The Many Faces of US Politics...

Started by Tyrones own, March 20, 2009, 09:29:14 PM

Quote from: AZOffaly on October 15, 2015, 02:22:55 PM
So where was 'All Lives Matter' before Black Lives Matter became a cause celebré. It's obviously a reactionary, and I'd say more than a bit racially charged, campaign.

I don't agree with a lot of what Black Lives Matter have done and said, I think they themselves may be driving a bigger wedge between the races. It really does need an 'All Lives Matter' approach, but a genuine All Lives Matter, not just a 'how dare them blacks have that, lets start one of our own'.

Well said.

Quote from: J70 on October 15, 2015, 03:48:54 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on October 15, 2015, 02:22:55 PM
So where was 'All Lives Matter' before Black Lives Matter became a cause celebré. It's obviously a reactionary, and I'd say more than a bit racially charged, campaign.

I don't agree with a lot of what Black Lives Matter have done and said, I think they themselves may be driving a bigger wedge between the races. It really does need an 'All Lives Matter' approach, but a genuine All Lives Matter, not just a 'how dare them blacks have that, lets start one of our own'.

Well said.

easytiger95

Some absolutely crazy stuff on this thread.

The only people who should be apologizing to the Benghazi relatives are the Republicans who insist on exhuming their memories over and over again for political purposes and obscuring the real reasons for their death (all the above is by the Republicans own admission).

Fox, trying to use "PC gone mad" as an excuse for racism is as old as the hills. Cop yourself on. Here's a nice link for you. You've got to laugh.

https://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CCAQtwIwAGoVChMI24jlj-DEyAIVC1Q-Ch3XIQ07&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DbmsV1TuESrc&usg=AFQjCNFKMkLAJDqoXYbpvv0rBBr0zg_2Dg&bvm=bv.105039540,d.cWw

Quote from: stew on October 15, 2015, 01:41:33 PM

clinton on the other night talked about being an outsider because she was a woman and she should be elected because she is a woman and different from the other wannabee's, problem is, the Republicans have one of those too only this one is not dragged down with the deaths of four servicemen for not giving them the help they begged for, not immersed in an email scandal were top secret documents were there for the taking because she did not want to carry two devices and put the country at risk, not to mention people all over the world working for her and the Country. I could go on and on but she is a massive part of the establishment and she is going to get eaten alive on these issues if she ever gets to meet a Republican, she is a flip flopping political whore who will say anything to get elected, one last thing, Saunders at least came on the stage a Socialist/communist, Clinton joined him by the nights end but watch, she will slip back into moderate after getting elected.

Stew,
I wouldnt be the biggest Hilary fan, but Carly? You have got to be kidding me?

If Clinton ever meets a Republican she'll get eaten alive on the email issue? I really cant see it. The US government has been monitoring everybodys email for years. If this is such a big deal how was it missed?

Benghazi is the this years swift boat.

Flip flopping whore? I know that changing your mind is not apparently allowed in US politics, but can you give me one good reason why?

I dont see a single outstanding candidate in the field, im beginning to think Bloomberg!

Some of the runners this time around are pure shite. Trump, Carly, carson, how can the republicans not find an electable candidate? They cant even find a speaker and thats just their own party voting. Republican incompetence is going to gift the Democrats another presidential election

Quote from: J70 on October 15, 2015, 03:38:24 PM
Quote from: stew on October 15, 2015, 02:33:05 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 15, 2015, 02:25:52 PM
Quote from: stew on October 15, 2015, 02:16:29 PM
Quote from: deiseach on October 15, 2015, 01:11:08 PM
Quote from: J70 on October 15, 2015, 01:04:41 PM
This "All lives matter" shite is all a part of this supposed white Christian male persecution, this white longing for victimhood fomented by Fox News and the right wing machine. The politics of white resentment,  which seems to be the current modus operandi for the GOP.

Insisting that "All lives matter"in the US context is the equivalent of how Unionist politicians would always drag up some other atrocity whenever Bloody Sunday crossed their path. They didn't give two hoots about the Taigs rubbed out by their brave boys, just as mainstream Republicans - not the extremists - don't care when some 'Kenyan' is taken out by their brave boys.

Bullshit, it is highlighting that the country needs to come together as one instead of a divisive organization that only has singular interest in their own lives and seemingly no interest in people of any other race of beings.
In Chicago right now crime is on the rise because cops are afraid to do their jobs, their own Mayor has turned on them and they feel isolated and morale is low, I for one cant blame them, not too long ago black lives matter protesters were singing a nice we ditty about rolling pigs in a blanket and setting them afire, those f**kers should have been locked up for incitement to hatred.

Tell us stew, why did the Black Lives Matter movement start?

The Trayvon Martin killing had a lot to do with it, hot on the heels of that came several other high profile killings of black youth? Zimmerman getting off did not help, it was born of outrage at black kids dying on the streets, they say, just because they were black.

You seem to have some understanding of how the movement arose. Why the misinterpretation then that they are claiming ONLY black lives matter?

Four  liberals running for the highest office in the land were given a choice by a liberal host of the debate, the choices were simple, do blacks lives matter or do ALL lives matter, they chose black lives matter, that is cowardice and political whoring, they chose the divisive path over the right one, and you lot want these dolts running the country!

As for the organization itself, I understand the frustration that led to the formation of this movement, since the inception of this country black people have been enslaved, denied equal rights (especially by the democrat slave plantation owners) and they have been treated horribly by the Klan, the Government, by litigators (separate but equal) and by employers and society in general, MLK was a great leader, their greatest if you ask me and he did things the right way until shot dead by white men, Malcolm X took a different path and paid the ultimate price and now, after young Martin got killed the people once again rose up, I believe the leaders of this group did a great job highlighting their cause, especially since they got four very powerful white liberals to state that Black lives matter in a national debate, the problem is simple, the right answer is that all lives matter, it helps them not that the movement is hijacked by scum who want to kill police officers and who chant obscene rhetoric that is tantamount to uttering hate crimes, yet nothing gets done.

Finally, if ever a country needed to right itself and have it's ONLY two parties come to the center it is the USA, the liberals that think the democrat party is now sprinting to the left are deluding themselves, the republican party is sprinting to the far right and i find that deplorable, what is also deplorable are the amount on here who seem to think that the dems are right and the republicans are wrong, on every issue, or almost every issue, that is not just wrong, that is ignorant.

Stew, the question was clearly referring to the "controversy". Given that the All Lives Matter retort is transparently an attempt to delegitimize the Black Lives Matter cause,  the candidates answered correctly.

That unsavoury elements may have got involved in the movement or latched onto it's coattails is a separate issue.

I don't think the Dems are right on everything.  I just think they're a fairly nornal, centrist party, with all the usual bullshit and scandal you get with political parties. The GOP, on the other hand, has wandered off into John Birch, know-nothing, nativist, reactionary lunacy.

Quote from: heganboy on October 15, 2015, 04:39:36 PM
Quote from: stew on October 15, 2015, 01:41:33 PM

clinton on the other night talked about being an outsider because she was a woman and she should be elected because she is a woman and different from the other wannabee's, problem is, the Republicans have one of those too only this one is not dragged down with the deaths of four servicemen for not giving them the help they begged for, not immersed in an email scandal were top secret documents were there for the taking because she did not want to carry two devices and put the country at risk, not to mention people all over the world working for her and the Country. I could go on and on but she is a massive part of the establishment and she is going to get eaten alive on these issues if she ever gets to meet a Republican, she is a flip flopping political whore who will say anything to get elected, one last thing, Saunders at least came on the stage a Socialist/communist, Clinton joined him by the nights end but watch, she will slip back into moderate after getting elected.

Stew,
I wouldnt be the biggest Hilary fan, but Carly? You have got to be kidding me?

If Clinton ever meets a Republican she'll get eaten alive on the email issue? I really cant see it. The US government has been monitoring everybodys email for years. If this is such a big deal how was it missed?

Benghazi is the this years swift boat.

Flip flopping whore? I know that changing your mind is not apparently allowed in US politics, but can you give me one good reason why?

I dont see a single outstanding candidate in the field, im beginning to think Bloomberg!

Some of the runners this time around are pure shite. Trump, Carly, carson, how can the republicans not find an electable candidate? They cant even find a speaker and that's just their own party voting. Republican incompetence is going to gift the Democrats another presidential election

Clinton is electable??? 60% in some polls show they don't believe she is trustworthy, she is a political animal who will get a pass on Benghazi and the email scandals because she was married to Bubba, you know, the former President.

The American military is under attack from this government, that is not good, they need a strong leader not a Clinton or Saunders, imagine what would happen the policing bodies around the country, things will get worse, 2 million  more black people are homeless  than there were 7 years ago, Black Lives Matter.

The liberals cannot find a decent candidate and I would take any of the GOP candidates over Clinton, probably even Trump but I would have to think long and hard on that one.

I want to see Biden run and gut Clinton, he will get the presidents blessing which given his popularity would probably hurt him but at least he would be better than Clinton.

Quote from: J70 on October 15, 2015, 05:04:05 PM
Stew, the question was clearly referring to the "controversy". Given that the All Lives Matter retort is transparently an attempt to delegitimize the Black Lives Matter cause,  the candidates answered correctly.

That unsavoury elements may have got involved in the movement or latched onto it's coattails is a separate issue.

I don't think the Dems are right on everything.  I just think they're a fairly nornal, centrist party, with all the usual bullshit and scandal you get with political parties. The GOP, on the other hand, has wandered off into John Birch, know-nothing, nativist, reactionary lunacy.

What part of taking profits from companies and redistribution of wealth is a moderate thing to do?

These people want to give illegal aliens free education when the national debt is 18.5 trillion dollars.

Free cellphones for all, free this, free that, there is no such thing as free anything anymore, someone is paying the price the last thing this shower should be doing is having the country dispense free college degrees to those that have no right to be there in the first place! I paid $126,000 for me and my two girls to get our degree's, I have paid over $40,000 in taxes alone this year and you are going to allow someone to walk in to the country and add to the incredible national debt by allowing them to get free degrees? The mind boggles.

foxcommander

Quote from: stew on October 15, 2015, 05:17:03 PM
I have paid over $40,000 in taxes alone this year and you are going to allow someone to walk in to the country and add to the incredible national debt by allowing them to get free degrees? The mind boggles.

Why work and pay taxes like a chump when you can stick your hand out and ask for everything for free.
Happens both sides of the atlantic.

Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

Quote from: foxcommander on October 15, 2015, 05:24:54 PM
I have paid over $40,000 in taxes alone this year and you are going to allow someone to walk in to the country and add to the incredible national debt by allowing them to get free degrees? The mind boggles.

Why work and pay taxes like a chump when you can stick your hand out and ask for everything for free.
Happens both sides of the atlantic.

In fairness I sold the business and I paid the feds just under 30 grand, the State got $12,000 it is only October, still plenty more to come to help pay the free College for the illegals.

easytiger95

Despite huge pressure from the left of his own party Barack Obama bailed out the big banks after Lehmans was let go (which was on Bush's watch). Now, no matter what your views on the "too big to fail" philosophy his actions towards the banks and the auto industry undoubtedly stabilised ("saved?") the existing system. To accuse him of destroying capitalism is a complete misunderstanding of his actions, and as for redistribution of wealth, his critics on the left would accuse him of socialising the debts of banks and redistributing wealth to the 1% rather than the other way around. Read "Too Big To Fail" by Andrew Ross Sorkin, it's a great over view of the crisis.

I think Obama will be remembered as a centrist who wanted to work in a bi -partisian manner, too much during his first term. The actions of the Republicans who vowed from his very first day to destroy him, and who tried to stymie him on every issue were rooted in race. It is a period that American conservatives should be ashamed of, and instead of destroying him, they have destroyed themselves as a governing party.

I think the GOPs main hope is that Rubio comes through the dogfights of the primaries and tacks to the centre once nominated - but I just think that the candidates have to pander way too much to the base, and it makes it so easy for the Dems to pick them off, come the general election. The reverse is not true for the Dems, which would speak to the fact that they have never approached the extremism of the Republicans. In this case the existence of Fox News is actually an advantage to the Dems - they have demonised moderate liberal positions so much that there has never been a chance for a radical left to emerge.

What part of taking profits from companies and redistribution of wealth is a moderate thing to do?

These people want to give illegal aliens free education when the national debt is 18.5 trillion dollars.

Free cellphones for all, free this, free that, there is no such thing as free anything anymore, someone is paying the price the last thing this shower should be doing is having the country dispense free college degrees to those that have no right to be there in the first place! I paid $126,000 for me and my two girls to get our degree's, I have paid over $40,000 in taxes alone this year and you are going to allow someone to walk in to the country and add to the incredible national debt by allowing them to get free degrees? The mind boggles.

Every western country taxes companies and "redistributes" wealth in the form of welfare. Are you saying they're all extremist??

The "Obamaphone" programme has been in place since Reagan's time. Guess what happens where recessions of historic proportions occur? Huge amounts of people lose their jobs and are forced to rely on government support. THAT is why food stamps, subsidized phones and all the rest of those programmes swelled. The economy was shedding 750,000 jobs a month when Obama took over. Would you prefer to see all those poor people just cut loose to fend for themselves? You were complaining about homelessness earlier. You're not very consistent.

And sure, programmes like free education for illegals may have legitimate arguments against. But that does not put the Dems ANYWHERE near the GOP when it comes to embracing the extremist insanity of their fringe.

Quote from: J70 on October 15, 2015, 05:58:42 PM

Every western country taxes companies and "redistributes" wealth in the form of welfare. Are you saying they're all extremist??

The "Obamaphone" programme has been in place since Reagan's time. Guess what happens where recessions of historic proportions occur? Huge amounts of people lose their jobs and are forced to rely on government support. THAT is why food stamps, subsidized phones and all the rest of those programmes swelled. The economy was shedding 750,000 jobs a month when Obama took over. Would you prefer to see all those poor people just cut loose to fend for themselves? You were complaining about homelessness earlier. You're not very consistent.

And sure, programmes like free education for illegals may have legitimate arguments against. But that does not put the Dems ANYWHERE near the GOP when it comes to embracing the extremist insanity of their fringe.

I am consistent and I have no problem helping people when they need it, the problem is the people who choose to make it a lifestyle, you know, the career layabouts, as long as people are looking for work, applying for jobs and doing their best then I say support them, this is America, it does not take you 2-3 years to get a job.

If you do not think spending billions of dollars per year on educating people who should not be in the country in the first place, and given the fact the your beloved leader has doubled the size of the national debt, you are the one that is insane.

Saunders is a communist, simple as that, Clinton is whatever you want to be and you are deluded if you dont see how far left of center the dems have gone, two sides of the same shitty coin as they say in the wee six.

Again I think this is the weakest set of candidates I have ever seen, especially on the democrat side, if you can honestly say you would support Clinton you have no soul nor moral compass, she is poison.

Once again Stew, what should Obama have done in the circumstances?

You seem very angry about the national debt, so presumably you have answers?

And I did not endorse free education for illegals.  I acknowledged there are legitimate arguments against it.

easytiger95

Again I think this is the weakest set of candidates I have ever seen, especially on the democrat side, if you can honestly say you would support Clinton you have no soul nor moral compass, she is poison.

I'd support her in a heartbeat versus the occupants of the Clown Car on the GOP side. Now, where's my moral compass gone?