The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

Quote from: whitey on October 25, 2016, 02:21:56 AM
Quote from: J70 on October 25, 2016, 02:06:40 AM
Quote from: whitey on October 25, 2016, 02:01:13 AM
Execurive order, in a swing state during an election year....if it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck it a frickin duck

"Never before have any of the prior 71 Virginia Governors issued a clemency order of any kind — including pardons, reprieves, commutations, and restoration orders — to a class of unnamed felons without regard for the nature of the crimes or any other individual circumstances relevant to the request," Chief Justice Donald W. Lemons wrote for the majority. "To be sure, no Governor of this Commonwealth, until now, has even suggested that such a power exists."

Quite, but how is that election stealing or rigging?

Are most felons former Democrats in Virginia?

I think if you have to ask that question you already know the answer

http://www.nbc29.com/story/32865055/va-felons-with-restored-rights-likely-to-live-amongst-democrats

So more felons come from poor, Democratic areas than wealthier Republican areas.

Therefore restoring the rights of felons is tantamount to stealing the election?

But let's grant, for the sake of argument, that McAuliffe WAS motivated, at least in part, due to the likely partisan leaning of the average felon: that doesn't make it wrong! Are GOP arguments against felons voting fraudulent purely because they might stand to lose out in voting terms?

As for the timing... so what? There is a national election every second year FFS. Many states have off-year governor and legislature elections. WHEN is an acceptable time for this kind of action. Shouldn't he have done it later in the year to make it less likely that a court would block it, if his intent was purely ballot box stuffing?

And again, NONE of that adds to your case that there was anything fraudulent in that campaign contribution.

easytiger95

Quote from: stew on October 25, 2016, 01:18:30 PM

You are as arrogant as that kn**ker gallbladder!

Do you really believe You know more about America than Americans do?

You played golf over there, whoopdee fookin doo.

The word gobdhite springs to,mind, you have lost the run,of yourself!

Best sentence ever, spelling, grammar, the overall sentiment...just brilliant.

Quote from: J70 on October 25, 2016, 02:45:41 PM
Execurive order, in a swing state during an election year....if it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck it a frickin duck

"Never before have any of the prior 71 Virginia Governors issued a clemency order of any kind — including pardons, reprieves, commutations, and restoration orders — to a class of unnamed felons without regard for the nature of the crimes or any other individual circumstances relevant to the request," Chief Justice Donald W. Lemons wrote for the majority. "To be sure, no Governor of this Commonwealth, until now, has even suggested that such a power exists."

http://www.nbc29.com/story/32865055/va-felons-with-restored-rights-likely-to-live-amongst-democrats

So more felons come from poor, Democratic areas than wealthier Republican areas.

Therefore restoring the rights of felons is tantamount to stealing the election?

But let's grant, for the sake of argument, that McAuliffe WAS motivated, at least in part, due to the likely partisan leaning of the average felon: that doesn't make it wrong! Are GOP arguments against felons voting fraudulent purely because they might stand to lose out in voting terms?

As for the timing... so what? There is a national election every second year FFS. Many states have off-year governor and legislature elections. WHEN is an acceptable time for this kind of action. Shouldn't he have done it later in the year to make it less likely that a court would block it, if his intent was purely ballot box stuffing?

And again, NONE of that adds to your case that there was anything fraudulent in that campaign contribution.

To quote the now fired Scott Foval. "It doesn't matter what the friggin' legal and ethics people say, we need to win this".

And you can't understand why I won't give these people the benefit of the doubt???

easytiger95

Quote from: whitey on October 25, 2016, 03:07:54 PM

To quote the now fired Scott Foval. "It doesn't matter what the friggin' legal and ethics people say, we need to win this".

And you can't understand why I won't give these people the benefit of the doubt???

Benefit of the doubt works both ways - every couple of days on this thread you come up with a new "story" that you claim will bring the walls crashing down on Clinton - and every time it doesn't happen. Now there are three options here to explain this

1. a vast left wing conspiracy involving the lame-stream media, international "banks" (or whatever other anti-Semitic dog whistle you prefer) and the Clintons which crushes these stories before they can grow

2. you are the unluckiest citizen journalist that ever walked the internet, and you hex any story you link to before it grows legs

3. Or the right wing simply chooses to throw whatever muck it can at Clinton, facts be damned and use gullible people like you to spread this message over social networks, whilst all the while cursing the fact that they have a candidate that actually is corrupt and that the muck actually deserves to stick to?

Happy to be proved wrong about Clinton - but I wouldn't be extending the benefit of the doubt to you Whitey, given your track record so far - how long can we take your posts seriously when they are all sizzle and no steak?

You don't need to live in America to have critical faculties. And "if it walks like a duck" isn't accepted as a relevant standard in good journalism or in courts of law - on either side of the Atlantic.

Quote from: easytiger95 on October 25, 2016, 03:21:10 PM

Benefit of the doubt works both ways - every couple of days on this thread you come up with a new "story" that you claim will bring the walls crashing down on Clinton - and every time it doesn't happen. Now there are three options here to explain this

1. a vast left wing conspiracy involving the lame-stream media, international "banks" (or whatever other anti-Semitic dog whistle you prefer) and the Clintons which crushes these stories before they can grow

2. you are the unluckiest citizen journalist that ever walked the internet, and you hex any story you link to before it grows legs

3. Or the right wing simply chooses to throw whatever muck it can at Clinton, facts be damned and use gullible people like you to spread this message over social networks, whilst all the while cursing the fact that they have a candidate that actually is corrupt and that the muck actually deserves to stick to?

Happy to be proved wrong about Clinton - but I wouldn't be extending the benefit of the doubt to you Whitey, given your track record so far - how long can we take your posts seriously when they are all sizzle and no steak?

You don't need to live in America to have critical faculties. And "if it walks like a duck" isn't accepted as a relevant standard in good journalism or in courts of law - on either side of the Atlantic.

easytiger95

But all you have is a hyped up undercover video from a proven fraud and not much else. Be suspicious if you want, but if you are going to call for an official investigation every time something like this comes up, just because right wing radio or Breitbart or Fox News hypes up what may be a complete non-story, we better open up a new government police agency to handle the deluge.

Quote from: easytiger95 on October 25, 2016, 03:49:01 PM
You could not make this stuff up - except the stuff they are making up. This is from today...

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2016/10/24/we-found-the-plan-donald-trump-s-axis-of-tinfoil-hats-duped-again.html

Being back Dean Chambers, the Unskewed Polls guy... all is forgiven! ;D

I especially like the creator, a "hardcore conservative who believes the media is lying to him about everything"!

So he just goes and creates an illuminati fantasy which the gullible idiots with their Pavlovian responses takes as gospel! It's about Hillary, so it has to be true!  ;D

Quote from: easytiger95 on October 25, 2016, 03:21:10 PM

Hillary

Deleted 30,000 emails that were under suponea

Smashed 3 cell phones with a hammer

Had her server forensically wiped

Has senior aides who took the fifth instance dad of testifying

The head of the DNC has had to resign for rigging a primary

Her replacement may have to resign for rigging a debate by leaking questions ahead of time

A senior figure connected to the campaign Robert Creamer has had to resign for coordinating violence at Trump rallies (He also visited the White House an odd 350 times and met with Obama 45 times)

So in light of all that you are  still willing to give the Clinton campaign the benefit of the doubt any time a new story breaks. Yes, some of times hem are crap, but given Clintons track record that shouldn't be the default position

Regarding a campaign derailing revelation, do you think that it's beyond The realm of possibility that Wikileaks are holding something back to roll out a few days before the election ?????

I certainly think there is a good shot that something will come out

easytiger95

You forgot Benghazi - or are we finally accepting that the nine - NINE - separate probes into that event, which found her not to be responsible, are now legitimate?

FBI Director Comey is aware of all the "facts" above - and yet, in a remarkably partisan press conference, stated he was unable to prove any illegality connected with Hillary Clinton, or indeed any grounds for prosecuting any charges against her. Not particularly remarkable, given that previous Secretaries had maintained their own email servers.

Nor is it particularly remarkable that 30,000 emails were deleted, given that the server was maintaining both her business and personal mails - personal mails which the FBI knew full well they had no right to probe. The point is proven even more by the Wikileaks dumps, which show no illegalities (so far), but just the ordinary, wearying cynicism of political sausage making (or risotto-preparing).

Also the FBI have been leaking selectively ever since the Comey conference and they still don't have anything to force an indictment.

And as for her staff wiping the server and destroying devices no longer in use - that is standard security. The fact that they used a hammer does not confer criminality on their actions - it just makes most people wish they had been more tech savvy re their security, maintained separate servers and allowed the Department of State to make those arrangements.

But the "system" is protecting her.

And yet, we have a candidate on the opposing side who has a record of bankruptcies, lawsuits for non payment of debts, has confessed himself on tape to non-consensual sexual activity, has been accused by 11 women of such, has been forced to pay a fine for sending money to an Attorney General in Florida, just after she dropped an investigation into a bogus university scam, has never released one tax return (despite her doing so herself, and despite continuing evidence that he has had to source loans from foreign banks, whilst maintaining people on his pay roll with close attachments to the Russian government) has encouraged said Russian government to interfere in the electoral process by hacking her, has as an advisor a man who just two days ago said there may not be an election in 2020 (the lovely Roger Stone), is encouraging crowds at his rallies to abuse the press (there was some footage yesterday of Trump supporters calling the media "lugenpresse" or lying press, a phrase popularised by Hitler during the last years of the Weimar Republic), and has encouraged and nurtured far right and racist elements to rally to his banner.

There's loads more.

Now, I know what you will say - "I know all this and I'd vote for Hillary above him in a swing state...but Hillary is as bad as him. And I wish my Irish facebook friends would shut up about her."

That is not a sustainable position. There are different levels of wrong doing - which is why there are misdemeanours and felonies. But the constant false equivalency that you and others apply to both candidates serves not to expose Clinton, but to normalise Trump. There are no comparisons between the two. Clinton is possibly the most investigated public figure in American politics, maybe world politics, and all you can come up with is all sizzle, no steak, and a hope that a Hail Mary from Wikileaks is going to derail her.

And if it does? When Herr Trump is trashing the most important democratic document ever written and maybe some of the lads in Worcester and Boston are being taken away to ICE internment camps as well as the Muslims and Mexicans, when you need to keep your Green Card close in case you still have your accent, when ethnicity rather than character is the guarantor of American Citizenship - I hope your vote for Jill Stein makes sure that your conscience is clean. Washing your hands of it doesn't wash.

Maybe using a hammer wasn't so important, after all?

foxcommander

Quote from: muppet on October 25, 2016, 12:21:07 AM
Quote from: whitey on October 25, 2016, 12:15:51 AM
Quote from: muppet on October 25, 2016, 12:09:52 AM
Its a 2 horse race, and you are cheering against one of them in almost all of yours posts.

We ploughed this ground before...Im cheering against one of them because most Irish people on my Facebook feed are all cheering for Hillary without knowing a fvcking thing about her

Imagine if a Yank who'd never lived in Ireland started telling you what a great fella Bertie Ahern was and they couldnt understand why people didnt like him or wouldnt vote for him~LOL

Bertie's country wasn't the sole world superpower now was it?

And not every American has an Irish cousin, but the reverse almost universally applies. Also, an awful lot of Irish have been on the States for J1s, holidays and work.

We know far more about parts of the US than many Americans. I have played golf over there with people who had never left their State.

PMSL - Brilliant :D

Surprised he didn't elaborate on how he got course record 62 on his first try at Augusta but it doesn't get recorded as he's an amateur.
Full of it.

Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

omochain

Quote from: easytiger95 on October 25, 2016, 07:05:03 PM
You forgot Benghazi - or are we finally accepting that the nine - NINE - separate probes into that event, which found her not to be responsible, are now legitimate?

FBI Director Comey is aware of all the "facts" above - and yet, in a remarkably partisan press conference, stated he was unable to prove any illegality connected with Hillary Clinton, or indeed any grounds for prosecuting any charges against her. Not particularly remarkable, given that previous Secretaries had maintained their own email servers.

Nor is it particularly remarkable that 30,000 emails were deleted, given that the server was maintaining both her business and personal mails - personal mails which the FBI knew full well they had no right to probe. The point is proven even more by the Wikileaks dumps, which show no illegalities (so far), but just the ordinary, wearying cynicism of political sausage making (or risotto-preparing).

Also the FBI have been leaking selectively ever since the Comey conference and they still don't have anything to force an indictment.

And as for her staff wiping the server and destroying devices no longer in use - that is standard security. The fact that they used a hammer does not confer criminality on their actions - it just makes most people wish they had been more tech savvy re their security, maintained separate servers and allowed the Department of State to make those arrangements.

And yet, we have a candidate on the opposing side who has a record of bankruptcies, lawsuits for non payment of debts, has confessed himself on tape to non-consensual sexual activity, has been accused by 11 women of such, has been forced to pay a fine for sending money to an Attorney General in Florida, just after she dropped an investigation into a bogus university scam, has never released one tax return (despite her doing so herself, and despite continuing evidence that he has had to source loans from foreign banks, whilst maintaining people on his pay roll with close attachments to the Russian government) has encouraged said Russian government to interfere in the electoral process by hacking her, has as an advisor a man who just two days ago said there may not be an election in 2020 (the lovely Roger Stone), is encouraging crowds at his rallies to abuse the press (there was some footage yesterday of Trump supporters calling the media "lugenpresse" or lying press, a phrase popularised by Hitler during the last years of the Weimar Republic), and has encouraged and nurtured far right and racist elements to rally to his banner.

There's loads more.

Now, I know what you will say - "I know all this and I'd vote for Hillary above him in a swing state...but Hillary is as bad as him. And I wish my Irish facebook friends would shut up about her."

That is not a sustainable position. There are different levels of wrong doing - which is why there are misdemeanours and felonies. But the constant false equivalency that you and others apply to both candidates serves not to expose Clinton, but to normalise Trump. There are no comparisons between the two. Clinton is possibly the most investigated public figure in American politics, maybe world politics, and all you can come up with is all sizzle, no steak, and a hope that a Hail Mary from Wikileaks is going to derail her.

And if it does? When Herr Trump is trashing the most important democratic document ever written and maybe some of the lads in Worcester and Boston are being taken away to ICE internment camps as well as the Muslims and Mexicans, when you need to keep your Green Card close in case you still have your accent, when ethnicity rather than character is the guarantor of American Citizenship - I hope your vote for Jill Stein makes sure that your conscience is clean. Washing your hands of it doesn't wash.

Great post.

Quote from: easytiger95 on October 25, 2016, 07:05:03 PM

There's loads more.

67% of voters find her untrustworthy......and that's from a NY Times/CBS poll.

These  people actually live here, vote here, pay taxes here and are exposed to all different types of media.....not just CNN and the NYT

http://m.townhall.com/tipsheet/guybenson/2016/07/15/nytcbs-poll-hillarys-untrustworthy-rating-soars-to-67-percent-n2192807

That's a whole lot of people who don't trust her.....it's not just right wing nut jobs or people who watch Fox News who dont trust her.

So when I went into the booth yesterday, I had actually thought about voting for Trump just to annoy the Uber liberal PC brigade in our town, but to your point (but from another angle) I felt that it would help legitimize his candidacy if I did so, so I protest voted for Jill Stein....I would have voted for Bernie (like I did in the primary).....but then I remembered, he got cheated out of the nomination by Clintons cohorts who employed all sorts of nasty tricks

Its a 2 horse race, and you are cheering against one of them in almost all of yours posts.

We ploughed this ground before...Im cheering against one of them because most Irish people on my Facebook feed are all cheering for Hillary without knowing a fvcking thing about her

Imagine if a Yank who'd never lived in Ireland started telling you what a great fella Bertie Ahern was and they couldnt understand why people didnt like him or wouldnt vote for him~LOL

And not every American has an Irish cousin, but the reverse almost universally applies. Also, an awful lot of Irish have been on the States for J1s, holidays and work.

We know far more about parts of the US than many Americans. I have played golf over there with people who had never left their State.

Can you read at all Stew?

I said we (Irish people who travel - like yourself) would know more about PARTS of the US than many Americans do. I gave an example of Americans who had never left their state (California). It wouldn't take much to know more about Parts of the other 49 States than them would it? Especially since I lived in two of them.

'I know more about America than Amercians do' is a massive twisting of what I said. I didn't even use the word 'I' in that sentence.

If you calmed down for a second and read things properly it might save a lot of stress for yourself.

Quote from: foxcommander on October 25, 2016, 07:45:20 PM

PMSL - Brilliant :D

Surprised he didn't elaborate on how he got course record 62 on his first try at Augusta but it doesn't get recorded as he's an amateur.
Full of it.

Me shooting a 62 in Augusta is about as realistic as your Sinn Fein/Conservative political ideology.