Antrim Football Thread

Started by theskull1, November 09, 2006, 11:48:40 PM

YoungSaff

Quote from: paddyjohn on March 31, 2025, 10:36:43 PM
Quote from: Take the Mark on March 31, 2025, 07:45:46 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on March 31, 2025, 05:54:35 PM
Quote from: Take the Mark on March 31, 2025, 05:03:08 PM
Quote from: SaffronSports on March 31, 2025, 12:52:37 PMThe other fella kept pushing at him and won first prize. No sympathy tbh.

This is a worrying comment from a coach of an underage girls team

What's that got to do with anything? Less worrying if I coached boys?

The Orange fella is backing away, the other fella keeps pushing him and the fight he's trying to start is ended sharpish. No sympathy for an idiot trying to start a row. He's trying to intimidate another player instead of playing the game.

Any coach should be condemning such an act, an underage coach even moreso. If you can't see that, well...

Agree. One punch can kill. Doesn't matter if the person is male or female.

Any coach saying he got what he deserved needs to be removed from the position.

For telling a young lad to defend himself ? there was clearly two lads pushing at him and trying to intimidate him as SS said if he had not of thrown I would say the keeper wouldn't of been far from doing it either a sending off yes but calling for a lengthy ban is ridiculous.

The young lad from Glenavy from the video was not the lad who started the escapade but I would say that surely finished the matter. You can't let boys walk over the top of you , a reason I believe Antrim football is in a bad way (we are far too nice) you see the dirty tactics of a lot of bigger teams and despite it leaning toward gamesmanship , they are all it maybe a reason they are delivering on the big stage!

YoungSaff

Quote from: YoungSaff on April 01, 2025, 08:44:22 AM
Quote from: SaffronSports on March 31, 2025, 12:52:37 PMThe other fella kept pushing at him and won first prize. No sympathy tbh.

The Orange fella is backing away, the other fella keeps pushing him and the fight he's trying to start is ended sharpish. No sympathy for an idiot trying to start a row. He's trying to intimidate another player instead of playing the game.

Any coach should be condemning such an act, an underage coach even moreso. If you can't see that, well...

For telling a young lad to defend himself ? there was clearly two lads pushing at him and trying to intimidate him as SS said if he had not of thrown I would say the keeper wouldn't of been far from doing it either a sending off yes but calling for a lengthy ban is ridiculous.

The young lad from Glenavy from the video was not the lad who started the escapade but I would say that surely finished the matter. You can't let boys walk over the top of you , a reason I believe Antrim football is in a bad way (we are far too nice) you see the dirty tactics of a lot of bigger teams and despite it leaning toward gamesmanship , they are all it maybe a reason they are delivering on the big stage!

All at it **

paddyjohn

Were you at the game? Do you know what went on before the incident?

YoungSaff

Quote from: paddyjohn on April 01, 2025, 09:33:34 AM

I was not at it , I presume you weren't there yourself either so you are sort of contradicting yourself PJ. If a lad is giving that pushing and shoving deserves what he gets. You play with fire your going to get burned simple as.

AllStar15

More rubbish, we aren't winning on the big stage because we aren't punching the head off each other every game 😴

YoungSaff

Quote from: AllStar15 on April 01, 2025, 09:49:55 AM

More rubbish, we aren't winning on the big stage because we aren't punching the head off each other every game 😴

Not what I am implying at all , I am just using this as a moment to say I think in general we are far too nice as a county , you see how dublin tyrone etc are at their dark arts where it may not be morally correct it certainly helps them. It is a big issue when our lads go out and play other counties in Ulster and are crying looking frees where referees are letting it go as they referee in more physical club games where stuff is let go. Definitely not our biggest issue I just think on that front is somewhere where we could improve , it is obvious when you watch high level intercounty games the physicality and things other teams will do to win whereas we don't seem to want to know

BigGreenField

Quote from: YoungSaff on April 01, 2025, 08:46:12 AM

All at it **

Physicality in play and macho bull as to who is the hardest are two totally different things. Antrim club football suffers from two much of the latter and not enough of the former (which requires skill)

SaffronSports

TBF, I don't think telling people to "defend" themselves is the answer either. My point is very much, if you want to play those games, expect those results. If I walked up to someone on a street and shoved them 2 or 3 times, I would have to accept that my actions could lead to an escalation in that situation. Some people would ask me wtf I was at but others under threat, the immediate response will be to meet it head on.

I don't really care what went on before or after the video but based purely on the 6 seconds footage we have the goalie is the aggressor. I'm not saying he deserved that outcome but I'm not sympathetic to him. From a coaches perspective you're looking at the 14 and thinking he's took the bait, deserves the red card but also from the other side, if a player is getting on like the goalie I'd be telling them to get on with the match.

There's definitely not as much of this nonsense in ladies football, certainly not in comparison to hurling where half the bloody match is shoving and shouldering off the ball but I suppose the helmet is a good deterrent not to throw a combination.

Folk go on about soccer players but this wouldn't be as common in soccer. I remember maybe 15 years ago, we had a county hurler play a few soccer matches for a team I was with and we brought him off the bench one day to go up front. He ran on the pitch and sunk the shoulder into the big centre back like you'll see in every hurling match up and down the country. The team we were playing wouldn't have that hurling culture to put it mildly and mayhem ensued.

Culture probably needs changed. We'd sooner take pride in soccer players being soft but to me, anytime you lift your hand to another player, be it a shove or a punch, take action on it and it would soon be stamped out.

paddyjohn

Quote from: YoungSaff on April 01, 2025, 09:48:23 AM

I was not at it , I presume you weren't there yourself either so you are sort of contradicting yourself PJ. If a lad is giving that pushing and shoving deserves what he gets. You play with fire your going to get burned simple as.

No I wasn't there at all, from what I saw on the video the number 14 should be suspended for a long time and I'll stand by what I said, any coach who says he was right then should be hunted also.

Would ye whist

Quote from: paddyjohn on April 01, 2025, 10:33:49 AM
Quote from: YoungSaff on April 01, 2025, 09:48:23 AM

No I wasn't there at all, from what I saw on the video the number 14 should be suspended for a long time and I'll stand by what I said, any coach who says he was right then should be hunted also.

YoungSaff

Maybe I'm just old school boys but if that was one of my lads getting pushed like that I would have told him to do the exact same thing. Maybe the coaching isn't for me !

EOC1923

Quote from: bannside on March 31, 2025, 04:19:40 PMFair play to under 20s for restoring a bit of pride with a decent performance on Saturday. Was a big improvement on Wednesday, moving the ball a bit quicker, but still not quickly enough though, imo. Still carrying too many balls into tackles, the way Donegal moved the ball on Wednesday was a treat to be fair.

Yea was in Crumlin yesterday. Casements travelled a bit light, but there is no way management saw that thumping coming. Second best all over the pitch, wide open in defence, four goals and it could have been six or seven. Not sure the Aldergrove keeper was troubled even once....

Aldergrove were well up for it and easily better team on the day,
but Portglenone won't panic too much, in or around mid table will suit them alright.

Agree, Seamus McGarry best player on the pitch and well worthy of a place in county team/panel.

An honest summary BS.
These results can happen easily any year with teams getting fit early to get points, others timing their season to reach their peak in September, add the new rules in as well. Nonetheless that was a shocking result and i'm sure there were a few knives out in the fiddlers rest on Sunday evening!

NatSoSaff

hard work reading this board recently  ;D

I'll take a stab at the lottery that is the Antrim Club Div 1 this weekend:

Ballymena v PG1:      PG1 by 4
St Pauls v TNN:        TNN by 5
St Brigids v St Johns: St B's by 5
Aldergrove v LD:      Draw
Dunloy v Creggan:      Creggan by 4
St'Galls v Aghagallon: St Galls by 2
Rossa v Cargin:        Cargin by 7

bannside

On another topic, I believe our county secretary may be voluntarily moving to pastures new.

toby47

Quote from: YoungSaff on April 01, 2025, 11:02:33 AMMaybe I'm just old school boys but if that was one of my lads getting pushed like that I would have told him to do the exact same thing. Maybe the coaching isn't for me !

Agree. And if my son was the goalkeeper I'd be happy enough he got a life lesson. Don't act a dick, there can be consequences, and a slap in the mouth was the consequence this time.