GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Mike Sheehy on February 20, 2010, 05:57:09 AM

Title: Tyrone don't play fair
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 20, 2010, 05:57:09 AM
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=124228

The latest NFL Fair Play Index sees Limerick's impressive disciplinary record maintained, while the CCCC's bans on Tyrone have dropped Mickey Harte's men to the foot of the table.
Limerick picked up three yellow cards in their win over Carlow but having a perfect record from their opening game against London means they maintain their position at the top.

Monaghan, who were joint top last week have dropped into the bottom half on foot of eight yellow cars picked up against Galway.

Tyrone, mid-table after four yellows in round one, have dropped to the bottom to the pile after three of those yellows were changed to red by the CCCC and Joe McMahon received a straight red in the loss to Mayo last Sunday.

Further proof that Mickey Harte and his evil dwarves are intent on ruining our great game with their thuggery.
Title: Re: Tyrone don't play fair
Post by: Zapatista on February 20, 2010, 07:53:40 AM
Quote from: Mike Sheehy on February 20, 2010, 05:57:09 AM

The latest NFL Fair Play Index sees Limerick's impressive disciplinary record maintained, while the CCCC's bans on Tyrone have dropped Mickey Harte's men to the foot of the table.
Limerick picked up three yellow cards in their win over Carlow but having a perfect record from their opening game against London means they maintain their position at the top.

Monaghan, who were joint top last week have dropped into the bottom half on foot of eight yellow cars picked up against Galway.

Tyrone, mid-table after four yellows in round one, have dropped to the bottom to the pile after three of those yellows were changed to red by the CCCC and Joe McMahon received a straight red in the loss to Mayo last Sunday.

Further proof that Mickey Harte and his evil dwarves are intent on ruining our great game with their thuggery.

Seems conclusive alright. It's a terrible terrible shame.

BTW I think the tiltle of the thread is brilliant :D What Tyrone do is sooo not fair

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_cD6A1FRcnXY/SX0F8FN5pKI/AAAAAAAAAlg/y0-V5Zox258/s400/its+not+fair.jpg)
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 20, 2010, 08:32:33 AM
Is that Mickey Harte in that picture Zap?

I can't believe a Tyrone poster doesnt see the irony in slagging someone else over it not being fair. Yous have been crying for the last week!
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 20, 2010, 09:23:13 AM

:D :D :D :D
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 20, 2010, 09:45:02 AM
I think its a serious topic, worthy of disussion. Why are Tyronemen so aniti-football ? A player like Darragh O'Se would never prosper north of the border. Why is this ?
Post by: Club Rossa on February 20, 2010, 09:46:28 AM
The reason Darragh O'Se wouldn't prosper up here is obvious.Sure look how poorly the kerry boys have done against the evil dwarves in recent years,they just can't cope with us ;)
Post by: Zapatista on February 20, 2010, 09:48:04 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 20, 2010, 08:32:33 AM
Is that Mickey Harte in that picture Zap?

I can't believe a Tyrone poster doesnt see the irony in slagging someone else over it not being fair. Yous have been crying for the last week!

Yes Pints, it's Mickey Harte.

I don't think that's ironic. Hypocritical but not ironic.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 20, 2010, 09:57:48 AM
Cos Dara wouldn't be good enough;-). Ye lot had him and yis still couldn't beat Tyrone. Sh1t did I just remind you of that? Sorry Mike. I know you are still traumatised. Cheer up though, yis did beat us in the championship before though. Twenty four years ago.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 20, 2010, 11:00:28 AM
I don't understand why people think Dara wouldn't be good enough to play for Tyrone.

As a Mayoman if we where to be have a choice between Kerry and Dara, or Tyrone in the Championship, I think you can all agree what the easy choice would be. Tyrone strikes absolutely no fear into us, in fact we often expect to win, now Kerry!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Post by: Nally Stand on February 20, 2010, 11:23:34 AM
You're a unique fella then. Most people don't have any expectations of Mayo.:-P
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 20, 2010, 12:35:30 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on February 20, 2010, 11:23:34 AM
You're a unique fella then. Most people don't have any expectations of Mayo.:-P

Well 3 of the last 4 times we met Tyrone in the League and 2 of the last 3 times we have met Tyrone in the Championship we have won, now compare that to Mayo V Kerry in the League its close enough but in the Championship its something like 5-1 to Kerry since 1996.
Post by: Zapatista on February 20, 2010, 12:47:27 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 20, 2010, 11:00:28 AM

As a Mayoman if we where to be have a choice between Kerry and Dara, or Tyrone in the Championship, I think you can all agree what the easy choice would be. Tyrone strikes absolutely no fear into us, in fact we often expect to win, now Kerry!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What result do ye get if you apply that theory to Kerry fearing Tyrone or Mayo? Not that it matters i'm only making the point that you don't have a point.
Post by: sandwiches_in_the_boot on February 20, 2010, 12:56:33 PM
FFS how meaningless is a table after two games? Have any of you actually looked at it.

I'm curious. Justy, Gormley and Penrose all had their yellows upgraded to reds. The reds count on the table as 2 yellows. So can anyone remind me who got the other 4 yellows over the 2 games.

From what I can make out, if Setanta hadn't covered the game, Tyrone would be equal to Mayo on the table with 7 yellows and 1 red.

Lies, damned lies and statistics.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 20, 2010, 12:58:58 PM
Mayo, you might want to do a re check on the figures. Mayo have two two not three of their last four league games with Tyrone. (2007 & 2010. Tyrone won in '08 and drew in '09). Anyway I take you point apart from that. In the same way, we expect to beat Kerry when we meet them. Just ask Mike.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on February 20, 2010, 01:07:41 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on February 20, 2010, 12:58:58 PM
You might want to do a re check on the figures. Mayo have zoo two not three of their last four league games with Tyrone. (2007 & 2010. Tyrone won in '08 and drew in '09). Anyway I take you point apart from that. In the same way, we expect to beat Kerry when we meet them. Just ask Mike.

Yes your right, I was thinking just of Healy Park meetings, so it 3 wins out of 4 in Healy Park in recent years and I can't remember what it is in McHale, is it 1 win, 1 draw and 1 loss (may be wrong)

Different teams don't like playing certain teams, in Mayo we have no fear of Tyrone or Dublin, Laois when they where good wouldn't have scared us much either. Cork in recent years (while they are beginning to scare other counties) are becoming a regular win for Mayo, yet when they where getting beaten by everyone else, they always beat us. Kerry, Derry & Donegal are real bogey teams for us. Galway is always (ok not so far this year  ;)  ) is always a challenge for us, even when teams from other provinces expected to beat them, yet in the 1998-2001/02 period we where probably less scared of them than other counties. For many a year we where very apprehensious of Roscommon (maybe not now) even when other counties did not rate them. Most Connacht counties will be wary of Leitrim especially up in Carrick, Meath & Donegal know what we mean now.
Post by: Nally Stand on February 20, 2010, 01:18:51 PM
I know what you mean. Statistics aside, I tend to like if we can avoid Down in the championship, and always be wary when we're against Derry and Mayo in the league.
Post by: trileacman on February 20, 2010, 02:00:42 PM

I'd say he's worried.  ::)
Post by: ziggysego on February 20, 2010, 02:59:34 PM

I ain't evil ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on February 20, 2010, 05:24:04 PM
I'm from Mayo and I only really fear Meath and Kerry.
Post by: eiled in the bushes on February 20, 2010, 05:25:38 PM
Quote from: Nally Stand on February 20, 2010, 01:18:51 PM
I know what you mean. Statistics aside, I tend to like if we can avoid Down in the championship, and always be wary when we're against Derry and Mayo in the league.
we love playing tyrone.always sure of an exciting match
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on February 20, 2010, 05:27:51 PM
Well played lads,
No-one bit on Sheedy's bit of fishing.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 20, 2010, 05:42:38 PM
What's the point. Sure if Kerry were subject to the same disciplinary system as Tyrone they would be joint bottom of the league with Tyrone after last weekend. It's pointless comparing two teams when one is subject to a system were video evidence is used to discipline players whille the other team is not.
Post by: eiled in the bushes on February 20, 2010, 05:55:40 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 20, 2010, 05:42:38 PM
What's the point. Sure if Kerry were subject to the same disciplinary system as Tyrone they would be joint bottom of the league with Tyrone after last weekend. It's pointless comparing two teams when one is subject to a system were video evidence is used to discipline players while the other team is not.
are you taking lessons from mickey harte,talented manager but biggest whinger ever.what about tyrone players who have had suspensions overturned by their high class legal teams when they were guilty as hell
Post by: boojangles on February 20, 2010, 06:30:12 PM
Mickey Harte will always back his players no matter what goes on behind the scenes.Thats why he gets so much out of them.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 20, 2010, 07:05:53 PM
Quote from: eiled in the bushes on February 20, 2010, 05:55:40 PM
What's the point. Sure if Kerry were subject to the same disciplinary system as Tyrone they would be joint bottom of the league with Tyrone after last weekend. It's pointless comparing two teams when one is subject to a system were video evidence is used to discipline players while the other team is not.
are you taking lessons from mickey harte,talented manager but biggest whinger ever.what about tyrone players who have had suspensions overturned by their high class legal teams when they were guilty as hell

Maybe he has something to whinge about? The only time Tyrone have challenged decisions is when selective video evidence is used. If someone can explain why the Cork Kerry boys who threw punches last week got off and Justy McMahon got done for the same offence then maybe we'll stop whinging. It was the same last year.
Post by: longrunsthefox on February 20, 2010, 09:40:53 PM

aye- right enough, Tyrone are really envious of the Limerick football team  ::)
Post by: Zapatista on February 20, 2010, 10:33:38 PM
Is it telling that the opening poster doesn't mention the good record of his neighbours in Limerick but instead picks out the most negative story that can be taken from the table? Maybe I'm just paranoid?
Post by: Lar Naparka on February 20, 2010, 11:43:50 PM
I think the Fair Play Index is meaningless and will remain so until all counties are subject to the same degree of scrutiny. I am not saying that Tyrone red cards aren't merited. When all is said and done, Tyrone's opponents in these games were also on trial by video. Between them, they don't come near Tyrone's tally.
Maybe Cork and Kerry would be down there beside Tyrone on this index if their game was looked at by the CCCC.
Post by: mylestheslasher on February 21, 2010, 10:04:37 AM
How about a table of red and yellow cards associated with referees, that would be worth seeing.
Post by: Hardy on February 21, 2010, 11:22:06 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 20, 2010, 07:05:53 PMIf someone can explain ...  maybe we'll stop whinging.

Ah I don't think so.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 11:55:05 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 20, 2010, 07:05:53 PM

Maybe he has something to whinge about? The only time Tyrone have challenged decisions is when selective video evidence is used. If someone can explain why the Cork Kerry boys who threw punches last week got off and Justy McMahon got done for the same offence then maybe we'll stop whinging. It was the same last year.
Because no one likes yous, yous have got away with diving and cheating for years. 

Here's a thought, why don't your players stop acting like knackers? Then they wouldn't be suspended.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 21, 2010, 12:52:14 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 11:55:05 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 20, 2010, 07:05:53 PM

Because no one likes yous, yous have got away with diving and cheating for years. 

Here's a thought, why don't your players stop acting like knackers? Then they wouldn't be suspended.

Were did I argue about whether the players deserved to be suspended? My point is purely about Tyrone being subject to selective video evidence that isn't applied accross the board. 3 players in the Cork Kerry game carried out an identical offence to McMahon and there wasn't a word about it.

The rest of your post was nonsense. You lads in Armagh only see what you's want in games. As pointed out last week you's have wiped Francie Bellews dive in the 04 ulster semi from your memories. What about his challenge on Mickey Linden. What about McGrane's elbow on Jordan in the 05 ulster final. McKeever's dive's etc - the list is endless.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 01:09:39 PM
(http://ladiesdotdotdot.files.wordpress.com/2009/08/dawson-crying.jpg)

Francie got an arm in the face against Cavan, get someone to give you an arm in the face and we'll see you're reaction. He was only guilty of going for the ball against Linden.  Tyrone brought diving into our games, lying down every five minutes, pathetic. I never seen McKeever dive and I'm certain he didn't get anyone sent off in an All Ireland Final.
I don't remember what McGrane done but if he did hit Jordan an elbow he didn't hit him hard enough.- I do remember yon dirty thug going down on his knees on McEntees throat though. 
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 21, 2010, 01:39:42 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 01:09:39 PM

Francie got an arm in the face against Cavan, get someone to give you an arm in the face and we'll see you're reaction. He was only guilty of going for the ball against Linden.  Tyrone brought diving into our games, lying down every five minutes, pathetic. I never seen McKeever dive and I'm certain he didn't get anyone sent off in an All Ireland Final.
I don't remember what McGrane done but if he did hit Jordan an elbow he didn't hit him hard enough.- I do remember yon dirty thug going down on his knees on McEntees throat though.

There's no point in having an arguement with someone who can rewrite history. The player's arm was about an inch from his face.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 01:43:08 PM
Course it was.
No comment on Tyrone's diving for the last ten years? Dooher, Canavan, wing mirror Cavanagh, Jordan etc etc?  Any comment on Canavan's dive in the Ulster final against Down, was it in 03? and the penalty that really was the winning of the game for Tyrone?
And now, when yous are caught acting the knackers and punished yous are crying. 
Post by: Tyrones own on February 21, 2010, 02:45:26 PM
I find it difficult to get my mind around an Armagh man bringing up Diving again... yet no mention
anywhere of Twinkle toes O'Rourke to be found.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 02:49:35 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on February 21, 2010, 02:45:26 PM
I find it difficult to get my mind around an Armagh man bringing up Diving again... yet no mention
anywhere of Twinkle toes O'Rourke to be found.
This is a thread on tyrone fair play, start another one if you want to talk about Armagh.  No comments on tyrone's cheating down through the years then?
Post by: Tyrones own on February 21, 2010, 02:59:59 PM
Diving is diving Pints regardless of who it is doing it or who's thread it's on!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 03:07:31 PM
Quote from: Tyrones own on February 21, 2010, 02:59:59 PM
Diving is diving Pints regardless of who it is doing it or who's thread it's on!
and I think any diver is a cheating bollocks no matter who they're playing for.

Do you feel the same TO?
I'm still waiting on Tyrone Dreamer's comments.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 21, 2010, 03:20:29 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 01:43:08 PM
Course it was.
No comment on Tyrone's diving for the last ten years? Dooher, Canavan, wing mirror Cavanagh, Jordan etc etc?  Any comment on Canavan's dive in the Ulster final against Down, was it in 03? and the penalty that really was the winning of the game for Tyrone?

There's no doubt at times over the years Tyrone players have went down easily and won free's. There's no doubt though that players from every county including Armagh have done the same. My point was you can't be taking the moral high ground when your county have commited similar offences.

All we want in terms of video evidence is consistency and can't understand why things from Tyrone game's are subject to retrospective punishment while other counties are being ignored.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 03:27:37 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 21, 2010, 03:20:29 PM
Course it was.

There's no doubt at times over the years Tyrone players have went down easily and won free's. There's no doubt though that players from every county including Armagh have done the same. My point was you can't be taking the moral high ground when your county have commited similar offences.

All we want in terms of video evidence is consistency and can't understand why things from Tyrone game's are subject to retrospective punishment while other counties are being ignored.
There's only one county that has used diving and lying down as a tactic and game plan and that's Tyrone. 
I'm saying anyone who dives is a cheating bollocks, that thats for all counties, inc my own.  You're the one crying about suspensions and crying that every county dives. Do you support Tyrone's tactic of diving and lying down?  Are you happy for them to cheat?

Do you not think it would be an idea for your players to stop throwing dirty digs and then they wouldn't be suspended? Then yous could concentrate on the football and if you're worried about saint Mickey I'm sure he'll find something else to cry to the media about  ::)
I'd be furious if Armagh were going on the same way.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 21, 2010, 03:54:44 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 03:27:37 PM
Course it was.

There's only one county that has used diving and lying down as a tactic and game plan and that's Tyrone. 
I'm saying anyone who dives is a cheating bollocks, that thats for all counties, inc my own.  You're the one crying about suspensions and crying that every county dives. Do you support Tyrone's tactic of diving and lying down?  Are you happy for them to cheat?

Do you not think it would be an idea for your players to stop throwing dirty digs and then they wouldn't be suspended? Then yous could concentrate on the football and if you're worried about saint Mickey I'm sure he'll find something else to cry to the media about  ::)

I'm not even responding to that load of crap.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 03:58:12 PM
You're not going to answer a couple of simple questions?  Speaks volumes.
Maybe you and your fellow county mates would do us all a favour and stop crying when your players are caught cheating or acting like knackers.
Post by: oakleafgael on February 21, 2010, 04:01:30 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 03:27:37 PM
Course it was.

POG,

If you really believe that then your living in a little world of your own. Every county in the country has their quota of divers, I have yet to hear of a county manager telling them to cut it out.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 04:10:52 PM
Well like myself I'm sure you're not privy to what county managers tell their players.  Most teams may have a diver or two but none have as many as Tyrone and it was them that were primarily responsible for bringing in to the game.  The widespread nature of within that team leads me to believe that it was a tactic/game plan. I never remember Canavan or Dooher diving before they played under Mickey Harte. 

Post by: oakleafgael on February 21, 2010, 04:16:17 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 04:10:52 PM
Well like myself I'm sure you're not privy to what county managers tell their players.  Most teams may have a diver or two but none have as many as Tyrone and it was them that were primarily responsible for bringing in to the game.  The widespread nature of within that team leads me to believe that it was a tactic/game plan. I never remember Canavan or Dooher diving before they played under Mickey Harte.

POG,

There has been diving in the game ever since I have played it, very badly, and followed it over the last 30 years. You mustnt have seen much of either Dooher or Canavan in the 90's then if you thing its only under Harte that they had trouble staying on there feet. There really only three of the current Tyrone team who are regular divers, I can count as many in the Armagh team and more in the Derry team.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 04:22:30 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on February 21, 2010, 04:16:17 PM

POG,

There has been diving in the game ever since I have played it, very badly, and followed it over the last 30 years. You mustnt have seen much of either Dooher or Canavan in the 90's then if you thing its only under Harte that they had trouble staying on there feet. There really only three of the current Tyrone team who are regular divers, I can count as many in the Armagh team and more in the Derry team.
There will always be the odd players diving, never to extent there was in one team. 
I've seen plenty of Dooher and Canavan and neither dived to the extent they were under Harte.  There's a lot more than 3 in the Tyrone team diving, nearly them all were at it. 
Could you name the "divers" in the Armagh and Derry teams?
Post by: oakleafgael on February 21, 2010, 04:40:59 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 04:22:30 PM
POG,
There will always be the odd players diving, never to extent there was in one team. 
I've seen plenty of Dooher and Canavan and neither dived to the extent they were under Harte.  There's a lot more than 3 in the Tyrone team diving, nearly them all were at it. 

POG,

On the Derry team Eoin Bradley is while for it, would be twice the player without it. His brother does it on occasion as well. McKaigue and Diver both where at it last year against Monaghan. Hinphey who is now back on the panel let himself down a bagful against Tyrone a couple of years ago when he went down as if he had been shot when Hughes hit him a dig in the ribs.

On the Armagh team McDonnell is fond of it, pulls the man in on top of himself. O'Rourke is a serial offender, his big brother must have taught him well.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on February 21, 2010, 05:00:03 PM
Pints, you have truely cemented your place as the biggest p***k on this board. Your embarassing yourself. Even a Derry man had to come on and take you down a peg or 2.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 06:50:32 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on February 21, 2010, 04:40:59 PM
POG,

POG,

On the Derry team Eoin Bradley is while for it, would be twice the player without it. His brother does it on occasion as well. McKaigue and Diver both where at it last year against Monaghan. Hinphey who is now back on the panel let himself down a bagful against Tyrone a couple of years ago when he went down as if he had been shot when Hughes hit him a dig in the ribs.

On the Armagh team McDonnell is fond of it, pulls the man in on top of himself. O'Rourke is a serial offender, his big brother must have taught him well.
So you've came up with one player on each team who'd do it on a regularly, as I say, there will always be players who dive. There's only one team where it seems to be part of the gameplan.

Quote from: Archie Mitchell on February 21, 2010, 05:00:03 PM
Pints, you have truely cemented your place as the biggest p***k on this board. Your embarassing yourself. Even a Derry man had to come on and take you down a peg or 2.
Post by: blewuporstuffed on February 21, 2010, 07:03:22 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 06:50:32 PM
Quote from: oakleafgael on February 21, 2010, 04:40:59 PM
POG,

POG,

So you've came up with one player on each team who'd do it on a regularly, as I say, there will always be players who dive. There's only one team where it seems to be part of the gameplan.

Quote from: Archie Mitchell on February 21, 2010, 05:00:03 PM
pints have you let mik sheehy log on under your name?
thats the sort of anti tyrone rubbish i thought only he was capable of!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 07:07:56 PM
It's not anti tyrone, it's anti diving/cheating/acting like a crying woman.
Post by: eiled in the bushes on February 21, 2010, 07:23:46 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 07:07:56 PM
not often i would agree with an armagh man but good on you.canavan in 03 final was a disgrace
Post by: Gaffer on February 21, 2010, 07:27:42 PM
Quote from: eiled in the bushes on February 21, 2010, 07:23:46 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 21, 2010, 07:07:56 PM
not often i would agree with an armagh man but good on you.canavan in 03 final was a disgrace

Hold on , he was brillant v Down in the 03  Final.

What a penalty !!!!!
Post by: under the bar on February 21, 2010, 07:54:34 PM
QuoteIt's not anti tyrone, it's anti diving/cheating/acting like a crying woman.

Yep. Making a fool out of the defending AI champions defence was not on.  Imagine being upstaged by a man with only one leg?
Post by: cadhlancian on February 21, 2010, 08:35:42 PM
POG,
How strangely weird that you can remember much of another counties incidents over the years, yet can remember a MAJOR talking point from one of his own counties more recent major finals ( namely Paul McGranes elbow)..........how strange ::)
Post by: nrico2006 on February 22, 2010, 08:50:55 AM
QuoteCourse it was.
No comment on Tyrone's diving for the last ten years? Dooher, Canavan, wing mirror Cavanagh, Jordan etc etc? Any comment on Canavan's dive in the Ulster final against Down, was it in 03? and the penalty that really was the winning of the game for Tyrone?

Was the penalty not part of the comeback in the drawn game?
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 09:04:20 AM
Yeah it was a major part of the comeback if I remember rightly
Post by: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 10:14:57 AM
I'd be the first to admit that the odd Tyrone man has been known to throw himself to the ground, but it's nowhere near an epidemic as Pints is making out and it certainly is not a disease exclusivity to Tyrone. Yes Pints, you're say you're anti-diving - not anti-Tyrone, but all your references have been about Tyrone.

Armagh have been well documented in the diving, but I wouldn't say it was part of the gameplan. No more than Derry, Kerry, Dublin or the rest of the counties.
Post by: Final Whistle on February 22, 2010, 10:29:57 AM

Pints, your just like FOX-spend all your sad existance on this board-open the curtains, let the sunshine in you sad f*cker. In your corrupt mind it was Jordan who put the knees into mcentee???? Research, correct your post and come back to us.
Post by: Master Yoda on February 22, 2010, 10:55:24 AM
Football used to be a manly game where even if you where hurt you wouldn't lye down and let the other boy know that he had hurt you at least thats the way I was brought up to play the game.

The amount of diving that is going on in football these days is unbelievable and as has already been posted all counties have boys at it but anyone who is trying to suggest that Tyrone is not the worst for it or that they didn't play a very big part in bringing in to the GAA in totally nuts.

Take the blinkers off Tyrone fans some of your boys put soccer players to shame.
Post by: Bensars on February 22, 2010, 10:59:39 AM
This whole thread is laughable.

Do some of you morans really believe that simulation is only a new thing to gaelic football ?

Players have for years been getting free kicks and conning referrees. Some of the best forwards in the country had it down to a fine art. Some of you would need to take a look closer to home before attemting to throw stones.
Post by: mackers on February 22, 2010, 11:07:29 AM
Yes every county has them, as an Armagh poster, some of what MOR does on a football field is embarassing and Paddy McKeever was prone to it as well but oakleafgael I'm struggling to remember any instances of Stevie McDonnell diving.
POG has also admitted to a couple of offenders, ye Tryone men just keep denying the problem exists within your county team, it's as if it's acceptable behaviour. The "other counties do it" isn't a great defence.
Post by: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 11:10:32 AM
Quote from: mackers on February 22, 2010, 11:07:29 AM
The "other counties do it" isn't a great defence.

It is when the core of the thread is that it is soley a Tyrone problem.
Post by: Zapatista on February 22, 2010, 11:22:26 AM
All Tyrone diving have gained us 3 All Irelands sinse we invented it in 03. I'm in favour of it ;D
Post by: Master Yoda on February 22, 2010, 11:24:17 AM
Quote from: Bensars on February 22, 2010, 10:59:39 AM
This whole thread is laughable.

Do some of you morans really believe that simulation is only a new thing to gaelic football ?

Players have for years been getting free kicks and conning referrees. Some of the best forwards in the country had it down to a fine art. Some of you would need to take a look closer to home before attemting to throw stones.

There has always been an element of buying a free kick but I definitely don't remember men lying down like they where hit with a sledge hammer to get someone sent off, especially when it shows on TV that he actually wasn't touched at all and you are right Bensars all you have to do is go and watch a club under 12 match and you see it and the reason for that is children copy what they see and when they watch county football they see players cheating especially Tyrone.
Post by: Master Yoda on February 22, 2010, 11:27:01 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 22, 2010, 11:22:26 AM
All Tyrone diving have gained us 3 All Irelands sinse we invented it in 03. I'm in favour of it ;D

Fair play to you Zapatista at least your honest, but I think Tyrone where a good enough team to win their All-Irelands anyway without having to resort to diving.
Post by: mackers on February 22, 2010, 11:31:45 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 11:10:32 AM

Nobody is suggesting that it is solely a Tyrone problem, a lot of people are suggesting that Tyrone are the worst offenders though.
Post by: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 11:38:29 AM
Quote from: mackers on February 22, 2010, 11:31:45 AM

Nobody is suggesting that it is solely a Tyrone problem, a lot of people are suggesting that Tyrone are the worst offenders though.

I would strongly disagree with that.
Post by: Zapatista on February 22, 2010, 11:39:06 AM
Quote from: Master Yoda on February 22, 2010, 11:27:01 AM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 22, 2010, 11:22:26 AM

Fair play to you Zapatista at least your honest, but I think Tyrone where a good enough team to win their All-Irelands anyway without having to resort to diving.

Yeah but why take the chance. I say dive like feck and win all irelands.
Post by: mackers on February 22, 2010, 12:09:36 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 11:38:29 AM

OK, as one of the decent Tyrone posters, at least admit that Tyrone DO dive and that it is cheating and it should stop?
Post by: Olly on February 22, 2010, 12:13:39 PM
There is a Diver on the Donegal team and a Diver on the Derry team. Hehe.

And Peter Can-a-Van - can a van what? Can it drive?

And Brian Doo-Her - do her in or what?

There is lots of fun to be had with names. Mortimer is More Tim? er...
Post by: Zapatista on February 22, 2010, 12:16:28 PM
Quote from: mackers on February 22, 2010, 12:09:36 PM
OK, as one of the decent Tyrone posters, at least admit that Tyrone DO dive and that it is cheating and it should stop?

Am I not good enough or something? >:( >:(

I disagree that it should stop as it might cost us future All Irelands. We need to keep doing what we do best.
Post by: Zapatista on February 22, 2010, 12:18:47 PM
Quote from: Olly on February 22, 2010, 12:13:39 PM
There is a Diver on the Donegal team and a Diver on the Derry team. Hehe.

And Peter Can-a-Van - can a van what? Can it drive?

And Brian Doo-Her - do her in or what?

There is lots of fun to be had with names. Mortimer is More Tim? er...

Whelan and dealin', it's funny cuz he's a garda :D
Post by: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 12:22:31 PM
Quote from: mackers on February 22, 2010, 12:09:36 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 11:38:29 AM

No problem admitting certain players throw themselves to the ground and personally I dislike it. But every team has them. Is that a defensable excuse? No, but i just say that to highlight the fact that every team has them, so shouldn't be used as a stick to beat Tyrone with.

And for the record, I don't believe it's a tactic that Mickey Harte uses.
Post by: Zapatista on February 22, 2010, 12:32:12 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 12:22:31 PM
No problem admitting certain players throw themselves to the ground and personally I dislike it. But every team has them. Is that a defensable excuse? No, but i just say that to highlight the fact that every team has them, so shouldn't be used as a stick to beat Tyrone with.

THen how do you explain all tyrones success?
Post by: AZOffaly on February 22, 2010, 12:57:39 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 22, 2010, 12:32:12 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 12:22:31 PM

THen how do you explain all tyrones success?

I think the lads are on about fellas simulating injury to get an opponent sent off or booked. That's fairly low in my opinion. Diving to win frees is a less serious version of this, but not nice either. My personal bugbear is the guy holding the defenders hand and pulling him down on top of you to win a free. I hate that.

Aidan O'Mahoney's dive against Cork that year was an example of the former. Any of Micko's teams are fine practitioners of the latter.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 01:37:27 PM
Quote from: Final Whistle on February 22, 2010, 10:29:57 AM

Pints, your just like FOX-spend all your sad existance on this board-open the curtains, let the sunshine in you sad f*cker. In your corrupt mind it was Jordan who put the knees into mcentee???? Research, correct your post and come back to us.
I didnt say it was Jordan, it was mcmenamin. 
Post by: trileacman on February 22, 2010, 04:09:59 PM
The problem here is the applications (for reasons I can't quite understand) of the rules at intercounty level. It's clear to watch any of the intercounty club championships that alot more is let pass and free's are harder won. It's a harder game IMHO. At intercounty its alot easier to win or manufacture free's, a change that certain players exploit (including a number of Tyronemen). If the policing of frees and application of the rules were properly and consistently implemented we'd have alot less of this shite. A good ref knows a fair tackle and a cheap one.

The only other thing is that if we can retrospectively punish the likes of Paul Galvin and McMahon then why can't we do the same with Aidan O Mahoney, Phillip Jordan and Rory Kavanagh. That's something that really gets my goat. The "simulation" of injury to get men sent off will only get worse unless they are retrospectively punished. A four week ban would cut this out of televised championship football in no time. It would hardly be a contentious issue either as any incident of this nature is nearly always black and white (thinking Jordan, Kavanagh and O mahoney in paticular)
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 22, 2010, 09:04:17 PM
It's actually quite funny that in a week when a Mayo player committed one of the worst dives in recent years that Tyrone are getting abuse for diving based on a few Armagh fans still yapping on about a couple of decisions from 2003. Get over it. If that was a Tyrone player who committed the dive last week all the usual suspects would be on here calling the player a disgrace/tr**p etc and how Tyrone are full of divers etc.

Tyrone won the All Ireland in 2008 with probably the highest % of score's from play in a championship ever - if diving to win scoreable free's was part of Harte's game plan the players didn't implement it to welll!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 09:07:37 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 22, 2010, 09:04:17 PM
It's actually quite funny that in a week when a Mayo player committed one of the worst dives in recent years that Tyrone are getting abuse for diving based on a few Armagh fans still yapping on about a couple of decisions from 2003. Get over it. If that was a Tyrone player who committed the dive last week all the usual suspects would be on here calling the player a disgrace/tr**p etc and how Tyrone are full of divers etc.

Tyrone won the All Ireland in 2008 with probably the highest % of score's from play in a championship ever
- if diving to win scoreable free's was part of Harte's game plan the players didn't implement it to welll!

Stats?
Post by: Puckoon on February 22, 2010, 09:14:17 PM
There might not be any - but you'd be hard pushed to disagree with the point (even if the absoluteness of it being the highest ever, may be wrong).
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 09:18:07 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 22, 2010, 09:14:17 PM
There might not be any - but you'd be hard pushed to disagree with the point (even if the absoluteness of it being the highest ever, may be wrong).
I dont understand how anyone can make such a statement without having the stats available so I'm sure Tyrone Dreamer has them.
Post by: Never beat the deeler on February 22, 2010, 09:29:59 PM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on February 20, 2010, 11:43:50 PM
I think the Fair Play Index is meaningless and will remain so until all counties are subject to the same degree of scrutiny. I am not saying that Tyrone red cards aren't merited. When all is said and done, Tyrone's opponents in these games were also on trial by video. Between them, they don't come near Tyrone's tally.
Maybe Cork and Kerry would be down there beside Tyrone on this index if their game was looked at by the CCCC.

Before this thread turned into a Tyrone-Armagh slagging match, a very valid point was lost amongst the mire .

As usually happens on here, a sensible, well-balanced post gets ignored but if someone comes on with an outrageous view on anything it turns into 4 pages of pointless going around in circles
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 22, 2010, 10:08:18 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 09:07:37 PM

Tyrone won the All Ireland in 2008 with probably the highest % of score's from play in a championship ever
- if diving to win scoreable free's was part of Harte's game plan the players didn't implement it to welll!

Stats?

Obviously hard to back this up and that's why I said probably. Here's links to the match reports from the quater finals on:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0816/dublin_tyronetracker.html - tyrone dublin qtr final - tally of 23 with 1 free.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/0901/1220218691274.html - tyrone wexford semi final - tally of 23, 5 free's.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaa-championships/gaelic-football/tyrone-terriers--savage-kerry-1479642.html - tally of 18, 2 free's.

With just 12.5% of Tyrone's scores coming from free's from quarter final on its fair to say diving to win free's wasn't a big part of the game plan.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 10:15:32 PM
Probably nothing, you haven't a clue.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 22, 2010, 10:21:00 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 10:15:32 PM

Your the won coming on here saying Tyrone won their All Irelands by diving. The fact that in 2008 Tyrone scored more from play in every match from the Quarter Final on than their opponents scored in total in those games prove's that diving to win free's couldn't have been that big a part of the game plan. I'd say if you went back to 2005 a lot of Tyrone score's were also from play.
Post by: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 10:21:29 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 10:15:32 PM

Tyrone Dreamer gave you some good links there Pints. Prove him wrong if you're so sure.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 22, 2010, 10:23:25 PM
It doesn't matter if it was the highest anyway. The point I made in the last post prove's what nonsense Pints was talking anyway.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 10:25:36 PM
I didnt say Tyrone won their All Irelands from diving TD.

Ziggy if TD wants to make silly statements it's up for him to back them up. A couple of Tyrone's match reports doesn't demonstrate that "Tyrone won the All Ireland in 2008 with probably the highest % of score's from play in a championship ever".

Post by: saffron sam2 on February 22, 2010, 10:26:55 PM
f**k me. I really, really do despair.

This board has gone to f**k.
Post by: Tyrone Dreamer on February 22, 2010, 10:49:52 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 10:25:36 PM

Ziggy if TD wants to make silly statements it's up for him to back them up. A couple of Tyrone's match reports doesn't demonstrate that "Tyrone won the All Ireland in 2008 with probably the highest % of score's from play in a championship ever".

You said they used diving as a tactic/gameplan. This would surely result in lot's of score's coming from free's but in fact its quite the opposite. Are they only diving to win free's in non scroreable positions? - strange tactic if that's the case. In the last 5 years how many players from the opposition team have been sent off v Tyrone in a championship game as a result of a Tyrone dive? I think Harte needs to reconsider the game plan because it doesn't appear to be doing any good.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 10:53:08 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 22, 2010, 10:49:52 PM

You said they used diving as a tactic/gameplan. This would surely result in lot's of score's coming from free's but in fact its quite the opposite. Are they only diving to win free's in non scroreable positions? - strange tactic if that's the case. In the last 5 years how many players from the opposition team have been sent off v Tyrone in a championship game as a result of a Tyrone dive? I think Harte needs to reconsider the game plan because it doesn't appear to be doing any good.
Everyone on this board knows tyrone are divers, and it hasn't been just one or two instances in the last few years. Every time canavan or dooher were touched they went down holding their faces.  Every other county can admit they've divers, it only seems to be tyrone that have a problem admitting it.  At least you can discuss it without calling names unlike some of your county mates  ::)
Post by: Tyrones own on February 22, 2010, 11:03:47 PM
Fcuk Pint's...you and the auld lady must be twisting again, what else could
have you wound up this tight?
Post by: ziggysego on February 22, 2010, 11:04:19 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 10:53:08 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 22, 2010, 10:49:52 PM

Everyone on this board knows tyrone are divers, and it hasn't been just one or two instances in the last few years. Every time canavan or dooher were touched they went down holding their faces.  Every other county can admit they've divers, it only seems to be tyrone that have a problem admitting it.  At least you can discuss it without calling names unlike some of your county mates  ::)

Jesus Christ Pints, even Derry ones are disagreeing with you!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 11:07:33 PM
one derry person and so what?
Post by: Zapatista on February 22, 2010, 11:35:50 PM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 22, 2010, 10:23:25 PM
It doesn't matter if it was the highest anyway. The point I made in the last post prove's what nonsense Pints was talking anyway.

I have agreed with everything Tyrone are being accused of but there is little to no response to it ???

Maybe they don't want me to?
Post by: tyrone86 on February 23, 2010, 12:02:05 AM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 22, 2010, 10:26:55 PM

Indeed.

One wonders if another spate of bannings would be in order to restore some sanity.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2010, 12:02:53 AM
Quote from: tyrone86 on February 23, 2010, 12:02:05 AM

Indeed.

One wonders if another spate of bannings would be in order to restore some sanity.

Who do you want banned?  ::)
Post by: tyrone86 on February 23, 2010, 12:06:00 AM
Not you anyway.

Edit: Sorry, wrong thread. But still not you.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2010, 12:08:01 AM
Quote from: tyrone86 on February 23, 2010, 12:06:00 AM
Not you anyway.
Well that's a relief, for a minute there I thought you'd want anyone that didn't agree tyrone were the best team in the world, ever, to be banned. Then we'd know the board has gone to f**k ::)
Post by: ziggysego on February 23, 2010, 12:09:44 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2010, 12:08:01 AM
Not you anyway.
Well that's a relief, for a minute there I thought you'd want anyone that didn't agree tyrone were the best team in the world, ever, to be banned. Then we'd know the board has gone to f**k ::)

Ack you're an absolute clown Pints, but I wouldn't want to see you banned  :-*

Post by: tyrone86 on February 23, 2010, 12:11:16 AM
Not you anyway.

Post by: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2010, 12:13:45 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on February 23, 2010, 12:09:44 AM
Not you anyway.

Ack you're an absolute clown Pints, but I wouldn't want to see you banned  :-*

I think you should go back to using facebook if abstaining is putting you in this mood. 
Post by: ziggysego on February 23, 2010, 12:15:17 AM
huh?
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2010, 12:24:10 AM
Huh what? I've noticed ziggy has got grumpier since last wednesday
Post by: ziggysego on February 23, 2010, 12:25:45 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2010, 12:24:10 AM
Huh what? I've noticed ziggy has got grumpier since last wednesday

Actually in a good mood today Pints. Met a lovely girl at the weekend and went for a full body Swedish Massage this evening. ;D

Just getting off the fence for once ;)
Post by: usa07 on February 23, 2010, 01:55:52 AM
how much did you pay for the lady an the massage ziggy???
Post by: ziggysego on February 23, 2010, 02:05:01 AM
£20
Post by: Mike Sheehy on February 23, 2010, 03:37:55 AM
8 pages....wonderful  ;D

Post by: cadhlancian on February 23, 2010, 04:03:33 AM
Quote from: Tyrone Dreamer on February 22, 2010, 10:08:18 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 22, 2010, 09:07:37 PM

Stats?

Obviously hard to back this up and that's why I said probably. Here's links to the match reports from the quater finals on:

http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/0816/dublin_tyronetracker.html - tyrone dublin qtr final - tally of 23 with 1 free.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2008/0901/1220218691274.html - tyrone wexford semi final - tally of 23, 5 free's.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaa-championships/gaelic-football/tyrone-terriers--savage-kerry-1479642.html - tally of 18, 2 free's.

With just 12.5% of Tyrone's scores coming from free's from quarter final on its fair to say diving to win free's wasn't a big part of the game plan.
EXCELLENT WORK OLD CHUM ;D
Post by: Rois on February 23, 2010, 08:44:02 AM
Every time canavan or dooher were touched they went down holding their faces. 

stats?
Post by: Final Whistle on February 23, 2010, 09:02:06 AM
Armagh only won AN all ireland cos they McGenney did the dirty one of Gooch-FACT! No stats needed there pints.
Post by: supersarsfields on February 23, 2010, 09:05:04 AM
Quote from: Rois on February 23, 2010, 08:44:02 AM

stats?

Very good Rois!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2010, 09:07:47 AM

stats?
None, it's an opinion formed from viewing.
Post by: supersarsfields on February 23, 2010, 09:16:06 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2010, 09:07:47 AM

stats?

How come you Demanded stats of TD when he was voicing an opinion?
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2010, 09:26:33 AM
Quote from: supersarsfields on February 23, 2010, 09:16:06 AM

stats?

He wasn't voicing an opinion, he was trying to present nonsense as fact
Post by: supersarsfields on February 23, 2010, 09:34:53 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2010, 09:26:33 AM

stats?

Well it looks the other way about to me. You were spouting nonsense yet he was actually able to back his statement up with something ( Maybe not perfect links but pretty goods ones).
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 23, 2010, 10:04:59 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2010, 12:02:53 AM
Quote from: tyrone86 on February 23, 2010, 12:02:05 AM

Indeed.

Who do you want banned?  ::)

Mainly Tyrone Dreamer. I've never seen such ineptitude with the apostrophe.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 23, 2010, 12:20:37 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 23, 2010, 09:26:33 AM

stats?

And you think that claiming Dooher and Canavan went down holding their face EVERY time they got touched isn't nonsense? At least TD put "probably" infront of his statement and wasn't trying to pass it off as fact!
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 23, 2010, 12:29:34 PM
Whilst this thread was obviously started as a wind-up, I would like to make the following serious point.

As the Tyrone - Mayo league game neared its conclusion and the Tyrone player (can't remember who) was cynically pulled down around mid-field, closely followed by the Joe McMahon incident, I couldn't help but think that the blue-shirted O'Mahony had learned from Mickey Harte.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 23, 2010, 01:17:15 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 23, 2010, 12:29:34 PM
Whilst this thread was obviously started as a wind-up, I would like to make the following serious point.

As the Tyrone - Mayo league game neared its conclusion and the Tyrone player (can't remember who) was cynically pulled down around mid-field, closely followed by the Joe McMahon incident, I couldn't help but think that the blue-shirted O'Mahony had learned from Mickey Harte.

You may be correct - but i think it is pure nonsense to suggest (like some people are inferring on this thread) that this sort of cynical play started in 2003 when Mickey Harte took over the Tyrone job!

All counties have their fair share of people who bend the rules - Tyrone have just been in the public eye a bit more in recent years and been successful after years in the doldrums. So people immediately point the figure at cynicism for the reason for that success rather than admit that we actually have been blessed with some damn good footballers.
Post by: Zapatista on February 23, 2010, 01:19:03 PM

Ye don't give him much credit do you?
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 23, 2010, 01:42:07 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 23, 2010, 01:17:15 PM

You may be correct - but i think it is pure nonsense to suggest (like some people are inferring on this thread) that this sort of cynical play started in 2003 when Mickey Harte took over the Tyrone job!

All counties have their fair share of people who bend the rules - Tyrone have just been in the public eye a bit more in recent years and been successful after years in the doldrums. So people immediately point the figure at cynicism for the reason for that success rather than admit that we actually have been blessed with some damn good footballers.

In the main your post is correct, but IMHO Mickey Harte's Tyrone took cynicism to a new level, notwithstanding the fact that they have some of the finest footballers to have played the game in this or any other generation.
Post by: Zapatista on February 23, 2010, 01:45:37 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 23, 2010, 01:42:07 PM
In the main your post is correct, but IMHO Mickey Harte's Tyrone took cynicism to a new level, notwithstanding the fact that they have some of the finest footballers to have played the game in this or any other generation.

I think this is the genius of Harte. He knew he had some of the finest footballers to have played the game and thought, how do I make their game better? Others would have been happy with the finest footballers ever to play the game but not Mickey Hart, he wanted more, and by gurra he got it.
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 23, 2010, 01:48:06 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 23, 2010, 01:19:03 PM

Ye don't give him much credit do you?

Not sure what you mean.

Both incidents are ones which you wouldn't normally have associated with earlier Mayo teams (naivety maybe) and both are identical to multiple incidents I have seen in games involving Tyrone. It is clear from these incidents that O'Mahony has added an extra edge to Mayo's game. It is also fair to assume that when looking to improve, you look at the best and that's what I assume O'Mahony is doing.
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 23, 2010, 01:50:37 PM
Quote from: Zapatista on February 23, 2010, 01:45:37 PM

I think this is the genius of Harte. He knew he had some of the finest footballers to have played the game and thought, how do I make their game better? Others would have been happy with the finest footballers ever to play the game but not Mickey Hart, he wanted more, and by gurra he got it.

I would have said "How do I make them win things?" rather than "How do I make their game better?"
Post by: Zapatista on February 23, 2010, 01:51:59 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on February 23, 2010, 01:50:37 PM

I would have said "How do I make them win things?" rather than "How do I make their game better?"

Ah you've been asking the wrong questions ;)
Post by: saffron sam2 on February 24, 2010, 08:20:36 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 23, 2010, 10:28:00 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 23, 2010, 01:17:15 PM

Has Pádraic Joyce moved down the ladder?

Joyce has an individual approach. Tyrone's is an ethos.
Post by: under the bar on February 24, 2010, 09:58:21 PM
Better winning at 1 code than failing miserably at 2 then saffron sam?  ;)