Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

YoungSaff

On another note a good result for our lads yesterday getting off the mark against Davitts !!

Hopefully Christopher can get recovered speedily from his injury was sad to see this as he was having a good game.

Good wins for Sarsfields , St Treasas and Glenavy

Are Moneyglass and St Endas going to struggle this year? Moneyglass only beating Gort Na Mona by 3 and St Endas loosing out to Glenavy.

YoungSaff

Quote from: Take the Mark on April 07, 2025, 09:21:55 AMIts not all doom and gloom for them, their latest signing grabbed a goal yesterday.

Which one of the many was this  ;D

I had read the Saffron Gael it said Michael Hagan and Sean Byrne I think these lads weren't brought in through their transfer window

Take the Mark

You might be correct. I was told the Greencastle signing popped a couple over.

Na Glinntí Glasa

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 07, 2025, 09:00:48 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on April 07, 2025, 08:55:01 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 07, 2025, 08:50:06 AM
Quote from: Around the glens on April 06, 2025, 06:03:48 PMAs good of a league display iv seen from dunloy. Decky Smith as good as any footballer in the county.

There is a maturity with his game now that has come on in leaps and bounds, he controlled that game and everything played through him.

We never judge how  a game is going to unfold,  but looking at both teams with regards to availability it was going to be a tough game for Dunloy, but in fairness Creggan were not at full pelt either so a even enough game on the day and goals and two pointers win games now!

I would say that should be a serious wake up call, how many would Dunloy be missing from their first 15 at the moment?

Creggan would regard themselves at what a top 4 Div 1 one team? And we wonder on here why the County team aren't competing  :o

Like I said, Creggan probably missing a strong spine through the middle of that team. But that being said, Dunloy's footballing has come one a lot, that's no disrespect to how they were playing before, they have added retention of the ball better, building attacks and defending better, they still have that direct running at goal, which resulted in 3 goals yesterday so that attacking flare hasn't changed.. 

Thought we played much better than ive seen in past seasons minus the hurlers/injured players. Deaglan Smith is really a quality player and his two pointers in a row def steadied the ship towards the end.

To be fair Creggan didnt look too bothered at losing it as its just a league game, nothing more. Creggan took some lovely scores against the wind in the second half and they move the ball a lot easier in the forwards than we can.

What was the story about the free to Creggan straight after their point in the second half (when the keeper went down? Was it for talking back by one of our players? I assumed thats what it was for at the time.

Fair play to you for trying to see everything that goes on over the pitch MR2 as youd need to be like an owl to check on the three players inside the half  ;D

Hectic

So it was all about how Division 1 had too many poor teams in it a few weeks ago. 

And now it's the best teams are not taking it seriously (and this is the fault of the organisers) when some of the perceived strongest teams are getting chinned by some of the perceived weakest teams.

The only way you get a strong competitive Division 1 is by all clubs having their county men available and setting out to try and win it.

I don't see either of those things changing any way soon so I wouldn't be getting overly exercised about the number of teams in the division.

Number of teams in Senior Championship probably a bigger problem as teams are going full tilt then and the difference in quality really shows at that stage.

It also seriously weakens the Intermediate and Junior Championships and with that our chances in Ulster in those competitions.

belfastsaff

Went to the Galls Games yesterday move the ball very well a few players I've never seen before making an impact and a couple of county players to come back in. Have they been in the transfer window also over the winter period ?

bannside

Casements goalscorers both came through their juvenile system, so not sure who you're referring to TTM?

Take the Mark

Apologies BS, I was told second hand that 1 of your new men scored a couple of points. Obviously wide of the mark.

Tell us about your absentees?

bannside

Wide ball TRM. Last year NMK didn't turn up until after Easter and that worked well for everyone - he played great football in June and July and was fresh/injury free. Hopefully he follows the same course and distance this year...but no one seems to know for definite!

belfastsaff

only one delargy playing this year BS is that true?

bannside

Ronan playing, Niall nursing a persistent knee injury and hoping to be back in action soon. Conall taking a year out to play soccer, will be back next year all being well, and Shane removed himself from the WhatsApp group after the county final last year and looks like that's him.

Take the Mark

YoungSaff

Does anyone know where the U20s play on Weds or if it is live streamed ?

No doubt they are in for a long night against Tyrone

bannside

No that's just an answer to a question!

What's your point??

You banging on about a fella living in the town joined us from Greencastle. What's your agenda? I doubt he will feature much, if at all - but hey don't let that get in the way of your "big story".

Chill TTM, you're way too intense!

YoungSaff

Quote from: bannside on April 07, 2025, 12:12:29 PMNo that's just an answer to a question!

What's your point??

You banging on about a fella living in the town joined us from Greencastle. What's your agenda? I doubt he will feature much, if at all - but hey don't let that get in the way of your "big story".

Chill TTM, you're way too intense!

As a wise man once said never let the truth get in the way of a good story 1

He is only having a bit of craic BS I wouldn't take it too deeply :)