Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: imtommygunn on January 04, 2009, 09:48:32 PM

Title: iphone applications
Post by: imtommygunn on January 04, 2009, 09:48:32 PM
What applications do those of you with iphones / ipod touch's use?

Where's the best place to get them?

I'd be particularly interested in something like a training kind of diary if anyone knows of one. (for recording running etc)
Title: Re: iphone applications
Post by: supersarsfields on January 05, 2009, 10:26:15 AM
I got an I fitness program on the I phone. Just down loaded it from the App store on the phone. It'll help you keep record of trainings, weights, reps etc. Also will give you a few programs for different things like weight loss, muscle building, strength building etc.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 05, 2009, 05:37:57 PM
sounds good, cheers.
Post by: ONeill on February 04, 2009, 06:50:32 PM
Is there a lazy way of transferring contacts from an old sim/phone to the iphone?
Post by: muppet on February 04, 2009, 06:53:25 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 04, 2009, 06:50:32 PM
Is there a lazy way of transferring contacts from an old sim/phone to the iphone?

I imported from my motorola to outlook and then got them into gmail contacts which then talked apparently to iTunes and voila...... about half my contacts made it.
Post by: Puckoon on February 04, 2009, 06:54:29 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 04, 2009, 06:50:32 PM

If your iphone was store bought with contract and all then the staff should have transferred everything for you. They took my old sim card, put it in a transferring device with my new iphone sim card and as the muppet says - Voila.
Post by: ONeill on February 04, 2009, 09:31:25 PM
Simple thing worked. Took my new o2 sim out of the iphone, put it in the old phone and copied all photos, contacts over onto it. Turned out I'd saved everything on to the old phone and not the old sim so she worked a dream.

What's the 3g coverage like? Are you better to use your own home wireless?
Post by: Puckoon on February 04, 2009, 09:36:48 PM
I use wireless every chance I get. Having the 3G enabled all the time shortens your battery life. If youve wireless at home, use it and turn off the 3G setting.
Post by: mournerambler on February 04, 2009, 10:42:01 PM
Unless you live in Belfast (not sure about coverage in the south of the country) I would say you could nearly forget about the 3G network unless someone can tell me different.
Post by: lurganblue on May 26, 2009, 03:11:00 PM
just to continue this thread on... what apps do the rest of yous use? i personal use the facebook app loads and admitt that its pretty addictive, but there are bound to be more great apps out there...

ive also been using the ifooty app recently to keep up to date on soccer scores and stories...
Post by: ziggysego on May 26, 2009, 03:28:47 PM
The main apps I use are

Facebook
FML
TwitterFon
I use the following the odd time

Dictionary
Shazam
Post by: Longshanks on May 26, 2009, 03:43:46 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 05, 2009, 10:26:15 AM
I got an I fitness program on the I phone. Just down loaded it from the App store on the phone. It'll help you keep record of trainings, weights, reps etc. Also will give you a few programs for different things like weight loss, muscle building, strength building etc.

what would the name of that be to search it?
Post by: lurganblue on May 26, 2009, 03:49:52 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on May 26, 2009, 03:28:47 PM
The main apps I use are

Facebook
FML
TwitterFon
I use the following the odd time

Dictionary
Shazam

yeah i have the dictionary one and shazam but rarely use them. i have no interest in twitter and dont know anyone else who signed up to skype...
i do also use the wikitap (like wikipedia) one and of course google earth
Post by: supersarsfields on May 26, 2009, 03:51:27 PM
I think it was just called Ifitness LS, lost my Iphone so can't even check for you.
Post by: muppet on May 26, 2009, 03:58:03 PM
GoSkyWatch, Skype and Send Contact among others that I thought were great but never use.
Post by: lurganblue on May 26, 2009, 04:01:18 PM
whats goskywatch?
anyone use the sky plus one?
Post by: ziggysego on May 26, 2009, 04:14:33 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 26, 2009, 04:01:18 PM

Brother-in-Law used to use it. Said he was a great job.
Post by: muppet on May 26, 2009, 04:33:55 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 26, 2009, 04:01:18 PM
whats goskywatch?

It's for watching the Sky rather than Sky.
Post by: lfdown2 on May 28, 2009, 09:24:22 AM
Just got the sky news one, brilliant with videos, have currency converter, unit converter, London tube, and facebook all very useful
Post by: ONeill on June 12, 2009, 09:03:13 PM
Probably on to my first iphone app game addiction - Paper Toss.
Post by: David McKeown on June 12, 2009, 09:28:38 PM
After an accident with mine I jailbroke mine to run how made apps.  I have got some great ones for different things now
Post by: Minder on June 12, 2009, 09:47:21 PM
I am getting the new i phone next week and was in the Apple shop today, i asked one of the wacky staff about the email function on it, he reckoned you had to pay a monthly fee for Hotmail if you set up a Hotmail account as opposed to Microsoft Exchange, Yahoo, G Mail etc. Is this correct?
Post by: muppet on June 12, 2009, 09:57:02 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 12, 2009, 09:47:21 PM
I am getting the new i phone next week and was in the Apple shop today, i asked one of the wacky staff about the email function on it, he reckoned you had to pay a monthly fee for Hotmail if you set up a Hotmail account as opposed to Microsoft Exchange, Yahoo, G Mail etc. Is this correct?

Never heard of anyone paying for hotmail.
Post by: Minder on June 12, 2009, 10:00:34 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 12, 2009, 09:57:02 PM

Never heard of anyone paying for hotmail.
Neither had i. I suspected he was talking shite.
Post by: Longshanks on June 13, 2009, 09:21:04 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 12, 2009, 09:03:13 PM

Addicted to hit too!! get nothing done at work with it, I can only get 6 in a row at the hardest level though  :-[
Post by: David McKeown on June 13, 2009, 09:36:30 AM

What he is talking about is that a number of years ago hotmail turned off your ability to access it's service through email clients in order to reduce spamming. As a result you either had to pay for that privillage or else use a web browser. Consequently on an iPhone you either have to use Safari (the web browser) to access hotmail or pay hotmail or a third party in order to use the mail client
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 13, 2009, 01:30:11 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 13, 2009, 09:36:30 AM

What he is talking about is that a number of years ago hotmail turned off your ability to access it's service through email clients in order to reduce spamming. As a result you either had to pay for that privillage or else use a web browser. Consequently on an iPhone you either have to use Safari (the web browser) to access hotmail or pay hotmail or a third party in order to use the mail client

I can access my hotmail through the mail function and didnt have to pay anything or do anything special. If I used Safari to try and log-in to my hotmail, it wouldn't work, don't think Safari could load up everything that's there when you login on a computer. I just went to settings for email, added my hotmail account and can access it no problem. Only thing is, I can only view my inbox, sent items and deleted items when using the iPhone. There is an app out there called mBox Mail for £2.99 which can grant you full access to your account. http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=292591480&mt=8 (http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=292591480&mt=8)
Post by: Minder on June 13, 2009, 01:36:41 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 13, 2009, 01:30:11 PM

I can access my hotmail through the mail function and didnt have to pay anything or do anything special. If I used Safari to try and log-in to my hotmail, it wouldn't work, don't think Safari could load up everything that's there when you login on a computer. I just went to settings for email, added my hotmail account and can access it no problem. Only thing is, I can only view my inbox, sent items and deleted items when using the iPhone. There is an app out there called mBox Mail for £2.99 which can grant you full access to your account. http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=292591480&mt=8 (http://itunes.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore.woa/wa/viewSoftware?id=292591480&mt=8)
Cheers Archie, do you need to get any settings from Hotmail or is it just standard, email address, password etc ?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 13, 2009, 01:43:52 PM
Just go to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calender > Add Account > Choose other then type in your email address, password and description for it.

It will load your whole inbox though so probably best doing it over the wifi rather than 3G.

I think the issue they were talking about before is maybe with using hotmail as your primary email account.
Post by: David McKeown on June 13, 2009, 02:04:44 PM

Sorry that should have said turned off access to it's relay (sending) service. Or at least I've not be able to send through it all though I haven't really tried for a few years
Post by: David McKeown on June 13, 2009, 02:16:32 PM
After a quick google apparently it can be done although I've never got it to work without upgrading account
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 13, 2009, 02:24:09 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on June 13, 2009, 02:16:32 PM
After a quick google apparently it can be done although I've never got it to work without upgrading account

What can be done and upgrade account to what?

I can access my hotmail through the mail, I can send and receive messages.
Post by: thebigfella on June 13, 2009, 04:18:09 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 13, 2009, 01:43:52 PM
Just go to Settings > Mail, Contacts, Calender > Add Account > Choose other then type in your email address, password and description for it.

It will load your whole inbox though so probably best doing it over the wifi rather than 3G.

I think the issue they were talking about before is maybe with using hotmail as your primary email account.

It doesn't by default it loads the 50 recent messages. You can change this though in the mail settings on the iphone to a max of 200.
Post by: ONeill on June 13, 2009, 11:44:48 PM
Quote from: Longshanks on June 13, 2009, 09:21:04 AM

Addicted to hit too!! get nothing done at work with it, I can only get 6 in a row at the hardest level though  :-[

Bastard.

I'm on 20 for easy, 11 for med and 5 for hard.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 13, 2009, 11:56:10 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 13, 2009, 04:18:09 PM

It doesn't by default it loads the 50 recent messages. You can change this though in the mail settings on the iphone to a max of 200.
Does the iphone only pull email or can it be used for push email accounts like a Blackberry?
Post by: Minder on June 13, 2009, 11:59:04 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 13, 2009, 11:56:10 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 13, 2009, 04:18:09 PM

Does the iphone only pull email or can it be used for push email accounts like a Blackberry?

Both, i think.
Post by: ziggysego on June 14, 2009, 01:20:02 AM

Damn you. Downloaded this, this morning on your recommendation. Hooked on it.
Post by: Minder on June 21, 2009, 12:45:31 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 13, 2009, 11:44:48 PM
Quote from: Longshanks on June 13, 2009, 09:21:04 AM

b**tard.

I'm on 20 for easy, 11 for med and 5 for hard.

28 on easy, i have never seen such a case of "eye of the tiger"
Post by: Minder on June 21, 2009, 12:50:52 AM
Andytown News were down at the house when they heard of my 28, i had a big sad face pointing at the I Phone............
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 22, 2009, 07:48:26 PM
Anybody any use at designing and developing app's for the iPhone?
Post by: thebigfella on June 22, 2009, 08:32:18 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 22, 2009, 07:48:26 PM

What are you after?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 23, 2009, 10:52:32 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 22, 2009, 08:32:18 PM

What are you after?

Just had an idea for a score keeping app for when going to GAA matches.

Something with a clock running in the corner, and then throughout the game you can press a button for goal, point, yellow/red card, substitution etc then select what number of the player for that team that was involved. Then possibly click on a timeline of events so you can see what happened at what time.

Would be useful for going to club matches, where sometimes there isnt a scoreboard. Aso would be useful for club PRO's as well as other people writing reports on the game.

Something similar to what they offer on http://www.gaastats.com/home.htm (http://www.gaastats.com/home.htm) but not as complicated.

Would there be much work involved in this? Can you copy other similar apps and edit the code to suit your own?
Post by: ziggysego on June 23, 2009, 10:57:44 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 23, 2009, 10:52:32 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 22, 2009, 08:32:18 PM

What are you after?

Just had an idea for a score keeping app for when going to GAA matches.

Something with a clock running in the corner, and then throughout the game you can press a button for goal, point, yellow/red card, substitution etc then select what number of the player for that team that was involved. Then possibly click on a timeline of events so you can see what happened at what time.

Would be useful for going to club matches, where sometimes there isnt a scoreboard. Aso would be useful for club PRO's as well as other people writing reports on the game.

Something similar to what they offer on http://www.gaastats.com/home.htm (http://www.gaastats.com/home.htm) but not as complicated.

Would there be much work involved in this? Can you copy other similar apps and edit the code to suit your own?

Great minds think alike  :D
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 23, 2009, 11:05:37 PM
I wouldn't have a clue either. Obviously there will be some sort of database behind it and you could make it as detailed as possible by adding in other things that happen and more details on team. Maybe the option to send the data via email so you can keep a record of it.

Where you thinking the same Ziggy?

I haven't ventured too far in Hard level of Paper Toss.

Flight Control is very addictive. Have to pay for it though  >:(
Post by: thebigfella on June 23, 2009, 11:38:15 PM
To be honest it wouldn't be too difficult as the interface would be straight forward with the SDK tools supplied. Data storage can be done in a number of ways, SQLite is included in the SDK, XML or text files. My main issue would be getting the data from the Iphone for analysis but I assume there is documented ways to do this, email is a option but again the data would have to be in a format suitable to import into, for example, excel.

You also have to think about how you get the app onto your phones too, without jail breaking them you have to download it from the Itunes app store and thus it needs to be approved by Apple.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 23, 2009, 11:41:10 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 23, 2009, 11:38:15 PM
To be honest it wouldn't be too difficult as the interface would be straight forward with the SDK tools supplied. Data storage can be done in a number of ways, SQLite is included in the SDK, XML or text files. My main issue would be getting the data from the Iphone for analysis but I assume there is documented ways to do this, email is a option but again the data would have to be in a format suitable to import into, for example, excel.

You also have to think about how you get the app onto your phones too, without jail breaking them you have to download it from the Itunes app store and thus it needs to be approved by Apple.

You seem to know what your talking about then. Have you developed any before? I know a few boys who do a bit of programming, could maybe ask them to have a look at it. Is it a big issue to get it approved by Apple?
Post by: thebigfella on June 24, 2009, 12:32:00 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 23, 2009, 11:41:10 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 23, 2009, 11:38:15 PM

You seem to know what your talking about then. Have you developed any before? I know a few boys who do a bit of programming, could maybe ask them to have a look at it. Is it a big issue to get it approved by Apple?

I'm a member of the developer program and have worked on a few proof of concept's, they are mainly proprietary in-house apps though. If your mates are familiar with C (and own a Mac) they will be fine, otherwise they will have a bit of a steeper learning curve. Approval by Apple shouldn't be an issue as long as it sticks to their guidelines and obviously you have to pay to be a member of the developer program before it can be submitted.
Post by: ziggysego on June 24, 2009, 12:53:12 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 23, 2009, 11:05:37 PM

Setting up a GAA app for the iPhone, where people login and update their club's results onto and anyone else can access.
Post by: ONeill on June 24, 2009, 01:11:59 AM
Still on 5.
Post by: ziggysego on June 24, 2009, 01:21:01 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 24, 2009, 01:11:59 AM
Still on 5.

Post by: take_yer_points on June 24, 2009, 09:13:55 AM
I've too much time on my hands - 11 on hard
Post by: thebigfella on June 24, 2009, 10:24:03 AM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 24, 2009, 12:53:12 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 23, 2009, 11:05:37 PM

Setting up a GAA app for the iPhone, where people login and update their club's results onto and anyone else can access.

That's slightly different, you would have to develop a Web Site and then build the client for the iphone which connects to the site either just to upload the data or also eventually showing the other stats uploaded by another account. I think than main issue is how you manage the creation/update of the results for the same club etc...., possibly some sort of Wiki is the way to go though.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 24, 2009, 10:52:23 AM
Ziggy's idea is shite and mine is better.
Post by: thebigfella on June 24, 2009, 10:58:22 AM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 24, 2009, 10:52:23 AM
Ziggy's idea is shite and mine is better.

Yours is easier to implement but then again what are you going to do with the data? You can leave it on the iphone for review but surely you would want to export it and use it in some sort of analysis tool? Eventually you will have quite a large amount of data on the Iphone which is not exactly the best tool to be doing your analysis on.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 24, 2009, 11:12:31 AM
I'm only trying to wind Ziggy up.
Post by: thebigfella on June 24, 2009, 01:20:11 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 24, 2009, 11:12:31 AM

Aye I know but I was interested on what you plan to do with the data/stats you record?

I like Ziggy's idea as I have implemented something similar (not for GAA), without the iphone client, for tracking IT projects using Wiki's. Would be relatively easy to adapt it I believe and develop an Iphone client.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on June 24, 2009, 01:34:05 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 24, 2009, 01:20:11 PM

Aye I know but I was interested on what you plan to do with the data/stats you record?

I like Ziggy's idea as I have implemented something similar (not for storing), without the iphone client, for tracking IT projects using Wiki's. Would be relatively easy to adapt it I believe and idevelop an Iphone client.

I suppose it would be useful to send the data on somewhere so that you would have a record for it and saves having all the data stored on the iPhone. I have used the RunKeeper app a few times, and it records where you have ran with the GPS, records times, speed, etc, and you can upload the data to their website and log in and view it there as well as on the iPhone.
Post by: thebigfella on June 24, 2009, 02:25:08 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on June 24, 2009, 01:34:05 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 24, 2009, 01:20:11 PM

I like Ziggy's idea as I have implemented something similar (not for storing), without the iphone client, for tracking IT projects using Wiki's. Would be relatively easy to adapt it I believe and idevelop an Iphone client.

I suppose it would be useful to send the data on somewhere so that you would have a record for it and saves having all the data stored on the iPhone. I have used the RunKeeper app a few times, and it records where you have ran with the GPS, records times, speed, etc, and you can upload the data to their website and log in and view it there as well as on the iPhone.

Yeah it's a similar idea to Ziggy's, only the Iphone client is a bit more sophisticated by using the GPS, system time etc. to record the data before uploading it. Still though there is no point uploading it to a web site if the site itself is crap.
Post by: ziggysego on June 24, 2009, 02:34:26 PM
I'm flat out redesigning the Greencastle website. I might try and incorporate my idea onto this idea and see how it works. If it works, I could expand it through Tyrone, Ulster and then Ireland.
Post by: thebigfella on June 24, 2009, 03:52:00 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on June 24, 2009, 02:34:26 PM
I'm flat out redesigning the Greencastle website. I might try and incorporate my idea onto this idea and see how it works. If it works, I could expand it through Tyrone, Ulster and then Ireland.

You main issue is how manage content,
1. Do you follow a blog style where essentially everyone can see but only the author/admins can edit and most likely you could get multiple entries per game. Essentially the RunKeeper is a only blog of your run with some analysis tools etc...
2. or follow a collaborative effort like wiki's where everone can edit or amend the game stats once the initial upload has been created. You then get in to all sorts of issues with concurrency and tracking changes.

Would be interesting project if you where to try something like the 2nd option.
Post by: Minder on June 26, 2009, 08:20:30 AM
When trying to access the videos on the Sky News app since last night, either on WI-FI or 3G I get "server not configured properly". It has been working grand all week. Anyone get this error before?
Post by: ziggysego on July 01, 2009, 12:36:25 PM
Downloaded a class wee app last night. Ocarina, it turns the iPhone into a musical instrument. Beautiful sounds too.
Post by: lurganblue on July 01, 2009, 01:11:16 PM
is there a bluetooth app?
Post by: flantheman82 on July 14, 2009, 09:01:20 AM
got 101 on easy last night. was in the zone listening to some music before the wife nudged my arm. apparently she was shouting and i was ignoring her. could've cried.
Post by: take_yer_points on July 14, 2009, 09:04:33 AM
I've been trying to get an app with Radio Ulster for a while now but not having any joy - I've just been trying the free apps. I got Radio 1 working last night but not Radio Ulster - has anyone else managed to get it yet? On a free or a paid app?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 14, 2009, 12:38:58 PM
WunderRadio is the business for streaming radio. Make sure your package has some sort of 3G download or else you could lose a fortune. I have 1GB per month which seems to be sufficient.

What's the best Sat Nav for the iPhone?
Post by: take_yer_points on July 14, 2009, 01:51:52 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 14, 2009, 12:38:58 PM
WunderRadio is the business for streaming radio. Make sure your package has some sort of 3G download or else you could lose a fortune. I have 1GB per month which seems to be sufficient.

Cheers. I've only used the built in maps so far. TomTom is coming soon though - it should be good
Post by: Minder on July 14, 2009, 03:14:41 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on July 14, 2009, 01:51:52 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 14, 2009, 12:38:58 PM

Cheers. I've only used the built in maps so far. TomTom is coming soon though - it should be good
Will probably be £60-70 though, there has been one just released, Navigon, is £52.99
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 23, 2009, 11:20:17 PM
A good app which I use alot is free for this weekend only. Called Mobile Allowance. What it does, it will log you into your O2 account and get your current bill status telling you how many minutes used/left, texts used/left, current spend and next bill update. Use it alot of the time as its easier than going to the O2 website and logging in etc. Worthwhile getting if you like to check your bill during the month.
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on July 24, 2009, 12:10:25 AM
Just jailbreak the damn thing  :D

Paying money for apps, lol
Post by: take_yer_points on July 24, 2009, 08:20:01 AM
Quote from: Lady GAA GAA on July 24, 2009, 12:10:25 AM
Just jailbreak the damn thing  :D

Paying money for apps, lol

What are the benefits of jailbreaking the phone? What are the risks?

Can I restore the phone to its original non-jailbroken state if I want to?
Post by: ONeill on August 11, 2009, 02:25:17 PM
sky sports have an excellent free app. If you want to keep an eye on various games across Europe, there's a deadly customised option.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on August 11, 2009, 02:53:15 PM
I see there is a 'bursting bubblewrap' application.

Evenings now ruined.
Post by: tyroneman on August 11, 2009, 03:14:51 PM
Is there any truth o2 will soon lose exclusivity and hopefully price will come down?
Post by: Bensars on August 11, 2009, 03:22:27 PM
Is there any other way of getting the applications than through the phone itself ?
Post by: ziggysego on August 11, 2009, 03:25:14 PM
iTunes.
Post by: Bensars on August 11, 2009, 03:27:00 PM
Are they not the same ones that are available through the phone anyway ?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 11, 2009, 03:47:41 PM
Quote from: tyroneman on August 11, 2009, 03:14:51 PM
Is there any truth o2 will soon lose exclusivity and hopefully price will come down?

Next March
Post by: Karl Kennedy on August 11, 2009, 04:57:01 PM
So come next march the vodafone and orange will have the i phone on sale???

Apparently reason why its dear with o2 at minute is because they are set prices with apple.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on August 11, 2009, 04:57:56 PM
The phone won't be that much cheaper but there will be more competitive contracts
Post by: bingobus on August 11, 2009, 05:35:19 PM
Good stuff, bored with the N95 now (although camera is excellent) and have been impressed with the options available with the iphone.
Post by: joebloggs on August 11, 2009, 10:12:32 PM
Lads if yous are interested in some sort of stat tracking website/application and are interested in making it open source gimme a shout as i might be willing to help out.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on August 11, 2009, 11:54:20 PM
Quote from: joebloggs on August 11, 2009, 10:12:32 PM
Lads if yous are interested in some sort of stat tracking website/application and are interested in making it open source gimme a shout as i might be willing to help out.

More info? I think I mentioned earlier in the thread about an app that keeps scores and other stats for a football game. Wouldn't have a clue how to do it though. Something similar to http://www.gaastats.com/home.htm (http://www.gaastats.com/home.htm) but not as in depth.
Post by: lurganblue on August 12, 2009, 09:10:29 AM
just bought the camera zoom for 59p this morning. seems to be working fine. well worth it...
Post by: Karl Kennedy on August 12, 2009, 02:21:43 PM
Do u not get the camera zoom with the i phone anyhow?? is the camera function much good

So when u buy it u have to down load all the applications is that rite?? not much good dat

Wat is the video like on the 3g s i phone?? Is it decent quality?
Post by: Minder on August 12, 2009, 02:34:55 PM
Quote from: Karl Kennedy on August 12, 2009, 02:21:43 PM
Do u not get the camera zoom with the i phone anyhow?? is the camera function much good

So when u buy it u have to down load all the applications is that rite?? not much good dat

Video quality is excellent.
Post by: Karl Kennedy on August 12, 2009, 04:22:43 PM
Quote from: Minder on August 12, 2009, 02:34:55 PM
Quote from: Karl Kennedy on August 12, 2009, 02:21:43 PM

Video quality is excellent.

How long can u take a video for??? is there a time limit??

Would the video be as good as camcorder quality??
Post by: lurganblue on August 12, 2009, 05:40:29 PM
 no zoom on the iPhone 3g but there probably is on the 3g s.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on August 25, 2009, 07:58:20 PM
Have any of use downloaded the Gym Babes app recently?

Definately worth getting  :P
Post by: ONeill on August 25, 2009, 08:03:08 PM
 I stumbled across it yesterday. Strangely mesmerising indeed.
Post by: Minder on August 25, 2009, 08:18:19 PM
Try Doodlejump, very basic but addictive.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on August 25, 2009, 08:21:01 PM
Is 1gb of Data allowance enough per month?
Im due a upgrade soon not sure what to get,am looking at iphones or N97
Post by: Estimator on October 26, 2009, 06:07:14 PM
Anyone see the GAA tracker App - Designed by Tom Brewster?
Post by: ziggysego on October 26, 2009, 06:53:51 PM
Quote from: Estimator on October 26, 2009, 06:07:14 PM

What's it called?
Post by: omagh_gael on October 26, 2009, 07:21:47 PM
Unblock Me is a very good app, a puzzle game and it's free!
Post by: Caid on October 26, 2009, 07:26:01 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on October 26, 2009, 06:53:51 PM
Quote from: Estimator on October 26, 2009, 06:07:14 PM

What's it called?

http://appadvice.com/app/333210270

I wonder will Tom Brewster's app cover his games in Fermanagh Division 2 against heavyweights such as Aughadrumsee and Maguiresbridge next year  :)
Post by: Archie Mitchell on October 26, 2009, 08:16:40 PM
The hoor musta been reading this board and took my idea!
Post by: Caid on October 26, 2009, 10:01:58 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 26, 2009, 08:16:40 PM
The hoor musta been reading this board and took my idea!

Paddy Heaney told him
Post by: Archie Mitchell on October 28, 2009, 09:03:49 PM
Got a great app there called Tubes. It was free when I got it, but it's 59p now. Well worth it in my opinion ;)
Post by: Bensars on October 28, 2009, 09:40:08 PM
UnBlock Me, very addictive
Tiger Woods PGA tour, very good
Yell.com
Scrabble
Crop for free

Does anyone know of an app for  handy group texting ?
Post by: Karl Kennedy on November 05, 2009, 05:35:15 PM
Hello I am hoping someone can help me with a facebook application problem on my iphone.

Any time now i try to chat some on the chat featureon the iphone it doesnt seem to work..I can view the message i sent but I never get any replies back wen using it on my iphone but if i was to log into facebook on my computer the whole chat conversation appears no problem..

also any status and photos updates i view on my computer it doesnt seem to update on my iphone facebook..

Is it a problem with my iphone or facebook mobile?
Post by: Lone Shark on November 05, 2009, 07:15:37 PM
(http://www.nataliedee.com/092409/sorry-i-was-trying-to-call-my-mom.jpg)
Post by: ONeill on November 23, 2009, 12:47:43 AM
Have you tried railing a lead from your phone to the dashboard of a Seat?
Post by: muppet on November 23, 2009, 03:52:14 PM
Quote from: hardstation on November 23, 2009, 12:39:19 AM
Right. I tried to download an app. Can't mind what app but it shows up as a grey icon with 'waiting' below it. When I hold the app to make it 'wobble', the x doesn't come up on it. How do I get rid of this piece of shit?

This should be in the Rachel Riley thread.

Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 02:30:15 PM
Downloaded one called iputt,finding it ultra addictive
Post by: screenexile on December 05, 2009, 03:10:19 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 02:30:15 PM

Awesome call!!!!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 03:13:14 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 05, 2009, 03:10:19 PM

Awesome call!!!!

My best is 7 in a row
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 07, 2009, 10:17:48 PM
Downloaded a app called ipity...getting great mileage out of it  :D
Post by: mc_grens on December 07, 2009, 11:46:07 PM
Favourites/ most useful (but not necessarily both)...

Shazam
Movies Now
F My Life
Facebook
Echofon (Twitter client)
Bump
Redlaser
Dublinbuster
Sky +

and of course...

Lightsaber!
Post by: screenexile on December 07, 2009, 11:56:02 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 03:13:14 PM

Awesome call!!!!

My best is 7 in a row

Been playin it all weekend and can't get more than 7... I shall have 10 by the end of the week!
Post by: randomtask on December 08, 2009, 12:19:41 AM
is it worth the money?
Post by: Shrek on December 08, 2009, 09:55:33 AM
Quote from: randomtask on December 08, 2009, 12:19:41 AM
is it worth the money?

its free, just downloading as i type.
Post by: lurganblue on December 08, 2009, 11:20:46 AM
the main ones i use are

facebook
twitter
fantasy football 09
Football Live (for NFL)

oh and i've bookmarked iphone.livescore as an app too which is handy for football scores
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 14, 2009, 01:42:19 PM
Quote from: screenexile on December 07, 2009, 11:56:02 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on December 05, 2009, 03:13:14 PM

Awesome call!!!!

My best is 7 in a row

Been playin it all weekend and can't get more than 7... I shall have 10 by the end of the week!

Up to 11 in a row 8)
Post by: Shrek on December 14, 2009, 02:11:45 PM
kept getting for ages, then finally got 15.

havent got close to that again though.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 14, 2009, 06:19:38 PM
Any of use us the app called Ping!? Its great. Allows you to text other iPhone users who have the app, therefore not using up any of your text messages. When you get a message, it comes up on your screen like a message would. It's free at the minute too.
Post by: Puckoon on December 14, 2009, 06:32:54 PM
Quote from: Bensars on October 28, 2009, 09:40:08 PM
UnBlock Me, very addictive
Tiger Woods PGA tour, very good
Yell.com
Scrabble
Crop for free

Does anyone know of an app for  handy group texting ?

I just add the names to who I want to txt. Its not that much of a pain in the ass?

As of yet I dont know any apps.
Post by: Minder on December 14, 2009, 07:20:06 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on December 14, 2009, 06:19:38 PM
Any of use us the app called Ping!? Its great. Allows you to text other iPhone users who have the app, therefore not using up any of your text messages. When you get a message, it comes up on your screen like a message would. It's free at the minute too.

Whatapp messenger is supposed to be better than Ping. Downloaded it the other day.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 14, 2009, 07:27:57 PM
Think I had it before when was free but deleted without using it. Whats better about it that ping?
Post by: Minder on December 14, 2009, 07:39:50 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on December 14, 2009, 07:27:57 PM
Think I had it before when was free but deleted without using it. Whats better about it that ping?

Dunno, just going by the reviews. People said they left Ping to go to this one. On Ping when someone messages you does it come up instantly like a text or do you have to have the Ping app opened? I might download Ping too and give them both a trial.
Post by: venter on December 14, 2009, 09:18:46 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on December 08, 2009, 11:20:46 AM
the main ones i use are

facebook
twitter
fantasy football 09
Football Live (for NFL)

oh and i've bookmarked iphone.livescore as an app too which is handy for football scores

Damn, I was going to make my millions from developing a fantasy football app. The market for that is huge. I've been usurped. The delay in the transition of my idea from the barstool to reality was my downfall.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 14, 2009, 09:19:35 PM
On Ping! the message comes up like a text message as well. There is a lite one out there, which might not do that. The full version is free now anyway.
Post by: Minder on December 14, 2009, 09:28:31 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on December 14, 2009, 09:19:35 PM
On Ping! the message comes up like a text message as well. There is a lite one out there, which might not do that. The full version is free now anyway.

On the Whatapp you have to have the app open to see any messages, which isn't too handy. Read the other day Apple banned an app company and deleted thousands of their apps from the app store as they were giving false ratings on their own apps. I would say that is rife in fairness.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 16, 2009, 10:19:18 PM
Cows in space a great little addictive game
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 16, 2009, 11:30:05 PM
For anyone that likes Mr.T try the app iPity
Post by: Leg End on December 17, 2009, 12:00:30 AM
field runners... class

also arcade hoops basketball
Post by: lurganblue on December 17, 2009, 09:03:31 AM
Quote from: venter on December 14, 2009, 09:18:46 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on December 08, 2009, 11:20:46 AM
the main ones i use are

facebook
twitter
fantasy football 09
Football Live (for NFL)

Damn, I was going to make my millions from developing a fantasy football app. The market for that is huge. I've been usurped. The delay in the transition of my idea from the barstool to reality was my downfall.

yep. i was wondering why some of the ones in our league were flying ahead until i realised they had 24/7 access to their team. i was sleeping in...
Post by: gerrykeegan on December 21, 2009, 08:17:03 PM
Lads/Lassies Am I correct in assuming that you pay for most good apps. The ones that are free are just demo/intro unless you jailbreak your phone/touch
Post by: Minder on December 21, 2009, 08:36:59 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on December 21, 2009, 08:17:03 PM
Lads/Lassies Am I correct in assuming that you pay for most good apps. The ones that are free are just demo/intro unless you jailbreak your phone/touch

Loads of good free ones, most I have paid for one is £2.39
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 21, 2009, 08:47:34 PM
Virtual Pool was my latest purchase. Well worth it.
Post by: Puckoon on January 13, 2010, 12:14:47 AM
Finally bought my first app - splashed out 4.99$ for scrabble by EA sports. Good craic. Can play against someone if you are sharing a wireless network, and it has an option for linking to my facebook account, although I have yet to do that.

Post by: offtheground on January 13, 2010, 08:44:32 AM
Has anyone tried the GAA app listed in the app store?? 'GAA tracker'
Post by: ziggysego on January 13, 2010, 12:31:35 PM
Quote from: offtheground on January 13, 2010, 08:44:32 AM

Yeah, can't figure it out.
Post by: muppet on January 13, 2010, 03:55:49 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 13, 2010, 12:31:35 PM

There was a bit in the papers about a fault with that app. Link to article (http://farm1.static.flickr.com/229/527932198_8533662a85.jpg)

There's a typo in the title. It should read GAY Tracker. I believe it is fixed now. Did you have any strangers stopping you in the street since you downloaded it? 
Post by: ziggysego on January 13, 2010, 04:16:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 13, 2010, 03:55:49 PM

There was a bit in the papers about a fault with that app. Link to article (http://farm1.static.flickr.com/229/527932198_8533662a85.jpg)

There's a typo in the title. It should read GAY Tracker. I believe it is fixed now. Did you have any strangers stopping you in the street since you downloaded it?

No, but all the PMs I've been getting from you started around that time.
Post by: muppet on January 13, 2010, 05:05:19 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 13, 2010, 04:16:25 PM
Quote from: muppet on January 13, 2010, 03:55:49 PM

No, but all the PMs I've been getting from you started around that time.

Shhhhhh you're not supposed to open closets here, unless it's your own.
Post by: offtheground on January 15, 2010, 12:27:06 PM
Does anyone here use an app that allows you to use your ipone as a storage device? I've a few files I want to take home and have forgot my memory stick today...
Post by: down6061689194 on January 15, 2010, 08:36:09 PM
Lego Face has shot to top of free apps. It's a bit of craic. andgood call on iputt. 9 today  ;D
Post by: Minder on January 15, 2010, 08:37:40 PM
Quote from: down6061689194 on January 15, 2010, 08:36:09 PM
Lego Face has shot to top of free apps. It's a bit of craic. andgood call on iputt. 9 today  ;D

Can't get more than 11 on Iputt.
Post by: ONeill on January 15, 2010, 08:43:45 PM
Talkingcarl is good craic if you're bored.
Post by: down6061689194 on January 15, 2010, 09:09:17 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 15, 2010, 08:37:40 PM
Quote from: down6061689194 on January 15, 2010, 08:36:09 PM

Can't get more than 11 on Iputt.

Does it have a tilt function. Im sure it does but I cant help but feel PS2 Racing game style it makes no difference, its just about keeping me sane.
Post by: Puckoon on January 25, 2010, 10:12:36 PM
Any one for scrabble?

Words with friends is the app - pm me for username if you want a game.
Post by: ziggysego on January 25, 2010, 10:16:35 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 25, 2010, 10:12:36 PM
Any one for scrabble?

Give me two minutes to download
Post by: tyrone86 on January 25, 2010, 11:36:23 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 25, 2010, 10:16:35 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 25, 2010, 10:12:36 PM
Any one for scrabble?

Give me two minutes to download

I believe I'd like to place a small wager on Puck in this particular battle
Post by: Puckoon on January 25, 2010, 11:39:04 PM
I had to resort to the word horny.
Post by: tyrone86 on January 25, 2010, 11:40:34 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 25, 2010, 11:39:04 PM

Well you have take what your given
Post by: ziggysego on January 25, 2010, 11:45:14 PM

Your first word was ALWAYS and your second word was HORNY.

Then my battery died :(
Post by: muppet on January 26, 2010, 02:54:32 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on January 25, 2010, 11:45:14 PM

Your first word was ALWAYS and your second word was HORNY.

Then my battery died :(
[/quote

Is that what they're calling it these days? It used to be 'washing my hair' or something like that.
Post by: down6061689194 on January 30, 2010, 09:00:21 PM
Any thoughts on how the GAA could be applied to an app. Been thinking over it myself, fixtures & locations is the best I've got.
Post by: imtommygunn on January 30, 2010, 09:06:44 PM
There are a few stats packages out there.

Tom Brewster has one out and I think there's another one.

Post by: Minder on January 30, 2010, 09:22:19 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 30, 2010, 09:06:44 PM

Aye and I think the Brewsters were doing the reviews for it, all 5 stars funny enough.
Post by: down6061689194 on January 30, 2010, 09:40:42 PM
You need a mac and it costs $100 to join.

Or you can employ someone.

Brewsters seems to be coaching based, something for the fans should be out there

Post by: Maguire01 on January 31, 2010, 12:06:06 AM
Quote from: Minder on January 30, 2010, 09:22:19 PM

Aye and I think the Brewsters were doing the reviews for it, all 5 stars funny enough.
Yeah, not the most objective reviews. It's crap. I downloaded it and deleted it shortly afterwards. Maybe a journalist or a team manager might use it (although if they did, they'd probably miss half the game), but for a spectator, it's a waste of time.
Post by: Minder on January 31, 2010, 12:10:15 AM
Quote from: Maguire01 on January 31, 2010, 12:06:06 AM
Quote from: Minder on January 30, 2010, 09:22:19 PM

Yeah, not the most objective reviews. It's crap. I downloaded it and deleted it shortly afterwards. Maybe a journalist or a team manager might use it (although if they did, they'd probably miss half the game), but for a spectator, it's a waste of time.

I think one of the reviewers handles had "Brew" in it. Apple take a dim view of it, on a larger scale I suppose. It is a pain in the hole though when you are thinking of buying an app and you know half the reviewers have a vested interest.
Post by: donelli on February 02, 2010, 08:38:30 PM
i bought the gaa tracker app. it was only 2.99. should have spent it on something else.
I was wanting to use it to record stats on players, but it not very useful. pen and paper a lot more effective.
would not recommend it
Post by: Minder on February 02, 2010, 08:39:56 PM
Quote from: donelli on February 02, 2010, 08:38:30 PM
i bought the gaa tracker app. it was only 2.99. should have spent it on something else.
I was wanting to use it to record stats on players, but it not very useful. pen and paper a lot more effective.
would not recommend it

Leave feedback then so other people know.
Post by: ONeill on February 14, 2010, 11:53:47 PM
Addicted to Flick Kick Rugby at the minute. 59p.
Post by: Minder on February 15, 2010, 08:25:32 AM
Quote from: ONeill on February 14, 2010, 11:53:47 PM
Addicted to Flick Kick Rugby at the minute. 59p.

Downloaded it at the weekend. High score of 28.
Post by: ONeill on February 15, 2010, 06:48:41 PM
30 in sudden death, 338 in arcade, big balls.
Post by: Minder on February 15, 2010, 07:11:24 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 15, 2010, 06:48:41 PM
30 in sudden death, 338 in arcade, big balls.

I missed a sitter to get me to 30 there. Was already thinking ofmy celebration before I put it over. My hamstring had also been givin me bother.
Post by: Minder on February 15, 2010, 07:11:59 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 15, 2010, 07:10:57 PM

Pair of cnuts.

O'Neill is both of them.
Post by: ONeill on February 15, 2010, 09:22:29 PM
Make that 32, hairy-arses
Post by: Estimator on February 15, 2010, 11:22:49 PM
Can't get passed 28
Always fcuk it up when "Don't Screw it Up Now" appears on the screen
Post by: orange2009 on February 17, 2010, 09:11:28 AM
Are IPhone apps really difficult to programme?  As if anyone is interested in doing a GAA one, more specifically Armagh, give me a pm
Post by: Shrek on February 17, 2010, 09:46:32 AM
Downloaded the flick Rugby

Damn addictive

Cant get past the 30 mark atm
Post by: donelli on February 17, 2010, 10:09:50 AM
Quote from: Minder on February 02, 2010, 08:39:56 PM
Quote from: donelli on February 02, 2010, 08:38:30 PM
would not recommend it

Leave feedback then so other people know.

had already left a star rating. never say any other option of leaving feedback on an app
Post by: mountainboii on February 17, 2010, 10:12:55 AM
Played flick Rugby way too much over the weekend, but have 34 in sudden death and 418 in arcade to show for my efforts. Got 24 out of 25 in arcade for the 418, f**king raging I missed one because I haven't got over 21 since.
Post by: screenexile on February 17, 2010, 10:18:50 AM
Serious addictive!!!

I've got 40 Sudden Death and my first go at Arcade I got 402 23/25. 390 is my closest since it's a great game thats me now for the next 2 weeks flat out it's pure class!!
Post by: take_yer_points on February 17, 2010, 10:29:50 AM
For any golfers out there there's an app called Golfshot GPS. Its expensive enough at about £20 but if you're jailbroken you can download a free version.

Its got 1000s of courses - I tried searching for a few courses round the north and all but one of those I searched for was on it. To request a course there's an option on the app and you simply take a picture of the scorecard and send it in and they'll add it to their database, I did this and the course was on it the following day.

For some courses they have GPS but not all - I haven't used it too much yet but you can use the GPS to get distance to the hole (not sure I'll use this at all).

As well as working out your handicap it works out your statistics - fairways hit, GIR, accuracy, etc... You can view this information on the app on your iPhone or go onto their website from your computer afterwards and view the scorecard for the round and view all your statistics from your previous rounds.

It also lets you keep scores for the round for up to 4 golfers - you just add in your mates and their scores per hole. However it won't calculate their handicap or statistics.

Like I said above, its a pretty good app for free on the jailbroken phone but £20 could be a bit steep for it.
Post by: Shrek on February 17, 2010, 10:51:09 AM
Didnt realise it was free on a jailbroken phone, might just have re-jailbroken mine to get it.

i downloaded Golfcard (£3 - £5-cant mind exactly) it doe all the above, has GPS rangefinder, calculates your points, gross, net score etc, with handicaps.  does this for 4 players

it has loads of courses and it is also easy to map your own if it isnt on their database.

Havent used it for a round yet as its too damn cold for me  ::)
Post by: tyrone girl on February 17, 2010, 10:55:55 AM
Doodle jump - addictive as hell
Post by: take_yer_points on February 17, 2010, 11:23:04 AM
Quote from: Shrek on February 17, 2010, 10:51:09 AM
Didnt realise it was free on a jailbroken phone, might just have re-jailbroken mine to get it.

i downloaded Golfcard (£3 - £5-cant mind exactly) it doe all the above, has GPS rangefinder, calculates your points, gross, net score etc, with handicaps.  does this for 4 players

it has loads of courses and it is also easy to map your own if it isnt on their database.

Havent used it for a round yet as its too damn cold for me  ::)

That was one thing missing from GolfShot GPS - the version of the app I downloaded doesn't count points. However I've seen from their website that they have included it on later versions - just need someone to crack the later version now so it has the points scoring included.
Post by: ziggysego on February 17, 2010, 01:04:33 PM
Following on the tails of RTE, BBC are sets to launch a BBC News app for the iPhone this April.
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 17, 2010, 01:33:53 PM
Any must have apps? Silly question but how do I get them? And could someone do a gaa stats app for games, it would mean no more busted pens in my shirt pocket and the centre pages of programmes arent scrawled on.
Post by: ziggysego on February 17, 2010, 01:42:50 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 17, 2010, 01:33:53 PM
Any must have apps? Silly question but how do I get them? And could someone do a gaa stats app for games, it would mean no more busted pens in my shirt pocket and the centre pages of programmes arent scrawled on.

GAA Tracker
Post by: ONeill on February 17, 2010, 04:33:51 PM
Up to 38.
Post by: ONeill on February 17, 2010, 05:54:16 PM
46. You hear that? 46.
Post by: Puckoon on February 17, 2010, 07:10:33 PM
Youve been spending too much time on the armitage shanks wannabe.
Post by: screenexile on February 17, 2010, 07:43:39 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 17, 2010, 05:54:16 PM
46. You hear that? 46.

Just equalled that and nailed a 490 in arcade... I love this game!
Post by: ONeill on February 17, 2010, 08:38:31 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 17, 2010, 08:37:16 PM

I'm shit.

Thick fingers.
Post by: Minder on February 17, 2010, 08:43:04 PM
I cant get past 30
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 17, 2010, 08:46:16 PM

I'm shit.
Stuck on 28 myself. Is this how O'Neill spent his midterm break?
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 17, 2010, 08:49:39 PM
Also stuck on 28, though I ve only been playing for about a half an hour. Very addictive.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 17, 2010, 08:58:27 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 17, 2010, 08:46:16 PM

I'm shit.
Stuck on 28 myself. Is this how O'Neill spent his midterm break?
32  ;D Then I lost the run of myself...
Post by: Minder on February 17, 2010, 09:02:24 PM
135  ;D
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 17, 2010, 09:03:10 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 17, 2010, 09:02:24 PM
135  ;D

Screenshot or you`ll be called a liar.
Post by: Minder on February 17, 2010, 09:05:05 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 17, 2010, 09:03:10 PM
135  ;D

I thought the bright sparks on here would have told me the score goes up by two each time
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 17, 2010, 10:21:30 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 17, 2010, 09:05:05 PM
Quote from: Trevor Hill on February 17, 2010, 09:03:10 PM
135  ;D

I thought the bright sparks on here would have told me the score goes up by two each time

Did you not score a try when you got to 100?

32 after an hour non stop practice.
Post by: ONeill on February 17, 2010, 10:24:19 PM
Any of you feckers upload yer scores onto that leaderboard yoke? I'm down as ONeillio if you want to be my friend. Please be my friend.
Post by: Shrek on February 18, 2010, 08:44:14 AM
finally got past 30.......and managed to get 44

havent got near that score since though!!
Post by: orange2009 on February 18, 2010, 02:59:16 PM
I no this has been asked loads of times, but I'll ask again anyway  ;).

How safe is it to jailbreak your Iphone? I just got an IPhone 3GS and wouldn't mind jailbreaking it, but not sure of the specifics of it as I don't no anyone who has theirs jailbroken.  Can it be reset as everyone says, and do you get loads of the apps for free?
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 18, 2010, 07:22:44 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 17, 2010, 10:24:19 PM
Any of you feckers upload yer scores onto that leaderboard yoke? I'm down as ONeillio if you want to be my friend. Please be my friend.
No users with that name. For some reason it says my high score is 18.
Post by: Minder on February 18, 2010, 08:22:05 PM
Post by: lurganblue on February 18, 2010, 09:06:08 PM
Quote from: orange2009 on February 18, 2010, 02:59:16 PM

How safe is it to jailbreak your Iphone? I just got an IPhone 3GS and wouldn't mind jailbreaking it, but not sure of the specifics of it as I don't no anyone who has theirs jailbroken.  Can it be reset as everyone says, and do you get loads of the apps for free?

I would love to jailbreak my phone but I really don't have the balls to do it. Always thinking of worst case senario
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 18, 2010, 09:07:07 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 18, 2010, 08:22:05 PM
Lies.
Post by: Minder on February 18, 2010, 09:08:27 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 18, 2010, 09:07:07 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 18, 2010, 08:22:05 PM
Lies.

You can't take it.
Post by: Shrek on February 18, 2010, 09:14:35 PM
hit 44 on sudden death and 520 on arcade

this game is so damn addictive

and i dont even like rugby

O'neill, tried searching for you on but couldnt find that username
Post by: Minder on February 18, 2010, 09:21:02 PM
There is an American Football one by the same crowd.
Post by: mountainboii on February 18, 2010, 09:36:19 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 18, 2010, 09:22:37 PM
It's feckin' paper toss.

Exact same.

Anyone play Worms? 3 quid, but well worth it.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 18, 2010, 09:38:03 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 18, 2010, 09:22:37 PM
It's feckin' paper toss.
You shit at it too?
Post by: Puckoon on February 18, 2010, 11:48:06 PM
iSwing for the semi serious golfers among you.

You can analyze your swing pretty well.
Post by: Shrek on February 19, 2010, 08:44:21 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on February 18, 2010, 11:48:06 PM
iSwing for the semi serious golfers among you.

You can analyze your swing pretty well.

Yeah, have it already Puck, havent really tested it out yet.

Have any of yous tried the Scorecard's yet, got Golfcard and its pretty good.
Post by: orange2009 on February 19, 2010, 09:29:08 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 18, 2010, 09:06:08 PM
Quote from: orange2009 on February 18, 2010, 02:59:16 PM

I would love to jailbreak my phone but I really don't have the balls to do it. Always thinking of worst case senario

Same here, just cant face the consequences of it going pear shaped!
Post by: Trevor Hill on February 20, 2010, 09:34:26 AM
44 on flick kick rugby. Its easier after a few drinks.
Post by: Muzz on February 20, 2010, 05:57:44 PM
Jailbreaking is easy.  Do a search for on it.  Those scared incase of f**king it up have no fear.  You can always restore back to default.
Post by: Puckoon on March 11, 2010, 06:57:08 PM
Free audiobooks just search audiobooks. Its right there, has all the classics. Enjoying Dracula right now.

Only drawback is it is heavy on the battery.
Post by: down6061689194 on March 11, 2010, 07:11:38 PM
Dots Online anyone?

Smiler900

add me to your friends.

Also Sunday Lawn is brilliant
Post by: Jimmy on March 19, 2010, 11:46:09 PM
Finally gave in and got an iphone last week. Delighted with it. Anyone have any suggestions for a good and simple car kit to install. Would love to play the music in the car through the iphone rather than the car full of CD's. My car dosen't have blue tooth. Is that a factor?
Post by: Bensars on March 19, 2010, 11:48:23 PM
you may need an adator to plug into the jack
Post by: ziggysego on March 19, 2010, 11:48:29 PM
I downloaded WhatsApp for the iPhone last week. Great wee app. Can send SMS and MMS for free to other iPhone and Blackberry users. I use it for my brother-in-law in England and mate in Germany. Only 59p to download.
Post by: lurganblue on March 20, 2010, 10:19:57 AM
The livescore app is an absolute must for any football fan. Especially if you like a wee gamble.

Just got the racing post one too which looks quite good. Both free
Post by: Minder on March 20, 2010, 10:54:25 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on March 20, 2010, 10:19:57 AM
The livescore app is an absolute must for any football fan. Especially if you like a wee gamble.

Just got the racing post one too which looks quite good. Both free

Aye the Livescore one is updated almost instantly, the Sky Sports one can be about 5 minutes behind sometimes.
Post by: lurganblue on March 20, 2010, 11:23:37 AM
Oh and the ivideo player is handy as i've only got a 3g. Does the job and was only 59p I think.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 20, 2010, 08:42:08 PM
Angry Birds is class.
Post by: ONeill on March 20, 2010, 08:48:14 PM
I've had TalkingCarl on it for a few months now. If ever bored, or the childer are annoying you, it's handy. You can even tickle him.
Post by: dubai2000 on March 24, 2010, 03:56:32 PM
anyone know how to create a group to send msg to? my old nokia, i could add people to a group and send the msg to the group
Post by: ziggysego on March 24, 2010, 03:57:53 PM
Quote from: ONeill on March 20, 2010, 08:48:14 PM
I've had TalkingCarl on it for a few months now. If ever bored, or the childer are annoying you, it's handy. You can even tickle him.

Downloaded this last night. Cute :)
Post by: Mickey Linden on March 24, 2010, 04:24:52 PM
So to download an app do i just search for it? Hit download and thats it?
Post by: ziggysego on March 24, 2010, 04:35:40 PM
Quote from: Mickey Linden on March 24, 2010, 04:24:52 PM
So to download an app do i just search for it? Hit download and thats it?

Have you got an iTunes account and is it set up on your iPhone?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 29, 2010, 05:13:33 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on February 17, 2010, 10:29:50 AM
For any golfers out there there's an app called Golfshot GPS. Its expensive enough at about £20 but if you're jailbroken you can download a free version.

Its got 1000s of courses - I tried searching for a few courses round the north and all but one of those I searched for was on it. To request a course there's an option on the app and you simply take a picture of the scorecard and send it in and they'll add it to their database, I did this and the course was on it the following day.

For some courses they have GPS but not all - I haven't used it too much yet but you can use the GPS to get distance to the hole (not sure I'll use this at all).

As well as working out your handicap it works out your statistics - fairways hit, GIR, accuracy, etc... You can view this information on the app on your iPhone or go onto their website from your computer afterwards and view the scorecard for the round and view all your statistics from your previous rounds.

It also lets you keep scores for the round for up to 4 golfers - you just add in your mates and their scores per hole. However it won't calculate their handicap or statistics.

Like I said above, its a pretty good app for free on the jailbroken phone but £20 could be a bit steep for it.

I have my iphone Jailbroken,Where do i get this Golfshot app?
Post by: Rossie11 on March 29, 2010, 08:37:25 PM
Got the sky sports one last week. All sky sports channels and ESPN for 7 euro a month.
Great value. Even better if I can link it to a TV or PC to watch on bigger screen.
Anyone know if that is possible?
Post by: take_yer_points on March 30, 2010, 09:25:14 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on March 29, 2010, 05:13:33 PM

The one i was using before was an older version that didn't do stableford point scoring but I've found a more recent version that does do that. Here ya go:

http://www.filestube.com/e7767e18243da14503ea,g/Golfshot-GPS-v1-4.html
Post by: Bensars on March 30, 2010, 09:40:23 AM
Quote from: Rossie11 on March 29, 2010, 08:37:25 PM
Got the sky sports one last week. All sky sports channels and ESPN for 7 euro a month.
Great value. Even better if I can link it to a TV or PC to watch on bigger screen.
Anyone know if that is possible?

It is possible but you need the specific apple  connector.Other imitation connectors will give volume only.About £35
Post by: Shrek on March 30, 2010, 09:58:40 AM

What did you jailbreak it with? - What Iphone & Firware is your phone.

I had mine broke a while back, havent been bothered  lately but might do it just to test out golfshot GPS.
Post by: Niall Quinn on March 30, 2010, 12:56:19 PM
Quote from: Bensars on March 30, 2010, 09:40:23 AM
It is possible but you need the specific apple  connector.Other imitation connectors will give volume only.About £35

Diarmaid Marsden.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 30, 2010, 04:28:51 PM
Quote from: Shrek on March 30, 2010, 09:58:40 AM

What did you jailbreak it with? - What Iphone & Firware is your phone.

I had mine broke a while back, havent been bothered  lately but might do it just to test out golfshot GPS.

I have iphone 3gs.

I used blackra1n to jailbreak it,seriously dude it could not be easier to jailbreak.

If you search for it on youtube there are hundreds of videos showing how its done using the blackra1n program

Once you Jailbreak it you will have a App called Cydia on your phone,this is like the App Store.
You will then need to download an App called Winterboard from the Cydia site on your iphone,this will allow you to store all your downloaded jailbroken Apps,themes,ringtones,games etc etc  and turn them on and off as you so wish

Post by: The Real Laoislad on March 30, 2010, 04:29:35 PM
Quote from: take_yer_points on March 30, 2010, 09:25:14 AM

The one i was using before was an older version that didn't do stableford point scoring but I've found a more recent version that does do that. Here ya go:

http://www.filestube.com/e7767e18243da14503ea,g/Golfshot-GPS-v1-4.html

Good man thanks
Post by: Puckoon on April 02, 2010, 05:19:10 PM
Whoopie cushion app.

Perfect for that embarrassing fart during lab meetings.
Post by: Lady GAA GAA on April 08, 2010, 01:13:06 AM
talking carl duel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t-7mQhSZRgM
Post by: Puckoon on April 08, 2010, 05:31:06 PM
Live US masters action - app is simply called Masters.

Free.
Post by: JohnDenver on April 08, 2010, 05:39:43 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on April 08, 2010, 05:31:06 PM
Live US masters action - app is simply called Masters.

Free.

live action only works in the US i think.
Post by: ONeill on April 08, 2010, 06:15:31 PM
New iPhone software 4.0 gettin shown as we speak. Engadet.com
Post by: ONeill on April 08, 2010, 06:23:23 PM
Multi tasking at last.
Post by: Minder on April 08, 2010, 06:43:04 PM
Quote from: ONeill on April 08, 2010, 06:15:31 PM

Is there a release date?
Post by: ONeill on April 08, 2010, 06:47:21 PM
Folders.
Was thinking about the handiness of that the other day.
Post by: supersarsfields on April 09, 2010, 11:41:43 AM
Quote from: Minder on April 08, 2010, 06:43:04 PM

Is there a release date?

anyone know of a release date. Was going through the web there looking but can't see any date set? Contract up last month so just holding of until the new release but if it's not out to the winter I think I'll just go on ahead and get the old one.
Post by: Homer on April 09, 2010, 12:24:49 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on April 09, 2010, 11:41:43 AM
Quote from: Minder on April 08, 2010, 06:43:04 PM

Is there a release date?

anyone know of a release date. Was going through the web there looking but can't see any date set? Contract up last month so just holding of until the new release but if it's not out to the winter I think I'll just go on ahead and get the old one.

Didn't hear an exact date but they said Summer.

Note to those already with iPhones the new multitasking functionality will only work on iPhone 3GS and iPod touch 3G. The iPhone 3G and below won't support it.
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2010, 10:50:00 AM
Football Manager 2010 now on Iphone, as of yesterday. £6.99

Search for "FM 2010" in App Store. Reviews are excellent.
Post by: thebandit on April 13, 2010, 02:46:38 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 13, 2010, 10:50:00 AM

Could be the death of me
Post by: Minder on April 13, 2010, 03:04:42 PM
Quote from: thebandit on April 13, 2010, 02:46:38 PM
Quote from: Minder on April 13, 2010, 10:50:00 AM

Could be the death of me

Same here, one of the reviews on the app store was "tell my wife and kids I love them"!
Post by: down6061689194 on April 13, 2010, 05:23:54 PM
DoodleKart.

And buy the full version. Well worth it.
Post by: magickingdom on April 13, 2010, 07:24:24 PM
eirtext, free texts
Post by: ONeill on April 13, 2010, 08:14:20 PM
Disappointed with mini opera after all the hype.
Post by: ONeill on April 14, 2010, 11:51:29 PM
BirdStrike
Post by: Niall Quinn on May 06, 2010, 02:26:13 AM
Stachetastic is fun, but oddly battery sapping.
Post by: ONeill on May 21, 2010, 12:45:20 AM
Rte gaa free app - downloaded it about 5 mins ago - maybe jumping gun but initial impression is average - seems a bit behind the current goings on.
Post by: BenDover on May 28, 2010, 02:27:07 PM
Anyone having any problems with FStream? Trying to connect to Radio 1 and it's just saying 'Disconnected' evn though i asked another person beside me to test his connection

Sorted - needed to change my Settings
Post by: ONeill on June 08, 2010, 06:00:43 PM
Unfortunately downloaded the Football Manager app a while ago. Did it just to see how it'd work on the phone in the expectation that I'd delete it after an hour or so. Feckin hooked now.

First season managing Arsenal:
Lost out on the league title to Liverpool. Van Persie got injured with 4 weeks of the season left which hammered me in the CL semis and the run in for the title. Lost it on the last day of the season. Won the FA Cup though so the board were happy enough for the initial season. Greece won the World Cup.

Second season.
The board were acting the maggots. OK, so the league campaign was a bit of a drab affair, finishing 7th, but i'd given up on that to concentrate on Europe. Didn't I go and win the CL, defeating Liverpool in the final 0-0 then 6-5 on pens. Shove that up yer hole Torres for last season. No luck in the domestic cups but fielded a weakend squad. Anyways, as the supporters were singing my name after the CL success, the board says they were not happy and that they expected silverware on all front. Obviously they were smarting about 2 things. Firstly, the lowly league position made our participation in the CL a doubt until we'd won the thing. Secondly, finances were in the red. Utd ran away with the league. Considered resigning in protest at the board's ingratitude but maybe that's what they wanted. I stayed on.

Third season.
Ferguson announced his retirement over the summer, replaced by Mourinho. I made an audacious bid for Rooney (32m) which was accepted. Spirits were high. However, the hoor failed the fitness test and the move collapsed. Brought in Adriano instead. The board were still on my back so I off-loaded Rosicky and some other gimp. Won the Euro super club and followed that up with the World Club title. Utd were unbeaten under Mourhinho until I lead my charges to a 5-0 victory on their ground. Inspired by a 30-goal Van Persie, we romped to the title. Lost out early on in the CL and FA Cup but reached the League Cup final, losing to Liverpool. Schalke won the CL. The board are happier at the minute; it's now Summer 2012, but they've increased the transfer fund expecting success on all fronts. Want the League Cup this season. Harry Redknapp retired and Silvestre says he thinks he's too old to play football. Fabregas is in poor pre-season form and Wilshere wants out. Got rid of Song and Eboue. Well, they're up for sale anyways.

Post by: Minder on June 08, 2010, 06:37:07 PM
Took Luton Town from the Conference to League One in successive seasons.

Won league, Champions League and FA Cup with Liverpool, Torres very injury prone, sound familiar ?

Won the heap with Barcelona.

Sacked by PSG yesterday after just two months in charge, a difficult few hours for me but Celtic offered me a chance of redemption and I am currently top of the league by 8 pts.

Too many severe injuries for players in it for my liking but is great for playing when you are takin a Tom Kite.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2010, 06:42:50 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 08, 2010, 06:37:07 PM

Won league, Champions League and FA Cup with Liverpool, Torres very injury prone, sound familiar ?

Sacked by PSG yesterday after just two months in charge, a difficult few hours for me but Celtic offered me a chance of redemption and I am currently top of the league by 8 pts.

Too many severe injuries for players in it for my liking but is great for playing when you are takin a Tom Kite.
Is all the data contained within the app or do you need to play it on 3g/wi-fi to access some server out in the ether?
Post by: Minder on June 08, 2010, 07:12:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2010, 06:42:50 PM

Is all the data contained within the app or do you need to play it on 3g/wi-fi to access some server out in the ether?

You need WiFi to download the app but all the data is within the app.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2010, 07:16:30 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 08, 2010, 07:12:25 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 08, 2010, 06:42:50 PM

You need WiFi to download the app but all the data is within the app.
Wee job for you...
Post by: ONeill on June 08, 2010, 07:34:50 PM

Bit of a nightmare time in Paris there. Was there a row or anything?

People on here don't realise the pressures of lads in this trade. During the Champions' League winning season, faceless idiots were phoning up radio stations questioning my loyalty to Clichy who was admittedly having a mixed bag that season. I stuck to my guns despite the noise from the empty vessels and in the semi-final against Munich we were 1-0 when Almunia pulled a wobbler and took down their striker earning a sending-off and a penalty for Bayern. I had overlooked having a second keeper on the bench so Clichy went in goal, saved the penalty and the rest is history. As I sat in the car the next morning I wore a wry smile, thinking of those backstabbing cnuts on the radio.
Post by: Nally Stand on June 08, 2010, 08:36:15 PM
I'm a huge fan O'Neill. Never mind the begrudgers! Give Neil Lennon a call there will you?
Post by: Minder on June 08, 2010, 09:09:35 PM
No row in Paris, it was only one night in Paris as such. I was tasked with achieving European qualification and thought I was the big fella and said I would win the league to try and get more transfer funds. The keeper was shite and I couldn't get a decent replacement in so some of the blame can be apportioned to me. I was in 17th place when the pin was pulled, but I feel I was making real progress and was beginning to "turn things around"............. Jut today Artur Boruc put his great form down to my management skills, which was nice.

Hail hail.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 08, 2010, 10:18:20 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 21, 2010, 12:45:20 AM
Rte gaa free app - downloaded it about 5 mins ago - maybe jumping gun but initial impression is average - seems a bit behind the current goings on.
I find it's load times to be very slow.
Post by: Minder on June 08, 2010, 10:19:55 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 08, 2010, 10:18:20 PM
Quote from: ONeill on May 21, 2010, 12:45:20 AM
I find it's load times to be very slow.

Aye it isn't up to much. Live scores are usually a fair bit behind.
Post by: sammymaguire on June 08, 2010, 10:25:29 PM
Is all the hype worth it lads with this iphone melarkey? I'm thinking of getting one
Post by: ONeill on June 08, 2010, 10:28:38 PM
If I were you I'd hold out til the new model is out over the summer.

Definitely worth it if you like techy things or surfing or the like.

If it's just for making calls and texting, get a £20 Nokia from Nutt's Corner.
Post by: screenexile on June 08, 2010, 11:22:20 PM
Downloaded GTA free App last night. . . for a free App it's pretty deadly!

Due to my personality I decided long ago not to play any football manager games and I have stuck to my guns and reckon my life has been better for it. While I thought about changing my mind I decided against getting it for the iPhone as it would surely ruin me!
Post by: ONeill on June 08, 2010, 11:32:50 PM
Quote from: screenexile on June 08, 2010, 11:22:20 PM
Downloaded GTA free App last night. . . for a free App it's pretty deadly!

Due to my personality I decided long ago not to play any football manager games and I have stuck to my guns and reckon my life has been better for it. While I thought about changing my mind I decided against getting it for the iPhone as it would surely ruin me!

Good decision.

Swear to God, have found myself under the duvet playing it at 1:30am in case herself does her nut, feckin putting in numerous bids  for some U21 Slovakian prospect just because Utd did a day earlier.
Post by: muppet on June 08, 2010, 11:36:20 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 08, 2010, 11:32:50 PM
Good decision.

Swear to God, have found myself under the duvet playing it at 1:30am in case herself does her nut, feckin putting in numerous bids  for some U21 Slovakian prospect just because Utd did a day earlier.

Just for clarification, was it you under the duvet or herself, looking online at an U-21 Slovakian?
Post by: sammymaguire on June 09, 2010, 11:45:51 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 08, 2010, 10:28:38 PM
If I were you I'd hold out til the new model is out over the summer.

Definitely worth it if you like techy things or surfing or the like.

If it's just for making calls and texting, get a £20 Nokia from Nutt's Corner.

cheers, I need access to emails at work from a handset... are there better options than an iphone?
Post by: Minder on June 09, 2010, 11:54:00 AM
There is a complete Neil Young album "Harvest" (remastered) for 79p on Itunes. For anyone that is interested.
Post by: Newbridge Exile on June 09, 2010, 08:05:55 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 09, 2010, 11:54:00 AM
There is a complete Neil Young album "Harvest" (remastered) for 79p on Itunes. For anyone that is interested.
Cheers Minder , seemed to good a deal to be true but am downloading it at the
minute
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 09, 2010, 08:29:50 PM
9.99 down south
Post by: Minder on June 09, 2010, 08:31:51 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on June 09, 2010, 08:29:50 PM
9.99 down south

It has to be the "remastered" version. Is still there for £0.79, there is a Neil Young "Harvest" album for £7.99
Post by: gerrykeegan on June 09, 2010, 08:34:57 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 09, 2010, 08:31:51 PM
9.99 down south

It has to be the "remastered" version. Is still there for £0.79, there is a Neil Young "Harvest" album for £7.99

both original and remastered one are 9.99
Post by: Minder on June 09, 2010, 08:47:55 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on June 09, 2010, 08:34:57 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 09, 2010, 08:31:51 PM
9.99 down south

both original and remastered one are 9.99

Rip Off Ireland once again.
Post by: Minder on June 09, 2010, 08:50:21 PM
This is the Itunes link for it

http://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/harvest-remastered/id317516209
Post by: muppet on June 11, 2010, 05:37:35 PM
Whoever posted about the Football Manager app is a very bad man. I haven't gotten a proper nights sleep this week and am completely cross-eyed fro playing it. On the plus side we beat Rangers (4-0 CL), Man Utd, Tottenham and Chelsea this month so not too bad really.
Post by: Minder on June 11, 2010, 05:50:56 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 11, 2010, 05:37:35 PM
Whoever posted about the Football Manager app is a very bad man. I haven't gotten a proper nights sleep this week and am completely cross-eyed fro playing it. On the plus side we beat Rangers (4-0 CL), Man Utd, Tottenham and Chelsea this month so not too bad really.

Apologies, you must be over the moon with those results.
Post by: Puckoon on June 11, 2010, 05:57:45 PM
$9.99. Having never played the non iphone version - is this worth it if I really want more distractions in my life?
Post by: Minder on June 11, 2010, 06:04:25 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on June 11, 2010, 05:57:45 PM
$9.99. Having never played the non iphone version - is this worth it if I really want more distractions in my life?

Yes, think it is £6.99 here.
Post by: ONeill on June 11, 2010, 07:09:56 PM
Thinking of resigning soon. Going a bit pear-shaped now. Season four and out of all comps by Jan yet 2nd in league. Might do a Mourinho and take the title but tell the board where to feck. Bilbao beckons.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 11, 2010, 07:30:23 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 11, 2010, 07:09:56 PM
Thinking of resigning soon. Going a bit pear-shaped now. Season four and out of all comps by Jan yet 2nd in league. Might do a Mourinho and take the title but tell the board where to feck. Bilbao beckons.
I think I need to get near a wifi connection to download this but I know it will lead to marital strife!
Post by: ONeill on June 12, 2010, 08:12:30 AM
Resigned last night. They didn't even try to negotiate. That's some loyalty after bringing them the FA Cup, 2 Charity Shields, Champions League, Super Cup and World Club title as well as one league title in the space of 3 and a half years. Regretted it after a cyber week and reapplied for my job. They rejected it on the grounds that 'they have not forgiven you for your performance as manager earlier in the season'.

Revenge will be sweet.
Post by: ONeill on June 12, 2010, 08:16:09 AM
Now they've appointed Juande Ramos as manager. Juande f**king Ramos.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 12, 2010, 10:44:42 AM
Quote from: ONeill on June 12, 2010, 08:16:09 AM
Now they've appointed Juande Ramos as manager. Juande f**king Ramos.
A new low for a gooner.
Post by: ONeill on June 12, 2010, 10:50:29 AM
Too right.

Took 6 months off there. Utd sacked Mourinho and Liverpool turfed out Benitez at the same time. I applied for both and was offered the Utd gig. Thought about it for about 7 seconds and turned it down. Couldn't do it. Liverpool then appointed Mourinho and Utd took Benitez. i've just taken the Portsmouth job, Championship side with a budget of £250'000. That's real management, beside the sea. Ferdinand announced he's too old and will retire at the end of the season (it's 2013). He didn't appreciate my offer of £4000 a week to come south. Twas a bit of a drop from his current £120'000 wage.
Post by: magickingdom on June 12, 2010, 12:20:39 PM
jesus i thought i was on another soccer thread there for a minute....

any decent suggestions for european pga golf scores? i have golf channel which was great but then updated it and the new one is too slow on 3g. there is a very good us pga app but no european one. the euro pga home site scores wont show on iphone. any ideas?
Post by: The Real Laoislad on June 12, 2010, 12:44:40 PM
Have been looking for a euro PGA one myself magic, that US PGA one is excellent
Post by: muppet on June 12, 2010, 12:52:21 PM
Redknapp just got the sack after a crap season (though he did knock me out of the FA cup on penalties)!

I won two Cups and came 3rd in the league in my 1st season (Juventus knocked us out of CL and went on to win it) and I was told I might be kept on for another season. Presumably next year will have to be better or I will get the chop.

I didn't re-sign Senderos. No one would buy him and I didn't offer him a contract. He threatened to leave on a Bosman and I told him he could on anything he wanted just don't come back.

As an aside has anyone seen my family?
Post by: magickingdom on June 12, 2010, 12:53:47 PM
Quote from: Boycey on June 12, 2010, 12:47:22 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on June 12, 2010, 12:44:40 PM
Have been looking for a euro PGA one myself magic, that US PGA one is excellent

I reckon the USPGA one is the best sports app I have, its fantastic. Don't think there is Euro one or if their is I ain't been able to find it

the mlb (baseball)  sports app is the best sports app EVER imo, everyone else should copy it. i wish i never updated the golf channel app as it was great for instant scores. whats with european golf and no app? useless
Post by: ONeill on June 15, 2010, 09:49:45 PM
Downloaded the free Vuvuzela app - the fcuker is addictive. Spent the last 5 mins of the Brazil game playing her. Bringing it to Casement on Saturday.
Post by: muppet on June 15, 2010, 10:10:05 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 15, 2010, 09:49:45 PM
Downloaded the free Vuvuzela app - the fcuker is addictive. Spent the last 5 mins of the Brazil game playing her. Bringing it to Casement on Saturday.

Just did the same, already banned in the house. I think by the end of the week this will be the world's most annoying app.

On the plus side Spurs are on their 4th manager since Arsenal won their 2nd league in a row. Mancini is in charge of United.

Champions League proving a but more difficult.
Post by: ONeill on June 15, 2010, 10:15:19 PM
Well, I resigned from Portsmouth after 5 games. Hated the sea air and ships. Moved to my spiritual home in Bilbao. Even bought the Basque flag on Ebay. Flirted with relegation all season until 2 games to go. Small budget. Reached Europa League final but hammered by Liverpool. Can't see things improving with the stingy board. If I see no improvement by mid-season, I'll move on again.
Post by: muppet on June 15, 2010, 10:17:45 PM
Just won at White Hart Lane 2-0. Modric sent off. Spurs new manager David Moyes mightn't last long.

I wish you could play this on line with Tony.
Post by: Minder on June 15, 2010, 10:24:42 PM
If you have about £15m to spend when you start a new game buy Luis Suarez of Ajax. Some pup.
Post by: muppet on June 15, 2010, 10:51:25 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 15, 2010, 10:24:42 PM
If you have about £15m to spend when you start a new game buy Luis Suarez of Ajax. Some pup.

Did anyone buy Robinho? He was offered for €775,000 with magnificent stats but for very high salary. Decided not to buy him and he's gone to Bolton. Vela the man now.
Post by: ONeill on June 16, 2010, 12:16:12 AM
Adriano did the trick for me for one season; also a lad called Calceido I think. Clichy was terrible as was Wilshere.
Post by: muppet on June 16, 2010, 09:24:19 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 16, 2010, 12:16:12 AM
Adriano did the trick for me for one season; also a lad called Calceido I think. Clichy was terrible as was Wilshere.

I bought Benaglio and have just completed a 3 in a row. After his game against Spain I might cash in.

I can't get much out of Clichy either or even Flabby. FM seems to like the idea of 'locals' such as Walcott and Ramsey. Might scout Paul McShane.
Post by: Minder on June 16, 2010, 09:26:47 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 16, 2010, 09:24:19 PM

I bought Benaglio and have just completed a 3 in a row. After his game against Spain I might cash in.

I can't get much out of Clichy either or even Flabby. FM seems to like the idea of 'locals' such as Walcott and Ramsey. Might scout Paul McShane.

I think your scout may say "Paul McShane is a long way off the best defender at the club"............
Post by: lurganblue on June 16, 2010, 10:13:08 PM
Quote from: ONeill on June 15, 2010, 09:49:45 PM

downloaded this app twice and twice it didn't work ffs. I was hoping to torture people with it too. Might just have to go with the air horn
Post by: lurganblue on June 17, 2010, 08:01:11 AM
Nope. Just wouldn't work :(
Post by: muppet on June 17, 2010, 05:39:51 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 16, 2010, 09:26:47 PM
Quote from: muppet on June 16, 2010, 09:24:19 PM

I think your scout may say "Paul McShane is a long way off the best defender at the club"............

It said 'Arsene Wenger is twice the defender that Paul McShane is'.
Post by: Minder on June 19, 2010, 11:33:23 PM
Tiger Woods golf is only £0.59 at the minute.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 20, 2010, 01:16:32 AM
Yis shower of f**kers. I told the missus I would lock and head up
to bed at 11.30. I then started playing FM10 I downloaded earlier. Here I am on the brink of a big match against Chelsea. Have made an erratic start and am lacking in central defenders as I didn't know how to buy anyone during the transfer window. Now they're all f**king injured - Agger are Skrtel are crocked.
Post by: Minder on June 20, 2010, 10:11:20 AM
As in real life, Agger is always injured.
Post by: Jimmy on June 20, 2010, 03:17:16 PM
Sorry if this has already been brought up but can't be arsed looking through 22 pages. Anyone got or could recommend a good guitar app. One that wold show you the main chords or maybe some simple tunes to play?
Post by: muppet on June 20, 2010, 04:04:43 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 20, 2010, 01:16:32 AM
Yis shower of f**kers. I told the missus I would lock and head up
to bed at 11.30. I then started playing FM10 I downloaded earlier. Here I am on the brink of a big match against Chelsea. Have made an erratic start and am lacking in central defenders as I didn't know how to buy anyone during the transfer window. Now they're all f**king injured - Agger are Skrtel are crocked.

You usually have to pay way above the value. Clubs that see players as a 'vital' part of their future usually don't sell at any price but during the next window try again as sometimes the player will have inserted a 'big club' release clause and you will get him. Mightn't work for Liverpool though.
Post by: BenDover on June 20, 2010, 10:07:22 PM
got NBA live 2010 free there
Post by: Minder on July 23, 2010, 01:37:02 PM
BBC news app being released "late afternoon" today. Free.
Post by: omagh_gael on July 23, 2010, 03:05:58 PM
Anybody got the Ulster Bank GAA app? Read something about it in yesterdays paper.
Post by: ONeill on July 23, 2010, 03:13:40 PM
Got back onto the football manager lately. Sacked by the Arsenal board at Christmas 2013 just because I'd lost 5 of the first 10 league games, despite being reigning FA Cup holders and Europa Cup champs. Took the Man City gig within a week with the sole ambition of playing with Adebayor's mind. I'll crush him. Can't stop myself looking at how the new Arsenal manager is setting up the side. They beat me last week 3-0 at home. Humiliating.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 23, 2010, 06:48:00 PM
Quote from: omagh_gael on July 23, 2010, 03:05:58 PM
Anybody got the Ulster Bank GAA app? Read something about it in yesterdays paper.
Downloaded it today. Decent job - better than the RTÉ effort. It's called 'The 16th Man'.
Post by: Maguire01 on July 23, 2010, 06:49:13 PM
Quote from: Jimmy on June 20, 2010, 03:17:16 PM
Sorry if this has already been brought up but can't be arsed looking through 22 pages. Anyone got or could recommend a good guitar app. One that wold show you the main chords or maybe some simple tunes to play?
Gibson have a free ap with chords, tuner and metronom.
Post by: magickingdom on July 24, 2010, 01:13:13 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 23, 2010, 06:48:00 PM
Downloaded it today. Decent job - better than the RTÉ effort. It's called 'The 16th Man'.

dont think its better than rtes one since they started updating it more frequently but its still a decent app. real time scores are one of the keys for me and i dont think the ub one will have that. the ub one has a better fixture list than rtes tho... about time the gaa got one going themselves
Post by: Maguire01 on July 24, 2010, 06:56:16 PM
Quote from: magickingdom on July 24, 2010, 01:13:13 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on July 23, 2010, 06:48:00 PM

dont think its better than rtes one since they started updating it more frequently but its still a decent app. real time scores are one of the keys for me and i dont think the ub one will have that. the ub one has a better fixture list than rtes tho... about time the gaa got one going themselves
I find the RTÉ one very slow to load - quicker to use the RTÉ news app.
Post by: ONeill on July 24, 2010, 10:32:14 PM
BBC app impressive.

RTE app v slow and in the fixtures list it ignores the back door games.
Post by: Treasurer on August 09, 2010, 11:48:26 PM
Quite likely these have been covered before but anyway.............

TextMe - free iphone to iphone texts
Eirtext - access your free online texts and end like an ordinary text
Shazam - music recognition app

(Free versions)
Post by: Puckoon on August 11, 2010, 05:54:13 PM
PMS buddy - "helping save relationships one at a time".

Easy and simple tracking of the pending PMS of all the women in your life.

Track up to 10 women.

Displays green to red warning level.
Post by: criostlinn on August 14, 2010, 12:17:25 AM
New one from the GAA. Looks pretty good

http://itunes.apple.com/ie/app/official-gaa/id385794720?mt=8
Post by: lurganblue on August 14, 2010, 08:34:24 AM
I held off for ages and didn't get the angry birds app as I don't really play games on my phone, but a few weeks ago I decided to give it a try. Brilliant game!! So addictive. A must buy...
Post by: ONeill on August 14, 2010, 08:44:36 AM
Quote from: criostlinn on August 14, 2010, 12:17:25 AM

Yep, like it. Speedy and well informed.
Post by: Tony Baloney on August 14, 2010, 09:08:17 AM
Quote from: ONeill on August 14, 2010, 08:44:36 AM
Quote from: criostlinn on August 14, 2010, 12:17:25 AM

Yep, like it. Speedy and well informed.
I think they missed a trick by limiting the Venues section to only county grounds.
Post by: BenDover on August 31, 2010, 01:24:26 PM
jailbroke my 3Gs over the weekend - anyone care to point me in the right direction on how to make the most of Cydia?
I've followed these instructions:
1) Tap on Cydia.
2) Choose Manage tab at the bottom of the screen.
3) Select Sources.
4) On the top-right corner you will find edit button, select that and then tap add button. You will be asked to enter a url. Enter http://cydia.hackulo.us and tap on add sources.
5) Now search for installous.
6) Enjoy Installous

Note:
i) AppSync 4.0 is required for this
ii) It seems like the first time some people run it, it will not connect to apptrackr properly or something. Restart springboard or your entire device, and the problem shouldn't persist. We'll figure out what's wrong later.

and I'm still having no joy  >:(
Post by: Archie Mitchell on October 05, 2010, 06:57:31 PM
BBC Radio app out now for free. Not official but decent enough.
Post by: Tony Baloney on October 05, 2010, 07:08:07 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 05, 2010, 06:57:31 PM
Wifi or 3G?
Post by: lurganblue on October 05, 2010, 07:12:10 PM
I have that tunein radio app. It cost about a pound or something but it is excellent. I'd say I use it most days. I was even listening to the live radio commentary of the NFL from Washington last week. I would recommend it
Post by: Minder on October 05, 2010, 07:12:34 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 05, 2010, 07:08:07 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on October 05, 2010, 06:57:31 PM
Wifi or 3G?

Are they not all available on the Tunein Radio app ?
Post by: BennyHarp on October 15, 2010, 12:45:02 AM
Rat on a scooter! Free at the minute, most stupidly addictive game I have ever played!
Post by: Joxer on October 15, 2010, 10:06:15 AM
Post by: Ludraman on October 15, 2010, 07:11:21 PM
Quote from: Joxer on October 15, 2010, 10:06:15 AM
Folks,

Having awful problems with my Twitter App.  IT keeps saying Unauthorised USer and then when O log out it wont let me log back in again.  It is a real pain in the hole.

faire play to ye boyo......it takes a big man to admit it on a public forum.

I think ye should see a doctor tho. no?
Post by: Estimator on October 24, 2010, 08:32:20 PM
Just downloaded an app called GaelicFootie - its like the FlickKick apps for rugby and soccer, only many times worse! I'm glad it was free!
Post by: tyroneboi on October 24, 2010, 11:26:58 PM
I downloaded and quickly deleted that gaelic flick app - pure shite!
Post by: Puckoon on November 01, 2010, 09:06:11 PM
Angry Birds has me destroyed.
Post by: BennyHarp on November 01, 2010, 09:25:01 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 01, 2010, 09:06:11 PM

Is it the Halloween one? I must have spent about 3 hours playing that yesterday, I was actually dreaming about it last night!
Post by: Tony Baloney on November 01, 2010, 09:29:07 PM
Aye it would put you demented. As would Fragged which has a similar concept.
Post by: ziggysego on November 01, 2010, 10:14:39 PM
Quote from: tyroneboi on October 24, 2010, 11:26:58 PM
I downloaded and quickly deleted that gaelic flick app - pure shite!

Pure rubbish.

Also, never really got the hype around Angry Birds. Didn't really enjoy it.
Post by: muppet on November 01, 2010, 11:01:56 PM

Have you played the Éirigí version?
Post by: ONeill on November 02, 2010, 12:06:31 AM
Download the VLC player app. Class for transferring any media, esp films, onto the phone. Rumours of it getting pulled though.
Post by: ziggysego on November 28, 2010, 04:44:32 PM
Downloaded Sleep Talk the other night on the iPhone. If you make any noises during the night, it starts recording. Can be funny to replay the next day, especially if you've been sleep talking.
Post by: Minder on December 17, 2010, 07:23:13 PM
Football Manager 2011 now in App store.
Post by: supersub on December 17, 2010, 07:40:45 PM
Anyone got the 12 days of Xmas app? Free gift each of 12 days, songs etc
Post by: Minder on December 17, 2010, 08:03:14 PM
Quote from: supersub on December 17, 2010, 07:40:45 PM

Starts on Boxing Day i think. Was some shite on it last year.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on December 17, 2010, 08:34:29 PM
Iphone is dead...long live the Android!
Post by: ONeill on December 17, 2010, 10:14:19 PM

Last year some good some crap. A couple of decent tv shows.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on December 22, 2010, 10:44:36 AM
Lonely Planet have free iphone apps for the next 48 hours for:

# Berlin
# Copenhagen
# Dublin
# London
# Amsterdam
# Moscow
# Munich
# Paris
# Prague
# St Petersburg
# Stockholm
# Vienna
# Warsaw

The apps dont require roaming so they might come in handy at some stage.  They're usually £3.49 each
Post by: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 11:42:15 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on December 22, 2010, 10:44:36 AM
Lonely Planet have free iphone apps for the next 48 hours for:

# Berlin
# Copenhagen
# Dublin
# London
# Amsterdam
# Moscow
# Munich
# Paris
# Prague
# St Petersburg
# Stockholm
# Vienna
# Warsaw

The apps dont require roaming so they might come in handy at some stage.  They're usually £3.49 each

Got the London one the last time it was free and its a decent job but the interface is a little confused
Post by: ziggysego on December 22, 2010, 12:47:00 PM

Mostly bollocks on it last year. For instance, Lesbian Vampire Killers. A few good wee things came on it. Downloaded it again for this year. 26th December - 6th January.
Post by: ONeill on December 22, 2010, 12:48:42 PM
Quote from: ziggysego on December 22, 2010, 12:47:00 PM
For instance, Lesbian Vampire Killers.

Had that on my phone for months but never got around to watching it. What's it about?
Post by: screenexile on December 22, 2010, 12:59:14 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 22, 2010, 12:48:42 PM

Had that on my phone for months but never got around to watching it. What's it about?

As the man said. . . "It does exactly what it says on the tin!"

Absolute pants and if you've OD'ed on James Corden this year then you will want to stay well clear!
Post by: lurganblue on December 22, 2010, 01:18:43 PM

Mostly bollocks on it last year. For instance, Lesbian Vampire Killers. A few good wee things came on it. Downloaded it again for this year. 26th December - 6th January.

aye it was mostly crap but if i remember right, trivial pursuit was one of the apps and i would still use it every now and then. cant be worse than the carphone warehouse one that was giving away apps that were already free.
Post by: David McKeown on December 22, 2010, 02:06:16 PM
Don't know if its been mentioned already but just finished cut the rope.  Great little game and fiendishly addictive would strongly recommend
Post by: ziggysego on December 22, 2010, 02:09:36 PM
Quote from: ONeill on December 22, 2010, 12:48:42 PM

A God awful film. Don't watch it.
Post by: ONeill on December 23, 2010, 10:09:33 PM
Downloaded FIFA11. Thought it was easy stuff winning the double with Arsenal with plenty to spare. Changed the settings from beginner to amateur and played with Athletic Bilbao. Fighting relegation. Can't imagine what semi-pro would be like.

Remarkable likeness though. Walcott is either dispossessed or kicks the ball into the crowd.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on December 23, 2010, 11:27:35 PM
Stick Cricket is good.
Post by: ONeill on January 07, 2011, 12:04:49 AM
There's a GAA quiz app called Gaelic Games Guru. It's slightly expensive at £1.79 but it's addictive. You have 50 GAA questions to answer, 5 seconds each. I'm up to 47. Any hoor bate me?
Post by: gallsman on January 10, 2011, 06:04:16 PM
Any Android users replaced their keyboards with Swype? It's fantastic. So quick and simple to use.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 10, 2011, 06:05:05 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2011, 06:04:16 PM
Any Android users replaced their keyboards with Swype? It's fantastic. So quick and simple to use.

No,is it a free download?
Post by: gallsman on January 10, 2011, 06:09:50 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 10, 2011, 06:05:05 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2011, 06:04:16 PM

No,is it a free download?

Yes, but it's not in the Market yet. You register for it (still in final stages of beta testing) on the website and they send you an application link to download. Takes about five minutes to learn how to use. Trust me, you'll never look back. The accuracy and intuitiveness are unreal.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 10, 2011, 06:51:06 PM
Seems impressive alright,will take time to get use to I'd say
Post by: gallsman on January 10, 2011, 07:01:29 PM
They've done speed tests on it - apparently once you get used to it you can get upwards of fifty words a minute.
Post by: gerrykeegan on January 10, 2011, 07:49:06 PM
Thanks Gallsman, its the business
Post by: gallsman on January 10, 2011, 09:50:24 PM
If anyone's interested they should sign up while they can as apparently they intend to close it soon so they can get it ready for a commercial release.
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 11, 2011, 03:24:49 PM
Unreal speed, it was on my phone already I just didn't realize it. Not that difficult to use either.
Post by: Bogball XV on January 11, 2011, 03:59:33 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 10, 2011, 09:50:24 PM
If anyone's interested they should sign up while they can as apparently they intend to close it soon so they can get it ready for a commercial release.
is it not standard on the samsung galaxy anyway?
Post by: FL/MAYO on January 11, 2011, 05:25:56 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on January 11, 2011, 03:59:33 PM

It was already installed on my HTC Evo, I just needed to pick it as my primary way of texting/typing.
Post by: gallsman on January 11, 2011, 06:55:19 PM

I have no idea, I only know what I read. One thing is certain though, you can't get it in the Market.
Post by: Boycey on January 11, 2011, 07:01:21 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 11, 2011, 06:55:19 PM

I have no idea, I only know what I read. One thing is certain though, you can't get it in the Market.

Really I always thought you knew way more than that.
Post by: gallsman on January 11, 2011, 07:03:25 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 11, 2011, 07:01:21 PM

You still waiting on the Red Knights?
Post by: Boycey on January 11, 2011, 07:07:16 PM
Quote from: gallsman on January 11, 2011, 07:03:25 PM
Quote from: Boycey on January 11, 2011, 07:01:21 PM

You still waiting on the Red Knights?

poor..
Post by: ONeill on February 06, 2011, 09:40:16 AM
Downloaded the Irish News app. I was expecting some kind of iphone-friendly subscription package. 15 bucking pounds they want for a month. They can shove it. A few back issues are available to try out. I understand maybe the iPad format justifying that price.
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 06, 2011, 12:56:36 PM
Chopper 2 is good.

O'Neill the App Store review for the IN app, entitled "Shite" should have been a warning.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2011, 01:06:58 PM

It has just stopped working on my phone,I can still text by tapping the letters but the swipe function isn't working anymore
Post by: Minder on February 06, 2011, 01:57:41 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 06, 2011, 09:40:16 AM
Downloaded the Irish News app. I was expecting some kind of iphone-friendly subscription package. 15 bucking pounds they want for a month. They can shove it. A few back issues are available to try out. I understand maybe the iPad format justifying that price.

I have found a cunning way of getting the Times online subscription for £1 a month continually.
Post by: ziggysego on February 06, 2011, 02:12:15 PM
Downloaded Viber. Free iPhone to iPhone phonecalls. Haven't tried it out yet, but a work colleague does and he says it's fantastic.
Post by: tyroneboi on February 06, 2011, 02:34:57 PM
Similar to that one Ziggy, but has anyone tried out Ping chat? Its more or less free text messaging to other iphone, blackberry and other smartphone users I think.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on February 06, 2011, 03:11:04 PM
Main ones I use:
facebook
tom tom
wikipanion (good for sorting out an argument in the pub)
sky sports centre (good for keeping u updated on scoree)
Paddy Power (good for losing money)
whats app (good for instant msg for free)
Post by: lurganblue on February 06, 2011, 04:12:47 PM
Yeah I use pingchat. Although I get messages for free anyway it's good to send media files for nothing. It's also good to have group text conversations on.

The best app for football scores is livescore by a country mile!!
Post by: gallsman on February 06, 2011, 06:23:16 PM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on February 06, 2011, 01:06:58 PM

It has just stopped working on my phone,I can still text by tapping the letters but the swipe function isn't working anymore

Long hold anywhere you put in text to bring up the input method option.

Problem with it that apparently it resets with each reboot - so you have to select it as your keyboard again.
Post by: Boycey on February 06, 2011, 06:56:25 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on February 06, 2011, 03:11:04 PM
Main ones I use:
facebook
tom tom

Livescore is way faster and it'll also keep you up to date with those crucial Latvian second division scores
Post by: Tony Baloney on February 06, 2011, 08:19:39 PM
Quote from: Boycey on February 06, 2011, 06:56:25 PM
Main ones I use:
facebook
tom tom

Livescore is way faster and it'll also keep you up to date with those crucial Latvian second division scores
Sky Sports Centre is a dog unless you are using it on wi-fi. It's quicker for me to use teletext in the house!
Post by: Radda bout yeee on February 07, 2011, 09:57:15 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 06, 2011, 08:19:39 PM
Main ones I use:
facebook
tom tom

Sky Sports Centre is a dog unless you are using it on wi-fi. It's quicker for me to use teletext in the house!

I must try it! Does it give ye all the features SS app does like live commentary and stats?
Post by: lurganblue on February 07, 2011, 01:21:12 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on February 07, 2011, 09:57:15 AM
Main ones I use:
facebook
tom tom

I must try it! Does it give ye all the features SS app does like live commentary and stats?

nope. it gives you the scores, scorers and bookings. all you need
Post by: Boycey on February 07, 2011, 01:26:07 PM
Main ones I use:
facebook
tom tom

It doesn't to be honest but what it does is give you almost up to the second goalscoring as opposed to ssc which can take 2-3 minutes. I noticed a couple of times that if two goals are scored in quick succession livescore will have both by the time SSC updates for the first one.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on February 08, 2011, 02:00:15 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 07, 2011, 01:21:12 PM
Main ones I use:
facebook
tom tom

Don't telll me what i need!  >:(
Post by: lurganblue on February 08, 2011, 02:36:42 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on February 08, 2011, 02:00:15 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on February 07, 2011, 01:21:12 PM
Main ones I use:
facebook
tom tom

Don't telll me what i need!  >:(

take your face for a shite ffs
Post by: Square Ball on February 09, 2011, 05:48:04 PM
The perfect app for forgetful Catholic sinners, the only one promoted by the church
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-12391129 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-12391129)
Post by: muppet on February 09, 2011, 06:28:26 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on February 09, 2011, 05:48:04 PM
The perfect app for forgetful Catholic sinners, the only one promoted by the church
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-12391129 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-12391129)

Email it to Lenihan.
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 09, 2011, 10:11:57 PM
Hogan Stand have to do an app soon.
Post by: ziggysego on February 09, 2011, 11:04:04 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on February 09, 2011, 10:11:57 PM
Hogan Stand have to do an app soon.

Why?
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 09, 2011, 11:34:20 PM
Cause there's no GAA news app updated thru the day like Hogan Stand is.
Post by: flog the lot on February 11, 2011, 02:50:02 PM
backbreaker is good game for the iphone
it is also free this week as it was superbowl week..
Post by: ONeill on March 12, 2011, 12:38:24 PM
Tyson and Angry Birds - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jC5lFMu2Qak
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on April 28, 2011, 10:00:55 PM
Anybody here tried "Vevo"?

It's an app for free music videos. Seems very good
Post by: Boycey on September 24, 2011, 04:23:53 PM
Tiger Woods '12 free today for anyone insterested
Post by: Minder on October 16, 2011, 12:15:13 PM
Found a really good one last night, "08 Wizard", 69p,converts 0845 etc numbers into landline numbers that come out of your minutes allocation. There are quite a few of these apps but this one seems to be the best.
Post by: BenDover on November 03, 2011, 11:55:31 AM
did anyone else download 'Brother In Arms 2' when it was free the other day? I was playing away thinking this is a great game went in the next day and I'm back to the first stage and now I cant even configure the settings to be the way i want them i.e. control stick on bottom left and shoot on bottom right. has this happened to anyone else?
Post by: Jonah on November 03, 2011, 01:36:17 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 15, 2010, 10:24:42 PM

Just reading back through all this thread as I just bought my first iPhone when I saw this post.
Great call Minder!
Post by: Minder on January 18, 2012, 07:35:32 PM
Templerun is about the most addictive game I have played on iPhone, and for those from Derry, it's free !
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 18, 2012, 08:02:05 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 18, 2012, 07:35:32 PM
Templerun is about the most addictive game I have played on iPhone, and for those from Derry, it's free !
Might download that.
Post by: Megaman on January 19, 2012, 10:08:11 AM
downloaded this the other day.

its so damn fecking addictive.
Post by: Minder on January 19, 2012, 10:33:38 AM
Quote from: Megaman on January 19, 2012, 10:08:11 AM

Can't get more than 850,000.

Edit - Just joined the million club !!!
Post by: Megaman on January 20, 2012, 11:21:43 AM
1 million,  :o

cant get even close to that  :'(
Post by: saffron sam2 on January 21, 2012, 06:34:02 PM

Damn you, Minder. Damn you.
Post by: Harold Disgracey on January 21, 2012, 07:15:57 PM
Quote from: saffron sam2 on January 21, 2012, 06:34:02 PM

Damn you, Minder. Damn you.

Post by: ONeill on January 21, 2012, 09:07:08 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 19, 2012, 10:33:38 AM

650'000. Celebrated with a steak.
Post by: Minder on January 21, 2012, 09:38:00 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 21, 2012, 09:07:08 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 19, 2012, 10:33:38 AM

650'000. Celebrated with a steak.

Don't stop till you get enough.
Post by: ONeill on January 25, 2012, 12:47:39 AM
Finally.
Post by: Puckoon on January 25, 2012, 01:17:49 AM
I knew I shouldn't have, but thought I'd get brownie points from the Mrs if I surprised her with a new app. Turns out she's had it for a while, and now I'm yelling at a sideways phone
Post by: Puckoon on January 25, 2012, 04:09:18 PM
Can't hit 100,000 for love nor money  :-[
Post by: Minder on January 25, 2012, 04:15:44 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 25, 2012, 04:09:18 PM

My five year old can get 500,000  :P

Must be all that tv I let her watch in her room helps her.
Post by: Puckoon on January 25, 2012, 04:16:38 PM
Given a choice - right or left? I keep going right
Post by: muppet on January 25, 2012, 08:09:37 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 25, 2012, 04:16:38 PM
Given a choice - right or left? I keep going right

You need to get further away from Tyrone's Own.
Post by: ONeill on January 25, 2012, 09:04:44 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 25, 2012, 04:15:44 PM

My 5-yr old can hit 850'000. What about that, Minder?
Post by: Minder on January 25, 2012, 09:07:56 PM
Quote from: ONeill on January 25, 2012, 09:04:44 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 25, 2012, 04:15:44 PM

My 5-yr old can hit 850'000. What about that, Minder?

Leave it with me.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 25, 2012, 09:35:01 PM
Some parents.
Post by: ONeill on January 25, 2012, 10:03:58 PM
(http://images03.olx.com/ui/1/30/06/4182406_1.jpg)
Post by: Puckoon on January 25, 2012, 10:08:58 PM
Cant beat 104,000. The fella is an awful **** for zigging when he should be zagging.
Post by: Carmen Stateside on January 25, 2012, 10:21:02 PM
Tried it last night and it lasted about 3 mins! Lucky the iPad wasn't smashed!
Post by: Harold Disgracey on January 25, 2012, 10:45:19 PM
Got over 500,000 on the iPhone, about 70,000 on the iPad. Much easier on the phone.
Post by: Don Johnson on January 26, 2012, 10:59:08 AM
iPhone noob here. Just got one yesterday upgraded from a BB Bold.

I have downloaded a whole ween of apps there from this thread, all good stuff, holding off on the FM app, I know it would take over.

What I was wondering was, when you are finished with an app do you have to hit exit or just press the wee home button at the bottom of your iPhone?

Reason I ask is I have been hitting the home button for every one but now I am thinking are they all running in the background continuously draining my battery?

On my BB if you just went back to the main screen 9 times out of 10 the app was still running and the battery lost power very quickly.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on January 26, 2012, 11:12:45 AM
Quote from: Don Johnson on January 26, 2012, 10:59:08 AM
iPhone noob here. Just got one yesterday upgraded from a BB Bold.

I have downloaded a whole ween of apps there from this thread, all good stuff, holding off on the FM app, I know it would take over.

What I was wondering was, when you are finished with an app do you have to hit exit or just press the wee home button at the bottom of your iPhone?

Reason I ask is I have been hitting the home button for every one but now I am thinking are they all running in the background continuously draining my battery?

On my BB if you just went back to the main screen 9 times out of 10 the app was still running and the battery lost power very quickly.

If you double click on the home button you will see four icons highlighted at the bottom of the screen.  Touch and hold one of the icons until they wobble and minus signs appear.  You can then click on each one you want to close.  You can scroll from the right to see all the apps that are currently running on your phone.
Post by: Just_Browsing on January 26, 2012, 12:32:18 PM
New High score on Temple Run - 1, 330, 455  :)

Have any of the rest of you unlocked any off the other characters?  I have unlocked 4 but I actually dont think there is any difference in performance they give you.  Increasing the Power Ups has a great effect on you scoring especially when you get the magnet Triple scoring.
Post by: Don Johnson on January 26, 2012, 02:04:06 PM
El Cuervo, thank you. Had about forty apps running there.

Post by: Puckoon on January 26, 2012, 03:50:22 PM
Quote from: Just_Browsing on January 26, 2012, 12:32:18 PM
New High score on Temple Run - 1, 330, 455  :)

Have any of the rest of you unlocked any off the other characters?  I have unlocked 4 but I actually dont think there is any difference in performance they give you.  Increasing the Power Ups has a great effect on you scoring especially when you get the magnet Triple scoring.

I just figured out these extras last night and got up over 400,000. The auld arms were starting to cramp so I called it a night.
Post by: Minder on January 26, 2012, 06:05:48 PM

Have it.
Post by: Don Johnson on January 26, 2012, 10:09:25 PM
Have downloaded the Luminosity brain training app and paid for the years subscription it's really good, some of the games are very frustrating though.
Post by: ONeill on January 26, 2012, 11:57:30 PM
Quote from: Minder on January 26, 2012, 06:05:48 PM

Have it.

You make me sick.

Post by: Just_Browsing on January 27, 2012, 09:04:18 AM
Quote from: ONeill on January 26, 2012, 11:57:30 PM

Have it.

You make me sick.

Highest Scpre - 2,750,630
Longest Run - 8,875 m
Most Coins - 5,067
Post by: Megaman on January 27, 2012, 09:23:01 AM
feck im carp at this game,

im lucky to break 300k points  :'(
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 27, 2012, 09:33:25 AM
Quote from: Just_Browsing on January 27, 2012, 09:04:18 AM

Have it.

You make me sick.

Longest Run - 8,875 m
Most Coins - 5,067
It is becoming a war out there.
Post by: Minder on January 27, 2012, 09:38:37 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 27, 2012, 09:33:25 AM

Have it.

You make me sick.

Longest Run - 8,875 m
Most Coins - 5,067

He spelt score wrong, it stinks quite honestly. I am sorry Just Browsing your record cannot be ratified.
Post by: Megaman on January 27, 2012, 09:49:15 AM
Quote from: Minder on January 27, 2012, 09:38:37 AM

Have it.

You make me sick.

Longest Run - 8,875 m
Most Coins - 5,067

He spelt score wrong, it stinks quite honestly. I am sorry Just Browsing your record cannot be ratified.

WTF ????
Post by: Just_Browsing on January 27, 2012, 11:13:20 AM

Have it.

You make me sick.

Highest Score - 2,750,630
Longest Run - 8,875 m
Most Coins - 5,067

Have you guys used the coins to collect to upgrade your icons (i.e make the magnet triple coin score is very useful).  Also the resurrection wings are very useful for helping to get a high score - they only cost 500 to buy and you double tap the screen to activate them - they only last for 30 secs though but if you die you start from same position and with same points.
Post by: Minder on January 27, 2012, 11:30:09 AM
Quote from: Megaman on January 27, 2012, 09:49:15 AM

Have it.

You make me sick.

Longest Run - 8,875 m
Most Coins - 5,067

WTF ????

Thems the rules.
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 27, 2012, 01:10:01 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on January 26, 2012, 02:04:06 PM
I've had it near a month and am only finding that out now.
Post by: muppet on January 27, 2012, 01:24:46 PM
Quote from: Megaman on January 27, 2012, 09:23:01 AM
feck im carp at this game,

im lucky to break 300k points  :'(

I knew there was something fishy about you.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on January 27, 2012, 01:50:50 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 27, 2012, 01:11:21 PM
Quote from: fitzroyalty on January 27, 2012, 01:10:01 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on January 26, 2012, 02:04:06 PM
I've had it near a month and am only finding that out now.
Same here. I'm still not sure it runs down your battery when you're not using them though.

I'm not sure about the battery but it is supposed to slow the system performance.
Post by: Don Johnson on January 27, 2012, 04:08:37 PM
The ginger booth app is very good.
Post by: Don Johnson on January 29, 2012, 09:13:12 PM
Decided to get a few games downloaded, am addicted to Angry Birds, Words with friends and Scramble with friends now.

The Lumosity brain training app is good as well.
Post by: fitzroyalty on January 30, 2012, 12:00:44 AM
Quote from: Don Johnson on January 27, 2012, 04:08:37 PM
The ginger booth app is very good.
Jew booth, fat booth, turbanizer, have you all them booths downloaded?
Post by: Mayo4Sam on January 30, 2012, 11:46:44 AM
Flock kick is a fairly decent way to pass an hour or two
Post by: muppet on January 30, 2012, 06:52:07 PM

Have it.

You make me sick.

Longest Run - 8,875 m
Most Coins - 5,067

High score - 20,750m
Longest run - 650m
most coins - wha?

Post by: Tony Baloney on February 06, 2012, 08:04:28 PM
Rooney tweeting this evening that he got 4.5 million on Temple Run.
Post by: flantheman82 on February 06, 2012, 08:32:22 PM
NFL flick qb has taken up a lot of my free time lately!
Post by: Radda bout yeee on February 07, 2012, 02:06:57 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on February 06, 2012, 08:04:28 PM
Rooney tweeting this evening that he got 4.5 million on Temple Run.

Make that 12.6m he's just tweeted a pic of it!
Post by: Don Johnson on February 07, 2012, 02:42:41 PM
Did the sleep talking thing last night and discovered I don't talk in my sleep.

I discovered that I move about a lot and it picked up five different recordings of that.

I was hoping for something better than that.

Also got the sleep cycle alarm clock thing, think the alarm bit is pretty useless as it wakes you up before you wanna get up. Even though it claims to wake you up when you are not in a deep sleep, I am never really in a deep sleep so it doesn't apply to me. I did like the sleep monitoring it did though, every morning you had a wee graph that showed your sleeping all night. I wake up once an hour f**k sake.
Post by: Don Johnson on February 07, 2012, 02:47:46 PM
iSwap Faces is a good app to create freaky pictures of your friends or family.

I have made some weird creations swapping people's faces over.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on February 07, 2012, 07:10:25 PM
Don love the apps!
Post by: fitzroyalty on February 07, 2012, 07:25:18 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on February 07, 2012, 02:47:46 PM
iSwap Faces is a good app to create freaky pictures of your friends or family.

I have made some weird creations swapping people's faces over.
WhatsApp me some of your creations.
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 07, 2012, 07:47:26 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on February 07, 2012, 02:42:41 PM

I discovered that I move about a lot and it picked up five different recordings of that.

Also got the sleep cycle alarm clock thing, think the alarm bit is pretty useless as it wakes you up before you wanna get up. Even though it claims to wake you up when you are not in a deep sleep, I am never really in a deep sleep so it doesn't apply to me. I did like the sleep monitoring it did though, every morning you had a wee graph that showed your sleeping all night. I wake up once an hour f**k sake.

What app is this?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on February 07, 2012, 10:20:21 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on February 07, 2012, 07:47:26 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on February 07, 2012, 02:42:41 PM

What app is this?

Sleep Talk and Sleep Cycle
Post by: Don Johnson on February 12, 2012, 06:16:42 PM
Only getting into this Temple Run here. Best score about 500k just so far.

It is a puke having to gain the coins to do the power ups I would say the likes of Rooney just pays the money for the power ups while the rest of us plebs have to put the hard graft in.
Post by: Don Johnson on February 12, 2012, 06:26:52 PM
Just got 1.1 million. When does the new characters / resurrections come into play then?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on February 12, 2012, 08:40:50 PM
Quote from: Don Johnson on February 12, 2012, 06:26:52 PM
Just got 1.1 million. When does the new characters / resurrections come into play then?

You have to buy the wings, then double click at some point in the run.  when you die you start again from where you left off

You have to buy with the coins to unlock the new players too
Post by: Mayo4Sam on February 12, 2012, 11:16:39 PM
Are the new players any different?
Up to 1.7m
Anyone else use that game centre?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on February 12, 2012, 11:30:33 PM
Quote from: Mayo4Sam on February 12, 2012, 11:16:39 PM
Are the new players any different?
Up to 1.7m
Anyone else use that game centre?

I don't see any difference. 3.1 million. Trying to get the spartan run complete. Keep fukcing up
Post by: Don Johnson on February 16, 2012, 09:17:33 PM
Unlocked some of the new players but no difference in them at all I think.

Though I seem to be luckier with the chinese girl and shiter with the american footballer.

New high score - 1.7 million
Post by: AhJaysusRef on February 17, 2012, 10:09:47 AM
Anyone use the Viper app yet?

Reviews...
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on February 17, 2012, 10:30:03 AM
It's very good for talking to people overseas.  Saves the bill.  It's only available for Iphone and Android users at the minute, but they are developing a blackberry app now as well.  Once that is in place they will have a good deal of the market covered.

Edit:  I'm talking about Viber
Post by: AhJaysusRef on February 17, 2012, 04:29:36 PM
Does it need a wifi signal or will the normal phone signal do fine?

Totally free?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on February 17, 2012, 04:39:55 PM
Think you would need 3G for it to work. Normal phone signal wont do. Works best over wifi.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on February 17, 2012, 04:54:40 PM
Quote from: AhJaysusRef on February 17, 2012, 04:29:36 PM
Does it need a wifi signal or will the normal phone signal do fine?

Totally free?

As Archie said, works over 3G but wifi is best.

It is totally free depending on your internet allowance.  It's good for picture messaging, messaging and calls.  The sound quality is better than a normal phone call as well.
Post by: vav on February 18, 2012, 06:59:50 PM
Downloaded the sleep talk app that was mentioned on this thread a few days ago.. Turns out I do talk in my sleep.. It's the freakiest thing ever trying to figure out what the feck the random words I throw out mean or what the bejaysus I could have been dreaming about!!  :o  :-\
Post by: Minder on February 18, 2012, 07:03:21 PM
GTA III is only 69p until Monday, some great memories  ;D
Post by: Gazzler on February 18, 2012, 07:28:21 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 18, 2012, 07:03:21 PM
GTA III is only 69p until Monday, some great memories  ;D

Brilliant game GTA!
I download one called Jetpack last week and can't put it down very addictive game.

Post by: muppet on February 18, 2012, 09:27:07 PM
QuoteAnyone use the Viper app yet?

Is this a Hardy Bucks thing.
Post by: pintsofguinness on February 18, 2012, 09:33:12 PM
GTA chinatown wars is 69p until Monday too. 

Post by: Don Johnson on February 19, 2012, 12:49:28 PM
What way do you play GTA on the phone then? I might just download the pair of them anyway, whats £1.40.

Got 4,000,000 on Temple Run. Multiplier up another three notches after that run too so hopefully will break 5 at some stage then I might stop playing it.
Post by: Radda bout yeee on February 20, 2012, 02:56:35 PM
Going to France in a few weeks time I was thinking about getting a french translating app. Any point do you think and if so whats the best?
Post by: Don Johnson on February 20, 2012, 07:03:06 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on February 20, 2012, 02:56:35 PM
Going to France in a few weeks time I was thinking about getting a french translating app. Any point do you think and if so whats the best?

I think the google one is free. Though there is also a 'French For Dummies' one you will have to pay for but from the screenshots looks like it has sections with useful phrases which could help you.
Post by: Square Ball on February 21, 2012, 03:13:28 PM
not sure if this has been mentioned previously.

An Iphone was stolen on us and the police stated that we should have activated the find my Iphone app that is already on the phone. We have two but none had this activated, so get it activated if you dont, pretty handy yoke

If we had it activeted we may have been able to find the wee scumbags that took it
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on February 21, 2012, 03:27:35 PM
Quote from: Square Ball on February 21, 2012, 03:13:28 PM
not sure if this has been mentioned previously.

An Iphone was stolen on us and the police stated that we should have activated the find my Iphone app that is already on the phone. We have two but none had this activated, so get it activated if you dont, pretty handy yoke

If we had it activeted we may have been able to find the wee scumbags that took it

I got mine lifted in the Wellington Park before Xmas.  Tracked it down to a place in North Belfast, alerted the police and sent a screen message to the phone.  The message had the address of the person and a contact number for me.  The phone was returned.
Post by: lurganblue on February 22, 2012, 07:31:23 PM
Loving the lost city app at the minute. It's so addictive
Post by: FermGael on February 29, 2012, 03:09:52 PM
Any good task killer apps??
Trying to work out what is draining my battery.
Post by: heganboy on February 29, 2012, 03:21:24 PM
usually its the wifi being on when you're not on a wifi that hammers the battery, it spends a lot of effort trying to find one
Post by: Bingo on February 29, 2012, 03:30:31 PM
How the hell can anyone be getting 10m points on Temple run!! I'm struggling to get 100k. Am i missing something?
Post by: FermGael on February 29, 2012, 04:08:53 PM
Quote from: heganboy on February 29, 2012, 03:21:24 PM
usually its the wifi being on when you're not on a wifi that hammers the battery, it spends a lot of effort trying to find one

The wifi is off.  Just seems to be constantly draining.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on February 29, 2012, 04:33:20 PM
Quote from: FermGael on February 29, 2012, 04:08:53 PM

If you double click on the home button you will see four icons highlighted at the bottom of the screen.  Touch and hold one of the icons until they wobble and minus signs appear.  You can then click on each one you want to close.  You can scroll from the right to see all the apps that are currently running on your phone.

You could maybe also reduce how long your screen stays active when not in use:

go to: Settings > General > then Auto lock.  Make sure it's at the mininum.  That will save a good bit of the battery.

reducing the brightness of the screen can also help
Post by: bridge fan on February 29, 2012, 06:03:34 PM
1 thing i  found was to put the phone on 1minute automatic lock by not locking the phone it drained the battery in no time hope this helps
Post by: ONeill on February 29, 2012, 06:12:56 PM
Quote from: Bingo on February 29, 2012, 03:30:31 PM
How the hell can anyone be getting 10m points on Temple run!! I'm struggling to get 100k. Am i missing something?

There are cheats all over the joint. If you turn the tutorial on and then when you go to turn a corner, flick twice - it makes you run forever. I'm on 4 trillion.
Post by: screenexile on February 29, 2012, 09:03:07 PM
Quote from: Bingo on February 29, 2012, 03:30:31 PM

No big secret. The trick is to play it A LOT and get all the power ups. By about 1o sets of resurrection wings and you can go on for a good while!!!
Post by: Don Johnson on March 04, 2012, 10:30:22 AM
Any good news apps that send you push notifications (that you could tailor of course to what you want)

I have the NY Times one and it sends some stuff but obviously it is all American/world stories, wouldn't mind getting some one closer to home.

Other apps I have got lately:

Waze - a free navigation app that shows traffic etc
Night Sky - have to pay for this one, point it to the sky and it shows the constellations etc, what they are, where planets are.
Tucker Phone - if you are a fan of the tv show The Thick Of It this is great, Malcolm Tucker's lost phone.
Reading Trainer - paid app to help improve your reading speed. Only dont the first exercise so far, seems ok.
Live Score Addicts - free score app, seems better than Livescore etc, only used it yesterday though.
Post by: Minder on March 04, 2012, 10:48:21 AM
Quote from: Don Johnson on March 04, 2012, 10:30:22 AM
Any good news apps that send you push notifications (that you could tailor of course to what you want)

I have the NY Times one and it sends some stuff but obviously it is all American/world stories, wouldn't mind getting some one closer to home.

Other apps I have got lately:

Waze - a free navigation app that shows traffic etc
Night Sky - have to pay for this one, point it to the sky and it shows the constellations etc, what they are, where planets are.
Tucker Phone - if you are a fan of the tv show The Thick Of It this is great, Malcolm Tucker's lost phone.
Reading Trainer - paid app to help improve your reading speed. Only dont the first exercise so far, seems ok.
Live Score Addicts - free score app, seems better than Livescore etc, only used it yesterday though.

Are you on Twitter? It is ideal for what you are looking for, you choose whatever journalists, news outlets, newspapers you want to follow and away you go.
Post by: Archie Mitchell on March 14, 2012, 08:07:37 PM
Draw Something is very good. Addictive too!
Post by: lurganblue on March 28, 2012, 11:27:45 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on March 14, 2012, 08:07:37 PM
Draw Something is very good. Addictive too!

Loving this app at the minute. So addictive
Post by: pullhard on March 29, 2012, 11:47:41 AM
Just been given an iphone 3gs! cant wait to see what all the noise is about
Post by: Orior on May 15, 2012, 11:43:48 AM
New apps release...

http://www.eventbrite.co.uk/event/3530777651 (http://www.eventbrite.co.uk/event/3530777651)
Post by: laoislad on May 25, 2012, 04:48:34 PM
Score! Classic Goals is a great time waster of a game for iPhone.
Very addictive.
It's 79c but it's worth it.
Post by: heganboy on May 26, 2012, 05:37:03 AM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on February 29, 2012, 04:33:20 PM
Quote from: FermGael on February 29, 2012, 04:08:53 PM

You could maybe also reduce how long your screen stays active when not in use:

go to: Settings > General > then Auto lock.  Make sure it's at the mininum.  That will save a good bit of the battery.

reducing the brightness of the screen can also help

and turn off location services- massive difference...
Post by: Bud Wiser on May 28, 2012, 07:47:49 PM
Havent been on here for a while but just to stick my oar in, if you download NQ Mobile Security and use the optimizer button it will solve a lot of your problem !
Post by: laoislad on July 06, 2012, 06:26:08 PM
Deer Hunter Reloaded.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 19, 2012, 12:57:30 PM
Anyone know of a good app that will select and delete contacts in one go?

It's a pain in the nads doing them one at a time. I havent a clue who half my contacts are and it's time for some cleaning.
Post by: laoislad on July 19, 2012, 02:17:41 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 19, 2012, 12:57:30 PM

It's a pain in the nads doing them one at a time. I havent a clue who half my contacts are and it's time for some cleaning.

A quick search on the App Store brought up one called Clean Up Contacts fast.
There are several others both paid and free.

Am I making the cut? Or getting the cut as it may be!
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 19, 2012, 02:26:10 PM
I did a search LL but I wasn't impressed with the reviews on what I saw, including that one. Maybe I am too fussy. I have a fear of downloading apps that have lukewarm reviews.

I'll keep your number...........for now!
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on July 19, 2012, 04:42:51 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 19, 2012, 12:57:30 PM

Can you not do it quickly on your pc when signed into the iCloud?
Post by: Shamrock Shore on July 19, 2012, 04:58:09 PM
iCloud!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh Sweet Jesus. I've no head for that sorta craic. The cloud to me is a big grey yoke that wrecks summers.

I just want to have all my contacts in a list. A quick tick through the ones I want gone and then press 'Delete'.

End of
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on July 19, 2012, 05:25:28 PM
Just go to https://www.icloud.com/

Enter your apple log in details

Go to contacts

Delete as many as you want
Post by: ONeill on July 19, 2012, 07:05:38 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on July 19, 2012, 04:58:09 PM
iCloud!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh Sweet Jesus. I've no head for that sorta craic. The cloud to me is a big grey yoke that wrecks summers.

I just want to have all my contacts in a list. A quick tick through the ones I want gone and then press 'Delete'.

End of

Just fcukin delete them. See these buckin young'uns..
Post by: Minder on December 06, 2012, 03:06:21 PM
Grand Theft Auto - Vice City released today for IPhone/ Ipad and possibly Android - £2.99

You couldn't beat it.  :-*
Post by: Orior on December 06, 2012, 04:14:47 PM
I downloaded an Ulster Scots app a few months ago.

Totally useless (or in Ulster Scots - totally useless)
Post by: gerry on March 09, 2013, 05:33:20 PM
can you watch streaming football matches on an iphone and if so what do you need to watch it, cheers
Post by: laoislad on March 09, 2013, 06:33:41 PM
Quote from: gerry on March 09, 2013, 05:33:20 PM
can you watch streaming football matches on an iphone and if so what do you need to watch it, cheers

Jailbreak it and download XBMC onto it.
Post by: gerry on March 09, 2013, 06:54:48 PM
thanks LL
Post by: laoislad on March 09, 2013, 07:05:55 PM
Quote from: gerry on March 09, 2013, 06:54:48 PM
thanks LL

I followed a few videos on YouTube about installing XBMC on iPhone, you also need a few plugins on XBMC for the streaming of matches. It's easy enough though.
Post by: ONeill on March 10, 2013, 10:28:25 AM
I downloaded the Veetle app on the Samsung. It shows most games (and filums and tv). Don't know if the iPhone has her.
Post by: Gaffer on March 10, 2013, 06:38:09 PM
Need a new cover for my iphone 4

Any recommendations?
Post by: gerry on March 13, 2013, 12:01:05 PM
one of the main reasons i stayed away from an iphone was that i hated itunes.  since i have it jailbroken and use  copytrans (http://www.copytrans.net/) to update movies and music on it, life is good. just need to figure xbmc to stream sports on it now.
Post by: laoislad on March 13, 2013, 01:02:06 PM
Quote from: gerry on March 13, 2013, 12:01:05 PM
one of the main reasons i stayed away from an iphone was that i hated itunes.  since i have it jailbroken and use  copytrans (http://www.copytrans.net/) to update movies and music on it, life is good. just need to figure xbmc to stream sports on it now.

YouTube is yer man. That's how I figured it out.
Post by: gerry on March 13, 2013, 02:12:56 PM
if you get a chance LL can you fire up a youtube link, i have being as this all day but cant get it to work. i have installed the xbmc but cant get the navi file to work
Post by: BenDover on March 13, 2013, 03:48:59 PM
I followed this guide roughly and got it going http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4G2bndAGwc
for IceFilm and Channel1 is if i get Navi-x can I view sports?
Post by: laoislad on March 13, 2013, 04:02:02 PM
Quote from: gerry on March 13, 2013, 02:12:56 PM
if you get a chance LL can you fire up a youtube link, i have being as this all day but cant get it to work. i have installed the xbmc but cant get the navi file to work
Go into Cydia and search for XBMC Hub Wizard.
Install it and it will pretty much automatically install everything you need on XBMC for streaming matches movies and Live TV.
I watched the Spurs Arsenal game via XBMC on my iphone in a Tesco car park while the wife was in doing the shopping! It was an excellent quality stream and I was only using 02's 3G network which can be dodgy at the best of times especially in an underground car park!
It works even better over wifi.
Post by: BenDover on March 14, 2013, 08:34:15 AM
LL do you know the name of the add-on you use to watch Live sports?
Post by: laoislad on March 14, 2013, 08:49:34 AM
Quote from: BenDover on March 14, 2013, 08:34:15 AM
LL do you know the name of the add-on you use to watch Live sports?
Sports Devil is one.
Post by: BenDover on March 14, 2013, 01:06:07 PM
good man cheers
Post by: Estimator on January 12, 2014, 08:23:36 PM
Did anyone get the Cartoon HD app downloaded before it vanished from iTunes?
Post by: Archie Mitchell on July 31, 2014, 01:54:03 PM
VLC for iOS is back on the app store for iPhone and iPad. It was briefly on before a few years back but Apple pulled it. Very handy for putting your own videos on iPhone/iPad without the need to convert. Seems to be a few upgrades as well to the original version I had like being able to add videos over the wi-fi. I'd imagine it is approved by Apple now so won't be pulled again.

https://itunes.apple.com/app/vlc-ios/id650377962 (https://itunes.apple.com/app/vlc-ios/id650377962)
Post by: muppet on July 31, 2014, 07:13:29 PM
Band of the day - free App
Post by: thebigfella on July 31, 2014, 07:25:23 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 31, 2014, 01:54:03 PM
VLC for iOS is back on the app store for iPhone and iPad. It was briefly on before a few years back but Apple pulled it. Very handy for putting your own videos on iPhone/iPad without the need to convert. Seems to be a few upgrades as well to the original version I had like being able to add videos over the wi-fi. I'd imagine it is approved by Apple now so won't be pulled again.

https://itunes.apple.com/app/vlc-ios/id650377962 (https://itunes.apple.com/app/vlc-ios/id650377962)

Apple didn't pull it. VLC had to pull it, it's codecs etc.. Are open source and they could comply due to a conflict with the apple licensing.

Download it quick as it's very good and could very likely disappear again.
Post by: Syferus on July 31, 2014, 09:35:59 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on July 31, 2014, 07:25:23 PM
Quote from: Archie Mitchell on July 31, 2014, 01:54:03 PM

Apple didn't pull it. VLC had to pull it, it's codecs etc.. Are open source and they could comply due to a conflict with the apple licensing.

Download it quick as it's very good and could very likely disappear again.

I was about to buy Infuse when I heard VLC was back a while ago. It's been available since July 2013 so it shouldn't be disappearing again.

VLC is as good a media player as you can find and it's updated to suit the design of iOS 7, basically it's as good as any paid app and looks good on top of it. Setting up a web server and sending files over wifi to it is a breeze too.
Post by: laoislad on August 30, 2014, 07:23:25 PM
Is it possible to buy something from an app store outside of Ireland?
Post by: thebigfella on August 30, 2014, 07:56:32 PM
Quote from: laoislad on August 30, 2014, 07:23:25 PM

Yes but you need a credit card from that country
Post by: laoislad on August 30, 2014, 08:43:51 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on August 30, 2014, 07:56:32 PM

Fair enough,no good to be so thanks anyway.
Post by: Syferus on August 30, 2014, 09:49:33 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on August 30, 2014, 07:56:32 PM

Nope, just get a cheap gift code online from the country whose store you want something from and you can set up an account with it without using a credit card.