Question on cooking...

Started by pintsofguinness, January 18, 2009, 10:17:04 PM

stpauls

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:44:41 PM
Quote from: stpauls on February 05, 2009, 10:31:07 PM
that looks fine pints, stop winding him up puck!! what colour is the middle of the meat?
I dont know, I wouldnt be on for eating greyish meat and it's very very tough. 
Stuck the fork in it to get a look at it and had to wrestle the fork out of it, as a result it splashed in to the "onion gravy" and it burned the hand of me!!

you probably just got a shit piece of meat, and it also sounds like you cooked it too long! did you cover it while it was in the oven, or just leave it in a roasting tin uncovered?

No I covered it, tin foil. 

Maybe I should have left the leaf on it?

stpauls

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:50:44 PM
No I covered it, tin foil. 

Maybe I should have left the leaf on it?

;D ;D it would only have added some flavour to the meat, wouldn't make a difference to the colour or texture.
the meat looks fine mate, it will not do you any harm!!

I think it's going in the bin.  It takes all my strength to get a fork in to it!

That's a fiver and 2 hours of electricity down the drain, not to mention a burned hand!

:(
:'(

stpauls

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:57:06 PM
I think it's going in the bin.  It takes all my strength to get a fork in to it!

That's a fiver and 2 hours of electricity down the drain, not to mention a burned hand!

:(
:'(

up to you mate, just sounds like you over cooked it!!

You know I took it out of the oven and ate a lump of it, it's not THAT bad! 
I think it's the right colour on the inside. 

Dont think I'll be getting it again though.

I over cook everything stpauls, it's the  way I like it, ever since I got poisoned with undercooked (possibly out of date) chicken.  It left me with a bit of a phobia!

Thanks for the help lads!
(So glad yous told me about the leaf too, imagine the eejit I would have looked in sainsbury's tomorrow!)

Treasurer

Jamie Oliver's only trotting after ye.

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 10:05:10 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on February 05, 2009, 10:01:37 PM
is it a bay leaf POG?

QuoteHmm, that looks a bit like it alright.  Is it meant to be there? What does it do?

You use it to keep off the flies.

How do I know when this is done, I tried eating a bit but it's not right, and can I turn it off and continue cooking it tomorrow?

When it tastes right..........oh I see.............yes if you need new soles for your shoes.

laceer

Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 11:06:47 PM

I over cook everything stpauls, it's the  way I like it, ever since I got poisoned with undercooked (possibly out of date) chicken.  It left me with a bit of a phobia!

(So glad yous told me about the leaf too, imagine the eejit I would have looked in sainsbury's tomorrow!)

Don't think you can really undercook a piece of beef like that.Chicken can poison you handier if under-cooked though...I think

stpauls

Quote from: laceer on February 06, 2009, 01:08:49 AM
Quote from: pintsofguinness on February 05, 2009, 11:06:47 PM

Don't think you can really undercook a piece of beef like that.Chicken can poison you handier if under-cooked though...I think

was going to say the same thing myself, chicken is the only thing that really needs to be cooked fully or else you could end up with food poisoning, everything else can still be that wee bit pink in the middle, especially lamb/beef.

Rare pork is not such a good idea either. But yeah - you can eat beef and lamb more or less raw.

longball

i was asked this the other day and i havent a clue. How do they make the following cake i dont need to know exactly but just how do they do the layers! if u get what im sayin

Spotted any unladylike behaviour report within:
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13209.0

longball

its lovely by the way and is only a pound in ASDA. Thats good value.
Spotted any unladylike behaviour report within:
http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=13209.0

Quote from: longball on February 19, 2009, 06:24:46 PM
i was asked this the other day and i havent a clue. How do they make the following cake i dont need to know exactly but just how do they do the layers! if u get what im sayin

If i was making it I'd just make it in layers about 1inch high, you put several of these together ,then cut into the round shape.