Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

Take the Mark

Too right SO, impressive wins for both Dunloy and All Saints regardless.

Stillwater2

Div 2 looks to be unpredictable again. Some clubs have started strongly. Surprised St Endas not picked up any points yet.

Quote from: Stillwater2 on April 07, 2025, 04:06:08 PMDiv 2 looks to be unpredictable again. Some clubs have started strongly. Surprised St Endas not picked up any points yet.

Who is over St.Endas this year? They've had some fall. In space of 4 or 5 years they've gone from C-ship contenders to Div.2 also rans.

Take the Mark

The ex county chair is managing them I believe.

Championship contenders? What are you smoking?

Spike

Quote from: ck on April 07, 2025, 09:23:21 PM
Quote from: Stillwater2 on April 07, 2025, 04:06:08 PMDiv 2 looks to be unpredictable again. Some clubs have started strongly. Surprised St Endas not picked up any points yet.

Who is over St.Endas this year? They've had some fall. In space of 4 or 5 years they've gone from C-ship contenders to Div.2 also rans.

Wait, what?

Contenders for the Senior Championship? When?

Around the glens

Quote from: SaffronOak on April 07, 2025, 02:59:22 PMCalls for club managers to step down etc at this stage of the year is a loada horse sh1t.

League has no meaning other than to blood new faces or younger legs.  Managers won't care about results at this stage of the year and rightfully so.

On a separate note, it's funny how the narrative changes on some folks thoughts on the league when Dunloy defeat an under-strength Creggan i.e. "the manager won't be badly worried" or "they were missing a few regulars." I'd imagine Dunloy were missing as many if not more from what they would call their championship 15.

Between senior County and u20 there's atleast 15 good footballers that could add to the panel. Some good minors that give st brigids there fill of it in the Minor championship last year.

Fresh voice on the sideline this year also bringing the lads on.

Around the glens

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 07, 2025, 01:20:46 PM
Quote from: Na Glinntí Glasa on April 07, 2025, 09:58:17 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 07, 2025, 09:00:48 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on April 07, 2025, 08:55:01 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 07, 2025, 08:50:06 AM
Quote from: Around the glens on April 06, 2025, 06:03:48 PMAs good of a league display iv seen from dunloy. Decky Smith as good as any footballer in the county.

There is a maturity with his game now that has come on in leaps and bounds, he controlled that game and everything played through him.

We never judge how  a game is going to unfold,  but looking at both teams with regards to availability it was going to be a tough game for Dunloy, but in fairness Creggan were not at full pelt either so a even enough game on the day and goals and two pointers win games now!

I would say that should be a serious wake up call, how many would Dunloy be missing from their first 15 at the moment?

Creggan would regard themselves at what a top 4 Div 1 one team? And we wonder on here why the County team aren't competing  :o

Like I said, Creggan probably missing a strong spine through the middle of that team. But that being said, Dunloy's footballing has come one a lot, that's no disrespect to how they were playing before, they have added retention of the ball better, building attacks and defending better, they still have that direct running at goal, which resulted in 3 goals yesterday so that attacking flare hasn't changed.. 

Thought we played much better than ive seen in past seasons minus the hurlers/injured players. Deaglan Smith is really a quality player and his two pointers in a row def steadied the ship towards the end.

To be fair Creggan didnt look too bothered at losing it as its just a league game, nothing more. Creggan took some lovely scores against the wind in the second half and they move the ball a lot easier in the forwards than we can.

What was the story about the free to Creggan straight after their point in the second half (when the keeper went down? Was it for talking back by one of our players? I assumed thats what it was for at the time.

Fair play to you for trying to see everything that goes on over the pitch MR2 as youd need to be like an owl to check on the three players inside the half  ;D

So the rule is if there is dissent after the ball goes out the restart will be free in front of the goal, there was a bitta chit chat I gave reasons for the foul, then it continued. so I restarted with a free. Its to prevent players/officials  giving you more dissent after you having given a free against them.. I think its a goodin ;D

There was a stage Creggan quite clearly had only 2 men back, Dunloy sideline was bringing it to your attention but it was took as dissent and Creggan got a free close in. I know you'd need eyes in the back of your head  with them rules but there's going to be frustration when a teams breaking them.

Unless there's linesmen or umpires it's a hard one to keep an eye on.

Quote from: Around the glens on April 07, 2025, 11:48:19 PM
Quote from: Around the glens on April 06, 2025, 06:03:48 PMAs good of a league display iv seen from dunloy. Decky Smith as good as any footballer in the county.

There is a maturity with his game now that has come on in leaps and bounds, he controlled that game and everything played through him.

We never judge how  a game is going to unfold,  but looking at both teams with regards to availability it was going to be a tough game for Dunloy, but in fairness Creggan were not at full pelt either so a even enough game on the day and goals and two pointers win games now!

I would say that should be a serious wake up call, how many would Dunloy be missing from their first 15 at the moment?

Creggan would regard themselves at what a top 4 Div 1 one team? And we wonder on here why the County team aren't competing  :o

Like I said, Creggan probably missing a strong spine through the middle of that team. But that being said, Dunloy's footballing has come one a lot, that's no disrespect to how they were playing before, they have added retention of the ball better, building attacks and defending better, they still have that direct running at goal, which resulted in 3 goals yesterday so that attacking flare hasn't changed.. 

Thought we played much better than ive seen in past seasons minus the hurlers/injured players. Deaglan Smith is really a quality player and his two pointers in a row def steadied the ship towards the end.

To be fair Creggan didnt look too bothered at losing it as its just a league game, nothing more. Creggan took some lovely scores against the wind in the second half and they move the ball a lot easier in the forwards than we can.

What was the story about the free to Creggan straight after their point in the second half (when the keeper went down? Was it for talking back by one of our players? I assumed thats what it was for at the time.

Fair play to you for trying to see everything that goes on over the pitch MR2 as youd need to be like an owl to check on the three players inside the half  ;D

So the rule is if there is dissent after the ball goes out the restart will be free in front of the goal, there was a bitta chit chat I gave reasons for the foul, then it continued. so I restarted with a free. Its to prevent players/officials  giving you more dissent after you having given a free against them.. I think its a goodin ;D

There was a stage Creggan quite clearly had only 2 men back, Dunloy sideline was bringing it to your attention but it was took as dissent and Creggan got a free close in. I know you'd need eyes in the back of your head  with them rules but there's going to be frustration when a teams breaking them.

It's only clearly seen when the ref can see it. This is discussed before the game, I'll say to the captains I'll only call them when I see it.

The other thing is being over under 4 meters and not involved with play is ok, complaining to the ref regardless if you're correct is dissent. Frustrating as it is it costs scores, so it's probably best to say nothing.

With regards to linesmen umpires you'll need them mic's up for it to work, otherwise getting my attention is as difficult. Think there's maybe two sets in the county, expensive kit

These rules have not been made for the local club game. Not enough ref's to cover all games, It's been explained several times and collectively in all counties it's a case of if we see it we'll call it, our attention can only be in one place.
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

YoungSaff

Quote from: Around the glens on April 07, 2025, 11:40:18 PM
Quote from: SaffronOak on April 07, 2025, 02:59:22 PMCalls for club managers to step down etc at this stage of the year is a loada horse sh1t.

League has no meaning other than to blood new faces or younger legs.  Managers won't care about results at this stage of the year and rightfully so.

On a separate note, it's funny how the narrative changes on some folks thoughts on the league when Dunloy defeat an under-strength Creggan i.e. "the manager won't be badly worried" or "they were missing a few regulars." I'd imagine Dunloy were missing as many if not more from what they would call their championship 15.

Between senior County and u20 there's atleast 15 good footballers that could add to the panel. Some good minors that give st brigids there fill of it in the Minor championship last year.

Agreed plenty of lads I have saw over the past number of years would not look out of place on the county squad

Again you wonder is it a case of them not being asked or do they not want to play , Antrim need to try create the culture of wanting to play for your county and restoring pride in the jersey.

It will be interesting to see who is going to take the reigns and who enters the squad upon his appointment.

paddyjohn

Take the Mark

No. Sacked.

Him, McKeever and McGrath.

Would ye whist

I do have sympathy for you MR2 and the rest of your referees at club level as you are screwed.

I did notice the ref in our game on Sunday v Rossa had 4 of his own umpires with um and they were all miked up, does the county loan them out on a game by game basis or what? 

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2025, 07:23:34 AM

It's only clearly seen when the ref can see it. This is discussed before the game, I'll say to the captains I'll only call them when I see it.

The other thing is being over under 4 meters and not involved with play is ok, complaining to the ref regardless if you're correct is dissent. Frustrating as it is it costs scores, so it's probably best to say nothing.

With regards to linesmen umpires you'll need them mic's up for it to work, otherwise getting my attention is as difficult. Think there's maybe two sets in the county, expensive kit

These rules have not been made for the local club game. Not enough ref's to cover all games, It's been explained several times and collectively in all counties it's a case of if we see it we'll call it, our attention can only be in one place.

Around the glens

Quote from: YoungSaff on April 08, 2025, 08:46:15 AM
Quote from: Around the glens on April 07, 2025, 11:40:18 PM

Agreed plenty of lads I have saw over the past number of years would not look out of place on the county squad

Again you wonder is it a case of them not being asked or do they not want to play , Antrim need to try create the culture of wanting to play for your county and restoring pride in the jersey.

It will be interesting to see who is going to take the reigns and who enters the squad upon his appointment.

Dunloy have a good few that could play senior County football but there also good hurlers and playing hurling county has more appeal. Getting to play the best of the best and it genuinely just seems a better set up.

InnocentByStander

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 08, 2025, 07:23:34 AM

Fair enough there is alot of new rules and it is tough on the refs, but this is just taken the ball and running with it, the management pointing out there is a clear breach in the rules which is straight forward is not dissent. the minute you give the free against them and they complain its dissent, but them pointing something out to you is not.

So basically what you are saying is your never going to give a free for 3 up rule unless its straight forward like 15 men behind the ball as you dont have eyes in the back of your head, and if the management or players make you aware of it, it is going to be a free against them?

for reference dissent in the cambridge dictionary is "a strong difference of opinion on a particular subject, especially about an official suggestion or plan or a popular belief"

When someone says words like are you fecking blind, I'm going to go with dissent, now you can look up as many English dictionaries as you like, I know the difference from someone informing me or giving off.

I'm watching play and if I turn round for every call be it correct or incorrect as it has been for many occasions then I could miss out on something else.

As for mics no, some county referees have their own and umpires ain't best placed to see the lines at midfield especially some pitches and I'm a lot closer are pretty faint
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.