Starting a new hurling team in Dublin (South-East city)

Started by ranelaghgaels, November 24, 2009, 08:01:36 PM

ranelaghgaels

Ranelagh Gaels are hoping to start their first adult hurling team in 2010. If you are intereseted in playing or getting involved in coaching or mentoring please get in contact with us. Newcomers to the sport of hurling are also welcome.

Email: ranelaghgaels.hurling@gmail.com

Silky

Good luck to ye. It'll probably be hard for the first few years.

ranelaghgaels

Quote from: Silky on November 24, 2009, 08:05:30 PM
Good luck to ye. It'll probably be hard for the first few years.

Thanks. I'd say you'd be right. It's a tough enough struggle to get it this far. Unreal amount of work. I'm not complaining though, it'll be worth it in the end.

Mario

I live in Ranelagh myself, do you play for the football team? Would you have a large panel?

ranelaghgaels

Quote from: Mario on November 24, 2009, 08:16:14 PM
I live in Ranelagh myself, do you play for the football team? Would you have a large panel?

I do play for the football team. There is a panel of about thirty on the football team, we are hoping to start a second football team, we'd need big numbers for that though. Are you interested in both hurling and football or just football?

I wish you the very best of luck. I honestly do not think it will be that hard . I was at the presentation of the medals to the South Dublin Colleges yesterday and I was proud as punch of all them young lads. Daley gave a speech and bejaysus you would think the lads wanted to go out and play in the dark after it. You are starting a team in a county with the best hurling structures in place in the country from what I heard last night.  You are joining a rollercoaster ride that is on the way up and all the positives are on your side. The very best of luck.

neilthemac

think about it: you need lads who play hurling. they will mainly be culchies. though not exclusively

so put flyers into local schools aimed at male teachers.
civil service offices. factories. contact sports officer of the local gardai division/fire brigade
ucd postgrads?

Quote from: neilthemac on November 28, 2009, 07:09:09 PM
think about it: you need lads who play hurling. they will mainly be culchies. though not exclusively

civil service offices. factories. contact sports officer of the local gardai division/fire brigade
ucd postgrads?

Coppers?

Quote from: muppet on November 28, 2009, 08:33:26 PM

ucd postgrads?

Coppers?

Ever heard of " A big culchie Guard'  ;)

Premier Emperor

Don't bother with guards.
They'll be too concerned with hoovering up generous Sunday overtime rather than togging out for your hurling team!

ranelaghgaels

ucd postgrads?

Thanks for the advice. Going to put up flyers in UCD and DIT.
How would you go about contacting a Garda Sports Officer, should I just drop into the local stations and ask them to put up a flyer/poster in their staff room?

Premier Emperor

Quote from: ranelaghgaels on February 05, 2010, 05:15:44 PM

ucd postgrads?

How would you go about contacting a Garda Sports Officer, should I just drop into the local stations and ask them to put up a flyer/poster in their staff room?
Students are bad news too.
You'll end up driving around Dublin trying to find what house they're conked out drunk in on a Sunday morning!

Quote from: ranelaghgaels on February 05, 2010, 05:15:44 PM

ucd postgrads?

I'd put up flyers in Trinity too- their first and second year halls are in Rathmines and there'd be a lot of older students (perhaps thinking about joining a Dublin club) round the Ranelagh/Rathmines/Rathgar direction. On top of that, the GAA is one of the fastest growing organisations in Trinity itself.

awfulynice

Quote from: ranelaghgaels on November 24, 2009, 08:01:36 PM
Ranelagh Gaels are hoping to start their first adult hurling team in 2010. If you are intereseted in playing or getting involved in coaching or mentoring please get in contact with us. Newcomers to the sport of hurling are also welcome.

Email: ranelaghgaels.hurling@gmail.com

Hows the hurling team going?? If you need any quality cheap sliotars let me know!!