions are for code and playing level where ban was received.

judging by reports in papers the sendings off were for second yellow cards
Post by: GrandMasterFlash on April 23, 2008, 03:04:36 PM
From Today's Indo...
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

UUJ 'extra' special this time
UUJ 1-16 Garda College 1-14 (After extra-time)

UUJ erased painful memories of last year's extra-time final defeat as they captured their fifth Sigerson crown following a hard-earned two-point win over Garda College in Carlow yesterday.

UUJ showed great resolve to hold out for victory despite the dismissals of James McGovern and Ciaran Donnelly in extra-time.

Garda got off to a bright start with a brace of Mark Harrington points ensuring a 0-3 to 0-2 after seven minutes. A livelier UUJ attack made the best use of possession in the second quarter, during which Antrim senior Paddy Cunnigham kicked 0-5 as UUJ took an 0-8 to 0-5 interval lead.

UUJ began the second half in determined fashion and thanks to a Cunningham goal, they lead by 1-9 to 0-6 five minutes after the restart. However, Garda responded, with John O'Brien dispatching a 14-metre free straight to the UUJ net.

A second Mark Lynch point saw UUJ break three points clear with eight minutes left but scores from O'Brien, Harrington and substitute James Martin forced extra-time.

Cunningham and Lynch were again on fire in the opening stages of extra-time but industrious work from Guinan ensured the sides were level at

1-14 apiece at the break.

However, UUJ weren't to be denied as scores from Lynch and Cunningham earned victory.

Scorers -- UUJ: P Cunningham 1-9 (4f) M Lynch (3f) 0-6, A Moran 0-1(sl ). Garda: R Guinan 0-6 (3f, 1 45), J O'Brien 1-4 (1-2f) , M Harrington 0-3 (1f, 1 sl) ; J Martin 0-1.

GARDA -- P O'Connor; C McGill, C McGrath, A Pender; G Dillon, D Mullahy, E Callaghan; A O'Mahony, A O'Donovan; S Buckley, R Guinan, D Glennon; J O'Brien, M Harrington, J Keane. Subs: B Brennan for Keane (HT); J Martin for O'Donovan (52).

UUJ -- M McAlister; C Harrison, D McCaul, D Morgan; P McGuigan, K Lacey, P Donnelly; B McKenna, C Cavanagh; D Hughes, T McCann, R Mulgrew; M Lynch, P Cunningham, A Moran. Subs: J McGovern for Hughes (HT); B Dunnion for Harrison (45); C Donnelly for Moran (74).

REF -- D Coldrick (Meath).

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Well done lads, a great win for the Poly and goes a long way in making up for last years defeat to QUB..

Post by: on the sideline on April 23, 2008, 06:59:21 PM
Was Micky Murphy from Galbally on the Sigerson Cup panel for UUJ?
Post by: zoyler on April 23, 2008, 08:55:02 PM
Well done UUJ especially after the way they were treated with a journey twice as long as the GARDA and in the middle of the exam season.  I was reminded of Armagh Camogie team playing Kilkenny at a neutral venue - Port Laoise!! And you wonder why we are paranoid!
Post by: laoisgaa on April 23, 2008, 09:00:19 PM
Actually that Camogie game was Armagh side Keady playing Laois team The Harps at Portlaoise in an All-Ireland Final!!
Post by: glenullinabu on April 24, 2008, 08:51:28 AM
lets hope this starts off another period of northern dominance ;D
Post by: orangeman on April 24, 2008, 10:26:16 AM
Quote from: glenullinabu on April 24, 2008, 08:51:28 AM
lets hope this starts off another period of northern dominance ;D

After Sunday in Parnell Park, we might be on our way alright to a further period of dominance and long may it last.
Post by: heffo on April 24, 2008, 10:45:59 AM
Quote from: passedit on April 23, 2008, 02:29:49 PM
Heffo

Surely if the suspension exceeds a certain timeframe* then it applies to all gaa activities?

*Not sure how long.

No, since January 2007 (I'm open to correction on this) all suspensions are for level and code - so if you are sent off on a straight red at club or Sigerson, then you are free to play inter-county and visa versa.

if they got two yellows, then it's depends whether they've been sent off in the previous 48 weeks etc....
Post by: groundlie on April 28, 2008, 03:32:48 PM
fair play to jtown best team in the comp all year
Post by: tyrone86 on April 28, 2008, 03:42:08 PM
Quote from: passedit on April 23, 2008, 02:29:49 PM
Heffo

*Not sure how long.

It works by categories. Basically, if you're sent off for a Category I, Category II or Category III offense the suspension only applies to the level / grade the offense took place at. If it's Category IV or Category V then you're suspended from all GAA activities. Category IV and Category V are only applicable if you interfere with a match official verbally or physically. 
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 10, 2008, 08:02:16 PM
from the bbc...

Six UUJ men in Rising Stars side

Six of UUJ's Sigerson Cup winning squad have been named in the Ulster Bank Rising Stars varsity team of the year.

Down man Michael McAllister was picked as goalkeeper while the defence includes Monaghan county player Paul McGuigan and Donegal star Karl Lacey.

The forward line includes Tyrone's Raymond Mulgrew, Antrim player Paddy Cunningham and Derry's Mark Lynch.

The players from the football and hurling teams received their awards from GAA president Nickey Brennan.

The Ulster Bank Rising Stars are selected from the 5,000 registered players across 57 colleges and eight senior level competitions.

Garda College's march to their first final since 1999 didn?t go unnoticed by the Rising Stars judging panel as the Templemore College picked up five awards.

Meath's Cormac McGill and Darren Mullaghy of Galway were honoured in defence while Kerry's Aidan O'Mahony, Offaly's Rory Guinan and John O'Brien of Dublin also received award.

Tipperary footballer George Hannigan was the only player to be honoured from the Ulster Bank Trench Cup competition, after he was an influential force in Mary Immaculate College's victory in the second-tier championship.

2008 Ulster Bank Rising Stars - Football: Michael McAllister (UUJ and Down), Cormac McGill (Garda and Meath), Eoin Naughton (DIT and Kildare), Tom Cunniffe (GMIT and Mayo), Paul McGuigan (UUJ and Monaghan), Darren Mullaghy (Garda and Galway), Karl Lacey (UUJ and Donegal), Aidan O'Mahony (Garda and Kerry), George Hannigan (MICL and Tipperary), Paul Conroy (GMIT and Galway), Rory Guinan (Garda and Offaly), Raymond Mulgrewn (UUJ and Tyrone), John O'Brien (Garda and Dublin), Patrick Cunningham (UUJ and Antrim), Mark Lynch (UUJ and Derry).

Hurling team: Anthony Nash (UCC & Cork), Michael Walsh (Limerick IT & Cork), John Dalton (Waterford IT & Kilkenny), Shane O'Neill (UCC & Cork), Pat Hartley (Waterford IT & Kilkenny), Shane Maher (Limerick IT & Tipperary), Kevin Moran (Waterford IT & Waterford), Jonathan Clancy (Limerick IT & Clare), Wayne McNamara (Limerick IT & Limerick), TJ Reid (Waterford IT & Kilkenny), Cyril Donnellan (Limerick IT & Galway), Willie Hyland (Limerick IT & Laois), Eoin Reid (Waterford IT & Kilkenny), Joe Canning (Limerick IT & Galway), Ray McLoughney (Waterford IT & Tipperary)