Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

YoungSaff

Quote from: NatSoSaff on April 01, 2025, 12:00:27 PMhard work reading this board recently  ;D

I'll take a stab at the lottery that is the Antrim Club Div 1 this weekend:

Ballymena v PG1:      PG1 by 4
St Pauls v TNN:        TNN by 5
St Brigids v St Johns: St B's by 5
Aldergrove v LD:      Draw
Dunloy v Creggan:      Creggan by 4
St'Galls v Aghagallon: St Galls by 2
Rossa v Cargin:        Cargin by 7

Ill take a stab myself

Ballymena v PG1:      Ballymena by 5
St Pauls v TNN:        draw
St Brigids v St Johns: St B's by 11
Dunloy v Creggan:      Creggan by 8
St'Galls v Aghagallon: St Galls by 7
Rossa v Cargin:        Cargin by 10

NatSoSaff

Quote from: bannside on April 01, 2025, 12:04:47 PMOn another topic, I believe our county secretary may be voluntarily moving to pastures new.

Who is likely to fill this role BS? Frankie must have a decade or more served. That's a lot of experience to replace, though fresh blood and energy are definitely needed within the County.

Quote from: YoungSaff on April 01, 2025, 11:02:33 AMMaybe I'm just old school boys but if that was one of my lads getting pushed like that I would have told him to do the exact same thing. Maybe the coaching isn't for me !

You have seen the video? You've also watched games? In every game I see, and I'd be at a right few of them, there is a lot of pushing, if every pushing and shoving ended up in three digs to the head I'd not be completing a lot of games.

There are a few lessons to be learned from that clip, mind your own business is the first one, you are there to play football, be careful who you pick on would be another, this age group is the worst for 'hardmen' the ref has a duty if he see's it to nip it in the bud, and the coaches also have a duty of care for their players to ensure they are not acting the maggot..

The one punch promotion is so important to that age group in my experience

I've had, looking back seen this so many times and at the time we laughed, but it could have been so much worse
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

YoungSaff

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on April 01, 2025, 02:00:09 PM
Quote from: YoungSaff on April 01, 2025, 11:02:33 AMMaybe I'm just old school boys but if that was one of my lads getting pushed like that I would have told him to do the exact same thing. Maybe the coaching isn't for me !

You have seen the video? You've also watched games? In every game I see, and I'd be at a right few of them, there is a lot of pushing, if every pushing and shoving ended up in three digs to the head I'd not be completing a lot of games.

There are a few lessons to be learned from that clip, mind your own business is the first one, you are there to play football, be careful who you pick on would be another, this age group is the worst for 'hardmen' the ref has a duty if he see's it to nip it in the bud, and the coaches also have a duty of care for their players to ensure they are not acting the maggot..

I've had, looking back seen this so many times and at the time we laughed, but it could have been so much worse

well summarised in fairness , however can the lad be blamed for his actions really ? no sympathy for the keeper as someone else said , swings and roundabouts!

Gaels1789

Quote from: NatSoSaff on April 01, 2025, 12:00:27 PMhard work reading this board recently  ;D

Ballymena vs pg1:     Pg1 by 5
St Paul's vs tnn:     Tnn by 4
St b vs St John's     St bs by 12
Aldergrove vs ld.     ld by 3
Dunloy vs Creggan.    Creggan by 9
St galls vs Aghagallon   St galls by 6
Rossa vs Cargin.       Cargin by 10

Some big wins this weekend in my eyes

Creggan Cargin and st brides maybe all 10+ victories

Quote from: YoungSaff on April 01, 2025, 02:09:59 PM

well summarised in fairness , however can the lad be blamed for his actions really ? no sympathy for the keeper as someone else said , swings and roundabouts!

There is no blame or sympathy required here as I said, the actions of someone pushing someone is not to box the head off him, that can't be put any simpler than that. It happens in every game and does not end up in boxing matches 
None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought.

Would ye whist

How can the lad be blamed for his actions? Are you for real? He threw 3 digs to the head of another human being, hardly a proportionate response to a push or 2. In this jurisdiction you are liable for you own actions in a criminal sense from the age of 10...................don't give me the nonsense of he shouldn't be to blame.

YS, some of the football opinions I think are not too bad, but Jesus your socio-community views leave a lot to be desired

Round or stuffed

What about the lower leagues

Division 2

Gort Na Mona v Moneyglass - Draw
Naomh Comghall v Davitts - Comghalls
Glenavy V St. Endas - Glenavy
Rasharkin V St. Treasas - Rasharkin
Lisburn V. Sarsfields - Lisburn

Division 3
O'Donnells V Aggies - Aggies
Wolfe Tones V Malachys - Malachys
Ardoyne v. Eire Og - Ardoyne
Laochra V Pearses - Laochra

YoungSaff

Quote from: Would ye whist on April 01, 2025, 02:56:28 PMHow can the lad be blamed for his actions? Are you for real? He threw 3 digs to the head of another human being, hardly a proportionate response to a push or 2. In this jurisdiction you are liable for you own actions in a criminal sense from the age of 10...................don't give me the nonsense of he shouldn't be to blame.

YS, some of the football opinions I think are not too bad, but Jesus your socio-community views leave a lot to be desired

At least some of my football takes arent so bad !! ;D

just how I see it I think if you mess with the cow you get the udders but can see the other side of the coin

AllStar15

Ballymena v PG1:      PG1 by 7
St Pauls v TNN:        TNN by 6
St Brigids v St Johns: St B's by 10+
Aldergrove v LD:      Ld 5
Dunloy v Creggan:      Creggan by 10+
St'Galls v Aghagallon: St Galls by 10+
Rossa v Cargin:        Cargin 10+

Gort Na Mona v Moneyglass - Moneyglass 6
Naomh Comghall v Davitts - Davitts 2
Glenavy V St. Endas - Endas 4
Rasharkin V St. Treasas - Rasharkin 4
Lisburn V. Sarsfields - Sarsfields 2

Division 3
O'Donnells V Aggies - Aggies
Wolfe Tones V Malachys - Malachys
Ardoyne v. Eire Og - Ardoyne
Laochra V Pearses - Laochra

SaffronOak

Ballymena v PG1:      PG1 by 6
St Pauls v TNN:        TNN by 8
St Brigids v St Johns: St B's by 14
Aldergrove v LD:       LD by 3
Dunloy v Creggan:      Creggan by 6
St'Galls v Aghagallon: St Galls by 8
Rossa v Cargin:        Cargin 12

Take the Mark

Portglenone by 7
St Pauls by 4
Ulster select by 16
St James by 2
Creggan by 15
Galls by 8
Cargin by 6

BigGreenField

5 teams without a win in opening 2 rounds and 4 of them play each other Thursday and Sunday, early doors but arriving at 3 or 4 games and no points probably starts to get tough going.

St Paul's and Ahoghill to win from these.

Have new rules noticeably improved on field discipline?

Quote from: BigGreenField on April 02, 2025, 08:28:24 AM5 teams without a win in opening 2 rounds and 4 of them play each other Thursday and Sunday, early doors but arriving at 3 or 4 games and no points probably starts to get tough going.

Only done one game in the league and its been zero talk back, tbf I wouldn't be one for taking it in the first place, but certainly refreshing  ;D

Take the Mark

Quote from: BigGreenField on April 02, 2025, 08:28:24 AM5 teams without a win in opening 2 rounds and 4 of them play each other Thursday and Sunday, early doors but arriving at 3 or 4 games and no points probably starts to get tough going.

By and large I'd say yes. However I did watch and wait on the refs actions after a certain LD stalwart did his usual lambasting and finger pointing at him after the awarding of a stonewall penalty against his side. To my shock and horror (NOT) the ref stood there and took it like a scolded schoolboy, as per.