?

?
16 (50%)
?
16 (50%)

Total Members Voted: 32

I seen 20 League games this year,many of them, fairly decent. But Slaughtneil win the league,and no League team photo,or game promotion. What was the point running a league. Does anybody follow the Galway Supporter GAA page on facebook? Got to be the best run site for GAA supporters i seen, all done by a few fans.

Brendan

I had thought the Derry Gaels were kicked off/backed by the count bird but given the criticism they've given about the way things are done they seem to be independent and doing a great job at that where the county board have failed.

On another note, the standards in the Derry Post are dropping further, they ran a headline about Sean Dolans beating Glack but used the half time score, surely that's very basic  :-\

greenlight

I'd be interested in starting a Derry supporters page to fill the void. PM me if you'd like to help

MidUlsterObserver

Quote from: greenlight on August 14, 2026, 12:23:23 AMI'd be interested in starting a Derry supporters page to fill the void. PM me if you'd like to help

good idea, those sorts of things should be done as well but the county board needs to be held accountable for poor PR, regardless of supporters/third party covering things, the county should be doing the basics.

Quote from: MidUlsterObserver on August 14, 2026, 09:38:43 AM
Quote from: greenlight on August 14, 2026, 12:23:23 AMI'd be interested in starting a Derry supporters page to fill the void. PM me if you'd like to help

good idea, those sorts of things should be done as well but the county board needs to be held accountable for poor PR, regardless of supporters/third party covering things, the county should be doing the basics.

Look at the guidelines the county set for those who went for the PRO role. Maybe it's not in their remit.

GTP

Is there any information available on what games are being streamed in hurling or football championship?
I am wondering if it is worth getting but no idea what I would be buying.

MidUlsterObserver

Quote from: theticklemister on August 14, 2026, 01:40:33 PM
Quote from: MidUlsterObserver on August 14, 2026, 09:38:43 AM

Look at the guidelines the county set for those who went for the PRO role. Maybe it's not in their remit.

Not in their remit to promote the game? Even if their remit was to promote county games only, that's still wrong and a failure of the county!

For years, the county PRO hasn't promoted club games, no match reports or nothing or photos. In recent years we are getting teams for cship which is a welcome addition.

All these different PROs haven't done it, so I'm thinking is it the policy of county board.

Go look at the Galway Footballers Homepage on Facebook., Thats what i call a well run page. Given the product, there must be alot of people behind it

They updated 6 times within an hour!

Ryan O

I'm not sure who the head groundsman or woman is in Glen but their training pitch looks like carpet at the minute. The standard of pitches in our clubs has to be at an all time high. Its worth driving up the Glenshane just to see it
I was in Ballerin during week for Ballymaguigan and Drum and theirs was the same.
Takes some work to achieve that.

jb77

Our groundsman proudly has contacts with a few of the groundsmen in Croke Park, basically his hobby. Some science in it all but at the end of day they're chatting the leg off you about abit of grass. Fair play to them there's alot of work in it

giveherlong

Quote from: Ryan O on August 15, 2026, 08:22:30 PMI'm not sure who the head groundsman or woman is in Glen but their training pitch looks like carpet at the minute. The standard of pitches in our clubs has to be at an all time high. Its worth driving up the Glenshane just to see it
I was in Ballerin during week for Ballymaguigan and Drum and theirs was the same.
Takes some work to achieve that.

I think Glen have invested in a robotic sprinkler for the dry weather 

braveheart

On the topic of the lack of coverage of all things Gaa at club level in Derry,I find it very disappointing. But surely this is a massive opportunity for someone who is a Fanatic within the county to create a position for himself or herself for that matter. Whether it be someone in university or as a Second job,I'd imagine it could be something that could lead to bigger things. Cahair in particular has done very well out of journalism and Mal has done reasonably well also. I miss the mid Ulster observer,I miss reading the coverage in the Derry post-from what this paper was to what it is now is embarrassing. Reports on Club action needs  action asap.

Anybody at the hurling games over the week-end?