Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 10:17:04 PM

Title: Question on cooking...
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 10:17:04 PM
If I make tomorrow's lunch now and put tomatoes on the sandwiches, will they be soggy tomorrow?
Title: Re: Question on cooking...
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 18, 2009, 10:18:51 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 10:17:04 PM
If I make tomorrow's lunch now and put tomatoes on the sandwiches, will they be soggy tomorrow?

Weird..
I just had the same discussion with my woman a few minutes ago...
They can be very soggy next day in my experience
Post by: Treasurer on January 18, 2009, 10:23:35 PM
Seeing as you said earlier that you wanted a woman who can cook, you shouldn't have any problems if tomatoes in a sandwich constitutes "cooking"
Post by: FermPundit on January 18, 2009, 10:24:55 PM
http://www.answerbag.com/articles/How-to-Prevent-Soggy-Sandwiches/dff01ae6-cf81-c6de-2649-23e0d0f3ef25 (http://www.answerbag.com/articles/How-to-Prevent-Soggy-Sandwiches/dff01ae6-cf81-c6de-2649-23e0d0f3ef25)
Just done a goggle search. Here's the answer to your question POG.
Post by: muppet on January 18, 2009, 10:25:20 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 10:17:04 PM

Not if you dont slice, dice or cut them.
Post by: comethekingdom on January 18, 2009, 10:25:39 PM
Put the tomatoes between a slice of cheese on one side and ham on the other - bobs ure uncle and marys your aunt! ( Years of practice btw.)
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 10:26:10 PM
Quote from: Treasurer on January 18, 2009, 10:23:35 PM
Seeing as you said earlier that you wanted a woman who can cook, you shouldn't have any problems if tomatoes in a sandwich constitutes "cooking"
Well the housemate doesnt know either treas and I dont want it to be like the time I made banana sandwiches for lunch.  

tip: don't make banana sandwiches the night before, the banana goes all black and slimy.  
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 10:30:10 PM
I'm only putting one slice of ham on the bread (Id put on two but I've to save 200 quid to get root canal done.) so I can't surround the tomato.

QuotePut your vegetables, such as lettuce and tomato, in a separate bag. Sandwiches become soggy when veggies sit on top of it for an extended period. Instead, add them right before eating the sandwich.
that remind me of the time I opened my plastic bag to take out my lunch and found that instead of my lunch box with sandwiches I'd lifted a box of lettuce out of the fridge that morning. 
Post by: FermPundit on January 18, 2009, 10:43:08 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 10:30:10 PM
I'm only putting one slice of ham on the bread (Id put on two but I've to save 200 quid to get root canal done.) so I can't surround the tomato.

QuotePut your vegetables, such as lettuce and tomato, in a separate bag. Sandwiches become soggy when veggies sit on top of it for an extended period. Instead, add them right before eating the sandwich.
that remind me of the time I opened my plastic bag to take out my lunch and found that instead of my lunch box with sandwiches I'd lifted a box of lettuce out of the fridge that morning. 

I've been known to take my housemate's lunch to work instead of my own. I just lift the first plastic bag I see when in a hurry.
Post by: muppet on January 18, 2009, 10:46:35 PM
Have you ever heard of canteen, sandwich bars, cafes, bistro or coffee shops in Norn Iron?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 18, 2009, 10:47:32 PM
How come there is no slagging in this thread?? I started one about my lunch one night and got dogs abuse!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 10:48:20 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 18, 2009, 10:46:35 PM
Have you ever heard of canteen, sandwich bars, cafes, bistro or coffee shops in Norn Iron?
Can't afford them things.  
and, as i say, I've to find 200 quid for a root canal!
Post by: FermPundit on January 18, 2009, 10:49:37 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 18, 2009, 10:46:35 PM

Yep, I have, but our workplace has no canteen and I don't work in the middle of the town. Anyway, in these days of the economic downturn, a packed lunch makes good financial sense!!
Post by: FermPundit on January 18, 2009, 10:51:23 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 18, 2009, 10:47:32 PM
How come there is no slagging in this thread?? I started one about my lunch one night and got dogs abuse!!

I must have missed that thread. What were you making for your lunch Nail?
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 18, 2009, 10:55:27 PM
Quote from: FermPundit on January 18, 2009, 10:51:23 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on January 18, 2009, 10:47:32 PM

I must have missed that thread. What were you making for your lunch Nail?

Chicken tikka sandwiches.

I was looking to know the rules on making chicken and heating it etc as I know that you aren't alllowed to do something... Suddenly everyone turned on me, main instigator... you guessed it, Pints!
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 10:56:46 PM
Hey I was the one helped you!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 18, 2009, 10:58:39 PM
After some ridiculing.... I dunno I cant really remember, I just think you were the main one!!

edit to say I think you did help, but there was a fair amount of slagging

as for this thread I think bring a tomato in and a knife, cut it up as you eat the sandwich
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 18, 2009, 10:59:19 PM
Pints, you were gracious enough to help me with my computer problems earlier, so i will try to reciprocate..

Firstly, why are you making your own lunch?  I thought you were married.

If you have to have tomatoes in yer sandwiches, I advise you to slice them and wrap them in tin foil / cling film, and add them to yer sandwiches at lunch time.  This will ensure that you get your tomato fix and your sandwiches remain crisp and dry.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 11:00:37 PM
QuoteFirstly, why are you making your own lunch?  I thought you were married.
Well I'm not married but herself usually does it but she's mad with me, says I've to make my own.

QuoteIf you have to have tomatoes in yer sandwiches, I advise you to slice them and wrap them in tin foil / cling film, and add them to yer sandwiches at lunch time.
That's waht I'm thinking.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 18, 2009, 11:01:54 PM
Living in sin?  You'll burn in hell.   :D

Starve her off money come Friday, that will sort her out.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 11:14:39 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on January 18, 2009, 11:01:54 PM
Living in sin?  You'll burn in hell.   :D

Starve her off money come Friday, that will sort her out.
I am in hell, this morning she was making a fry, it was a half hour before she realised the cooker wasnt switched on and now she wont make my lunch.

I dont know how I put up with it or what I'm paying her for.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 18, 2009, 11:17:14 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 11:14:39 PM

I am in hell, this morning she was making a fry, it was a half hour before she realised the cooker wasnt switched on and now she wont make my lunch.

So how is this your fault?  Jeez man, i feel for you.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 11:18:04 PM
I know.  The things I put up with.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 18, 2009, 11:22:13 PM
Start questioning that relationship pints, unless you feel you can't do better.   :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 11:31:25 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on January 18, 2009, 11:22:13 PM
Start questioning that relationship pints, unless you feel you can't do better.   :D
I think I'd have to lose a few pound before I can question anything, dunno how much longer I can put up with sleeping on the couch though. 

Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 18, 2009, 11:32:49 PM
Depends.  Sofa Bed?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 18, 2009, 11:33:15 PM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on January 18, 2009, 11:32:49 PM
Depends.  Sofa Bed?
Two seater.
Post by: DoYerJob Linesman on January 18, 2009, 11:34:00 PM
Get rid man.
Post by: SidelineKick on January 19, 2009, 09:03:08 AM
Quote from: DoYerJob Linesman on January 18, 2009, 11:34:00 PM
Get rid man.

He's trying but she doesn't wanna know  :D
Post by: Gnevin on January 19, 2009, 09:29:33 AM
Point of order  making a sandwich is not cooking unless your baking the bread. Cooking is a process which involves a oven or cooker.
Post by: longball on January 19, 2009, 05:34:07 PM
Does anyone else agree the worst part about going to work is having to make ur lunch. theres never anythin in the house when it comes to making the lunch. i alway like to have something good in my lunchbox so i can have something to look forward too. another fella had a fricking club sandwich the other day i could have took the arm off him for it.
Post by: FermPundit on January 19, 2009, 06:05:23 PM
Quote from: longball on January 19, 2009, 05:34:07 PM
Does anyone else agree the worst part about going to work is having to make ur lunch. theres never anythin in the house when it comes to making the lunch. i alway like to have something good in my lunchbox so i can have something to look forward too. another fella had a fricking club sandwich the other day i could have took the arm off him for it.

It's all about planning ahead LB. When I do the weekly shop on a Saturday/Sunday I always have an idea on what I'm going to have for lunch each day. If you buy plenty of sandwich fillers, apples, oranges, yoghurts etc you can't go wrong.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 19, 2009, 06:06:18 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 19, 2009, 09:29:33 AM
Point of order  making a sandwich is not cooking unless your baking the bread. Cooking is a process which involves a oven or cooker.

What about a sandwich maker or a Geroge Foreman?
Post by: Gnevin on January 19, 2009, 06:42:06 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 19, 2009, 06:06:18 PM

What about a sandwich maker or a Geroge Foreman?
Well then your cooking .  ;)
Post by: Bud Wiser on January 19, 2009, 06:50:00 PM
There is a big fella down in our pub who is from Mayo and he is a fair man to drink pints and I asked him one night did he see such and such a program on the telly and without lifting his head outa the pint he grunted " shur every time I turn on that f**king thing there is someone cooking on it, how many ways are there to cook a bit of ould steak?"
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 19, 2009, 07:14:44 PM
What are you on about, the bread was only out of the oven last night when I started the thread.

Quote from: longball on January 19, 2009, 05:34:07 PM
Oh god yeah, I got really sick of sandwiches there before christmas, the sight of ham nearly made me vomit.  (and I only like ham and chicken sandwiches) THere's not much else you can take though.  What's the alternative? Spend a fortune eating out. 

Anyway, I cut the tomato last night and wrapped it in tin foil, put it on the bread at lunch today, went down great! Some of the boys made smart remarks, but I know they were just jealous.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 19, 2009, 08:49:27 PM
not 100% but I think if you put salt on the slices of tomato, they wont wet the sambo.
Might render it inedible though - depends on how much salt you like
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 08:52:30 PM
Butter each slice of bread to the edges or use mayo - the oils will help "seal" the bread.

Put a slice of cheese against each slice of bread, then layer the meat and veggies in the middle.

Very important:
Seed the tomatoes and COMPLETELY dry the lettuce and tomato with paper towels before putting on sandwiches.
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 08:55:52 PM
Google :)
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 19, 2009, 08:56:32 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 08:52:30 PM
Butter each slice of bread to the edges or use mayo - the oils will help "seal" the bread.

Put a slice of cheese against each slice of bread, then layer the meat and veggies in the middle.

Very important:
Seed the tomatoes and COMPLETELY dry the lettuce and tomato with paper towels before putting on sandwiches.
By seed the tomatoes do you mean remove the seeds and the watery bits? But I like that.  
I dont eat butter or mayo.
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 08:59:40 PM
You forgot to include the link
Post by: Our Nail Loney on January 19, 2009, 09:05:39 PM
Aw Ziggy you just got pwned!!
Post by: ziggysego on January 19, 2009, 09:06:00 PM
Didn't think it would look like I was passing it off as my own. Anyone else think that?
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2009, 09:14:35 PM
Do yous know that salmon you get in the tin?

If I use that on sandwiches, make them tonight, will the bread to soggy tomorrow?
Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2009, 09:25:46 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2009, 09:14:35 PM

If I use that on sandwiches, make them tonight, will the bread to soggy tomorrow?

If I was a loaf of bread and someone wanted to put tinned salmon on me, Id walk away in disgust. I expect your bread will not hang around long enough to go soggy.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2009, 09:31:24 PM
Tinned salmon is yum!
Post by: downgirl on January 26, 2009, 09:33:13 PM
Aw pints it's not!!! It doesn't taste anything like real salmon!!
Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2009, 09:33:55 PM
There was always something kinda intriguing about eatin the bones though.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2009, 09:34:53 PM
I dont know waht real salmon tastes like, I cant afford it.  ONly can afford tinned salmon cos it's on special offer in tesco. 

I dont eat the bones.
Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2009, 09:38:17 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2009, 09:34:53 PM
I dont know waht real salmon tastes like, I cant afford it.  ONly can afford tinned salmon cos it's on special offer in tesco

I dont eat the bones.

Its on special offer cos its full of bones.
Post by: stpauls on January 26, 2009, 11:28:16 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2009, 09:14:35 PM

when you open the tin of salmon, use the lid to squeeze out the extra juices, then the bread won't go soggy!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2009, 11:29:33 PM
But the salmon is still moist even if you do that.
Post by: stpauls on January 26, 2009, 11:33:03 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 26, 2009, 11:29:33 PM
But the salmon is still moist even if you do that.

it might be moist, but at least the bread won't be soggy!!

Quote from: hardstation on January 26, 2009, 11:30:01 PM
You're a Mr Fecking Know It All, stpauls.

:P
Post by: reddgnhand on January 26, 2009, 11:37:53 PM
pints take a day off ffs :)
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 26, 2009, 11:38:31 PM
Quote from: downgirl on January 26, 2009, 09:33:13 PM
Aw pints it's not!!! It doesn't taste anything like real salmon!!
Tins of salmon actually contain salmon so it is real salmon. Also, the salmon in tins is usually wild red salmon free from the chemicals and shit you get from "real" salmon which is nearly always farmed!
Post by: stpauls on January 26, 2009, 11:40:05 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 26, 2009, 11:34:34 PM
(http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2008/08/05/article-0-0009791600000258-678_468x442.jpg)

i think you are a bit out of date with that pic HS, i am now a happily married man!! not chasing any women anymore!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 09:48:01 PM
How do I know when roast meat is done?
and it came with this bag of onion gravey - is it meant to be so slimmy? or was I suppose to do something with it to make it less slimmy?
and who should I complain to about there being a leaf tied to the meat?
Post by: stephenite on February 05, 2009, 09:52:10 PM
What sort of roast meat?
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 09:52:45 PM
beef
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 05, 2009, 09:55:28 PM
A leaf??? Pint, it's probably a herb
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 05, 2009, 09:57:11 PM
and cooking time depends on the cut of meat - and how you want it cooked

QuoteCooking at a constant oven temperature of 300°F (160°C), a 5- to 8-lb standing rib roast will take 17-19 minutes per pound for rare, 20-22 for medium rare, 23-25 minutes for medium, and 27-30 minutes for well done. A sirloin roast of 8- to 12-lbs will take 16-20 minutes for rare, 20-22 for medium rare, 23-25 for medium, and 26-30 for well done. A boneless top round, by contrast, will take 28-30 minutes for rare, 30-33 for medium rare, 34-38 for medium, and 40-45 for well done.

If you roast at 325°F (160°C), subtract 2 minutes or so per pound. If the roast is refrigerated just before going into the oven, add 2 or 3 minutes per pound. We won't even attempt to suggest times for the initial-hot-oven cooking method.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 09:59:28 PM
I dont know it's in a hour and it's grey with this slimmy stuff sitting on top of it.
This is a disaster.

and im pretty sure this thing is a leaf, don't worry it's coming back to Sainsbury's with me tomorrow till I get an explanation!
Post by: Square Ball on February 05, 2009, 10:01:37 PM
is it a bay leaf POG?
Post by: Puckoon on February 05, 2009, 10:02:00 PM
Thats exactly what it is squareball.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 05, 2009, 10:03:31 PM
It's a bay leaf you fool!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:05:10 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on February 05, 2009, 10:01:37 PM
is it a bay leaf POG?

(http://www.thewinwiz.net/images/bay_leaf_web.jpg)

Hmm, that looks a bit like it alright.  Is it meant to be there? What does it do?

How do I know when this is done, I tried eating a bit but it's not right, and can I turn it off and continue cooking it tomorrow?
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:06:01 PM
[quote uthor=Tony Baloney link=topic=10856.msg472116#msg472116 date=1233871411]
It's a bay leaf you fool!
Look I'm not a chef am I?
Post by: Puckoon on February 05, 2009, 10:07:02 PM
You might want to brown these kinds of roasts in a pan first, so your mind can think its done when it actually is. No one likes a grey roast.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:24:50 PM
Do yous think this looks done?

(http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/6370/roast002cj1.th.jpg) (http://img297.imageshack.us/my.php?image=roast002cj1.jpg)

(http://img297.imageshack.us/img297/5843/roast003gu1.th.jpg) (http://img297.imageshack.us/my.php?image=roast003gu1.jpg)

Post by: Puckoon on February 05, 2009, 10:25:21 PM
Im not sure Id give that to the dogs.
Post by: stpauls on February 05, 2009, 10:31:07 PM
that looks fine pints, stop winding him up puck!! what colour is the middle of the meat?
Post by: stephenite on February 05, 2009, 10:36:23 PM
I wouldn't eat it - St Pauls is 5times trying to kill Pints again
Post by: Puckoon on February 05, 2009, 10:40:51 PM
Quote from: stephenite on February 05, 2009, 10:36:23 PM

Take that over to the Jack Horner thread stephenite.
Post by: stpauls on February 05, 2009, 10:42:26 PM
Quote from: stephenite on February 05, 2009, 10:36:23 PM

it looks like any roast i have ever cooked, and i am still alive and well!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:44:41 PM
Quote from: stpauls on February 05, 2009, 10:31:07 PM
that looks fine pints, stop winding him up puck!! what colour is the middle of the meat?
I dont know, I wouldnt be on for eating greyish meat and it's very very tough. 
Stuck the fork in it to get a look at it and had to wrestle the fork out of it, as a result it splashed in to the "onion gravy" and it burned the hand of me!!

Post by: stpauls on February 05, 2009, 10:48:06 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:44:41 PM
Quote from: stpauls on February 05, 2009, 10:31:07 PM
I dont know, I wouldnt be on for eating greyish meat and it's very very tough. 
Stuck the fork in it to get a look at it and had to wrestle the fork out of it, as a result it splashed in to the "onion gravy" and it burned the hand of me!!

you probably just got a shit piece of meat, and it also sounds like you cooked it too long! did you cover it while it was in the oven, or just leave it in a roasting tin uncovered?
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:50:44 PM
No I covered it, tin foil. 

Maybe I should have left the leaf on it?
Post by: stpauls on February 05, 2009, 10:54:06 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:50:44 PM
No I covered it, tin foil. 

Maybe I should have left the leaf on it?

;D ;D it would only have added some flavour to the meat, wouldn't make a difference to the colour or texture.
the meat looks fine mate, it will not do you any harm!!
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:57:06 PM
I think it's going in the bin.  It takes all my strength to get a fork in to it!

That's a fiver and 2 hours of electricity down the drain, not to mention a burned hand!

:(
:'(
Post by: stpauls on February 05, 2009, 10:59:20 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:57:06 PM
I think it's going in the bin.  It takes all my strength to get a fork in to it!

That's a fiver and 2 hours of electricity down the drain, not to mention a burned hand!

:(
:'(

up to you mate, just sounds like you over cooked it!!
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 05, 2009, 11:00:38 PM
Get a pizza in Pints
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 11:06:47 PM
You know I took it out of the oven and ate a lump of it, it's not THAT bad! 
I think it's the right colour on the inside. 

Dont think I'll be getting it again though.

I over cook everything stpauls, it's the  way I like it, ever since I got poisoned with undercooked (possibly out of date) chicken.  It left me with a bit of a phobia!

Thanks for the help lads!
(So glad yous told me about the leaf too, imagine the eejit I would have looked in sainsbury's tomorrow!)
Post by: Treasurer on February 06, 2009, 12:44:31 AM
Jamie Oliver's only trotting after ye.
Post by: muppet on February 06, 2009, 12:55:20 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:05:10 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on February 05, 2009, 10:01:37 PM
is it a bay leaf POG?

(http://www.thewinwiz.net/images/bay_leaf_web.jpg)

QuoteHmm, that looks a bit like it alright.  Is it meant to be there? What does it do?

You use it to keep off the flies.

How do I know when this is done, I tried eating a bit but it's not right, and can I turn it off and continue cooking it tomorrow?

When it tastes right..........oh I see.............yes if you need new soles for your shoes.
Post by: laceer on February 06, 2009, 01:08:49 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 11:06:47 PM

I over cook everything stpauls, it's the  way I like it, ever since I got poisoned with undercooked (possibly out of date) chicken.  It left me with a bit of a phobia!

(So glad yous told me about the leaf too, imagine the eejit I would have looked in sainsbury's tomorrow!)

Don't think you can really undercook a piece of beef like that.Chicken can poison you handier if under-cooked though...I think
Post by: stpauls on February 06, 2009, 09:44:30 AM
Quote from: laceer on February 06, 2009, 01:08:49 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 11:06:47 PM

Don't think you can really undercook a piece of beef like that.Chicken can poison you handier if under-cooked though...I think

was going to say the same thing myself, chicken is the only thing that really needs to be cooked fully or else you could end up with food poisoning, everything else can still be that wee bit pink in the middle, especially lamb/beef.
Post by: Hardy on February 06, 2009, 11:20:33 AM
Rare pork is not such a good idea either. But yeah - you can eat beef and lamb more or less raw.
Post by: longball on February 19, 2009, 06:24:46 PM
i was asked this the other day and i havent a clue. How do they make the following cake i dont need to know exactly but just how do they do the layers! if u get what im sayin

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3274/2840741148_29be1c97f9.jpg?v=0)
Post by: longball on February 19, 2009, 06:25:40 PM
its lovely by the way and is only a pound in ASDA. Thats good value.
Post by: Gnevin on February 19, 2009, 06:42:40 PM
Quote from: longball on February 19, 2009, 06:24:46 PM
i was asked this the other day and i havent a clue. How do they make the following cake i dont need to know exactly but just how do they do the layers! if u get what im sayin

(http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3274/2840741148_29be1c97f9.jpg?v=0)

If i was making it I'd just make it in layers about 1inch high, you put several of these together ,then cut into the round shape.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 19, 2009, 06:43:17 PM
Quote from: longball on February 19, 2009, 06:25:40 PM
A pound!  :o  That's my favourite cake of all time mmmmmmmmm

Post by: longball on February 19, 2009, 06:45:13 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 19, 2009, 06:43:17 PM
Quote from: longball on February 19, 2009, 06:25:40 PM
A pound!  :o  That's my favourite cake of all time mmmmmmmmm

pints i'm def not pissing on ur shoe and telling u its raining. its a pound and its class. great with the tae u no.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 19, 2009, 06:49:32 PM
Look what I made for dinner the other night, is my cooking coming on or what?

(http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2235/210/116/1630915679/n1630915679_140298_533.jpg)

Some of that cake would have went down well for dessert. 

I'm thinking of getting some steak for the weekend, what's the best sort to buy and what's the best way to cook it (I dont want to fry it).  No advise on onions please, I dont like them. 
Post by: longball on February 19, 2009, 06:54:26 PM
Pints... Jamie Oliver was on Today FM one day and he said this is the best best way to cook steak::::

Put on ur frying pan (with no oil on it), and leave it til its piping hot ok.

Then got your cooking oil and dab it directly onto ur steak on both sides.

Place the steak onto ur piping hot pan leave it there for exactly 30 seconds then flip it over.

Do the other side for exactly 30 seconds.

(depending on how well done u like your steak u may need to repeat above a couple of times for well done)

I always have steak done like this now. its lovely. it helps locke in the juices or somethin i dunno but its first class.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 19, 2009, 06:56:45 PM
I should have added...I like my food cooked!
30 seconds on the pan? wtf!

I'd like steak well done and frying's not an option  :-\
Post by: longball on February 19, 2009, 06:58:09 PM
ur dinner looks nice by the way.

ALSO with ur steaks if u take an Onion and cut it like u were peeling an apple into thin stripes, then get a bowl of flourand lightly dust ur stripes. get ur deep fat frying warmed up and put this in for just over a minute even if u dont like onions these are lovely.

im starving now.......... i'd eat the back door buttered.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 19, 2009, 06:58:50 PM
I dont like onions.
Post by: longball on February 19, 2009, 06:59:52 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 19, 2009, 06:56:45 PM

Im telling u man i like my steaks well done. if i seen any red at all i'd prob hurl seriously i aint shittin ya. just keep turning it every 30 seconds and it'l cook tru
Post by: Hardy on February 19, 2009, 08:16:38 PM
If you
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 19, 2009, 06:49:32 PM
I'm thinking of getting some steak for the weekend, what's the best sort to buy and what's the best way to cook it

If you like it well done it doesn't matter what sort you buy or how you cook it - it'll all taste the same. So you may just as well buy some cheap rump steak and boil it until it's tender.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 19, 2009, 08:29:52 PM
Dont know how anyone eats it raw!

One of the mysteries of life.
Post by: maggie on February 19, 2009, 08:32:31 PM
in my past life as a waitress-it used to amaze me the amount of people who ordered steak cooked 'blue', now imho-thats just wrong.
Post by: Puckoon on February 19, 2009, 08:32:48 PM
The japanese have it right. Eat steak and fish raw.

Yum.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 19, 2009, 08:35:33 PM
Quote from: maggie on February 19, 2009, 08:32:31 PM
in my past life as a waitress-it used to amaze me the amount of people who ordered steak cooked 'blue', now imho-thats just wrong.
Yeah my brother likes it blue, whatever the f**k that's about.

Hey puck they have raw fish in sainsbury's in wee packets, I was going to buy some just to see how disgusting it is but I think I'd rather eat raw steak than raw fish.
Post by: Puckoon on February 19, 2009, 08:39:19 PM
Eat your steak raw  - its great. Slice it up real fine and dip it in soy sauce and wasabi.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 19, 2009, 09:19:10 PM
Korean BBQ - that's the job for steak  8)
Post by: FL/MAYO on February 19, 2009, 09:23:18 PM
Black and Blue or Pittsburgh style, now thats the way to eat a steak with the blood running into the spuds, the yanks have the right idea. When beef is well done its like leather, dry and tasteless.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 19, 2009, 09:30:53 PM
pints - what meat is that?  :D
Post by: Puckoon on February 19, 2009, 09:31:46 PM
I think its the toe of a hob nail boot. With a burnt sock across it.
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on February 19, 2009, 09:33:22 PM
looks like chicken with bacon wrapped around it
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 19, 2009, 09:35:48 PM
That's exactly what it is gab, stuffed chicken wrapped in bacon. 
Post by: Gnevin on February 19, 2009, 10:05:18 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 19, 2009, 06:56:45 PM

Get a griddle , steak from a frying pan taste rotten. And don't do it well done.
Post by: leenie on June 10, 2009, 08:12:55 PM
 this may have been asked but cannot be bother reading through the thread....

does anyone have tip for cooking a fried egg just right.... and flipping it over in one go.... without bursting it?
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on June 10, 2009, 08:17:45 PM
I don't flip it over , move the egg over towards the edge of the pan, get a spoon and drizzle the oil in the pan over the top of the egg
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 10, 2009, 08:18:08 PM
Put plenty of oil in the pan. The more oil in the pan, less likely it will be to burst when flipping it.
Post by: Puckoon on June 10, 2009, 08:18:39 PM
What he said. I don't even eat eggs but I fry a mean one allegedly!
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 10, 2009, 08:37:12 PM
Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on June 10, 2009, 08:17:45 PM
I don't flip it over , move the egg over towards the edge of the pan, get a spoon and drizzle the oil in the pan over the top of the egg
Same as that. Guaranteed runny yolk every time.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 10, 2009, 09:06:58 PM
Plenty of eggs ate in the Hurl household by all accounts, good advice lad(s)!!

Post by: Gnevin on June 10, 2009, 10:33:06 PM
Quote from: leenie on June 10, 2009, 08:12:55 PM

does anyone have tip for cooking a fried egg just right.... and flipping it over in one go.... without bursting it?
As with a lot of things it about having the right tools for the job. Buy a decent frying pan . The one I got at home cost about €200 but it will last for life also you could drop an egg from 300 foot on to it and the it would not burst and no need for a swimming pool of oil .
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 10, 2009, 10:43:47 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 10, 2009, 10:33:06 PM

As with a lot of things it about having the right tools for the job. Buy a decent frying pan . The one I got at home cost about €200 but it will last for life also you could drop an egg from 300 foot on to it and the it would not burst and no need for a swimming pool of oil .

Balls. I think we'll need video evidence of this.
Post by: Puckoon on June 10, 2009, 10:46:37 PM
A 200 euro frying pan? Holy f**k does it come with a blu ray player?
Post by: mournerambler on June 10, 2009, 10:50:47 PM

Did you get a wife with it Gnevin?
Post by: thebigfella on June 10, 2009, 10:53:30 PM

Not a chance, a good cast iron pan picked up for next to nothing and once it's treated properly, it will do just as good a job.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 10, 2009, 10:55:47 PM

Do you not have any bills to pay?
Post by: Gnevin on June 10, 2009, 10:58:20 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 10, 2009, 10:53:30 PM

Not a chance, a good cast iron pan picked up for next to nothing and once it's treated properly, it will do just as good a job.

Cast iron is too heavy and takes too long to heat .
Post by: Gnevin on June 10, 2009, 11:00:45 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 10, 2009, 10:55:47 PM

Saves in the long run. We use to go through 1/2 of does cheap 1 €15-20 pans a year . Same with knifes. Paid €200 for my chefs knife. Pay once on the right product it will out live you but shit and your throwing away every other week.
Post by: delboy on June 10, 2009, 11:09:01 PM
Quote from: longball on February 19, 2009, 06:54:26 PM
I always have steak done like this now. its lovely. it helps locke in the juices or somethin i dunno but its first class.

Thats chef babble for we don't know what the feck it does, there are actually causing a malliard reaction between carbohydrates and proteins, it gives very desirable flavours. The trick is to heat it enough to cause the reaction but not enough to cause burning, spit roasting is probably the single best way of acheiving this hence why meat done this way tastes great. What jamie is suggesting is for all intensive purposes the same principe flip it from side to side. Sorry to get all heston blomfield on the subject but the nerd in me couldn't resist  :)
Post by: thebigfella on June 10, 2009, 11:09:35 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 10, 2009, 10:58:20 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 10, 2009, 10:53:30 PM

Cast iron is too heavy and takes too long to heat .

not if you cook with gas
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 10, 2009, 11:15:24 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 10, 2009, 11:00:45 PM

Saves in the long run. We use to go through 1/2 of does cheap 1 €15-20 pans a year . Same with knifes. Paid €200 for my chefs knife. Pay once on the right product it will out live you but shit and your throwing away every other week.
WHAT!
You must be doing some amount of frying! 200 for knives?! I paid about a tenner for this little knife and it cuts EVERYTHING, have it years.  You should have got one of them.
Post by: Gnevin on June 11, 2009, 12:05:04 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 10, 2009, 11:15:24 PM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 10, 2009, 11:00:45 PM

WHAT!
You must be doing some amount of frying! 200 for knives?! I paid about a tenner for this little knife and it cuts EVERYTHING, have it years.  You should have got one of them.
The Family fry a lot . The Knife was the best €200 I ever spent they've come down quite a lot http://www.paulsfinest.com/Wusthof-Classic-p-1-c-8.html plus shipping was a rip off.
Post by: DennistheMenace on June 11, 2009, 12:08:12 AM
Sell you my rusty thomas the tank engine fork for 400 euro.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 11, 2009, 08:21:37 AM
There's children starving in Africa Gnevin.
Post by: Gnevin on June 11, 2009, 08:48:52 AM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on June 11, 2009, 08:21:37 AM
And?
Post by: Derry Dolly on June 11, 2009, 09:13:51 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 11, 2009, 08:48:52 AM
And?
think its to do with the E200 u spent on a knife ::) :P

anyone any good pasta recipes..sick of usual tomato based sauces :-\
Post by: Gnevin on June 11, 2009, 09:49:34 AM
Quote from: Derry Dolly on June 11, 2009, 09:13:51 AM
And?

How much do you piss away each week on drink? I'll have that knife forever , you'll have a drink for about 20 minutes.  A Carbonara with bacon or  is lovely

http://www.greatfood.ie/item_display.asp?cde=2&id=309
Post by: Derry Dolly on June 11, 2009, 10:23:37 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on June 11, 2009, 09:49:34 AM
Quote from: Derry Dolly on June 11, 2009, 09:13:51 AM
And?

How much do you piss away each week on drink? I'll have that knife forever , you'll have a drink for about 20 minutes.  A Carbonara with bacon or  is lovely

http://www.greatfood.ie/item_display.asp?cde=2&id=309
calm down amigo. :P are u trying to insinuate that im an alcoholic?? >:( :D :D how do u even know i drink? ;)
im not givin off bout u spendin (a ridiculous amount of :P)money on a knife,i was just explanin wat ONL meant.
yeah carbonara is nice but im tryin to be healthy (the pastas wholewheat and i need carbs for trainin) and carbonaras quite fattenin :(
Title: New Question-Ribs!
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 13, 2009, 02:58:47 PM
I have a free house this weekend, so went to Tescos there to get something for the dinner, came back with ribs, now I have never cooked them before so what's all the board chef's suggestions??

I don't have a clue, I have the ribs and some stick sauce stuff for them, so what do I do now?
Title: Re: New Question-Ribs!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 13, 2009, 03:02:15 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on June 13, 2009, 02:58:47 PM
I have a free house this weekend, so went to Tescos there to get something for the dinner, came back with ribs, now I have never cooked them before so what's all the board chef's suggestions??

I don't have a clue, I have the ribs and some stick sauce stuff for them, so what do I do now?

I'd put them in the oven at 190degrees and cook for about 40mins
Post by: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 03:02:40 PM
Have u a slow cooker thingy in the house?
Post by: muppet on June 13, 2009, 03:04:36 PM

You are on your own so you go to Tesco buy something you have no clue how to cook, go home and post on the GaaBoard looking for suggestions.

Are you Brian Cowen?
Post by: full back on June 13, 2009, 03:04:47 PM
Stick them in the slow cooker for a few hours then heat them up again in the morning

Alternatively, stick them in the oven in tinfoil for hour and half & take the tinfoil off for the last 30 mins with the sauce over them

Tasty buggers ONL
Post by: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 03:06:20 PM
Don't boil them - what a mess.

Find a shallow dish Lay the ribs in the dish and season with salt & pepper or your favorite spice rub. Turn and season the other side as well. Cover tightly with a lid or foil and bake low and slow: 250F for 2 hours. Remove foil and check the ribs: they will probably be swimming in juices. Turn the ribs over, re-cover with foil and bake another hour. Remove foil, drain off and discard any cooking juices and return ribs to pan. Slather with your favorite barbecue sauce and bake another 30 minutes or until the sauce firms up.

Courtesy of google  :)
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 13, 2009, 03:30:29 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 03:06:20 PM

Find a shallow dish Lay the ribs in the dish and season with salt & pepper or your favorite spice rub. Turn and season the other side as well. Cover tightly with a lid or foil and bake low and slow: 250F for 2 hours. Remove foil and check the ribs: they will probably be swimming in juices. Turn the ribs over, re-cover with foil and bake another hour. Remove foil, drain off and discard any cooking juices and return ribs to pan. Slather with your favorite barbecue sauce and bake another 30 minutes or until the sauce firms up.

Don't have a slow cooker so just took this thing above...

Put some peri peri sauce on first and let them sit whilst the oven heated up... Now they're in covered up, gonna get back to them in an hour an stick the other sauce on...

I f**king love ribs just never made them myself before... Have high hopes for them...

I didn't have a clue about measurements either so asked for a pound (I always ask for this amount if I am lost) and I have about right or nine of them!! I was only thinking about cooking for one but now I might invite the woman round make it look as if I had it all planned for a romantic meal...

How do I get rid of her later though if I am looking fellas round for a carry out now theres the tough one!
Post by: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 03:33:03 PM
Make a mess of the kitchen and tell her u need her to help u clean it up, well that would get rid of me anyway  :-\
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 13, 2009, 03:39:58 PM

Go to the chippy or chinese!

here, I meant to ask this all week on here, why can't I get real chicken anywhere.  If I go to buy chicken it always says on the pack about 50% chicken and then there's water and glucose and mix of ingredients. 

why cant i get 100% chicken!
Post by: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 03:41:37 PM
What do u mean ? Just like a chicken fillet? Id always buy them direct from butchers just if i was , though they should be grand im sure in them packs.

I presume thats what u mean?
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 13, 2009, 03:45:58 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 03:41:37 PM
What do u mean ? Just like a chicken fillet? Id always buy them direct from butchers just if i was , though they should be grand im sure in them packs.

Yeah, look at the back of a pack with chicken in it and you'll see it's not all chicken. 

Hang on I'll get a pack of chicken out of the fridge................................
.......................back, now this is Sainsbury's southern fried chicken breast fillets, which is YUM - but looking at the back it says chicken breast 90% (which is an awful lot more than some "chicken" has!), water, wheat, flour, salt, skimmed milk powder!
like wtf?  why cant I get 100% chicken?
Post by: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 03:48:46 PM
Ohh i thought u meant plain chicken fillets, id presume its meaning the ingredients in the whole thing as in chickens 90% of it and the water salt etc is all for preserving the coating and part of the coating, but the chicken itself is ok, well that would be my take on it anyway, could be wrong.
Post by: Tyrones own on June 13, 2009, 03:53:54 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 03:06:20 PM

Ah sure don't mind the mess.... Boil them in a big pot for about 45 minutes, this softens the brine which can then be cut and
pulled off Then rub whatever spice you like over them and then into the oven at 250 for about an hour and a half and finish
them off on the BBQ brushing with sauce for about 10 minutes.
Might sound like a drawn out waste of time but jaysus it's worth it when the meat is falling off the bone.
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 13, 2009, 03:56:13 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 13, 2009, 03:45:58 PM

Yeah, look at the back of a pack with chicken in it and you'll see it's not all chicken. 

Hang on I'll get a pack of chicken out of the fridge................................
.......................back, now this is Sainsbury's southern fried chicken breast fillets, which is YUM - but looking at the back it says chicken breast 90% (which is an awful lot more than some "chicken" has!), water, wheat, flour, salt, skimmed milk powder!

Only answer for it, out an buy yourself a few young chicks, rear them in your back or wherever, then when you have them all fattened up, wring thri necks, pluck the f**kers and there ya are, 100% chicken that you can be in no doubt of!!

How dear are chicken fillets anway?! Jesus they are cat aren't they.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 13, 2009, 03:57:01 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 03:48:46 PM
Ohh i thought u meant plain chicken fillets, id presume its meaning the ingredients in the whole thing as in chickens 90% of it and the water salt etc is all for preserving the coating and part of the coating, but the chicken itself is ok, well that would be my take on it anyway, could be wrong.
Nah, same goes for plain fillets.  Look on the back of the packet.  There's only a percentage of chicken in there.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 13, 2009, 03:58:06 PM
Quote from: Our Nail Loney on June 13, 2009, 03:56:13 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on June 13, 2009, 03:45:58 PM

Only answer for it, out an buy yourself a few young chicks, rear them in your back or wherever, then when you have them all fattened up, wring thri necks, pluck the f**kers and there ya are, 100% chicken that you can be in no doubt of!!

How dear are chicken fillets anway?! Jesus they are cat aren't they.
f**king desperate! and they go in to nothing when you cook them becasue 50% of them is f**king water!

I couldnt kill a pet!
Post by: full back on June 13, 2009, 03:58:27 PM
If you do get proper chicken, the only way forward is to boil it........mmmmmmmmm
Post by: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 04:03:38 PM
Ffs full back wat the hell would u be boiling chicken for  :-\
Post by: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 04:04:30 PM
Im gonna cook tonight and think im gona make steak and home made chips and shoestring onions and peas yum yum yum
Post by: full back on June 13, 2009, 04:06:48 PM
Boiled chciken is for connisseurs tg (prob spelt that wrong :-\ )

I find it keeps the flavour in & then you can do what you want with it afterwards, ie fry, season etc
Post by: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 04:09:00 PM
Ok my place tonight il chase the bf and forget the steak and u can cook me chicken  ;)
Post by: full back on June 13, 2009, 04:16:01 PM
Quote from: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 04:09:00 PM
Ok my place tonight il chase the bf and forget the steak and u can cook me chicken  ;)

Done  :D

Mind you, I would prefer the steak
Post by: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 04:18:32 PM
Rite as long as u dont boil that as well or il boil ur head  :P
Post by: full back on June 13, 2009, 04:21:50 PM
f**k no, grill or fry the steak

Make sure the peas are mushy
Stick on a few mushrooms as well.....mmmmm
Post by: Our Nail Loney on June 13, 2009, 04:23:00 PM
Do yous two want me to start the 'Official Flirting Thread' and you can continue over there?!!?
Post by: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 04:24:59 PM
 >:( Since when was i flirting 
Post by: full back on June 13, 2009, 04:27:10 PM
She offered to cook me dinner FFS, although I wouldnt blame you if you were flirting with me :D
Post by: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 04:28:45 PM
Nerdddddddd  :D
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 11:16:08 PM
ice cream in the freezer, freezer got turned off, ice cream melted in the tub, I froze it again - ok to eat?]

same question about oven chips
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 11:33:23 PM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 11:16:08 PM
ice cream in the freezer, freezer got turned off, ice cream melted in the tub, I froze it again - ok to eat?]

Both will be fine pints. Ice cream you get in shops is often refrozen which is why you get wee ice crystals in it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 11:40:52 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 02, 2010, 11:35:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 11:33:23 PM

Both will be fine pints. Ice cream you get in shops is often refrozen which is why you get wee ice crystals in it.
What has wee ice crystals got to do with being refrozen?
Everything.
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2010, 11:43:43 PM
I'm told if the ice cream has egg whites it shouldnt be refrozen - this one does - hmmmm
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 11:58:06 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 02, 2010, 11:44:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 11:40:52 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 02, 2010, 11:35:09 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 02, 2010, 11:33:23 PM

What has wee ice crystals got to do with being refrozen?
Everything.
Cream separating from water in liquid form, then frozen, then pockets of ice?
Aye something like that. Properly made and stored ice cream should be creamy not icy. However only a mug would take advice from me.
Post by: Minder on January 02, 2010, 11:59:59 PM
f**king apt Tony, you are full of mad dog shite.
Post by: Hardy on January 03, 2010, 12:19:36 PM

No problem with the ice cream. But you should defrost and cook the chips before you eat them.
Post by: leenie on January 03, 2010, 12:25:52 PM

noooooooooooooo!

as someone who got serious food poisoning once from eating something that was defrosted and frozen again i would suggest not...

just go buy some more...

even reading this churns my stomach at the memory i have of being so ill!
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 03, 2010, 01:03:33 PM
The ice cream looks and tastes rotten...it's going in the bin which is very difficult for me to do...it's ben and jerry's phish food.   

I'll have to get more later.
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on March 14, 2010, 10:13:31 PM
(http://sucs.org/~cmckenna/humour/images/the_innocence_of_the_1950s.jpg)
Post by: haveaharp on March 15, 2010, 10:31:21 AM
Quote from: tyrone girl on June 13, 2009, 04:04:30 PM
Im gonna cook tonight and think im gona make steak and home made chips and shoestring onions and peas yum yum yum

What in gods name is a shoestring onion ?
Post by: Denn Forever on March 15, 2010, 11:12:11 AM
Spring Onions perhaps?
Post by: haveaharp on March 15, 2010, 11:16:18 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on March 15, 2010, 11:12:11 AM
Spring Onions perhaps?

Scallions then ?
Post by: full back on March 15, 2010, 11:23:41 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on March 15, 2010, 10:31:21 AM

I would say it is the way the onions are cut that makes it look like a shoestring
Post by: thebigfella on March 15, 2010, 01:37:02 PM
Quote from: full back on March 15, 2010, 11:23:41 AM
Quote from: haveaharp on March 15, 2010, 10:31:21 AM

I would say it is the way the onions are cut that makes it look like a shoestring

It's posh or pretentious onion rings, only without the rings  :P
Post by: Bensars on March 15, 2010, 01:39:03 PM
Thinner sliced onions in a batter. Dont typically hold the ring structure.

They are class.

(http://sarahmeyerwalsh.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/frizzled_onions.jpg)
Post by: delboy on March 15, 2010, 01:40:54 PM
Quote from: Bensars on March 15, 2010, 01:39:03 PM

They are class.

Often see them called tobacco onions as well, tasty  :)
Post by: gawa316 on March 15, 2010, 01:54:06 PM

They are class.

Valley Hotel in Fivemiletown does them, feckin mouth is watering thinking about them
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 15, 2010, 01:58:28 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on March 15, 2010, 01:54:06 PM

They are class.

Valley Hotel in Fivemiletown does them, feckin mouth is watering thinking about them
I thought that placed closed years ago until a girl in work went to a wedding reception in it a few months back. It maybe just looks closed from the main street in 5town.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 13, 2019, 12:26:56 PM
Anyone got a deep fat fryer thats worth recommending? I've an Actifryer but looking to get one of the newer type (bad for you) fryers
Post by: armaghniac on September 13, 2019, 01:40:55 PM
ye olde thread, some long lost posters in there.
Post by: Main Street on September 13, 2019, 04:37:10 PM
Illdecide might be open to recomendations for a doughnut maker.

Post by: Denn Forever on September 13, 2019, 05:49:00 PM
What do you do with Halloumi?
Post by: Last Man on September 13, 2019, 06:17:24 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on September 13, 2019, 05:49:00 PM
Slice and fry in some olive oil until browned both sides. Nice wee salty snack with some chilli sauce or pesto
Post by: BennyCake on September 13, 2019, 06:23:30 PM
Can anyone recommend any handy, healthy meals to cook for evening dinner? Jaysus, it's such a feckin' chore rustling up something every day. Need some help.
Post by: Don Johnson on September 13, 2019, 06:27:47 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on September 13, 2019, 05:49:00 PM

Whack it in a burger, lovely with some chilli jam.
Post by: laoislad on September 13, 2019, 06:31:51 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 13, 2019, 06:23:30 PM
Can anyone recommend any handy, healthy meals to cook for evening dinner? Jaysus, it's such a feckin' chore rustling up something every day. Need some help.
Have you a slow cooker? Shocking handy they are.
Throw in some diced chicken, veg, potatoes, spinach whatever the feck you want along with a curry paste/powder and leave it to cook as you go about your business.
Would often chop everything the night before and throw it all into the slow cooker in the morning and let it cook on low for 8hrs, when you come home then you have a dinner ready bar throwing on some rice or whatever.
Can make casseroles, ribs anything really.
We would use ours a few times a week.
Post by: Tony Baloney on September 13, 2019, 06:37:00 PM
Keep meaning to look about a slow cooker. Might reduce the chances of me getting fish fingers and potato waffles from the missus
Post by: DrinkingHarp on September 13, 2019, 07:12:00 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on September 13, 2019, 06:23:30 PM

My go to meal and it is Keto/Atkins friendly, healthy and SIMPLE

Garlic Shrimp with Broccoli
1 lb of shrimp (thawed)
2-4 cups of broccoli
3-8 gloves of garlic (depending on preference) more garlic better IMO
1 stick of butter

Put broccoli in pot to steam about 8-10 minutes ahead of pan below ( you can slice garlic now)
Slice garlic (thin) and place in pan with melting butter (medium low heat) stir for 3-5 minutes
place shrimp (pat dry with paper towel) in pan and cook till one side is pink then flip, same on other side
once broccoli is steamed place in pan stir around for a minute (on medium high) coating everything in butter and garlic serve right away, pour remaining butter from pan over plated food

I like a kick to it so I throw a pinch or two of crushed red pepper over the top of plated food and adds color

this should feed 2-3 people
should only take 10-18 minutes total

Easy and healthy and minimal cleanup afterwords
Post by: Milltown Row2 on September 13, 2019, 07:28:37 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 13, 2019, 06:37:00 PM
Keep meaning to look about a slow cooker. Might reduce the chances of me getting fish fingers and potato waffles from the missus

All the foods (to me anyways) taste samey from the slow cooker, and that's ranging from curry's casseroles, and stews. But yes handy as fook to use
Post by: BennyCake on September 13, 2019, 07:33:03 PM
Yes we have a slow cooker. Rarely used. Some good ideas. Cheers.
Post by: omaghjoe on September 13, 2019, 08:50:57 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on September 13, 2019, 07:28:37 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on September 13, 2019, 06:37:00 PM

All the foods (to me anyways) taste samey from the slow cooker, and that's ranging from curry's casseroles, and stews. But yes handy as fook to use

Id agree with that, in fact Id go further Id say it pulls the flavour outta everything. And veg just forget about them

Good for making tough meat cuts tender but you need to pile in the flavourings, red wine is about the best thing for hanging in there in my experience
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 29, 2022, 06:04:29 PM
Few years since this has been looked at, this being the longest time of the year I'm actually off consecutively, try and do a lot more cooking of different stuff, other than getting the cocktail sausages again what have you been cooking lately?

And decent new recipes you've picked up and what are you listening to in the kitchen when cooking?

Doing a Gino pasta dish at the minute, beer in hand listening to the Bee Gees!
Post by: seafoid on December 29, 2022, 07:20:59 PM
Cooking based on food matches is interesting

Eg
What Goes Well with Blueberry? Apricot, artichoke, banana, beetroot, blackberry, celeriac, celery, coconut, corn, daikon, elderberry, feijoa, ginger, honeydew, kiwi, lemon, lettuce, lime, lychee, mango, nectarine, orange, papaya, peach, pumpkin, radish, raspberry, rhubarb, spinach, strawberry, watermelon, zucchini.

If you get 3 ingredients  that go together it's even better
Post by: Milltown Row2 on December 29, 2022, 07:27:50 PM
Quote from: seafoid on December 29, 2022, 07:20:59 PM
Cooking based on food matches is interesting

Eg
What Goes Well with Blueberry? Apricot, artichoke, banana, beetroot, blackberry, celeriac, celery, coconut, corn, daikon, elderberry, feijoa, ginger, honeydew, kiwi, lemon, lettuce, lime, lychee, mango, nectarine, orange, papaya, peach, pumpkin, radish, raspberry, rhubarb, spinach, strawberry, watermelon, zucchini.

If you get 3 ingredients  that go together it's even better

Blueberry pie? Custard and cream ;)