Antrim Hurling

Started by milltown row, January 26, 2007, 11:21:26 AM

Bonamargy

Quote from: hardstation on January 25, 2014, 07:54:27 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 25, 2014, 07:48:01 PM
Quote from: hardstation on January 25, 2014, 07:43:38 PM
He's right milltown. They were in Div 2 for one year. They played intermediate that year.

Shame on them, how'd they do in the All Ireland semi final?
I know they lost but can't remember the score.

They lost to Dicksboro from Kilkenny 0-16 to 1-09

Of course it is the right decision for the abovementioned teams. If you have nothing to either offer or gain from playing SC then it is better to drop back and try to consolidate and maybe give some younger lads a runout which can only be positive in the long run.

btdtgtt

Quote from: hardstation on January 25, 2014, 09:53:04 PM
That is true, Tony, if lack of talent and ability is the reason why you are struggling at senior.
Now, if that is the problem with Rossa, I am happy to accept it and intermediate would be the right move. However, any time I hear the "what went wrong" end of year reports of Rossa hurling, the same things come up. Lack of commitment, lack of preparation, general apathy.
Dropping to intermediate and being successful at that level while the same levels of apathy remain gives a false sense of progression.
Doing the same things as you have done previously but still winning a lock of intermediate games is pointless.

How long has this been the problem HS?
2004 was a long time ago now!
I think loughgiel have shown you get what you deserve.

btdtgtt

You won a championship under-prepared and with a lack commitment and apathy?

Surely if it's going on that long then it's not apathy or under-prepared or lack of commitment - it's just Rossa!

Quote from: hardstation on January 25, 2014, 10:36:39 PM
A long time and before 2004.

That's true.

How many of these special juvenile players over the years will look back and think they should have won a senior championship or two?  So many decent teams over the years have fallen by the wayside, St Johns the same. These lads for whatever reason have not progressed at senior, maybe the attitude is wrong, drink culture can't help or just lack of ambition are the factors.

Having the right senior set up, the players buy into the management team and goals can make a big difference.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 25, 2014, 11:11:47 PM

That's true.

How many of these special juvenile players over the years will look back and think they should have won a senior championship or two?  So many decent teams over the years have fallen by the wayside, St Johns the same. These lads for whatever reason have not progressed at senior, maybe the attitude is wrong, drink culture can't help or just lack of ambition are the factors.

Having the right senior set up, the players buy into the management team and goals can make a big difference.
The simple fact is there are more distractions/temptations in Belfast than Loughgiel, Cushendall, Dunloy etc. so you are never going to see the same player retention as the rural areas, many of which have fcuk all apart from the club (looking at you Loughgiel). Ballycastle is no metropolis but they had a reputation for being too fond of the high stool over the past 20 years or so.

It has changed a bit in the past few years due to the job market - Glenariffe have definitely suffered and most Glens clubs would be in the same boat. No strength in depth for SHC.

btdtgtt

So HS if Rossa are under-prepared, not committed and apathetic - and have been for years - then surely they should be in senior?

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 25, 2014, 11:23:48 PM

That's true.

The simple fact is there are more distractions/temptations in Belfast than Loughgiel, Cushendall, Dunloy etc. so you are never going to see the same player retention as the rural areas, many of which have fcuk all apart from the club (looking at you Loughgiel). Ballycastle is no metropolis but they had a reputation for being too fond of the high stool over the past 20 years or so.

It has changed a bit in the past few years due to the job market - Glenariffe have definitely suffered and most Glens clubs would be in the same boat. No strength in depth for SHC.

Tony if thats the case our footballers shouldn't be winning too many Championships

Quote from: hardstation on January 25, 2014, 11:46:15 PM
Quote from: btdtgtt on January 25, 2014, 11:31:13 PM
So HS if Rossa are under-prepared, not committed and apathetic - and have been for years - then surely they should be in senior?
Unsure what you are asking?

They'll show same attitude in Intermediate?

Seamroga in exile

That's true.

not really true nowadays tony. We have cars, electric and everything now ya know.  ;)

I think I agree with what hs is hinting at. It comes down to how much work you want to put into it. And how much you want it.
"What we've got here is failure to communicate"

btdtgtt

Quote from: hardstation on January 25, 2014, 11:50:54 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 25, 2014, 11:47:02 PM

Well, that's the point I was making at the very beginning. The safety net of intermediate. If those things are the reason for failure at senior, there is no point dropping down a level and winning a few matches while the same apathy remains.
Those few wins only put a gloss on the problem.

And there's certainly no point staying senior if all those things are true.

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 25, 2014, 11:41:36 PM

That's true.

Tony if thats the case our footballers shouldn't be winning too many Championships
There is an exception to every rule (you also have plenty fond of the high stool  ;D)

Quote from: Seamroga in exile on January 25, 2014, 11:48:24 PM

That's true.

not really true nowadays tony. We have cars, electric and everything now ya know.  ;)

I think I agree with what hs is hinting at. It comes down to how much work you want to put into it. And how much you want it.
But the club is the centre of the community and youse don't have Legends nightclub to fight in at the weekends.

Quote from: Seamroga in exile on January 25, 2014, 11:48:24 PM

That's true.

Fcuk when did that happen? Next thing ya know you'll develop a sense of humour ;)

Tony, attitude and respect, those two things can make a standard senior team (Ballycastle lets say) into a contender, Rossa and the Johnnies have the tools they just need to f**king use them. Every club has high stools and dicks that sit on them, some of them come on here every so often and talk a lot of shite, get barred and come back ;)

btdtgtt

Quote from: hardstation on January 25, 2014, 11:55:28 PM
Quote from: btdtgtt on January 25, 2014, 11:53:35 PM

Well, that's the point I was making at the very beginning. The safety net of intermediate. If those things are the reason for failure at senior, there is no point dropping down a level and winning a few matches while the same apathy remains.

There's as much point failing at senior as winning at intermediate if those problems still exist. That's the point.

BTW, those things are only problems I have heard about our teams. I don't rule out not being good enough for senior.

Curious.
Some is opinion - but results are facts.
On the basis of results - Rossa in intermediate is logical.
You can always watch sarsfields or the galls in championship next year!

Quote from: btdtgtt on January 26, 2014, 12:13:41 AM
Quote from: hardstation on January 25, 2014, 11:55:28 PM
Quote from: btdtgtt on January 25, 2014, 11:53:35 PM

There's as much point failing at senior as winning at intermediate if those problems still exist. That's the point.

BTW, those things are only problems I have heard about our teams. I don't rule out not being good enough for senior.

Curious.
Some is opinion - but results are facts.
On the basis of results - Rossa in intermediate is logical.
You can always watch sarsfields or the galls in championship next year!

Be handy if we met each other in the first round, Tired of getting Loughgiel ;)