The OFFICIAL Liverpool FC thread - #DankeJürgen

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, February 05, 2009, 03:47:16 PM

Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on October 22, 2011, 08:10:25 PM
Have to say Downing has been a disappointment so far. No goals and no assists yet. Had a great chance to lash a Suarez pull back first-time in the 2nd half but insisted on taking a touch and ended up getting blocked down. He always seems to want to take an extra touch. Looks like Gerrard got through the Man U game last weekend on adrenaline alone as he seemed to run out of gas completely in the second half today. Maybe not surprising after 6 months off. His fitness is not quite there yet.

Defending for the Norwich goal wasn't too smart either. Holt is a big bollocks but Carra and Johnson between them made a very poor effort to put him off. Not helped by Reina coming out and not getting to the cross.

Best you could say is we're still 5th. This stage last season we were 18th.

Surely makes little sense to take Downing off though when your bringing on Carroll??

Didnt see the match but I have to say as brilliant as Suarez has been he has missed a lot of chances, he needs to be more clinical, a few of the rest of them could try and give him a hand too.

Can't believe we didn't win this  game
Should have been 4 or 5 in it
Man u wouldn't have dropped these points

TBH i wasn't surprised when i found out about this Norwich result in Anfield, they performed very well in Stamford bridge,Old Trafford & they show no fear fair fcuks to them.

Reading back it sounds like pool deserved more than they got but in the Everton,Arsenal games they probably got more than they deserved so without been spectacular it's been a steady start to the season for pool.

Read this morning that Liverpool have only kept 2 clean sheets this season. The leaky defence has to be an area of concern.

Quote from: EC Unique on October 23, 2011, 10:08:40 AM
Read this morning that Liverpool have only kept 2 clean sheets this season. The leaky defence has to be an area of concern.

Definitelty, given the talk about the organisation that Clarke would bring to the training ground. Still in touching distance so that is a blessing and a big difference from 12 months ago but they need to start pushing on. 

There is no doubt that lady luck has not been with Liverpool this season with so many woodwork, big saves from opposition keepers etc but they are def not good enough up front. Everyone's expectations that corroll is nowhere near a 35m striker have been confirmed at this stage as he can't even get a start. Serious waste of the Torres money. If Arsenal win the game at hand they are only 2 points behind and with spurs also going well top 4 is going to be a big ask.

we may give it up for the season lads - EC has told us

Quote from: Gabriel_Hurl on October 23, 2011, 02:11:02 PM
we may give it up for the season lads - EC has told us

You'd think he be more concerned about the display by his beloved team at Old Trafford today... :)

carragher is the area of concern

Manchester City showed Liverpool how to do it today.
We are gonna have to be far more  clinical in front of goal to compete with the likes of City and Chelsea.
No point creating all these chances like they did against Manure and Norwich,they are gonna have to start finishing these teams off with goals like City did today.

yeah - clinical finishing really does show it's worth

we've a long way to go to catch up to City  >:(

rossie mad

Youse would want to look after your own house first before delivering your own pearls of wisdom.

Jaysus, another fustrating weekend and points left behind. The strikers really need to get the finger out and start taking the chances, not good enough and it is happening too often. Pepe also has to take blame for the goal, not sure where he was going.

I though Kenny was slow to make changes - i'd have had Carroll on earlier and also thrown Maxi on to try and get a winner. Seems very reluctant to make changes at times.

Battle on against Stoke - get impression they might field a weakened team with Europe and league on their agenda. Would suit us well.

supersub

Quote from: EC Unique on October 23, 2011, 10:58:11 AM
There is no doubt that lady luck has not been with Liverpool this season with so many woodwork, big saves from opposition keepers etc but they are def not good enough up front. Everyone's expectations that corroll is nowhere near a 35m striker have been confirmed at this stage as he can't even get a start. Serious waste of the Torres money. If Arsenal win the game at hand they are only 2 points behind and with spurs also going well top 4 is going to be a big ask.

Never mind Carroll, if one of the shots that came off the woodwork had gone in there would be no issue with the game and it would have been job done for the pool. It is not as if the players missed 6 guilt edge one on one chances and put them a mile out of the stadium. We are dealing in inches here! Yes City were very clinical yesterday, and everything they did came off, that said, UTD were shocking and that was a freak situation.